Punjab National Bank v. Virender Kumar Goel and Ors.
SEMA, J. Parties are heard.
In all these applications, the applicants sought to review/clarify/modify
the judgment and order of this Court rendered on 17 .12.2002 in batches of
H Civil Appeals.
.....
P.N.B. v. V.K. GOEL [SEMA • .I.] 923
At the outset, we make it clear, that this Benc11 is not sitting on appeal A
over the judgment rendered by this Court on 17.12.2002. Factual Matrix
leading to the filing of the present petitions is, therefore, obviated.
Before we advert further, we may at this stage, notice the _operative
directions rendered in the judgment sought to be reviewed/clarified, strictly
relevant for the purpose of disposal of the present applications. This Court B
inter alia held that the request of an employee seeking voluntarily retirement
would not take effect until and unless it was accepted in writing by the
competent authority and. therefore, this Court upheld the right of the employee
to withdraw his option from voluntary retirement before the same was accepted.
This Court further held in paragraphs 114 and 115 of the judgment as C
under:-
"114. However. it is accepted that a group of employees accepted the
ex-gratia payment. Those who accepted the ex- gratia payment or any
other benefit under the Scheme, in our considered opinion, could not
have resiled therefrom. D
115. The Scheme is contractual in nature. The contractual right derived
by the employees concerned, therefore, could be waived. The·
employees concerned having accepted a part of the benefit could not
be permitted to approbate and reprobate nor can they be permitted E
to resile from their earlier stand.
(Emphasis supplied)
Finally, in paragraph 130 of the judgment this Court issued the following
directions:-
I. The appeals preferred by the nationalised banks arising from the
High Courts are dismissed except the cases where the employees
concerned have accepted a part of the benefit under the Scheme;
However, in respect of such of the employees who despite
acceptance of a part of the retirement benefit under the Scheme
had continued under the orders of the High Court and has retired G
on attaining the age of superannuation, this order shall not apply.
(Emphasis supplied)
2. The appeals filed by the State Bank of India are allowed.
3. The appeals arising from the judgments of the Uttaranchal High H
924
SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2004) I S.C.R.
Court are allowed and the judgments of the said High Court are
set aside.
4. The appeals arising from the judgments of the Punjab and Haryana
High Court in relation to ten writ petitions which were filed by
the employees for a direction upon the Bank that the benefits
B under the Scheme be paid to them are set aside and the matters
are remitted to the High Court for consideration thereof afresh
on merits and in accordance with law.
In these applications, we are concerned with direction Nos. I, 2 and 3.
C In the backdrop of the directions aforesaid, we now proceed to examine
the present applications.
Review Petition No. 53 of 2003 arising out of Civil Appeal No. 896 of
2002 has been filed by the Punjab National Bank. The ground taken therein
is that respondent No.I, Yirender Kumar Goel, has accepted the benefits
D under the YRS and, therefore, the appeal filed by him against the judgment
and order of Uttaranchal High Court ought to have been dismissed, instead
of allowed, as contained in direction No.3.
The respondent herein had filed counter to the application. It is argued
that the Review Petition is not maintainable as the applicant had failed to
E show that there was an error apparent on record or that there was discovery
of some new or important matter which, after the exercise of due diligence,
was not within the knowledge or could not be produced by him at the time
of the hearing of the special leave petition. It is further argued that the
respondent had applied for YRS on 17.11.2000, which was operative w.e.f.
F 1.11.2000 to 30.11.2000. Thereafter, on 27.11.2000 the respondent had
submitted an application for withdrawal of his application dated 17.11.2000
during the warranty of the Scheme. However, the bank accepted the request
of the respondent on 6.1.2001 after the period of the Scheme was expired and
on the same date the respondent had been relieved of his post.
G In our view this contention would be of no assistance to the respondent.
He knew very well that the money deposited in his account was part of the
l • '
.,.
benefits under the Scheme. He also knew it very well that his request for '(
YRS was accepted after the Scheme had expired, yet he had withdrawn the
amount deposited and utilised the same.
H The fact that the respondent had withdrawn a part of the benefit under
P.N.B. v. V.K. GOEL [SEMA, J.) 925
~ I
'
j
the scheme is not disputed and it could not be._To substantiate the contention, A
the applicant has submitted a photocopy of respondent's bank account
No.27980 (Annexure R-1 ). It clearly appears from Annexure R-1 that a part
of the retirement benefit was deposited in the respondent's bank account on
12.1.2001 and on 15.1.2001 he had withdrawn Rs. three lakhs. Again on
28.2.2001 he had withdrawn Rs. fifty thousand. This fact, however, was not B brought to the notice of this Court at the time of the hearing. However, the
fact remains that the incumbent had accepted the benefits under the scheme
). and utilisation thereof would squarely be covered by direction No.I as noticed
above. Therefore, the judgment dated 17 .12.2002 is reviewed to the extent
that the appeal arising out of the judgment and order of the Uttaranchal High
Court is dismissed and the judgment of the High Court is upheld. c
l.A.NOS.1-2 AND 3
The question involved in I.A.Nos. 1-2 and 3 is as to whether the
applicants have accepted a part of the benefit under the YRS in terms of
direction No. I or not. D
.... I.A.No. I
This I.A is filed by respondent Balbir Singh Chadha for clarification
and modification of the judgment dated 17.12.2002. The ground taken in the
application is that the benefits under the scheme had been deposited in the E
applicant's defunct Bank account No.30 which has never been accepted nor
withdrawn by the applicant cannot be construed as acceptance of part of the
benefits in terms of direction No. I. In this case, the applicant applied for
YRS on 28.11.2000. The applicant withdrew his application on 20.12.2000,
).
before the same was accepted by the bank. Annexure-R5 is the photocopy of F
~
Bank account no.30 in the name of the applicant. It appears that on 13.3.2001
leave encashment of Rs.134650.82 was deposited in his account. Thereafter,
the applicant had not operated the bank account. He had not withdrawn the
amount.
l.A.No.2 G
-
The employee Narinder Singh is the applicant. The applicant applied
'r for benefit under the scheme on 1.12.2000. He submitted an application on
25.1.200 I for withdrawal of his offer for YRS. The ground taken in the
application inter a/ia is that on 26.3.2001 the respondent-bank herein deposited
H leave encashment of Rs. 119048 in account No.5654 of the applicant. It is
926 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2004) I S.C.R.
