The General Assurance Society Ltd. v. the Life Insurance Corporation of India
1963 SUBBA RAO J.-This Appeal by special leave is
- directed against the order of the Life Insurance Tribu-
The General As- nal, hereinafter called the "Tribunal", determining
surance Society the dispute that was referred to it under s.16 of the
Ltd. Life Insurance Corporation Act, 1956 (31 of 1956),
v. hereinafter called the Act.
The Life
Insurance The appellant is a company duly incorporated
Corporation of under the Indian Companies Act, 1882, and the In-
India surance Act, 1938. Prior to December 1957, its
registered office was at Ajmer, but now it is in Calcutta.
Subba Rao J. It was a composite insurer carrying on life insurance
and general insurance business. The Act was passed
to provide for the nationalization of life insurance
business in India by transferring all such business to
a Corporation established for the purpose. The
Act came into force on July l, 1956. On September
l, 1956, under s. 3 of the Act the Central Government
established a Corporation called the Life Insurance
Corporation of India, hereinafter called the Corpora
tion, which is the respondent in this appeal. Under
s. 7 of the Act on the appointed day, which was Septem
ber 1, 1956, all the assets and liabilities appertaining
to the controlled business of all insurers were statu
torily transferred to and vested in the Corporation.
Accordingly, the controlled business of the appellant
as defined under the Act, i.e., all the business pertaining
to its life insurance business, was transferred to and
vested in the Corporation. Thereafter disputes arose
between the appellant and the respondent in the matter
of ascertainment of the compensation payable to
the appellant and in respect of incidental and conse
quential matters thereto. By a letter dated May
21, 1957, the respondent offered to pay to the appel
lant towards compensation certain amount after set
ting off the amount due to it from the appellant in
respect of part of the paid-up capital of the controlled
business and assets representing that part. By letter
dated August 9, 1957, the appellant refused to accept
the said offer in toto. On August 20, 1957, the
respondent wrote a letter to the appellant informing
it that as its offer was not accepted by the appellant
-
'
••
5 S.C.R. SUPREME COURT REPORTS 129
it had referred the dispute to the Tribunal. In due 1963
course, both the parties, i.e., the appellant and the
respondent, appeared before the Tribunal and filed The General As
their respective statements; and the Tribunal framed surance Society
as many as 8 issues. Issues Nos. 5, 6A, 7A and Ltd.
7B which are relevant to the present enquiry read thus: v.
Issue 5. Whether the petitioner (appellant herein) The Life
is entitled to the sum of Rs. 12,36,415 or in the Insurance
alternative to Rs. 6,60,369 or in the further alter- Corporation of
native to Rs. 5,95,764 as worked out respectively India.
in annexures A to C to the Statement of Claim.
Issue 6(A ). Whether the petitioner is entitled Su/Jba Rao 1·
to the unpaid dividends attributable and pertain-
ing to the General Insurance Business of the
petitioner as claimed in paragraph 6 of the State-
ment of Claim.
Issue 7(A). Whether the Tribunal has juris
diction to grant interest on the amount of com
pensation.
Issue 7(B). If so at what rate and for which
period.
On issue 5 the Tribunal calculated the amount
payable by the respondent to the appellant on the
following lines: Amount payable towards compen
sation to the appellant was Rs. 5,95,764 ; out of the
allocable paid-up capital of Rs. 2,79,683, the respon
dent had already received assets equivalent to Rs.
1,35,919; the balance receivable under thathead was,
therefore, Rs. 1,43,764; out of the sum of Rs. 5,95,764
payable to the petitioner-appellant, the respondent
was entitled to deduct Rs. 1,43, 764; and the balance
payable by the respondent to the appellant was
Rs. 4,52,000. Briefly stated what the Tribunal did
was that it ascertained the compensation payable
to the appellant and set off against that amount
the balance of the amout due to it from the appellant
towards the allocable paid-up capital.
On Issue 6(A) it held that the appellant showed
the un-paid dividends in the balance-sheets as the
liability of the life department, that it always regarded
1 SCl/64-9
1963 it as a liability appertaining to the life department
and that as it was impossible to allocate the unpaid
The General As- dividends of any shareholder to the several businesses
surance Society carried on by the insurer, it would rely upon the books
Ltd. of accounts of the insurer to find out whether it was
v. the liability of one department or the other. On
The Life that reasoning it held that the entire liability for the
Insurance unclaimed dividends and assets equivalent to that
Corporation of liability appertained to the controlled business and,
Ind/a. therefore, statutorily vested in the respondent-Cor
poration.
Subba RaoJ.
