Amar Krishna Ghose v. Life Insurance Corporation of India & Anr.
SHELAT, J, This appeal, founded on the certificate granted
by the High Court of Calcutta, raises questions of interpretation
of sec. 3(2) of the Life Insurance (Emergency Provisions) Ordi·
nance, 1 of 1956, sec. 11 of the Life Insurance Corporation Act,
31 of 1956 and R. 12A of the Life Insurance Corporation Rules,
1956 made under s. 48 of the said Act.
These questions arise in the following circumstances :
Prior to January 1, 1956 the appellant was employed as the
Pdncipal Officer of .the Bengal Insurance and Seal Proper!J Co.
Ltd., respondent 2 in this appeal. It was not disputed ID the
High Court that by Principal Officer the appellant meant that he
was the Managing Director. His salary as such officer was Rs.
2630 per mensum which on and from January 1, 1956 was rais
ed to Rs. 3000 per mensum. On January 19, 1956, respondent
2 issued in favour of the appellant four cheques for Rs. 5436-6-0
in all representing his salary for November and December 1955
and for certain other dues. On that very day; i.e., January 19,
1956, the Life Insurance (Emergency Provisions) Ordinance,
1956 came into force, u11der which January 19, 1956 was the
appointed day. The. management of the life insurance business
carried on by all concerns including that of respondent 2 was
taken over and became vested in custodians appointed under the
Ordinance. Cl. 3 (2) of the Ordinance provided that "any con
tract, whether express or implied, providing for the management
of the controlled business of an insurer made before the appointed
day between the insurer and any person in ch.arge of the manage-
. ment of such business immediately before the appointed day shall
be deemed to have terminated on the appointea day". The Ordi-
nance was substituted by the Life Insurance (Emergen~y Provi
sions) Act, 9 of 1956 which came into force as from March 21,
1956. The said cheques, when presented for payment, were not
honoured by the Bank on the ground that they were not signed
by the custodian.
On June 18, 1956, Parliament passed The ·Life Ir..surance
Corporation Act, 31 of 1956, which came into force as froni Ju1y
I, 1956. A Notification, dated August 30, 1956, issued there
under fixed September 1, J 956 as the appointed day, that is ihc
date when the Corporation was established under sec. 3 of the
Act. Sec. 7 of the Act reads as follows :
"7 ( 1) On the appointed day there shall be trans
ferred to and vested in the Corporation all the assets
and liabilities appertaining to the controlled business of
all insurers.
( 2) The assets appertaining to the controlled busi
ness of an insurer shall be deemed to include all rights
and powers, and all property, whether movable or im
movable, appertaining to his controlled business, includ
ing in particular, cash balances, reserve funds, invest
ments, deposits and ah other interests and rights in or
arising out of such property as may be in the posses-
sion of the insurer ...... and liabilities shaJI be deemed
to include all debts, liabilities ancl. obligations of what
ever kind then existing and appertaining to the coo
trolled business of the insurer."
Sec 11 ( 1) of the Act provides that every whole-time employee of
an insurer whose controlled business has been transferred to and
vested in the Corporation and who was employed by the insurer
wholly or mainly in connection with his controlled business im
mediately before the appointed day (i.e. September l, 1956)
shall on and from the appointed day become an employee of the
Corporation and shall hold his office therein on the same terms
and conditions as he was having on the appointed day, unless and
until his ~mployment in the Corporation is tenninated by the
Corporation. Sub-sec. (3) of s. 11 provides that if any question
arises as to whether (a) any person was a whole-time employee
of an insurer, or (b) as to whether any employee was employed
wholly or mainly in connection with the controlled business of an
insurer immediately before the apPointed day (i.e. Seotember 1.
1956) that question shall be referred to the Central_Govemment,
whose decision shall be final. Under s. 17, the Central Govern
ment ·has been emoowered to constitute one or more tribunals.
Sec. 48 empowers the Cent~al Government !o mak~ ru,lei:, ~nd in
particular among other sub1ects on the supiect of 1unsd1ct10n of
A. K. GHOSE v. L.I.C. (Shelat, /.) 1001
A the tribunals constituted under s. 17. Rule 12A of the Life
Insurance Corporation· Rules, 1956 made under s. 48 reads as
under:
II
"l 2A. Jurisdiction of Tribunal.
