Ashwani Kumar Mishra v. P. Muniam Babu and Ors.
SETHI, J. Leave granted.
Notice was issued to the respondent to show cause why the
compensation amount in favour of the appellant be not further enhanced.
D Respondent No. 3-New India Insurance Company has filt<d the counter affidavit
submitting therein that there is not documentary evid~nce to show that the
appellant was at all employed anywhere at the time of the accident and in the
absence of proof regarding his income, the amount of compensation cannot
be enhanced. It is submitted that as the appellant had claimed Rs. 2,90,919.15
E and was awarded Rs. 2,25,000 with interest, there is no justification for him
to claim enhancement of the compensation amount.
The facts giving rise to the filling of the present appeal are that the
appellant who was 23 years of age had met with an accident and received
severe injuries causing damages to his spinal cord. He remained under
F treatment for about 90 days and became permanently disabled. He had
preferred a claim for Rs. 63,00,919.15 from the owner, driver and the insurer
of the vehicle for injuries suffered by him in the motor accident. The Motor
Accident Claim Tribunal (hereinafter referred to as 'the Tribunal') after
appreciating the evidence led in the case held that the appellant was travelling
G as an agent of the construction firm when he met with the accident and
awarded him a compensation of Rs. 1,64,037 with interest at the rate of 10 per
cent per annum. Both the appellant and the insurance company preferred
appeals before the High Court which were disposed by the impugned judgment
holding the appellant entitled to Rs. 2.25.000 as compensation payable w:th
interest at the rate of 12 per cent per annum instead of 10 per cent as awarded
H by the Tribunal.
'
A.K. MISHRA v. P. MUNIAM BABU. [SETHI, J.] 521
It is not disputed that the appellant had met with a road accident in A
which he was seriously injured, underwent operations of his spinal cord/
kidney number of times and has become invalid for all practical purposes for
the rest of his life. The appellant had claimed that his income was Rs. 2,000
per month at the time of accident when he was 23 years of age. He had prayed
for applying the multiplier of 55 for granting him compensation in lieu of loss B
of income which he would have earned in the absence of accident in which
he has admittedly been totally incapacitated. The learned counsel appearing
for the insurance company submitted that there was no proof of his income
and that he was not proved to have been employee of his father in the work
where the vehicle was begin utilised at the time of the accident. It is however,
not disputed that at the time of the accident, the appellant was assisting his C
father in the construction work of Sunita Construction at Deposit No. 40 in
Township of Kailash Nagar for renewing of fencing in front of residential and
non-residential quarters providing C.C. coping with glasses for compound
walls of Kailash Nagar when he met with the accident. He has claimed his
income to be Rs. 2,000 per month. The appellant, a young man cannot be
disputed to be contributing and augmenting the income of his father. Some D
guess work has to be applied while assessing the loss. This Court in R.D.
Hattangadi v. Mis Pest Control (India) rvt. Ltd & Ors., [1995] l SCC 551
had held :-
"Broadly speaking while fixing an amount of compensation payable to E
a victim of an accident, the damages have to be assessed separately
as pecuniary damages and special damages. Pecuniary damages are
those which the victim has actually incurred and which is capable of
being calculated in terms of money; whereas non-pecuniary damages
are those which are incapable of being assessed by arithmetical
calculations. In order to appreciate two concepts pecuniary damages F
may include expenses incurred by the claimant : (i) medical attendance;
(ii) loss of earning of profit up to the date of trial ; (iii) other material
loss. So far non-pecuniary damages are concerned, they may include:
(i) damages for mental and physical shock, pain suffering, already
suffered or likely to be suffered in future; (ii) damages to compensate G
for the loss of amenities of the life which may include a variety of
matters, i.e. on account of injury the claimant may not be able to walk,
run or sit; (iii) damages for the loss of expectation of life, i.e., on
account of injury the normal longevity of the person concerned is
shortened; (iv) inconvenience, hardship, discomfort, disappointment,
frustration and mental stress in life." H
A It was further held that whenever a tribunal or court is required to fix the
amount of compensation in cases of accident, it involves some quash work,
some hypothetical consideration, some amount of sympathy linked with the
nature of the disability caused. However all such elements are required to be
viewed with objective standards. While assessing dam:ige, the court cannot
B base its opinion merely on speculation or fancy though conjectures to some
extent or inevitable.
In the instant case, the appellant has been awarded Rs. 94,037 as
expenses incurred on medical care, Rs. 20,000 for special diet and expenses
for attendant during treatment. For his becoming permanently disabled and
C paraplegic on account of the injury and damages caused to his spinal cord,
the appellant, who admittedly has been held permanently incapacitated has
been granted only Rs. 1,00,000. We are of the opinion that the appellant was
right in claiming his income at Rs. 2,000 per month while working with his
father at the time of the accident and even if we apply the multiplier of 16,
he is entitled to the claim of Rs. 3,84,00~ on account of loss of expectation
D to life besides disappointment, frustration and mental stress particularly when
he has to keep a permanent attendant to look after him in his rest of life.
Adding this amount to the amount of Rs. 1,14,000 to which the appellant has
rightly been held entitled on account of expenses incurred on medical care
and for the pain sufferings during the period of treatment, the appellant is
E entitled to a total sum of Rs. 4,98,000 which we round up to Rs. 5,00,000
inclusive of costs of litigation. The aforesaid amount is liable to be paid by
the respondent-insurance company as was held by the High Court.
In the result, this appeal is allowed by modifying the order impugned
holding the appellant entitled to a compensation of Rs. 5,00,000 with interest
F at the rate of 12 percent per annum as awarded by the High Court. No further
costs.
R.K.S. Appeal allowed .