FMA/974/2025 of CHOLAMANDALAM MS GEN INS CO LTD Vs SK. AZIZUL AND ANR
Item
No.
2 & 3
Ct
09
rup
08.04.
2026
IN THE HIGH COURT AT CALCUTTA
CIVIL APPELLATE JURISDICTION
APPELLATE SIDE
FMA 974 of 2025
Cholamandalam MS General Insurance Company
Limited
Vs
Sk. Azizul (since deceased) substituted by his legal
heirs Lutfunnesa Bibi & Ors
With
COT 118 of 2025
Lutfunnesa Bibi & Ors.
Vs.
Cholamandalam MS General Insurance Company
Limited & Anr.
Mr. Soumalya Ganguli.
… for the appellant/insurance company
in FMA 974 of 2025 and respondent
no.1 in COT 118 of 2025.
Mr. Krishanu Banik.
Mr. Tathagata Banik.
… for the respondents/claimants in FMA
974 of 2025 and
appellants/claimants in COT 118 of
2025 .
Learned advocates for the parties are present.
The appellant before this Court was an opposite
party in a claim case under Section 166 of the Motor
Vehicles Act, 1988 and is aggrieved by the judgment
and award dated 30th day of July, 2024 passed by the
Learned Additional District Judge, Fast Track Court,
Suri, Birbhum in M.A.C. Case No. 267 of 2019. The
respondent No.1/Sk. Azizul since deceased, who was a
claimant before the Trial Court being aggrieved by the
judgment and award has also preferred a cross-
objection being COT 118 of 2025. The case of the
respondent/claimant before the Trial Court may
summed up thus:-
On 11/04/2019 the victim was proceeding
towards Bolpur side through Bolpur - Suri Road
riding a motor-cycle and by this manner at about
01:00 P.M when he came near Seacom University,
Kendradangal on that road under P.S-Panrui at that
time offending Dumper being no. WB57D-6527
which was proceeding towards Suri side from
Bolpur side dashed the victim coming from opposite
direction and also coming from wrong side and the
victim sustained grievous injury, and he was shifted
to Bolpur S.D. Hospital there after he was shifted
Life Line Nursing Home, thereafter Swastika
Nursing Home Kolkata, and thereafter the victim
was transferred to Sai Ambika Hospital, Bangalore
there after at Manipal Hospital, Bangalore where
various kind of expensive treatment and operation
were done.
The claimant sustained mental pain and agony
along with physical pain due to accident and also
sustained heavy financial loss. The claimant
sustained various pecuniary and non pecuniary loss
due to accident. The claimant sustained mental
stress, hazard, discomfort and inconvenience due to
2
accident and all are continuing. The life stile has
been changed due to accident. The claimant spent
Rs 5,00,000/- for his treatment and special diet and
all are going on. The claimant is suffering a lot for
the accident. The lower portion of the body of the
victim became paralyzed due to accident and the
victim is in bed ridden condition and no chance of
his improvement and he is a 100% disabled person.
That the driver of the offending vehicle being
No WB57D-6527 was driving the vehicle rashly and
negligently with high and excessive speed which
caused the accident coming in wrong side. The
driver of the offending vehicle was the sole
responsible for the accident.
The claimant became disabled person due to
accident and his disability is 100% and the family of
the claimant is forced to depute a full time attendant
and for which the expenditure of Rs 150/ day to Rs
4500/ month is being incurred. The victim became
disabled person and he was a mason in profession
and his income was very stable income as he was a
renowned mason of the locality and he has a bright
future prospect in his profession.
Pursuant to filing of the claim case, notice was
issued upon the opposite party/vehicle owner and the
opposite party/Cholamandalam MS General
Insurance Company Ltd.. The opposite
3
party/Cholamandalam MS General Insurance
Company Ltd. contested the case by filing written
statement. However, the opposite party/vehicle owner
although appeared but did not contest the case
subsequently.
Issues were farmed. Evidence was adduced.
By the judgment and award dated 30th July,
2024 the Learned Trial Court was pleased to dispose
of the claim case by observing and directing as
follows:-
“Hence, it is,
ORDERED
that the claim petition U/s. 166 of the M.V. Act
is allowed on contest against the O.P.No.2 i.e,
Cholamandalam M/S General Insurance Company
Ltd. and allowed exparte against O.P.No.1 without
costs.
The O.P.No.1 and O.P. No.2 are jointly and
severally liable to pay the awarded amount to the
petitioner.
The petitioner do hereby get an award for
Rs.26,62,140/-(Rupees Twenty Six Lakhs Sixty Two
Thousand One Hundred Forty) only along with
interest @ 6% р.а. from the date of filing of this
application i.e. from 19.09.2019 till realization of
the awarded amount.
