T.S. Thiruvengadam v. the Secretary to Govt. of India, Ministry of Finance, Department of Expenditure, New Delhi and Ors.
KULDIP SINGH, J. Special leave granted. D
Applications for impleadment are allowed.
The appellant was in the service of the Central Government for a
°'{ period of about 15 years. He was thereafter permanently absorbed in a
public undertaking, from where he retired on April 1, 1984. The question
for our consideration is whether the appellant on absorption in the public
=- undertaking was eligible for pro-rata pension and death-cum-retirement
gratuity based on the length of his qualifying service under the Goverment
till the date of absorption. F
--J.. The appellant was serving the Audit Department (Defence Service)
- of the Government of India as Substantive Upper Division Clerk. He was
sent on foreign service to Neyveli Lignite Corporation Ltd. (public sector
undertaking) on January 9/10, 1961. He was permanently absorbed in the
public undertaking with effect from August 1, 1964. It is not disputed that G
the appellant, having joined Central Government service on July 25, 1949,
>-- had completed 15 years of pensionable government-service. On the date of
appellant's permanent absorption in the public undertaking the retirement
benefits were regulated by Memorandum dated Noverbcr 10, 1960 issued
by the Ministry of Finance (Department of Expenditure), New Delhi. H
A According to the said Memorandum the retirement benefits for service
rendered by a government servant before his absorption in a public under- ·)ir
taking, were admissible equal to what the government would have con
tributed had the individual been on contributory provident fund terms, with
2% simple interest thereon. The Government of India subsequently issued
B Memorandum dated June 16, 1967 providing revised term, and conditions
of absorption in Central Public Sector Undertakings but restricted the
revised benefits only to those who were absorbed on or after June 16, 1967.
The operative features of the revised instrucuons were as under:- ~
(i) A permanent government servant with not less than 10
years qualifying sen1ce on absorption in public undertak
ing was eligible for pro-rata pension and death-cum-retire
ment gratuity based on the length of his qualifying service
under government till the date of absorption. The pension
was to be calc~!ated on the basis of average emoluments
immediorcly before absorption.
(ii) The pro-rata pension, gratuity, etc. admissible in
respect of the service rendered under the government was
disbursable only from the date the government servant
would have normally superannuated had be continued in
service.
The appellant retired from the public undertaking on April 1, 1984.
lt is not disputed that on January 15, 1974 ·the appellant was paid a sum
of Rs. 3036 as retirement benefits in terms of the Memorandum dated
F November 10, 1960. The benefit of the revised terms and conditions of
absorption as contained in the Government Memorandum dated June 16,
1967 was denied to the appellant on the short ground that he was absorbed
in the public undertaking prior to the date of coming into force of the said
Memorandum.
The appellant filed a writ petition under Article 226 of the Constitu
tion of India on October 19, 1984 in the Madras High Court seeking a
mandamus directing the respondents to grant him pro-rata pension and all
other benefits admissible under the revised Memorandum dated June 16,
1967. As an interim measure the High Court directed that the appellant be
paid 50 per cent of the pro-rata pension and other pensionary benefits
-
-
-
T.S. 'Jl!JRUVENGADAM v. SECRETARY \KUUJfP S!NG!I. J.] 1083
under the Memorandum dated June 16, 1967 from the d_atc o[ his absorp-
~ lion in the public undertaking. The writ petition was transferred to the
Central Administrative Tribunal, Madras. The tribunal by its judgment
dated June 14, 1988 dismissed the application and rejected the claim of the
appellant. This appeal by way of special leave is against the judgment of
the Central Administrative Tribunal.
The appellant has questioned the validity of the condition imposed
+ in the Memorandum dated June 16,-1967 making the Memorandum ap
plicable only to such of the employees who arc absorbed in the public
undertakings on or after June 16, 1967. According to the appellant it was
not open lo the government lo deny the benefit of the Memorandum lo
those employees who were absorbed prior to the date of the Memorandum
as it \vould bring into existence arbitrary classification in respect of govern
ment employees absorbed in the public undertakings prior to June 16, 1967
and thereafter. The appellant has contended that such classification is not
warranted under Articles 14 and 16 uf the Constitution as it has no nexus D
with the object sought to be achieved by the government Memorandum.
The contention of the respondents, on the other hand, is that the
revised retirement benefits were introduced to attract more and more
government servants for permanent absorption .in governn1ent undertakings
'-( to build up their cadres. It was thus an incentive for encadring suitable
persons in the government undertakings. According lo the respondents,
being a new incentive, it has been given effect from the date of issue of
- orders and there is nothing arbitrary or discriminatory in fixing the cut-off
date.
There is no dispute that Ncyvcli Lignite Corporation Ltd. is a body
\vhich i!' sponsored, financed and controlled by the Central Governn1ent.