A further contended that the applicant did not operate the account thereafter. He 1.. • '
has neither withdrawn the amount nor utilised the amount, unilaterally
deposited in his account. To substantiate his contention the applicant has
annexe:! photocopy of the account No.5654 (Annexure R-3). A perusal of the
account would reveal that after 26.3.~00I the applicant has not operated his
B bank account. This fact is not denied by the bank.
J.A.No.3
The applicant is Mohinder Pal Singh, an employee of the bank. He
applied for the benefit of the scheme on 1.12.2000. On 27.12.2000 he made
c an application for withdrawal of his offer for YRS. The withdrawal application
was filed before the acceptance of the offer for YRS by the bank authority.
The ground taken in this application is that the applicant did not operate bank
account No.17611 after 21.4.200 I. To buttress his contention the applicant
has filed photocopy of bank account no.17611 (Annexure R-6). It appears
from there that the benefit under the scheme was deposited in the bank
D account of the applicant on and from 30.4.2001 and the applicant had not
operated his bank account thereafter. In view thereof, it cannot be construed
that the applicant had accepted a part of benefit under the scheme in terms
of direction No. I.
We make it clear that the sentence, "accepted a part of benefit under
the scheme", appeared in our direction as noticed above, would include the
withdrawal of the benefit and utilisation thereof. By no stretch of imagination,
unilateral deposit of a part of benefit under the scheme into the bank account,
that too after withdrawal of the application, would construe as to have accepted
the part of the benefit under the scheme, when the same was neither withdrawn
F nor utilised by the employee concerned.
,I. ,
In view of the discussion aforesaid, IA Nos. I, 2 and 3 are allowed. The
applicants shall be reinstated into their posts with continuity in service, back
wages and all consequential benefits as are entitled to them under the Law.
They shall, however, refund the entire amount deposited into their bank
accounts with interest accrued, if any, to the bank. Full refund of the amount
by the applicants would be the condition precedent for reinstatement. Mr.
Mukul Rohtagi learned ASG submits that applying the principle of 'No Work -y
No Pay', back wages should not be allowed to them on their reinstatement.
We are unable to accept this contention. The applicants were out of their jobs
H for no fault of theirs. Even otherwise, party in breach of contract can hardly
P.N.B. v. V.K. GOEL [SEMI\ . .I.] 927
seek for any e'quitable relief. A
I.A.NOS. 1-22
These applications hav~ been filed by the State Bank of Patiala for
clarification/directions. The ground taken in these applications is that the
State Bank of Patiala is not a nationalised bank. It is hundred per cent a B
subsidiary of the State Bank of India. The YRS scheme floated by the State
Bank of Patiala is in para-materia with the scheme floated by the State Bank
of India. This Court in the judgment dated 17.12.2002 allowed the appeals
filed by the State Bank of India but nothing has been said about the appeals
filed by the State Bank of Patiala. In the interregnum, a two-Judge Bench of C
this Court, in which one of us (Serna, J) was a member, considered the same
question in Civil Appeal No. 2341 of 2003 arising out of Special Leave
Petition No. 23530 of 2002 entitled State Bank of Patia/a v. Jagga Singh,
disposed of on 13.3.2003, where this Court after considering Clause 8 of the
scheme floated by the State Bank of Patiala and Clause 7 of the scheme
floated by the State Bank of India, had held that the scheme floated by the D
State Bank of Patiala is almost identical of the scheme floated by the State
Bank of India. Accordingly, the appeal filed by the State Bank of Patiala was
allowed. Review Petition was also dismissed on 3.12.2003. In view thereof,
we clarify that our direction No.2, allowing the appeals filed by the State
Bank of India, would also include the appeals filed by the State Bank of
Patiala. In other words, the appeals filed by the State Bank of Patiala are E
allowed in terms of our judgment dated 17 .12.2002.
I.A.NOS. 14-15
I.A. No. 14 has been filed by an employee of the bank sought to
clarify/modify our order dated 17.12.2002. In this case, admittedly, the benefit F
of the scheme had been withdrawn by the applicant on 27.2.200 I. The applicant
had clearly admitted, in ground E of the application, withdrawal of the amount
so credited in his account, albeit compelling financial constraints.
I.A. No.15 has been filed by an employee of the bank for clarification/ G
modification of our order dated 17.12.2002. In para 6 of the application, the
applicant admitted that he had withdrawn and utilised the benefit of the
scheme credited in his account.
As noticed in our judgment, having accepted the benefit under the
scheme by withdrawing and utilisation thereof they are not permitted to H
928 SUPREME. COURT REPORTS (2004] I S.C.R.
A approbate and reprobate.
B.S.
The net result is:
(a) Review Petition No. 53 of 2003 is allowed but the costs of the
respondent shall be borne by the applicant.
lb) I.A.Nos. I, 2 and 3 of 2003 are allowed.
(c) I.A.Nos. 1-22 of2003 are allowed.
(d) l.A.Nos.14 and 15 of 2003 are dismissed.
Petitions are disposed of in the above terms.
Petitions disposed of.