Vania Silk Mills (p) Ltd. v. Commissioner of Income-tax, Ahmedabad
SAW ANT, J. The appellant/Company, hereinafter referred to
as the assessee, carries on the business of manufacture and sale of D
art-silk cloth. Jn the year 1957, it purchased machinery worth
Rs.2,81,741 and gave it on hire to M/s. Jasmine Mills Pvt. Ltd.,
Bombay at an annual rent of Rs.33,900. On August 11, 1966, a fire
broke out in the premises of M/s. Jasmine Mills causing extensive
damage to the machinery installed in their premises including the
machinery hired by them from the assessee. The machinery belonging E
to the assessee became useless for any further use on account of the
damage. M/s. Jasmine Mills had insured along with its own machinery,
the assessee's machinery as well, and on a settlement of the insurance
claim, M/s. Jasmine Mills received a certain amount out of which it
paid a sum of Rs.6,32,533 to the assessee on account of the destruction
of its machinery. The difference between the actual cost of the machi- F
nery and its written-down value worked out to Rs.2,62,781. The asses-
see in its income-tax return for the assessment year 1967-68 (relevant
accounting year being the year ending on 31st August, 1966) showed
the said amount as profit chargeable to tax under Section 41(2) of the
Income-Tax Act (hereinafter referred to as the "Act"). The Income
Tax Officer, however, subjected to tax also the additional amount of G
Rs.3,50,79'.(. being the difference between the amount of Rs.6,32,533
received on account of the insurance claim and the original cost of the
machinery, i.e., Rs.2,81,741, treating the same as capital gains charge
able under Section 45 of the Act. The contention advanced by the
assessee that the capital gains tax was not attracted to the amount
received on account of the insurance claim since there was no transfer H
582 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [1991) 3 S.C.R.
of capital asset as was ·contemplated by Section 45 read with Section
2( 47) of the Act, was negatived by the Jncome-Tax Officer.
The assessee appealed against the order to the Appellate
Assistant Commissioner who also negatived the said contention of the
appellant and· dismissed the appeal. The assessee's contention was,
B however, upheld ii1 the appeal before the Income-Tax Appellate Tri
bunal, the Tribunal holding that the amount was not received on
account of a transfer of the capital asset but on account of \he damage
to it and that Section 45 was attracted only when there was a transfer of
the capital asset. Being· aggrieved, the Revenue applied for reference
of the case to the High Court on the following two questions:
(i) whether on the facts and in the circumstances of the case the
transfer was justified in law in holding that there was no transfer
of capital ass.et by the assessee within the meaning of Section
2(47) of the Act?
(ii) whether on the facts and in .the circumstances of the case the
sum of Rs.3,50,792 being the excess of the cost of the machinery
received from M/s. Jasmine Mills Pvt. Ltd. was chargeable to tax
as capital gains under Section 45 of the Act?
The High Court answered the first question in the negative, and conse
E quently the second question in the affirmative, i.e., both questions in
favour of the Revenue and against the assessee.
This appeal has been filed by the assessee on a certificate granted
by the High Court. "'
F 2. The short question that falls for our consideration is whether the
money received towards the insurance claim on account of the damage
to or destruction of the capital asset is so received on account of the
transfer of the asset within the meaning of Section 45 of the Act and is,
therefore, chargeable to the capital gains tax under the said section.
G 3. It would be convenient to reproduce here the provisions of Section
45 of the Act as they stood at the relevant time:
"45. Capital gains-Any profits or gains arising from the
transfer of a capital asset effected in the previous year shall,
save as otherwise provided in sections 53 and 54, be charge-
H ·able to income-tax under the head 'capital gains', and shall
SILK MILLS v. C.I.T. {SAWANT, J.J 583
be deemed to be the income of the previous year in which
the transfer took place".
Emphasis supplied
L Section 2(47) of the Act which defined transfer at the relevant
time read as follows:
"2. Definitions-In this Act, unless the context otherwise
requires,-
( 47) 'transfer', in relation to a capital asset, includes the
sal<;>, exchange or relinquishment of the asset or the exting- C
uishment of any rights therein or the compulsory acquisi
tion thereof under any law."