More and more government functions arc being brought under the govern
ment undertakings and autonomous bodies. There is considerable mobility
from Central Government Departments to the public undertakings. The
object of brinp:ing into existence the revised terms and conditions in the G
Memorandum dated June 16, 196 7 was to protect the pensionary benefits
which the Central Government servants had earned before their absorption
mtn the public undertakings. Restricting the applicability ,1[ the revised
r\:lcn1orantlum only to those \Vho are absorbed after the coming into force
of the said Memorandum, \Vould he defeating the very oh.iect and purpose H
A of the revised Memorandum. It is not disputed that the appellant along
with other Central Government employees was sent on foreign service to ·~·
I he public undertaking in the year 1961. He was absorbed in the year 1964.
All those, who joined on foreign serYice alongwith the appellant but were
absorbed after June 16, 1967, have been given the benefits under the
revi,;ed Memorandum. Denying the same to the appellant would be con
trary to fair-play and justice. Assuming that the revised Memorandum is
an incentive to attract Central Government employees to public undertak
ings, the persons who are so attracted do not become a different class. ~
They join the same class to which the persons like the appellant belong.
Therefore, all those Central Government employees who were absorbed in
public undertakings either before June 16, 1967 or thereafter and were
serving the public undertakings, arc entitled to the benefits provided under
the Memorandum dated June 16, 1967.
We do not, also, find substance in the contention that the revised
benefits being new ii could only be prospective in operation and cannot be ..I
extended to employees who were absorbed earlier. It is no doubt correct
that the Mcmor~ndtnn dated June 16, 1967 is prospective which only means
that the benefits therein can be claimed only after June 16, 1967. The
Memorandum, however, takes into consideration the past event that is the
period of service under the Central Government for the purposes of giving .
E pro-rata pension. Whoever has rendered pensionable service prior to Y
coming into force of the Memorandum would be entitled to claim the
benefits under the said Memorandum. Restricting the benefits only to those
who were absorbed in public undertakings after June 16, 1967 would be
arbitrary and hit by Articles 14 and 16 of the Constitution.
We may examine the claim of the appellant under the Central Civil
Services (Pension) Rules, 1972 (the Rules). Rule 37 of the Rules is as ~
under:-
"A Government servant who has bei;n permitted to be
absorbed in a service or post in or under a corporation or
company wholly or substantially owned or controlled by
the Government or in or under a body controlled or
financed by the Government shall, if such absorption is
declared by the Government to be in the public interest,
be deen1cd to have retired from service from the date of
-
-
-
r
T.S. THIRUVENGADAM v. SECRETARY [KULDIP SINGH, J.] 1085
such absorption and shall be eligible to receive retirement
benefits which he may have dected or deemed to have
elected, and from such date as may be determined, in
accordance with the orders of the Government applicable
to him:
Provided that no declaration regarding absorption in the
public interest in a service or post in or under such cor
poration, company or body shall be required in respect of
a Government servant whom the Government may, by
order, declare to be a scientific employee."
Rule 37, thus, provides that a government servant who has been
permitted to be absorbed in service in a Central Government public
undertaking in public interest, be deemed to ·have retir.ed from service from
the date of such absorption and shall be eligible to receive retirement
-~benefits in accordance with the orders of the Government applicable to D
him. It is not disputed that the appellant was permitted to be absorbed in
the Central Government public undertaking in public interest. The appel
lant, as such, shall be deemed to have retired from government service from
the date of his absorption and is eligible to receive the re\irement benefits.
It is no doubt correct that the retirement benefits envisaged under Rule 37
~·are to be determined in accordance with the government order but the
plain language of the rule does not permit any classification while granting
the retirement benefits. When the Rule specifically provides that all the
persons who fulfil the pre-conditions prescribed therein shall be deemed
to have retired from government service from the date of absorption and
shall be eligible to receive retirement benefits then the government while
granting benefits cannot deny the same to some of them on the basis· of
. .Jc arbitrary classification. All those persons who fulfil the conditions under
Rule 37 are a class by themselves and no discrimination can be permitted
within the said class. The government action in restricting the benefits
under the revised Memorandum dated June 16, 1967 only to those who are
absorbed after that date goes contrary to the Rule and cannot be sustained. G
)'. We, therefore, allow the appeal, set aside the judgment of the Central
Administrative Tribunal and direct the respondents to grant pro-rata pen
sion and other benefits to the appellant under the office Memorandum
dated June 16, 1967. The respondents are directed to final\se the. benefits H
1086 SUPREME COURT REPORTS (1993] 1 S.C.R.
A within three months from today and all the arrears of pension etc. shall be
paid to the appellant within one month thereafter with 12% interest. Any)._
payment already received by the appellant under the interim order of the'
High Court has to be adjusted. The appellant shall be entitled to costs
which we quantify as Rs. 10,000.
B We allow I.A. 4/91 and direct that the applicants therein namely,
K.B.L. Mathur, Jaswant Lal Jetlie and C.L. Soni - whose cases are identical
to that of the appellant - be also given benefit of the Memorandum date\
June 16, 1967 in similar terms as directed by us in respect of the appellant.
These applicants shall, however, be not entitled to costs.
G.N. Appeal allowed.
v
-
-