On issues 7(A) and 7tB) the Tribunal held that
it had no jurisdiction to award interest on the amount
of compensation. On the basis of the said findings
the respondent was directed to pay to the appellant
within two weeks a sum of Rs. 4,52,000 less any sum
that might have been paid by the respondent to the
appellant by way of admitted compensation. Hence
the appeal.
Mr. Setalvad, learned counsel appearing for the
~ppellant, raised before us the following three points:
(I) the Tribunal had no jurisdiction to decide on the
question of the capital allocable to the controlled
business as there was no dispute thereto between the
parties and the said question was, therefore, not
referred to it; (2) the liability of the appellant-Company
for unclaimed dividends and assets equivalent to
that liability were not transferred to and vested
in the Corporation under s.7(1) of the Act; and
(3) the appellant would be entitled to interest on
the amount of compensation payable to it and the
Tribunal had jurisdiction to award the same.
On the first question the learned counsel took us
through the correspondence that passed between
the parties and the pleadings before the Tribunal,
and contended that the said correspondence, pleadings,
and the issues disclosed that there was no dispute
between the parties in respect of the capital allocable
to the controlled business and, therefore, the Tribunal
went wrong in deducting under that head a higher
l
-' f-,-
l
'
5 S.C.R. SUPREME COURT REPORTS 131
amount than was agreed upon between the parties. 1963
As the answer to this argument mainly depends upon
the said correspondence and the pleadings, we shall The General As.
briefly scrutinise them. On May 21, 1957, the res- surance Society
pondent offered to the appellant to pay a sum of Ltd.
Rs. 3,30,023 in full satisfaction of the compensation v.
payable to the appellant for the acquisition of its The Life
controlled business under the Act, and to set off Insurance
against the said sum an amount of Rs. 1,71,365, Corporation of
being the part of the paid-up capital of the appellant- India.
Company and assets representing such part, which
had been allocated to the controlled business of Subba Rao J.
the appellant-Company in accordance with r.18 of
the Life Insurance Corporation Rules, 1956, made
under the Act. The letter concluded thus:
"As the aforesaid assets have not yet been
transferred to the Corporation the said amount of
Rs. 1,71,365 will be set off against, and form
a deduction from, the amount of compensation
payable to your Company."
The offer was couched in clear and unambiguous
terms. It was a composite offer. The letter could
not be construed to contain two different matters,
one an offer of compensation and the other a demand
for payment of the amount due to the respondent
in respect of the paid-up capital allocable to the
controlled business. On the other hand, in express
terms the offer was for payment of compensation
after setting off the amount due to the respondent.
On August 9, 1957, the appellant wrote a letter in
reply to the respondent's. Therein an attempt was
made to split up the offer. The appellant stated that
the amount of compensation offered in the Jetter, name
ly, the sum of Rs. 3,30,023 was not acceptable to it.
In regard to the amount of qapital allocated by the
Company to the controlled business, it stated that the
assets worth Rs. 1,35,919 had already been transferred
to the respondent and that having regard to the amount
claimed by the respondent under that head, only
a sum of Rs. 35.446 remained to be transferred to
the Corporation by it. It asked that the said amount
132 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [1964)
1963 might be deducted from the amount of compen-
sation that might be ordered and decreed to be
The General As-paid to it by the Tribunal. It would be seen from
surance Society this letter that the appellant accepted a part of the
Ltd. offer and rejected the rest. On August 20, 1957,
v. . the respondent replied to the appellant that as its
The Life offer was not accepted, it had sent the necessarv
lnsura:ice paper to the Tribunal. On August 22, 1957, th~
Corporation °! appellant received a notice from the Tribunal. The
India. preamble to that notice read :
Subba Rao J. "Whereas you have not accepted the amount
determined by the Corporation and offered in
full settlement of the compensation to you under
the Act and whereas you have requested the Cor
poration to have the matter referred to the
Tribunal for decision and whereas the Corpora
tion has so referred the matter."
