FMA/1318/2016 of SUDIP RANJAN DEY Vs THE MANAGER, RELIANCE GENERAL INSURANCE CO LTD & ANR
1
IN THE HIGH COURT AT CALCUTTA
Civil Appellate Jurisdiction
Appellate Side
Present:
The Hon’ble Justice Biswaroop Chowdhury
F.M.A. 1318 of 2016
With
I.A No.: CAN/1/2017 (Old No.: CAN/6287/2017)
Sudip Ranjan Dey
VERSUS
The Manager, Reliance General Insurance CO. LTD. & ANR.
For the appellant:
For the respondents:
Mr. Saidur Rahaman, Adv.
Ms. Gopa Das Mukherjee, Adv.
.
Last Heard on: February 06, 2026
Judgment on: February 24, 2026
Biswaroop Chowdhury,J:
1. The appellant before this Court was a claimant in a case under
Section 166 of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 and is aggrieved by the
judgment and award dated 23.03.2012 passed by Learned Additional
District Judge, 2 nd Court, Raiganj, Uttar Dinajpur in MAC Case no.
133/2019.
2
2. The case of the claimant/appellant before the Learned Trial Court
may be summed up thus:
On 13.09.2009 at about 1.00 hours the petitioner got down at
Siliguri More, Raiganj on his way from Islampur and took his meal at
Gurupada Hotel and thereafter was waiting at Kancha portion on the
Eastern side of the National Highway for rickshaw to his residence. At
that time the vehicle no. PB19C/5071 (Tru ck) coming from Siliguri
side at a excessive speed and for such speed the driver lost his
control over the vehicle which went of the Kancha portion of the road
and dashed him with a great force. As a result the claimant sustained
severe injuries on his person and was immediately removed to Raiganj
District Hospital and the doctor diagnosed with his right leg was fully
damaged and having no alternative the doctor amputed his right leg
above knee.
Due to rash and negligent driving on the part of the driver of the
vehicle the accident took place. The injur ed was aged about 45 years
at the relevant time and used to draw salary of Rs. 7,160/ - per
month. He became crippled and due to that cannot walk without help
of crutch and he has to spend money on his journey to the office and
he has been suffering from me ntal pain and agony and also other
amenities of life.
3
Pursuant to the filing of the claim case notice wa s issued upon the
opposite parties. Reliance General Insurance Company Limited ,
opposite party filed written statement and contested the case.
3. By judgment and award dated 23.03.2012 Learned Trial Court was
pleased to dispose of the claim case by observing and directing as
follows:
“ Hence it is Ordered that the instant MAC case no. 133/2009 be and
the same is allowed in part on contest without costs against the
opposite party Reliance General Insurance Company Limited and
exparte against the rest.
The claimant do get on award of Rs. 3,55,000/ -(Rupees Three Lakh
fifty five thousand) only and the opposite party Reliance General
Insurance Company Limited is directed to pay the awarded amount by
issuing an account payee cheque within two and half months from the
date of order along with interest @ 6% per annum from the date of filing
of this case till the payment threat in default the award will carry on
interest of at the rate of @ 8% per annum till the date of realising of the
entire amount in default the claimant is at liberty for realising of the
same in accordance with law.”
4. The appellants/claimants being aggrieved by the judgment and award
passed by the Learned Trial Court has come up with the instant
appeal.
4
Heard Learned Advocate for the appellant and Learned Advocate
for the respondent no. 1 Insurance Company. Perused the materials
on record.
Learned Advocate for the appellant/claimant submits t hat the
compensation awarded to the claimant is meagre. Learned Advocate
further submits that the Learned Trial Judge further erred i n not
taking into consideration, the future cost of artificial limb and future
medical expenses in assessing the compensati on amount. Learned
Advocate also submits that future travelling cost of the claimant due
to disability ought to have been taken into consideration. Learned
Advocate relies upon the following judicial decisions:-
Reliance General Insurance Co. Ltd. vs. Sush il @ Sachin and
Others, reported in 2025 (4) T.A.C. 49 (S.C.)