A reading of the two sections makes· it abundantly clear that the
profits or gains which are amenable to Section 45 must arise from the
transfer of the capital asset which is effected in the previous year. The D
transfer may be brought about by any of the modes of transfer which
include sale, exchange, relinquishment of the asset or the extinguish
ment of the rights therein or the compulsory acquisition of the asset
under any law. It may be of the asset itself or of any rights in it. It may
further be the result of a voluntary act or a compulsory operation.
Whatever the mode by which it is brought about, the existence of the E
asset during the process of transfer is a pre-condition. Unless the asset
exists in fact, there cannot be a transfer of it.
4. When an asset is destroyed there is no question of transferring
+ it to others. The destruction or loss of the asset, no doubt, brings about
the destruction of the right of the owner or possessor of the asset, in it. F
But it is not on account of transfer. It is on account of the disappea
rance of the asset. The extinguishment of right in the asset on account
of extinguishment of th~ asset itself is not a transfer of the right but its
destruction. By. no stretch of imagination, the destruction of the right
o.n account of the destruction of the asset can be equated with the
extinguishment of right on account of its transfer. Section 45 speaks G
about capital gains arising out of "iransfer" of asset and not on
account of "extinguishment of right" by itself. The capital gains is
attracted by transfer and not merely by extinguishment of right
howsoever brought about. The transfer may be effected by various
modes and one of the modes is the extinguishment of right on transfer
of the asset itself or on account of the transfer of the right or rights in H
it. The extinguishment of right or rights must in any case be on account
of its or their transfer in order to attract the provisions of Section 45. If
it is not, and is on account of the destruction or loss of the asset, as in
the present case, it is not a transfer and does not attract the provisions
of Section 45 which relate to transfer and not to mere extinguishment
of right but to one by transfer. Hence an extinguishment of right not
brought about by transfer is outside the purview of Section 45. The
High Court erred in ignoring the basic postulate that Section 45 does
not relate to extinguishment of right but to transfer. Having con
centrated its attention on the words "extinguishment of right" rather
than on "transfer", the High Court, with respect, misdirected itself
and proceeded on the basis that every extinguishment of right whether
by way of transfer or not, is attracted by Section 45.
5. Transfer presumes both the existence of the asset and of the
transferee to whom it is transferred. In the case of the damage, partial
or complete, or destruction or loss of the property, there is no transfer
of it in favour of a third party. The money received under the insu
rance policy in such cases is by way of indemnity or compensation for
the damage, loss or destruction of the property. It is not in considera
tion of the transfer of the property or the transfer of any right in it in
favour of the insurance company. It is by virtue of the contract of
insurance or of indemnity, and in terms of the conditions of the con
tract. Under an insurance contract, the assured cannot claim more
amount than th.e sum insured. The sum insured is the maximum liabi
lity of the insurer and the assured secures it by paying his premium
which is accordingly fixed. Even within the maximum limit, the
insured canhot recover more than what he establishes to be his actual
loss, whatever may be his estimates of the loss that he was likely to
bear and whatever the premium he may have paid calculated on the
basis of the said estimate.
The fact that while paying for the total loss of or damage to the
property, the insurance company takes over such property or whatever
is left of it, does not change the nature of.the insurance claim which is
indemnity or compensation for the loss. The payment of insurance
G claim is not in consideration of the property taken over by the insu-
rance company, for one is not consideration for the other. It is incor- ....
rect to argue that the insurance claim is the value of the damaged
property. The claim is assessed on the basis of the damage sustained by
the property or the amount necessary to restore it to its original condi-
tion. It is not a consideration for the damaged property. In the present
H case, the insurance was on reinstatement basis which meant that the
'"'·
' '
SILK MILLS v. C.l.T. [SAWANT, J.[ 585
property was to be restored to the condition in which it was, before the
fire. The insurance company paid the amount for the restoration of the
machinery which had to be on the basis of its value at the time of the
fire. The machinery in question was purchased in the year 1957 and the
fire broke out on August 11, 1966. Although nothing has come on
record on the point, taking into consideration the ordinary course of
events, it is legitimate to presume that the cost of machinery had gone
up during the intervening period and the assured and, therefore, the
assessee, was entitled to recover on the basis of the increased value of
the machinery (refer to Halsbury's Laws of England, Fourth edition,
VoL 25 under the heading Insurance, in para 654).