The Tribunal may exercise jurisdiction in the whole
of India and shall have power to decide or determine
all or any of the following matters, namely,
(1 ) any question whether of title or of liability, or
of any nature whatsoever in relation to the
assets and liabilities pertaining to the controlled
business of the insurer transferred to and vested
in the Corporation."
It seems clear from s. 11(3) of the Act and the said rule 12A
( 1) that on a question whether a person was a whole-time em
ployee of an insurer or whether any employee was employed
wholly or mainly in connection with the controlled business of
such insurer ~mmediately before the appointed day, i.e., Septem
ber 1, 1956, it is the Central Government which is the deciding
authority and whose decision is final, and (2) that where a ques
tion, whether of title or of _liability or of any nature whatsoever
in relation to the assets and 'liabilities pertaining to the controlled
business of the insurer transferred to and vested in the Corpora-
tion, arises, it is the tribunal which is the authority invested with
the jurisdiction to determine such a question.
On January 20, 1959, the appellant filed a suit in the High
Court claiming the following reliefs :
(a) a decree for Rs. 5436-6-0 as salary for November
and December 1955;
(b) declaration that the purported tennination of his
contract of service as the principal officer of res
pondent 2 and/ or as an employee of the Corporation
was void;
( c) declaration that he was and continued to be the em
ployee of the Corporation and for reinstatement;
(d) a decree for Rs. 1,01,250 being his salary from
January 1956 to December 1958 at the rate of Rs.
2812-8-0 per mensem;
( e) in the alternative, for a decree for the said amount
of Rs. 1,01,250 against respondent 2; and
( f) for interest and costs.
The case of the Corporation was (I ) that by rearon of cl.
3(2) of Ordinance 1 of 1956 the employment of the appellant
1002 SUPREME COURT RBPOll.TS [1973) 2 S,C,R,
with the respondent 2 stood terminated on January 19, 1956, and
( 2) that as a consequence of such termination, .the appellant was
not in the empl,oyment of respondent 2 wholly or mainly in con
nection with his controlled business immediately before the
appointed day under the Act, i.e., September 1, 1956, and the~
fore, was not entitled to the benefit of s. 11 ( 1) thereof and could
not, therefore, claim to have become an employee of the Corpora- . B
tion. Therefore, there was no question of his employment having
to be or having been terminated by the Corporation at all, much
less wrongfully. Its case further was that so far as the first relief
was concerned, siince the claim for Rs. 5436-6-0 raised the qua;-
tion of liability pertaining to the controlled business of respondClllt
2, the jurisdiction was exclusively with the tribunal as under s.
41 of the Act no civil court has the jurisdiction to entertain and
adjudicate upon a matter which the tribunal has been empowered
to determine. That being so, it was the tribunal which had to
decide whether (a) the appellant's employment stood terminated
on Ja1Juary 19, 1956 by virtue of cl. 3(2) of Ordinance 1of1956,
and (b) wheth"r as a result of the vesting of the management of
controlled business in the Custodian or the vesting of that busiMI'
in the Corporation, the Corporation was liable tel jlay the arrears
of liis salary for November and December 1956 and certain other
dues. So far as the claim for Rs. 1,01,250, on the footing that
there was no such termination of the appellant's service and con
sequently his having become and having continu:ld to be the
Corporation's employee under s. 11 ( 1) of the Act, is concerned,
the Corporation's case was that that part of his case had to be
determined by the Central Government as under s. 11 ( 3) it ii
that Government which has to decide whether the appellant was
a whole-time employee of respondent 2 wholly or mainly in con
nection with that company's controlled business immediately be-
fore the appointed day, viz., September 1, 1956. That question
depended upon the question whether his employment with res
pondent 2 stood terminated on January 19, 1956 under cl. 3(2)
of the said Ordinance, for, if it did, no further question of his
becoming or his having continued as the Corporation's employee
under s. 11 ( 1) of the Act could possibly arise.