M.D. Jacob vs. United India Insurance Co. Ltd. and another,
reported in 2014 ACJ 648
5. Learned Advocate for the respondent Insurance Company submits
that the claimant/appellant did not loose his job due to his disability,
thus the compensation awarded is justified. Learned Advocate relies
upon the following judicial decisions:-
Arvind Kumar Mishra vs New India Assurance Co. Ltd. & Anr,
in Civil Appeal No. 5510 of 2005, Supreme Court of India.
Govind Yadav vs. The New India Insurance Co. Ltd.,
AIRONLINE 2011 SC 606
5
Raj Kumar vs. Ajay Kumar and another, (2011) 1 Supreme
Court Cases 343
6. Before proceeding to decide material in issue at the outset it is
necessary to consider the nature of disability suf fered by the
claimant/appellant and the percentage of disability suffered.
7. Upon considering the evidence of P .W. 3 who is the superintendent of
Raiganj District Hospital it appears that the claimant/appellant was
clinically examined by Medical Board of whi ch P.W.3 was the
Chairman. He further stated that the disability of the claimant was
assessed to the extent of 85 per cent as a result of right above knee of
amputation. In cross-examination of PW3 stated that the assessment
of the treatment was by followi ng some guideline of the department.
According to guideline there is no chance of variation of percentage of
disability.
8. Thus, the evidence of PW3 will go to show that percentage of disability
will not be followed for review and disability was assessed following
the medical guidelines.
9. Now the point for consideration is whether the Learned Trial Court
ought to have granted compensation apart from the cost of artificial
limb and pain and sufferings and secondly whether compen sation
awarded on account of pain and suffering and cost of artificial limb is
adequate.
6
10. The Hon’ble Supreme Court in the Case of Raj Kumar vs. Ajay
Kumar (supra) observed as follows:
„19. We may now summarise the principles discussed above :
(i) All injuries (or permanent disabilities arising from injuries), do not
result in loss of earning capacity.
(ii) The percentage of permanent disability with reference to the whole
body of a person, cannot be assumed to be the percentage of loss of
earning capac ity. To put it differently, the percentage of loss of earning
capacity is not the same as the percentage of permanent disability (except
in a few cases, where the Tribunal on the basis of evidence, concludes that
percentage of loss of earning capacity is t he same as percentage of
permanent disability).
(iii) The doctor who treated an injured -claimant or who examined him
subsequently to assess the extent of his permanent disability can give
evidence only in regard the extent of permanent disability. The loss of
earning capacity is something that will have to be assessed by the
Tribunal with reference to the evidence in entirety.
(iv) The same permanent disability may result in different percentages
of loss of earning capacity in different persons, depending u pon the
nature of profession, occupation or job, age, education and other
factors.‟
7
11. The Hon’ble Court further observed as follows:-
„18. The Tribunal should also act with caution, if it
proposed to accept the expert evidence of doctors who did
not treat t he injured but who give `ready to use' disability
certificates, without proper medical assessment. There are
several instances of unscrupulous doctors who without
treating the injured, readily giving liberal disability
certificates to help the claimants. B ut where the disability
certificates are given by duly constituted Medical Boards,
they may be accepted subject to evidence regarding the
genuineness of such certificates. The Tribunal may
invariably make it a point to require the evidence of the
Doctor wh o treated the injured or who assessed the
permanent disability. Mere production of a disability
certificate or Discharge Certificate will not be proof of the
extent of disability stated therein unless the Doctor who
treated the claimant or who medically ex amined and
assessed the extent of disability of claimant, is tendered
for cross - examination with reference to the certificate. If
the Tribunal is not satisfied with the medical evidence
8
produced by the claimant, it can constitute a Medical Board
(from a p anel maintained by it in consultation with
reputed local Hospitals/Medical Colleges) and refer the
claimant to such Medical Board for assessment of the
disability.‟
18. In the case of Arvind Kumar Mishra vs New India
Assurance Co. Ltd. (supra) Hon’ble Supreme Court observed
as follows:-
„7. We do not intend to review in detail state of authorities in
relation to assessment of all damages for personal injury.