This clearly shows that the dispute before the
Tribunal arose as the appellant did not accept the
amount determined by the Corporation and offered
in full settlement of the compensation payable to
the appellant under the Act. It does not indicate
that the accepted part of the offer was considered to
be a closed matter between the parties and the dis
puted part only was put in issue. On September
13, 1957, the appellant wrote a letter to the res
pondent requesting it to pay the amount of compensa
tion offered by it subject to adjustment on the basis
of the decision to be given by the Tribunal. It also
requested the respondent to "supply to it a copy of
the calculation sheet to show how the amount of
compensation offered by it had been arrived at. On
the same day, the respondent sent a copy of the said
calculation sheet, which clearly showed not only
the amount of compensation payable but also the
amount of paid-up capital allocable to the control
led business deductable therefrom. On September
17, 1957, the respondent made it clear to the appellant
that if the appellant agreed to accept the amount
offered by it in full satisfaction of the compensation
payable to the appellant under the Act, the r~spondent
-
5 S.C.R. SUPREME COURT REPORTS 133
could make payment of the said amount to it. Jt 1963
is, therefore, clear that the dispute between the parties -
related to the composite offer made by the respondent The General ~s
i.e., the compensation payable as well as the set off surance Society
of the amount due to the respondent calculated under Ltd.
r. 16 of the Rules made under the Act. v.
That this was the dispute is also apparent from
the pleadings before the Tribunal. On October 10,
1957, the appellant filed a statement before the Tri
bunal and in para 4 thereof, the contents of the letter
written by the respondent on May 21, 1957 were
extracted. How the appellant understood the scope
of the offer is clear from the following extract from
the said paragraph:
"By and under the said letter the Defendant
inter alia stated that part of the paid up capital
of the Claimant, and assets representing
such part, which had been allocated to the con
trolled business of the Claimant in accordance
with Rule 18 of the Life Insurance Corporation
Rules, 1956, amounted to Rs. 1,71,365 and that
as the aforesaid assets had not till then been trans
ferred to the Defendant, the said amount of Rs.
I, 71,365 would be set off against, and form a
deduction from the amount of compensation
payable to the Claimant."
The appellant, therefore, understood the offer
as a composite one. In para 5 thereof, the appel
lant gave the contents of its reply. On November
7, 1957, the respondent filed a statement before the
Tribunal and in para. 3 thereof it reiterated its offer
of compensation of Rs. 3,30,023 with a claim for
set off on a calculation made in accordance with r .18
of the Rules. Throughout the correspondence and
in the pleadings the respondent was consistently
standing by the composite offer. It did not, either ex
pressly or by necessary implication, accept the attempt
made by the appellant to split up the said offer. When
one party makes a composite offer, each part thereof
being dependent on the other, the other party cannot
by accepting a part of the offer compel the other
The Life
Insurance
Corporation of
India.
Subba RaoJ.
1963
17te General As
surance Society
Ltd.
v.
The Life
Insurance
Corporation of
India.
Subba Rao J.
to confine its dispute only to that part not accepted,
unless the party offering the composite offer agrees
to that course. In this case not only there was no
such agreement between the parties, but the respondent
was throughout insisting upon the acceptance by
the appellant of the entire offer in full settlement
of the appellant's claim against the respondent.
Reliance is placed upon the circumstance that
there was no specific issue framed by the Tribunal
in respect of the paid-up capital allocable to the con
trolled business of the appellant. But the pleadings
clearly pinpoint the dispute between the parties in
respect of the set off. As we will indicate later in our
judgment, the calculation of the amount due towards
paid-up capital allocable to the controlled business
depends on a basic factor that goes into the calcu
lation of the amount due towards compensation.
It was presumably found not necessary to frame a
specific issue in respect thereof, for if that factor was
settled one way or other, the amount due under
the said head was only a matter of calculation and could
certainly be taken into consideration in awarding
the set off under the general issue, issue 8.
Further, it does not appear from the order of the
Tribunal that this question was raised before it. Indeed,
it appears that both the parties proceeded on the
basis that the calculation of the amount due towards
compensation and that due towards paid-up capital
allocable to the controlled business were linked to
gether and that by calculating the said two figures
on the same basis one should be deducted from the
other. If the question raised before us had been
raised before the Tribunal, one would expect the
Tribunal to deal with that matter. On the other
hand, para 19 of the order shows that the appella~t
did not dispute the manner of the set off on the basis
of the amount of compensation ascertained by the
Tribunal.
Mr Setalvad contended that under s. 16(1) of
the Act, read with Part A of the First Schedule, com-
-
,
.J
.,
5 S.C.R. SUPREME COURT REPORTS 135
pensation should be computed in accordance with 1963
the provisions contained in para 1 or para 2 and
paid to the insurer on the basis of the computation The General A.I·
which was more advantageous to him and that for surance Society
the purpose of calculating the compensation payable Ltd.
in accordance with para 1 the amount representing v.
the paid-up capital allocable to the controlled busi- The Life
ness had no relevance. He illustrated his argument Insurance
by taking us through the alternative calculations Corporation of
made by the Tribunal and pointing out that while in India.
the calculations made in terms of para 2 of Part A
of the First Schedule the paid-up capital allocable Subba Rao J.
to the centrolled business went jnto the calculations,
in the calculations made in accordance with para 1
that item was not taken into consideration at all.
