Dharmendra Goel v. Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd.
Cited by 1 judgment in this corpus
These judgments mention this one. Whether each followed, distinguished or doubted it is not recorded here — read them before relying on any of it.
...... ~
HARJIT SINGH BEDI, J. 1. Leave granted.
2. This appeal by way of special leave arises out of the
followin~ facts:
3. On 4th January, 2000, the appellant herein purchased a E
new Tata Sumo vehicle for a sum of Rs. 4,30,000/-. The vehicle
was comprehensively insured on 19th January, 2000 with the
Oriental Insurance Company (hereinafter referred to as 'the
Company' ) on its purchase value of Rs. 4,30,000/- and a pre-
F mium of Rs. 10,436/- was paid. This policy expired on 18th Janu-
ary, 2001 and on the very next day the said policy was renewed
for a year by the company assessing the value of the vehicle at
Rs.3,59,000/-. This policy expired on 181h January, 2002 but
was again renewed on 13th February, 2002 up to 12th March,
2003 on a premium of Rs. 8498/- on the value assessed by the G
Company at Rs.3,54,000/- The vehicle met with an accident on
.,. 1 Oth September, 2002 on which the appellant informed the com-
pany as to what had transpired. The vehicle was removed to
Chambal Motors, Kota, Rajasthan, an authorized service sta-
tion of Tata Motors, for repair. Chambal Motors submitted an H
A estimate of Rs.3,37,246.59/-for the repair of the vehicle. The
appellant then submitted a claim for Rs. 3,37,246.59 /-on 11th
October, 2002 alongwith a bill of Rs.4,000/- for removing the
vehicle to the workshop from the place of accident. The com
pany, however, appointed a Surveyor, M.N. Chaturvedi Associ-
B ates on 14th December, 2002 to assess the loss and to submit
a report. The surveyor in his report determined a total loss of
Rs. 1,80,000/- after assessing the value of the salvage at
Rs.85,000/- whereas the assessment on cash loss basis was
made at Rs.1,04,433.53/-. The company, however, declined to
c defray any amount to the appellant on the plea that the driver
did not have a valid driving licence on the date of the accident.
The appellant thereupon filed a complaint before the District
Consumers Forum praying that the sum of Rs.3,37,246.59 /-,
the estimate give·n by Chambal Motors with some additional
charges, be paid to the appellant. After the completion of the
D pleadings, the District Forum, by its order dated 19th January,
2004, dismissed the complaint on the ground that the question
as to whether the driver of the vehicle had a valid driving licence
on the date of the accident involved complicated questions of
fact which could be decided only by a Civil Court. Aggrieved by
E this order the appellant filed an appeal before the M.P. State
Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Bhopal. The Com
mission in its order dated 28th July, 2004 held that the driver did
have a valid driving licence on the date of the accident and ac
cordingly directed the Company to pay to the appellant a sum
F of Rs. 1,04,043/- with interest@ 6% p.a. from the date of the
filing of the complaint till payment. Dissatisfied by the inadequate
compensation awarded by the State Commission, the appel
lant preferred a revision petition before the National Consumer
Disputes Redressal Commission, New Delhi (hereinafter called
G "the National Commission"), claiming a sum of Rs. 3,54,000/
towards compensation. The National Commission, by its order
dated 20th April, 2006 partly allowed the appeal and granted a
compensation of Rs.1,80,000/- witfi interest @12% p.a. The
claimant is before us in appeal in these circumstances.
)
DHARMENDRA GOEL v. ORIENTAL INSURANCE 583
CO. LTD. [HARJIT SINGH BEDI, J.]
'.It- 4. The learned counsel for the appellant has raised only A
one argument in the course of hearing. He has submitted that
the company itself had issued an insurance policy in a sum of
Rs.3,54,000/- effective from 13th February, 2002 to 12th March,
2003 and had also accepted a premium on that basis and as
such to claim that the appellant was entitled to a figure below B
;ii
that amount was wholly unjustified. He has also submitted in
elucidation, that there was absolutely no basis for the surveyor's
conclusion that the appellant was entitled to a sum of
Rs.1,80,000/-on total loss basis in the face of the estimate made
by the Chambal Motors for a much larger amount. c
5. The learned counsel for the Company - Respondent
has , however, pointed out that the appellant's counsel, had in
his arguments before the National Commission, given up his
claim to Rs.3,54,000/- as now contended, and had limited the
same to Rs.1,80,000/- and this amount had in fact been allowed D
and in this view of the matter, any claim for a further sum was
;..._. -i not justified. It has also been pleaded that the appellant had led
no eviderice to challenge the value put on the vehicle by the
surveyor so as to substantiate his claim.