Suffice it to say that the basis of assessment of all damages for
personal injury is co mpensation. The whole idea is to put the
claimant in the same position as he was in so far as money
can. Perfect compensation is hardly possible but one has to
keep in mind that the victim has done no wrong; he has
suffered at the hands of the wrongdoer an d the court must
take care to give him full and fair compensation for that he had
suffered. In some cases for personal injury, the claim could be
in respect of life time's earnings lost because, though he will
live, he cannot earn his living. In others, th e claim may be
made for partial loss of earnings. Each case has to be
9
considered in the light of its own facts and at the end, one
must ask whether the sum awarded is a fair and reasonable
sum. The conventional basis of assessing compensation in
personal injury cases - and that is now recognized mode as to
the proper measure of compensation - is taking an appropriate
multiplier of an appropriate multiplicand.‟
19. The main stand taken by the respondent no.1/Insurance
Company is that the claimant/appellant did n ot suffer any
financial loss as he is still in service.
20. As damages do not only mean pecuniary damage but also
loss of amenity disruption of normal functioning with regard to
discharge of official duties the same should also be taken into
consideration to assess non-pecuniary damage. All parts of the
body are necessary for normal functioning, thus when a
particular portion of the body is a mputed the normal body
movement is affected. Right to healthy body and right to move
and work freely and smoothly with the essential parts of the
body is a basic right. A person in his work place has a
reasonable expectation to work sincerely, comfortably without
any pain on his body and by fully utilising the parts of his
body without obstruction and thereby gain reputation in work
place by performance . The claimant/appellant being an
10
employee of Court is also presume d to be discharging
responsible duties for smooth function ing of the Court. Thus
non-existence of natural leg and working with artificial limb to
some extent may affect normal smooth working which in result
will not earn him future reputation which an employee
reasonably expects.
21. Thus, while considering loss of earning by a person in an y
establishment or organisation narrow pedantic view should
not be taken by only consider ing that there is no loss of
employment but a broad pragmatic view has to be taken by
considering future performance and reputation in working
place. Further when there is permanent disability futur e
medical expenses and subsequent purchase of artificial limb
cannot be ruled out. Thus compensation should be awarded
on this head also.
22. Thus, Considering the nature of disability period of pain and
sufferings future medical expenses, future discomfort, future
expenses for artificial limb and future performance in work
place this court is of the view that compensation of Rs. 6
lakhs. ( rupees six lakhs only is just and reasonable).
23. Hence this appeal FMA 1318/2016 stands disposed.
Judgment and award date d 23.03.2012 passed by Learned
Additional District Judge, 2 nd Court, Raiganj, Uttar Dinajpur
11
in MAC Case no. 133/2019 stands modified to the extent that
the appellant/claimant is entitled to compensation of Rs.
6,00,000/- (Rupees six lakhs ) along with int erest @ 6% per
annum from the date of filing of claim case till today. The
respondent no. 1 Reliance General Insurance Company
Limited shall deposit before the Registrar General, High Court
Calcutta Rs. 6,00,000/ - along with interest @ 6% per annum
from the date of filing claim case till realisation. It is however
made clear that in the event amount awarded by Learned Trial
Court is deposited the balance amount shall be deposited.
Such deposit shall be made within 8 weeks from the date of
communication of t his order. The appellant/claimant will be
entitled to withdraw the sum deposited including accrued
interest upon compliance of necessary formalities.
Urgent photostat certified copy of this order, if applied for, should be
made available to the parties upon compliance with the requisite formalities.
(Biswaroop Chowdhury, J.)