Though prim.i facie this argument appears to be plausi-
ble, a deeper scrutiny of the figures indicates that
there is an integral connection between the compen-
sation and the amount representing the paid-up
capital allocable to the controlled business.
Under r. 18(1) of the Rules, in respect of a Part
A insurer like the appellant, the paid-up capital allo
cable to the controlled business shall be that proportion
of the total paid-up capital of the insurer which the
annual average of the profits from the controlled busi
ness during the period covered by the relevant actuarial
investigation bears to the total of the annual average
of profits plus two times the annual average of the
profits from other business during that period. The
factor will be, ·
Annual average of surplus
Total of annual average of surplus
PLUS two times the annual average
of profits from non-life business.
or shortly stated,
L
L+2 non·L
1963
The General As
surance Society
Ltd.
v.
136 SUPREME COURT REPORTS
On that basis the factor will be,
Rs. 15,512.6
Rs. 90,523.8 (i.e. 15,512.6+ 75,011.2)
=0.17136488
[1964]
The Life Rs. 15,512.6 being the annual average of surplus from
Insurance the controlled business, as determined bv the
Corporation of Corporation, and Rs. 75,011.2 being twice the annual
India. average of profits from non-life business. It is
· not disputed that the paid-up capital of the Com-
. Subba Rao J. pany was Rs. 10,00,000. ff the factor was applied,
the capital allocable to the controlled business
would be, 0.17136488 xRs. 10,00,000=Rs. 1,71,365.
The compensation to be given by the Corporation
to the insurer to whom Part A of the First Schedule
to the Act applies-it is conceded that the said Part
applies to the appellant-is 20 times the annual average
of the share of the surplus allotted to the shareholders
of the appellant. On the basis that Rs. 15,512.6
was the annual average of the surplus allotted to
the shareholders of. the appellant, the Corporation
ascertained the amount of compensation at a sum
of Rs. 3,30,023 and offered the same to the appellant.
It will be seen from the aforesaid calculations
that there is an integral connection between the com
pensation payable to the insurer and the amount
representing the capital allocable to the controlled
business transferred to the Corporation. The common
factor for both the amounts is the annual average
of the surplus allotted to the shareholders. The
same surplus must be the basis for calculating both
the figures. Obviously two different figures cannot
be given for the same surplus. If two different figures
are given for· the same surplus, not only one of the
calculations must be wrong, but also grave injustice
would be done to one of the parties. As the two
figures cannot be disassociated, the respondent made
a composite offer.
What happened before the Tribunal is this:
the appellant in annexure C to the Statement of
,
i
5 S.C.R. SUPREME COURT REPORTS 137
Claim claimed that the annual average of the surplus 1963
deemed to be allocated to the share-holders was
Rs. 29,125.2; the respondent stated that it was only The Genera/ As
Rs. 15,512.6: and the Tribunal came to the con- surance Society
clusion that the said annual average of the surplus Ltd.
was Rs. 29,125.2. The result was that the calculations v.
made by the Corporation under the said two heads The Life
were upset. On that basis, applying the same for- Insurance
mula the compensation was raised to a sum of Corporation of
Rs. 2,79,683.18. The Tribunal, therefore, rightly set off India.
the said figures one against the other and held that
the balance, after making other admitted deduc- Subba Rao 1·
tions, was payable to the appellant.
The above discussion clearly establishes the reason
why a composite offer was made and why the dispute
in respect of the said offer could not be split up into
two parts. Both the amounts are payable. under the
provisions of the Act. Calculation of both depends
upon the same "surplus". It is, therefore, reasonable
to hold that the Act contemplates the setting off
one against the other.
Rule 12A of the Rules confers ample jurisdic
tion on the Tribunal to effectuate the said intention
of the Legislature. The material part of r. I 2A
reads:
"The Tribunal may exercise jurisdiction in the
whole of India and shall have power to decide
or determine all or any of the following matters,
namely:-
(iv) all claims for compensation payable under
the Act to insurers whose controlled business has
been transferred to and vested in the Corporation;
and all matters connected with the determination,
payment and distribution of such compensation.
(vi) such supplemental, incidental or consequen
tial matters which the Tribunal may deem it expe
dient or necessary to decide or determine for the
196j
The General As-
suranc~ Society
Ltd.
138 SUPREME COURT REPORTS (1964]
purpose of securing that the jurisdiction vested in
it under the Act and in respect of matters referred
to above is fully and effectively exercised.
