R.L. Marwaha v. Union of India & Ors.
VENKATARAMIAH, J. The question involved in this case is
whether an employee of an autonomous body established under the r ~
auspices of the Central Government is entitled to claim the benefit of
F the period of service rendered by him in a pensionable post under the
Central Government prior to his service being absorbed in the auto
nomous body for computing qualifying service for purposes o{
pension.
The petitioner R.L. Marwaha.entered the service of the Central
G Government on a temporary basis on 4. l0.1950 and worked as an
Upper Division Clerk in the pay scale of Rs.80-5-120-8-200-10/2-220 in
the office of the Settlement Commissioner (Claims Wing) under the
Ministry of Rehabilitation, Union of India and he continued to hold
that post upto 23.11.1953 (F.N.). He, having been appointed in the
Indian Council of Agricultural Ri;search (hereinafter referred to as
H 'the ICAR'), which is an autonomous body sponsored by the Central
.
'
R.L. MARWAHA v. U.0.1. [VENKATARAMIAH, J.] 931
+ Government, to a higher post of Assistant in the scale of pay of A Rs. 160-450 joined the service of the !CAR as a fresh entrant on the
same date that is 23.11.1953 (F.N.). He was not allowed to carry
forward the leave that he had earned and was declared quasi-perma-
nent as an Assistant in the !CAR with effect from 17.1.1957. The post
held by the petitioner under the Central Government before he en-
tered the service of the !CAR was a pensionable post and the post or B
posts held by him in the !CAR were also pensionable posts. The
petitioner retired from the service of the !CAR on September 30, 1980
after attaining the age of superannuation, i.e., 58 years. On retirement
the petitioner was accorded pensionary benefits reckoning his qualify-
ing service from 23.11.1953 to 30.9.1980. The petitioner, as some
others who had also retired from the service of the !CAR had been c y agitating before the authorities to count the period of service put in by
him between 4.10.1950 and 23.11.1953 in the Central Government a1
part of the qualifying service and to compute his pensionary benefits
on that basis. The petitioner had applied to the !CAR even before his
retirement requesting it to count his service in the Central Govern-
~
ment as part of his qualifying service for pension. The petitioner re- D
ceived a reply from the !CAR stating that according to the then exist-
ing policy the Government had not accepted any pensionary liability in
cases like that of the petitioner and that there were no rules authorising
the !CAR to accept the charge of pensionary liability in respect of the
.._
period of his service rendered in the Central Government.
Under the orders which were in force in 1984 the position as
regards counting of service rendered elsewhere was as follows:
,
(i) Service rendered outside Central Government did not count
for pension in Central Government.
(ii) In the case of scientific employees of autonomoqs bodies
financed or controlled by the Government, however, such employees
were allowed to count their previous service in such autonomous
bodies or permanent absorption under the Central Government sub-
' "(
ject to certain conditions.
(iii) In respect of personnel other than scientific employees who
were permanent in Central Government in the event of their subse-
quent permanent absorption in public sector undertakings or any
autonomous body proportionate retirement benefits for the service
rendered in Government till the date of permanent absorption were
allowed as per rules in force at the time of absorption. H
932 SUPREME COURT REPORTS (1987] 3 S.C.R.
(iv) No such benefit as provided in para (iii) above was allowed
to temporary employees going over to autonomous bodies or under·
takings.
In the meanwhile Central autonomous/statutory bodies had also
introduced pension schemes for their employees on the lines of the ~
B pension scheme available to the Central Government employees.
Therefore such autonomous/statutory bodies also started urging that
the service rendered by their employees under the Central Govern
ment or other autonomous bodies before joining any autonomous
body may be allowed to be counted in combination with service in the
autonomous body concerned for the purpose of pension subject to
C certain conditions. There was also a demand for making similar provi
sions for employees of autonomous bodies going over to the Central
Government. In other words, the demand was that the benefit of
pension based on the combined service should be introduced. After a
careful consideration of all relevant matters the Central Government
passed an order being No. O.M. No. 28 10 84-Pension Unit dated 20th
D August, 1984 Ministry of Home Affairs, Department of Personnel and
Administrative Reforms and issued it on 29. 8. 1984. That part of the
Government order which is relevant for purposes of this case is set out
in Paragraph 3(A)(i) thereof and it is as follows:
"No. 28 10 '84-Pension Unit
Government of lndia!Bharat Sarkar
Ministry of Home Affairs 'Grih Mantralaya
Department of Personnel and Administrative Reforms
(Karmik Aur Prashasnik Sudhar Vibhag)
New Delhi, the 29th August, 1984.