6. It is true that the definition of "transfer" in Section 2( 47) of
the Act is inclusive, and therefore, extends to events and transactions
which may not otherwise be "transfer" according to its ordinary,
popular and natural sense. It is this aspect of the definition which has
weighed with the High Court and, therefore, the High Court has
argued that if the words "extinguishment of any rights therein" are
substituted for the word "transfer" in Section 45, the claim or compen
sation received from the insurance company would be attracted by the
said section. The High Court has, however, missed the fact that the
deffnition also mentions such transactions as sale, exchange etc. to
which the word "transfer:' would properly apply in its popular and
natural import. Since those associated words and expressions imply
the existence of the asset and of the transferee, according to the rule of
noscitur a sociis, the expression "extinguishment of any rights therein"
would takt colour from the said associated words and expressions, and
will have to be restricted to the sense analogous to them. If the legisla
ture intended to extend the definition to any extinguishment ofright, it
would not have included the obvious instances of transfer, viz., sale,
exchange etc. Hence the expression "extinguishment of any rights
therein" will have to be confined to the extinguishment of rights on
account of transfer and cannot be extended to mean any extinguish
ment of right independent of or otherwise than on account of transfer.
7. The High Court, as stated earlier, read the expression ''.extin
guishment of any rights" in the assets as any extinguishment of right
whether it resulted in or was on account of transfer. For the reasons
which we have discussed earlier we find that that approach is not
correct. For the same reasons, we are unable to accept the reasoning of
the High Court that for "transfer" within the meaning of Section 45
.. the asset need not exist. We are afraid that the High Court's reliance
on Commissioner of Income-Tax v. R.M .• Amin, [1971] 82 !TR 194
Gujarat to hold that for the transfer contemplated by Section 45, the
asset neet not exist is not well-merited. There, the High Court was
concerned with a chose-in-action, viz., the shares, and the amount
received by the assessee-shareholder on liquidation of the company
representing his share in the assets of the company. The Court there·
had pointed out that the extinguishment of right of the assessee
shareholder in his share which was an incorporeal property had come
about on account of receipt by him of the amount representing the
value of the shares.
The amount received by the assessee-i;hareholder does not rep
resent any consideration received by him as a result of the extinguish
ment of his rights in the shares. The share merely represents the right
to receive money on distribution of the net assets of the company in
liquidation and it is by satisfaction of that right, that the right is exting
uished when such monies are received by the shareholder. The con
sideration presumes quid pro quo and, therefore, transfer of the pro
perty or of the rights in the !Jroperty, whether the property is corporeal
or incorporeal.
Wheh the assets themselves are being distributed, it is correct to
say that to the extent of distribution, they are wiped out. It is in that
sense that the assets do not exist to the extent that they are distributed.
When the company's assets are thus distributed, is a sense the assets
E which are converted into money and which, therefore, exist in the
form of money are transferred from the liquidator to the shareholder.
His rights in the assets come to an end when he receives his liquidated
share of the asset. In such a case the assets do exist though in the
converted form, viz., cash and what is transferred is also the converted.
form of the asset. With respect, therefore, it is not correct to say that
F in such cases the capital asset does not exist and does not change hand
as capital asset. That the receipt of his share in the asset brings about
automatically the extinguishment of the shareholder's rights in the
asset cannot, however, be gainsaid. The decision of the Gujarat High
Court in R.M. Amin's case (supra) was appealed against and this
Court while approving the ratio of the said decision further explained
G the nature of the money received by a shareholder on the liquidation
of a company. This Court reiterating its earlier view in the c:ase of
Commissioner of Income-tax v. Madurai Mills Co. Ltd., [1973] 89 !TR
45, held that the act of the liquidator in distributing the assets of the
company does not result in the creation of new rights. It merely recog
nises the legal rights which were in existence prior to the distribution.