A combined reading of els. (iv) and (vi) of r.12A
of the Rules makes it abundantly clear that a claim
Th vLif< for set off of the nature that we are now considering
e ' • is certainly covered by the wide phraseology of cl.
lnsura~ce (vi) of the said rule. This rule, it is said, was intro
Cor:,~:zon of duced afte~ the decis!on 0!1 the dispute in t_he instant
n · case was given. Be it as it may, the matenal clauses
Suliba Rao J. of the rule only recognize the pre-existing principles
inherent in the relevant dispute under the provisions
of the Act.
This Court in National Insurance Co. v. Life
Insurance Corporation of India (1 ) held that the claim
for set off was within the jurisdiction of the Tribunal.
Hidayatullah J., speaking for the Court, observed
at p. 1178:
"No doubt, the Act says that the Corporation
shall pay the compensation due to the Company
but in another part it also says that the Company
shall pay in lieu of the assets appertaining to
the controlled business a sum of Rs. 6,00,000.
These two provisions of law must be read to
gether and in our opinion the Corporation was
entitled to a set-off in respect of the amount
due to it and the Tribunal was perfectly right
when it ordered such a set off."
We, therefore, hold that the dispute between
the parties related not only to the compensation,
but to the set··off also, that that dispute was referred
to the Tribunal and that the Tribunal had jurisdiction ·
to decide that dispute. The Tribunal in para 19
of its order rightly set off the amounts due from the
one to the other and held that the balance of
Rs. 4,52,000 was only due to the appellant towards
compensation.
The next question relates to the outstanding
dividends or assets equivalent thereto taken posses
(i)[f 964] 2 S.C.R. 182.
'
,.
;
.a' 5 S.C.R. SUPREME COURT REPORTS 139
. \'
sion of by the Corporation. Some material facts 1963
may be stated. The paid-up capital of the Company -
was Rs. 10,00,000 divided into 40,000 shares of The General As·
Rs. 25 each fully paid. On September 28, 1953, surance Society
the appellant declared a dividend of 4 % amoun· Ltd.
ting to a sum of Rs. 40,000; again on September 29, v.
1954, it declared a dividend of 4 % amonunting to The Life
a sum of Rs. 40,000; and again in the year 1955 Insuranc~
it declared a dividend of 6 % amounting to Rs. 60,000. Corporation of
In regard to the said amounts so declared certain India.
payments were made to some of the shareholders
and the balance of tne outstanding dividends as Subba Rao l.
on December 31, 1955, was Rs. 89,680. The balance·
sheets of the Company showed the unpaid dividends
as the liability of the life department. Though
the amounts representing the said dividends are not
specifically shown in the assets, it cannot be disputed
that the said amounts must have been included in
the assets or cash shown in the balance-sheets. The
result was that the entire liability for the unclaimed
dividends and assets equal to that liability were
taken over by the respondent. The Tribunal relying
on the books of account, the balance-sheets and
other documents of the Company held that the liabi·
lity was only that of the life insurance business.
Mr. Setalvad, learned counsel for the appellant,
contended that under s. 7(1) of the Act only the assets
and liabilities appertaining to the controlled business
of an insurer shall be transferred to and vested in
the Corporation and that the dividends declared
and the assets equivalent to the said liability were
assets and liabilities of the Company and not those
'appertaining to the controlled business and, there
fore, they did not vest in the Corporation. Section
7(1) of the Act reads:
"On the appointed day there shall be transferred
to and vested in the Corporation all the assets
and liabilities appertaining to the controlled
business of all insurers." ·
An attempt is made to separate the Company's
assets and liabilities from the assets and liabilities
1963 of the controlled business, and an argument is advanced
that on a declaration of dividends the said dividends
The General As- and the assets corresponding thereto cease to apper
surance Society tain to the business but belong to the Company.
Ltd. The question, therefore, is whether the dividends
v. declared and the amounts in the hands of the Company
The Life representing them appertain to the controlled busi-
Jnsurance ness of the insurer. Before we answer this question
Corporation of it will be convenient to know precisely the legal
.India. effect of a declaration of a dividend of a company.
In Palmer's Company Law, 20th Edn., the legal
Suhba Rao J. position is stated thus, at p. 625:
"Where a dividend is declared and becomes
payable, it is a debt-in England, as will be
explained in the following section, a speciality
debt-and each shareholder is entitled to sue the
Company for his proportion. Until the dividend
is declared and payable, the shareholder has
no right to sue."
fn re Savern and Wye and Severn Bridge Railway
Co.(1 ), Romer l observed thus:
"Tn the first place, they contend that the com
pany was in the position of a trustee for them of
these dividends. In my judgment, this was not so.