The O.P.No.2 (Cholamandalam M/S General
4
Insurance Company Ltd.) is directed to pay the
awarded amount of Rs.26,62,140/-(Rupees Twenty
Six Lakhs Sixty Two Thousand One Hundred Forty)
only along with accrued interest, as mentioned
above, by issuing an account payee cheque in the
name of the claimant viz. Sk. Azizul within Thirty
days from the date of delivery of Judgment failing
which the O.P. No.2 will have to pay further interest
@ 10% p.a. upon the awarded amount from the date
of expiry of thirty days till realization of the awarded
amount. Failing which the petitioner is at liberty to
execute the same in accordance with law.
The claimant is directed to pay deficit court
fees upon the enhanced compensation amount
within 15 days from the date of passing Judgment.
The claimant is debarred from obtaining the
certified copy of this award unless deficit court fees
is paid.
Let a copy of this judgment be supplied to the
parties free of costs.”
The appellant/Cholamandalam MS General
Insurance Company Ltd. being aggrieved by the
judgment and award passed by the Learned Trial
Court has come up with the instant appeal. The
claimant/ Sk. Azizul (since deceased) being also
aggrieved by the said judgment and award has filed
a cross-objection.
5
Heard learned advocates for the
appellant/insurance company and learned advocates
for the respondents. Perused the evidence adduced
and the materials on record.
Learned advocate for appellant/insurance
company submits that the Learned Trial Judge erred
in awarding Rs.4,00,000/- on account of future
medical expenses and this finding is without any basis
and the same should be reduced. Learned advocate
further submits that the Learned Judge observed in
order that Rs.40,000/- should be awarded for future
medical treatment but at the same time on computing
compensation the future medical expenses is
considered as Rs.4,00,000/-. Learned advocate
further submits that the attendant charge of Rs.
5,04,000/- of the victim is also excessive and the
same should also be reduced.
Learned advocate for the respondents no.1 to 3
who are the heirs of the original claimant submits that
the Learned Trial Judge has come to a finding by
awarding compensation on different heads but the
Learned Judge erred in considering the income of the
victim to be Rs. 5000/- per month, although the
claimant/victim was able to prove the occupation.
Learned advocate further submits that as the
claimant/victim had proved the occupation, the
monthly income as per government circular should be
6
Rs.9000/- per month which is applicable in the case
of mason. Upon perusing the evidence adduced, it
appears that although the victim who was a claimant
before the Trial Court stated he was a mason and he
used to earn Rs.9000/- per month but such evidence
is not corroborated. Thus, the Learned Trial Judge
did not commit any error in observing that the
evidence of claimant/victim is without any
corroboration. It is true that in the case of a death of a
person where the occupation is required to be proved
in cases of the victim being a mason the family
members are usually unable to find out any
corroborative evidence as they are not acquainted with
the persons who used to know the victim being
engaged as a mason. Nor it is possible for the family
member of the victim of mason to find out under
whom the said victim worked. Thus, in case of the
death of the mason the statement of the family
members giving certain particulars are sufficient to
prove that victim was mason without corroboration.
However, where the victim is still living and has
acquaintance with the persons who knew that he was
working as a mason as well the persons under whom
he worked, certain corroboration are necessary to
prove that the victim was a mason. In the absence of
corroboration courts are not bound to accept the
evidence of claimant mainly in injury case which may
7
not be fully applicable where there is the death of
person and the family members are unable to
corroborate the evidence with regard to the occupation
and income as mason. Considering the reasons given
by the Learned Trial Judge regarding victim’s
occupation and award of medical expenses and
attendant, this court does not find anything to
interfere.
However, the considering the age of the victim
the members of the family it would be just and
reasonable to consider the notional monthly income to
be Rs.6000/- per month. In the event, the monthly
income is considered to be Rs.6,000/-, although the
total compensation which is awarded by the Learned
Trial Court exceeds about 200,000/- however, this
Court is of the view that in stead of going into the
arithmetical calculation to find out the reasonable
compensation it would be just and proper to award
compensation of Rs.28,00,000/- to the respondents
being the heirs of the victim who suffered injury.
Thus, the appeal being FMA 974 of 2025 and
COT 118 of 2025 and connected application stand
disposed of.
The Judgment and award passed by the Learned
Additional District Judge, Fast Track Court, Suri,
Birbhum in M.A.C. Case No. 267 of 2019 stands
modified to the extent that respondent nos. 1, 2 and 3
8
are entitled to total compensation of Rs.28,00,000/-
along with interest @ 6% per annum from the date of
filing of the claim case till today.
Such payment shall be made by depositing the
same before the Learned Registrar General, High
Court, Calcutta within a period of eight weeks from
the date of communication of this order. However, in
the event the compensation awarded by the Learned
Trial Court is already deposited, the balance amount
be deposited within a period of eight weeks.
The respondent nos. 1, 2 and 3 are permitted to
withdraw the compensation amount along with
accrued interest upon compliance with all necessary
formalities.
Urgent photostat certified copy of the order, if
applied for, be given to the parties on usual
undertakings.
(Biswaroop Chowdhury, J.)
9