OFFICE MEMORANDUM
Sub: Mobility of personnel between Central Government
Departments and Autonomous Bodies-Counting of
service f"!r pension. 'I'
3. This matter has been considered carefully and the Presi
dent has now been pleased to decide that the cases of
Central Government employees going over to a Central
autonomous body or vice versa and employees of the Cent·
l )'
R.L. MARWAHA v. U.0.1. [VENKATARAMIAH, J.] 933
ral autonomous body moving to another Central autono
mous body may be regulated as per the following provi
sions:-
(A) In case of Autonomous bodies where pension scheme
is in operation.
(i) Where a Central Government employee borne on pen
sionable establishment is allowed to be absorbed in an
autonomous body, the service rendered by him under the
Government shall be allowed to be counted towards pen
sion under the autonomous body irrespective of whether
the employee was temporary or permanent in Govern
ment. The pensionary benefits will, however, accrue only if
the temporary service is followed by confirmation. If he
retires as a temporary employee in the autonomous body,
he will get terminal benefits as are normally available to
temporary employees under the Government. The same
procedure will apply in the case of employees of the auton
omous bodies who are permanently absorbed under the
Central Government.
The Government/autonomous body will discharge its
pension liability by paying in lump sum as a one-time pay
ment, the pro-rata pension/service gratuity/terminal
gratuity and DCRG for the service upto the date of absorp
tion in the autonomous body /Government, as the case may
be. Lump sum amount of the pro-rata pension will be de
termined with reference to commutation table laid down in
CCS (Commutation of Pension) Rules, 1981, as amended
from time to time."
Paragraph 7 of the said Government order, however, stated that
the order would take effect from the date of issue of the revised policy
and will be applicable to those employees who retired from Govern
ment/autonomous body service on or after the issue of the said order.
Since the petitioner had retired on 30.9.1980 he was not accorded the
benefit of that order.
In this writ petition the petitioner has questioned the validity of
the condition imposed in paragraph 7 of the said order making the
order applicable only to such of the employees of the Government/
autonomous bodies who retired from service after the date of the issue H
A of the order. The petitioner's contention is that it was not open to the
Government to deny the benefit of the order to those employees who
had retired prior to the date of the order as it would bring into exis
tence two classes of pensioners-one class of pensioners who had re
tired prior to the date of the Government order and another class of
pensioners who had retired subsequent to the date of the Government
B order and that such classification was not warranted under Article 14
of the Constitution as there was no nexus between the classification
and the object to be achieved by the Government order.
The writ petition is resisted by the respondents-the Union of
India and the ICAR. It is pleaded on behalf of the respondents that the
C petitioner was not entitled to count the period of service rendered by
him under the Government of India as a part of his qualifying service
for purposes of pension since he was only a temporary Government
servant when he was working in the office of the Settlement Commis
sioner, that he had joined the service of the ICAR as a fresh entrant
and that there was no Government policy which entitled the petitioner
D to count the period of his Government service as part of qualifying
service for pension before the Government order dated 29.8.1984 was
passed. The fact that the petitioner was a temporary Government
servant when he was working in the Central Government is immaterial
because the Government order itself says that the service rendered by
a Central Government employee under the Government would be
E allowed to be counted towards pension under the autonomous body
irrespective of whether the employee was temporary or permanent in
Government provided he is late.r on confirmed in the autonomous
body. This condition is satisfied "in this case. It is admitted that the
petitioner was treated as a new entrant when he joined the service of
the ICAR on the same day on which he ceased to be the employee of
F the Central Government. But tlje fact that the petitioner joined the
service of the ICAR as a new entrant cannot again be an impediment
for extending the benefit of the Government order dated August 29,
1984 because every employee who leaves the service of the Central
Government to join the service of the ICAR has to be treated as a new
entrant at the ICAR because it is not a department of the Central
G Government but a registered body. In fact there cannot be a transfer
to the !CAR from the Central Government. There is no substance in
this contention of the respondents.