The declaration that the dividend was payable did
not make the company a trustee of it for the
shareholders."
The learned Judge said at p. 564 thus:
"The dividends in question were declared and
became payable more than twenty years before the
present claims were made, and constituted debts
due to the shareholders for which they could
have sued at law, as was pointed out by Lindley
L.J. in the passage in his treatise on Company
Law (p. 437), which was cited in the argument
before me."
This decision is an authority for the view that
when a company declares a dividend on its shares,
a debt immediately becomes payable to each share
holder in respect of his share of the dividend for which
(lJ [1896] 1 Ch. D. 559, 565.
t
5 S.C.R. SUPREME COURT REPORTS 141
he can sue at law and the declaration does not make 1963
the company a trustee of the dividend for the share-
holder. Indeed, this legal position is not disputed. The General As·
If so, the shareholders in the present case were only surance Society
in the position of creditors in respect of the dividends ltd.
declared in their favour and the amounts representing v.
the dividends continued to be a part of the assets The Life
of the Company; and indeed the balance-sheets filed Insurance
in the present case show that no particular amounts Corporation of
had been earmarked for payment of dividends. To India.
put it differently, the amount equivalent to the dividends
declared continued to be a part of the assets of the Com- Subba Rao J.
pany and the dividends continued to be its debts.
The said assets were part of the general assets of the
Company and the said liabilities were part of the gen-
eral liabilities of the Company. There cannot be
any difference in law, in the matter of ownership
of the assets, between a part of the assets equivalent
to the dividends declared and the rest of the assets.
With this background let us scrutinize the pro
visions of s. 7(1) of the Act. Under that sub-section,
on the appointed day there shall be transferred to
and vested in the Corporation all the assets and lia
bilities appertaining to the controlled business of all
insurers. The first question is whether the dividends
declared and the amounts representing the said di
vidends fell outside the expression "assets and lia
bilities" of the controlled business. Tt is said that
though they are part of the assets and liabilities of
the Company, they do not appertain to the controlled
busin~ss .. ~?e word "appertain" in its ordinary
meamng 1s belong to, be appropriate to relate to".
The assets and !~abilities must, therefore', belong to
the controlled busmess of the insurer. That is no doubt
a limitation or qualification imposed or made on
"assets and liabilities". As the section is providing
for. the transfer of as~ets and liabilities of a Company
wh1~h may have busmesses oilier than life insurance
busmess, it ha_s b_e~C?me necessary to say that the said
assets and hab1ht1es . are those that pertain only
to the controlled busmess. The antithesis is not
1963 between the Company and its business but between the
controlled business and the other businesses of the
The General As-insurer. That this is so is clear from the exhaustive
1urance Society enumeration of the categories of property in sub-s.(2)
Ltd. of s. 7 of the Act constituting assets appertaining to
v. the controlled business. Sub-s. (2) of s. 7 embodies
The Life an inclusive definition and in a sense it enlarges the
Insurance meaning of the word "assets". The enumerated cate-
Corporation of gories of assets include both movable and immovable
India. properties and "all other interests and rights in or
arising out of such property as may be in the posses-
Subba Rao J. sion of the insurer." Liabilities shall be deemed
to include all debts and obligations of whatever
kind existing at the time of the statutory transfer.
All the said rights and liabilities pertaining to the
controlled business are transferred on the appointed
day to the Corporation. The said enumeration does
not leave any margin for allot ent of any assets
to the Company as distinguished from its controlled
business. To illustrate, take the case of a company
doing only the life insurance business. How is it
possible to hold that the declared dividends and the
assets representing the said dividends are those of the
company unconnected with the business? That may
be so ifthe declared dividends are held in trust bv the
Company for a shareholder. But, as we have pointed
out, the settled law on the point does not countenance
any such concept of trust. The shareholders can
only realise their dividends from the assets of the
business, for they include the amounts representing
the dividends. In any view, the definition of assets
and liabilities of a controlled business in sub-s.(2)
of s. 7 of the Act is certainly comprehensive enough
to take in the said declared dividends and the corres
ponding assets. We cannot, therefore, accept this
argument.
Even so, it is contended that, the appellant being
a composite insurer, the dividends declared and the
assets equivalent to that liability appertained not
only to the life business but also to the general busi
ness of the insurer and, therefore, under s. 7(1) of
\
J
..