A learned single Judge of the High Court, before whom the
suit came up for hearing, held that the High Court had no juris
diction to entertain or adjudicate the appellant's claim against the
Corporation and dismissed the appellant's suit. In a Letters
Patent appeal against that judgment and docree, a Division Be~ch
of the High Court sustainild the trial Court's finding that the High
Court had no jurisdiction in the matter of the atinellant's claim
for Rs. 5436-6-0 and that it was the tribunal which ha~ that
jurisdiction. But it did not uphold the tri~I C?urt's findmg as
regards the relief for the salary and declaration m respect of the
A. K. GHOSE V, L.I.C. (She/at, J.) 1003
period from September 1, 1956 to December 1958. Tne Division
Bench held that "this part of the case, so far as the Life Insurance
Corporation is concerned, will stand adjourned until the deter
mination of the proceedings before the Trib11J1al mentioned above.
This will be without prejudice to the rights of the defendants to
raise the question of competency of the Court to decide an)' q__ues
tion which comes within the scope of sec. 11 ( 3) of the said Act.
So far as defendant No. 2 is concerned,. it has been held that the
Court has jurisdiction and we arc not disturbing that part of the
decree". What the Division Bench in effect decided was thit it
was the tribunal and not the High Court which had the jurisdic
tion to decide :he question as to the Corporation's liability to pay
the said arrears of salary for Novcmbier and December 19SS as
that liability pertained to the controlled business of respondent 2.
That question would involve the issue as to whether or not the
appellant's CO!jtract Of service With respondent 2 stood terminated
by virtue of cl. 3 ( 2 ) of the Ordinance. As regards his claim for
salary for the period from September l, 1956 to December 1958,
the Division Bench left the question open until the tribunal W,.
cided the first part of the claim including the question arising
Wider cl. 3(2) of the Ordinance. But it left the question, viz.,
whether the appellant becallle and continued to be the empll>yee
of the Corporation under s. 11 (1 ) of the Act, open and retairieP
that part of the appellant's suit with the High Court with liberty
to the respondents to raise the question of the High Court's juria·
diction in that regard. That question would be whether under s.
11 (3) of the Act it is for the Central Government to determine
whether the appellant was the wholi:-time employee of respondent
2 immediately before the appointed day under the Act, viz.,
September 1, 1956.
Mr. Setalvad doubted the correctness of such an interpretation
of R. 12A of the Corporation Rules and argued that the Rule
conferred jurisdiction on the tribunal on questions as to the Cor
poration's liability in relation to "the assets and liabilities pertain
ing to the controlled business of the insurer transferred to and
vested in the Corporation". The business transferred to and
vested in the Corporation could no longer be the controlled busi
ness of the insurer and ceased to be so once it became trans
ferred to and vested in the Corporation under the Act. Therefore,
he argued, the Tribunal could have no jurisdiction in respect of
a liability to which the Corporation succeeded as a result of ~e
assets and liabilities of the insurer having been transferred to and
vested in the Corporation. He contended that that bdng the posi
tion, it was not the tribunal but the civil court which had to decide
the question whether the Corporation was liable to pay the arrears
of salary for November and December 1956, a liability, which
the Custodian and later on the Corporation were liable to satisfy,
the former as .a result of the management having vested in him
under the Ordmance, and the latter as a re,sult of its having suc
ceeded 10 the assets and liabilities of the insurer. He also con
tend.ed th~t the question as to whether the appellant's contract of
seMce with respondent 2 stood terminated on January 19, 1956
under cl. 3 ( 2) of the Ordinance would also not fall under R.
12A. The Add!. Solicitor-General, on the other hand, disputed
such a construction of R. l 2A and contended that the tribu.nal
had under that Rule .the eXclusive jurisdiction to determine both
the questions, and the High Court could not by reason of s. 41
of the Act entertain or adjudge either of the two questions.