There is no dispute that the !CAR though it is a body registered
under the Societies Registration Act, 1960, is a body which is
H sponsored, financed and controlled by the Central Government. There
··:f
-
R.L. MARWAHA v. U.0.1. [VENKATARAMIAH, J.) 935
has been a continuous mobility of personnel between Central Govern
ment departments and autonomous bodies, like the ICAR both ways
and the Government thought, and rightly so, that it would not be just
to deprive an employee who is later on absorbed in the service of the
autonomous body, like the !CAR the benefit of the service rendered
by him earlier in the Central Government for purposes of computation
of pension and similarly the benefit of service rendered by an emp
loyee who is later on absorbed in the Central Government service the
benefit of the service rendered by him earlier in the autonomous body
for purposes of computation of pension. If that was the object of issuing
the notification then the benefit of such notification should be
extended to all pensioners who had rendered service earlier in the
Central Government or in the autonomous body as the case may be
with effect from the date of the said Government order. Now let us
take the case of a person who had rendered service under the Central
Government between January 1, 1953 and July 1, 1955 but who has
retired from service of the ICAR in 1985. There is no dispute that such
a person gets the benefit of the service put in by him under the Central
Government for purposes of his pension. But another.pensioner who
has put in service under the ·central Government during the same
period will not get similar concession if he has retired prior to the date
of the Government order if Paragraph 7 of that order is applied to him.
The result will be that whereas in the first case there is pensionary
liability of the Central Government in the second case it does not exist
although the period of service under the Central Government is the
same. This discrimination arises on account of the Government order.
There is no justification for denying the benefit of the Government·
order to those who had retired prior to the date on which the Govern
ment order was issued. The respondents have not furnished any ac-
• ceptable reason in support of their case, except saying that the
petitioner was not entitled to the benefit of the Government order
because the order says that it would not be applicable to those who had
retired prior to the date on which it was issued. In the absence of any
explanation which is worthy of consideration it has to be held that the
classification of the pensioners who were working in the Government!
autonomous bodies into two classes merely on the basis of the date of
retirement as unconstitutional as it bears no nexus to the object to be
achieved by the order.
We do not also find much substance in the plea that this conces
sion being a new one it can only be prospective in operation and
cannot be extended to employees who have already retired. It is true
that it is prospective in operation in the sense that the extra benefit can H
be claimed only after 29.8.1984 that is the date of issue of the Govem·
ment order. But it certainly looks backward and takes into considera
tion the past event that is the period of service under the Central
Government for purposes of computing qualifying service because
such additional service can only be the service rendered prior to the
date of issue of the Government order. By doing so the Government
order will not become an order having retrospective effect. It still
continues to be prospective in operation. Whoever has rendered
service during any past period would be entitled to claim the additional
financial benefit of that service if he is alive on 29.8.1984 under the
Government order but with effect from 29.8.1984.
-C In the result we hold that paragraph 7 of the Government order
cannot be used against persons in the position of the petitioner to deny Y •
them the benefit of the past service for purposes of computing the
pension.
D We, therefore, direct the respondents to revise the pension pay-
able to the petitioner in accordance with the Government order by ~
giving him the benefit of the service rendered by him in the Central
Government while computing his qualifying service for pension. We,
however, make it clear that the petitioner is entitled to recover the
difference between the pension which he is entitled to get in accord
.ance with the Government order and the pension which is already
E disbursed to him with effect from 29.8.1984, i.e., the date of the ~
Government order only and he is not entitled to get any relief in , •
respect of the period prior to August 29, 1984.
The writ petition is accordingly allowed. No costs.
F H.L.C. Petition allowed.