5 S.C.R. SUPREME COURT REPORTS , 143
the Act only such part of the said assets and dividends 1963
allocable to the controlled business shall be transferred
to the Corporation, but the Tribunal wrongly held The General A.1-
that the entire dividends and the assets representing surance Society
the same were transferred to the Corporation. To Ltd.
appreciate this argument, some of the relevant pro- v.
visions may be noticed. We have already noticed The Life
s. 7 (1) of the Act whereunder all the assets and lia- In11urance
bilities appertaining to the controlled business of Corporation of
the insurer shall be transferred to an vested in the India.
Corporation. Explanation (a) to s. 7 of the Act reads: Subba Rao J.
"The expression "assets appertaining to the
controlled business of an insurer" in relation to
a composite insurer, includes that part of the
paid-up capital of the insurer or assets represent
ing such part which has or have been allocated
to the controlled business of the insurer in ac
cordance with the rules made in this behalf."
A further clarification is found in s. 10 of the
Act, which reads:
(I) "For the removal of doubts it is hereby
declared that in any case where an insurer whose
controlled business has been transferred to and
vested in the Corporation under the Act is a
composite insurer, the provisions of the preceding
sections shall only apply to the extent to which
any property appertains to bis controlled busi
ness and to rights and powers acquired, and to
debts, liabilities and obligations incurred and to
contracts, agreements and other instruments made
by the insurer for the purposes of his controlled
business and to legal proceedings relating to
those purposes, i nd the provisions of those
sections shall be construed accordingly."
(2). The Central Government may, by rules
made in this behalf, provide-
• •
(b) for the allocation of the paid-up capital
or assets representing such paid-up capital,
1963
The General As
surance Society
Ltd.
v.
The Life
Insurance
Corporation ~l
India.
Subba RaoJ.
~ " "
" as the case may be, between the controlled r
business of the insurer and any other busi-
ness;
(c) for the apportionment and the making of
financial adjustments with respect to any
debts, liabilities or obligations incurred by
any such insurer partly for the purposes
of his controlled business and partly for
other purchases and for any necessary varia-
. tion of mortgages and encumbrances relating
to such debts, liabilities or obligations."
Rule 18 of the Rules provides for the method
of allocation of the paid-up capital of the composite
insurer. These provisions make it clear that in the
case of a composite insurer only such part of the assets
and liabilities allocable to the controlled business
shall be transferred to and vested in the Corporation.
As the dividends declared and the assets represent
ing the said dividends appertain to the composite
business, there is force in the argument of the
learned counsel that only a part of such assets and
liabilities referable to the controlled business could
be transferred to and vested in the Corporation,
and that the rest should be left with the insurer. This
argument is sought to be met by the learned Attor
ney General by contending that the appellant showed
the said assets and liabilities as part of the life insurance
business in the balance-sheets duly approved by the
Controller under the Insurance Act, 1938 (Act No.
4 of 1938) and, therefore, it is precluded from ques
tioning the correctness of the said balance-sheets.
This contention takes us to the consideration of the
Insurance Act, 1938. Sections 10(1) and 11 of the
said Act provide for separations of accounts and funds,
and maintaining of account and balance-sheets for
different businesses in the insurance line. Under
s. 10(1 ), an insurer shall keep a separate account of
all receipts and payments in respect of each class
of insurance business mentioned .therein; and under
cl. (2) thereof, if be carried on the business of life
. :~
'~ '
'f .. ' Iii~
~ -,.~
r r.
,
!;>·
~·
5 S.C.R. SUPREME COURT REPORTS 145
insurance, all receipts due in respect of such business 1963
shall be carried to and shall form a separate fund,
the assets of which shall, after the expiry of six months, The General As
he kept distinct and separate from all other assets surance Society
of the insurer. Section 11 of the Insurance Act Ltd.
enjoins evtry insurer in respect of insurance busi- v.
ness transacted by him to prepare with reference The Life
to every year in accordance with the regulation con- Insurance
tained in Part I of the First Schedule a balance-sheet Corporation of
in the forms set forth in Part II of that Schedule. India.