The reliefs prayed for by the appellant in his plaint pertained
to two periods; ( 1) Rs. 5436-6-0 being the arrears of salary and
other dues for the months of .November and December 1955, RD.cl
(2) Rs. one lac and odd being the salary from January I, 19~6
to December 1958. Under R. 12A, a question either of liability
or of any nature whatsoever in relation to the assets or liabilities
pertaining to the controlled business of the insurer transferred
to aild vested in the Corporation falls within .the jurisdiction of
the tribunal and cannot be entertained and adjudicated by a civil
court under s. 41 of the Act. In respect of the claim for arrears
of salary for November and December 1956, the question really
would be one of liability in regard to or pertaining to the cootroll
ed business of the insurer which became transferred to and vested.
in the Corporation. That question, therefore, fell fairly and
squarely within the jurisdiction of the tribunal. The exl'ression
"controlled business of the insurer" in R. 12A means the life in
surance business carrieji on by an insurer before its management
became vested in a custodian under the Ordinance and whose
assets and liabilities became transferred to and vested in the
Corporation under tqe Act. R. l 2A clearly deals with questions
arising out of. and pertaining to such controlled business. Under
R. 12A, jurisdiction to try questions in respect of the liability
pertaining to such business has been vested fo the tribunal. The
question of the liability of the Corporation in regard to the arrears
of salary for November and December 1955 clearly related to the
controlled business then carried on by respondent 2 ... The Cor
poration was sought to'be made liable to pay those arrears on the
ground that that liabililY. was transferred to and vested in the
C.orporation. Clearly R. 12A applied to such a question and
the jurisdiction to try such a. qu_estion was in the tribu?al ~nd not
the High Court. Any qu¢stion, therefore, as to the habiltty per
taining to the business which was the controlled business as de
fined by the Act would have to be tried by the tribunal.
As regards the second c\aim of the appellant, that claim in
volved the question as to Whether his contract of service with
respondent 2 stood tenninatcd on January 19, 1956 by virtue
A. K. GHOSE. v. L.I.C. (She/at, J.) JOOS
of cl. 3 (2) of the Ordinance. If it did, he would not be a person
who was employed by the insurer wholly or mainly in connection
with his controlled business immediately before the appointed day
(which is September 1, 1956 under the Act) as require(! by s.
11 ( 1) of the Act, and therefore, he could not claim to be one
who became and continued to be an employee of the Corporation
<IS envi>aged by that sub-section. Under sub-sec. ( 3) of sec. 11,
the question whether an employee was employed wholly or mainly
·in connection with the controlled business of an insurer inune
diati:ly before the appointed day under the Act (i.e., September
J, 1956) is determinable by the Central Government and not by
<I civil court. That question, however, would depend upon the
4uestion whether the appellant's con_tract of service stood termi
nated by reason of cl. 3(2) of the Ordinance on September 1,.
1956. Has the tribunaj the exclusive jurisdiction to decide that
4iwstion ? .The High Court thought so, and in our view rightly
because R. 12A confers on the tribunal the jurisdiction tOI try
"any question---0f any nature whatsoever in relation to-liabili
ties pertaining to the controlled business of the insurer transferred
to and vested in the Corporation". These are very wide words
which would include the question whether the appellant as the
principal officer ·of respondent 2 continued 10 be such officer after
January 19, 1956 in relation to the controlled business which on
and after January 19, 1956 was to be managed in terms of the
Ordinance by a custodian appointed thereunder and whose assets
and liabilities on the passing of the Act were transferred to and
vested in the Corporation. The question whether his contract of
employment as the principal officer of the business, defined as the
controlled business both under the Ordinance and the Act, conti
nued or not after January 19, 1956 would be a question in re
lation to the liability pertaining to such controlled business and
w~s therefore within the scope of R. 12A. But the question as to
whether he became an employee of the Corporation under s.
11 (I) on and from January l, 1956, though dependent on the
answer as to whether his contract stood terminate<! under cl. 3(2)
of the Ordinance, would not fall within R. 12A and was not
therefore triable by the tribunal. The High Court, therefore, was
right in splitting the appellant's claim into two, one triable by the
tribunal and the other not, and retaining with it that part of the
suit which did not fall within the scope of R. 12A with liberty to
the parties to raise later on the question whether that part was
triable by the Court or by the Central Government under s. 11 ( 3)
of the Act.
The appeal thus fails and is dismissed with costs.
S.B.W. Appeal dismissed.