H The shareholder receives money in recognition and satisfaction of his
"""
SILK MILLS r. CI.T. [SAWANT, i.J 587
right and not by operation of any transaction which amounts to sale,
exchange, relinquishment of asset or extinguishment of any of his
rights in such asset.
8. So also when a partner retires from the partnership what he
receives is his share in the partnership 'which is worked out and
realised. It does not represent consideration received by him as a
result of the extinguishment of his interest in the partnership assets.
He has no share in any particular asset of the firm. Therefore, there is
no transfer of interest in any particular asset of the firm on account of
the receipt of his share by a retired partner. As held in Commissioner
of Income-tax v. Mohanbhai Pamabhai, [1973] 91 ITR 393 (Gujarat)
no part of the amount received by the assessee as a retired partner is
assessable to capital gains tax under Section 45.
9. The High Court has explained these two decisions by giving
reasons which do not appeal to us. The Court has tried to distinguish
them from the facts of the present case pointing out, firstly, that there
was no foundation either in law or in fact to believe that the amount
which the assessee received from M/s. Jasmine Mills was paid to it in
satisfaction or in working out of its right, if any, to recover damages
under law or contract for the loss or damage caused to the machinery.
We do not see any difficulty in holding that it was an amount received
by the assessee as damages on account of the loss of its machinery. It is
difficult to describe it otherwise. The second reasr.n given by the High E
Court is, with respect, equally fragile. It is held that the alleged right,
if any, of the assessee to recover damages was not an absolute statu-
tory right but one which was subject to a contract to the contrary and
even if there was no such contract it was merely an inchoate or contin
gent right in respect of which some investigation or legal proceeding
and settlement or adjudication would he necessary for its satisfaction F
or fulfilm~nt. We do not agree with this reasoning as well. The facts
clearly show that M/s. Jasmine Mills as a bailee had insured the
machinery hired from the assessee, since it was liable to make good the
loss of the machinery to the assessee. This is implied under a contract
of bailment unless it is provided to the contrary. M/s. Jasmine Mills
,' further admittedly paid the insurance amount pro rata to the assessee. G
In the circumstances, we are unable to appreciate the distinction
sought to be made by. the High Cour~.
10. We are also .unable to see how it would make any difference
to the point involved in the present case whether the Jasmine Mills had
insured the assessee's machinery as bailees or as agents of the assessee. H
/
588 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [ 1991] 3 S.C.R.
There is further no dispute that the insurance policy contained the
reinstatement clause requiring the insurer to pay the cost of the
machinery as on the date of the fire. As we have pointed out earlier, in
an insurance policy with the reinstatement clause, the insurer is bound
to pay the cost of the insured property as on the date of the destrnction
or loss, and it matters very little if the amount so paid by the insurance
company is, invested for purchasing the destroyed asset or for any
other purpose. Jn the circumstances, for the purposes of answer.ing the
question in hand, it was not necessary to inquire whether the amount
received by the assessee was spent in replacement of the machinery or
not.
11. For the reasons given above, the decision of the Allahabad
High Court in Commissioner of Income-tax v. J.K. Cotton Spinning &
Weaving Mills Co. Ltd., [1987] 164 ITR 81 which proceeds on the same
reasoning as the impugned judgment is also not a good law. Instead,
we approve of the conclusion reached by the Madras High Court in C.
Leo Machado v. Commissioner of Income-tax, [1988] 172 ITR 744 for
the reasons given by us above.
12. In the result, the appeal succeeds and the impugned decision
is set aside. In the circumstances of the case, however, there will be no
order as to costs.
R.P. Appeal allowed.