Form A has two columns, one under the heading
"Life Annuity Business" and the other under the Subba Rao J.
heading "Other classes of business". Under s. 15(1)
of the Insurance Act, the audited accounts and state-
ments referred to ins. 11 or s. 13 (5) and the abstract
and statement referred to in s. 13 shall be furnished
as returns to the Controller within the time pres-
cribed thereunder. Under s. 21 of the said Act, if
it appears to the Controller that any return furnished
to him under the provisions of the Insurance Act
is inaccurate or defective in any respect, he may
get the necessary information from the insurer and
decline to accept the same unless the inaccuracy
has been corrected and the deficiency has been supplied
before the time prescribed. Under sub-s. (2) of s. 21 of
the said Act, the Court may, on the application of
an insurer and after hearing the Controller, cancel
any order made by the Controller or may direct
the acceptance of any return which the Controller
has decUned to accept, if the insurer satisfied the
Court that the action of the Controller was in the
circumstances unreasonable. Section 22 of the said
Act confers power on the Controller to order reval-
uation. Section 23 thereof says that every return
furnished to the Controller, which has been certified
by the Controller to be a return so furnished, shall
be deemed to be a return so furnished and under
sub-s. (2) thereof every document, purporting to be
certified by the Controller to be a copy of a return
so furnished, shall be deemed to be a copy of that re-
turn and shall be received i1,1 evidence as if it were
the original return, unless some variation between
I SCI/64-10
1963 it and the original return is proved. The first ques-
tion is whether under the provisions of the Insurance
The General As- Act the contents of a certified balance-sheet of an
surance Society insurer are binding on the insurer in a Collateral
Ltd. proceeding. The provisions of the Insurance Act
v. do not say that the correctness of the balance-sheet
The Life certified by the Controller is conclusive for all pur-
Insurance poses or that it could not be questioned in a collateral
Corporation of proceeding. For the purpose of the Insurance Act
India. it would be accepted as correct. The said Act does
not, expressly or by necessary implication, exclude
Subba Rao J. the jurisdiction of courts and tribunals from going
into the correctness of the said balance-sheets. There
is also no provision in the Life Insurance Corporation
Act making the contents of the said balance-sheets
final for the purpose of transfer to and vesting in
the Corporation the assets and liabilities of the in
surer. It certainly affords valuable evidence in an
enquiry before the Tribunal; but the contents of the
balance-sheets can be proved to be wrong.
Mr. Setalvad argued that for the purpose of
convenience of disbursement of dividends, the en
tire amount is shown as appertaining to the life insur
ance business, as the head office in Ajmer was only
dealing with life insurance business and making the
disbursements. Be it as it may, it is obvious in this
case that the dividends declared appertained to the
composite business and only a part of them apper
tained to the controlled business. The relevant en
tries in the certified balance-sheets are, therefore,
not correct. If so, it follows that under s. 7(1) of
the Life Insurance Corporation Act on the appointed
day only such part of the said dividends and the cor
responding assets appertaining to the controlled busi
ness were transferred to and vested in the Corpora
tion.
The next question is how to apportion the said
assets and liabilities between the Corporation and the
Company. Before the Tribunal the appellant did
not ask for apportionment of the dividends but want
ed a transfer of the entire liability to it with the assets
.41 , .•
t
5 S.C.R. SUPREME COURT REPORTS 147
corresponding to the liability undertaking to re- 1963
imburse the respondent for any claim of the share-
holders against it. In the petition for special leave The General As
the appellant did not specifically ask for apportion- surance Society
ment of the dividends between the Corporation Ltd.
and the Company. Even at the time of arguments v.
Mr. Setalvad sought to sustain the claim of the ap- The Life
pellant on a construction of s. 7 of the Act, namely, Insurance
that the said assets and liabilities only appertained Corporation of
to the Company, though at a later stage he pressed India.
for apportionment as an alternative argument. The
main contention we have rejected. Even if the ap- Subba Rao J.
portionment was made, the allocable assets and
liabilities would cancel each other, for both the Cor-
poration and the Company would be liable to pay
the entire amounts so allotted to the shareholders.
But there may be a practical advantage to one or
·other of the parties in so far as a shareholder or share-
holders may not care to claim the dividends payable
to him or them. In the circumstances, we do not
think we are justified in exercise of the extraordinary
jurisdiction under Art. 136 of the Constitution to
permit the appellant to raise the plea for the first
· time before us and to remand the matter to the Tri
bunal for apportionment of the dividends and the
corresponding assets. We, therefore, cannot accede
to the request of Mr. Setalvad for this indulgence
at lhis very late stage of the matter.
The last point relates to the payment of interest.
Both the parties agreed that in view of the decision
of this Court in the National Insurance Co. Ltd. v.
Life Insurance Corporation of India( 1 ), the appellant
will be entitled to interest at 4 % on the sum of
Rs. 4,52,000 from May 24, 1957, to the date of pay
ment.
In the result, subject to the said modification,
the appeal is dismissed with proportionate costs.
(1) [1964] 2 S.C.R. 182
Appeal dismissed
with modification.