6. We have heard the learned counsels for the parties and E
have gone through the record very carefully. The facts as nar-
rated above remain uncontroverted. Admittedly, the accident
had happened on 1 Oth September, 2002 during the validity of
the Insurance Policy taken on 13th February, 2002 insuring the
vehicle for Rs.3,54,000/- on a premium of Rs.8498/- It is also F
~ the admitted position that the vehicle had been declared to be
a total loss by the surveyor appointed by the company though
the value of the vehicle on total loss basis had been assessed
at Rs.1,80,000/- We are, in the circumstances, of the opinion
that as the company itself had accepted the value of the vehicle G
at Rs.3,54,000/- on 13th February, 2002, if could not claim that
the value of the vehicle on total loss basis on 1 oth September,
~ 2002 i.e., on the date of the accident was only Rs.1,80,000/-. It
bears reiteration that the cost of the new vehicle was
Rs.4,30,000/- and it was insured in that amount on 19th Janu- H
A ary, 2000 and on the expiry of this policy on 18th January, 2001,
was again renewed on 19th January, 2001 on a value of
Rs.3,59,000/- and on the further renewal of the policy on 13th
February, 2002 the value was reduced by only Rs.5,000/- to
Rs.3,54,000/-. We are, therefore, unable to accept the
B company's contention that within a· span of seven months from
13th February 2002 to the date of the accident, the value of the
vehicle had depreciated from Rs.3,54,000/-to Rs.1,80,000/-. It
must be borne in mind that Section 146 of the Motors Vehicles
Act, 1988 casts an obligation on the owner of a vehicle to take
C out an insurance policy as provided under Chapter 11 of the
Act and any vehicle driven without taking such a policy invites a
punishment under Section 196 thereof. It is therefore, obvio.us
that in the light of this stringent provision and being in a domi
nant position the insurance companies often act in an unrea-
D sonable manner and after having accepted the.value of .a par
ticular insured good disown that very figure on one pretext or·
the other when they are called upon to pay compensation. This
'take it or leave it' attitude is clearly unwarranted not only as
being bad in law but ethically indefensible. We are also unable
to accept the submission that it was for the appellant to pro-
E duce evidence to prove that the surveyor's report was on the
lower side in the light of the fact that a price had already been
put on the vehicle by the company itself at the time of renewal of
the policy. We accordingly hold that in these circumstances, the·
company was bound by the value put on the vehicle while re-
F newing the policy on 13th February, 2002.
7. The learned counsel for the respondent, has however,
argued that in the course of hearing before the National Com
mission, the appellant had limited his claim to Rs.1,80,000/-
G and having· been awarded that amount, could not claim any
thing beyond that figure. We, however, notice from a bare read
ing of the order of the National Commission that the primary
claim made by the appellant was tor a sum of Rs.3,54,000/
and in the alternative for Rs.1.,80,000/-. This fact is made more
explicit from the grounds of revision filed before the National
)
DHARMENDRA GOEL v. ORIENTAL INSURANCE 585
CO. LTD. [HARJIT SINGH BEDI, J.]
Commission wherein a sum of Rs.3,50,000/- had been repeat- A
edly claimed. Even otherwise, we believe that in such matters,
the court must take a realistic view and if a particular claim to
compensation is possible on the material on record, it should
not be denied on hyper technical pleas, as has been argued by
the respondent's counsel. B
8. The learned counsel for.the respondent company has
finally submitted that as the vehicle had been insured for
Rs.3,54,000/- on 13th February, 2002 and the accident had hap
pened about seven months later (on 1Qth September, 2002),
some depreciation in the value of the vehicle ought to be made C
and the compensation determined on that basis. We accept
this prayer of the learned counsel and keeping in view that about
seven months of the policy had expired, order that the value of
the vehicle should be reduced by Rs.10,000/-
9. We accordingly allow the appeal and direct that the
appellant should be paid a sum of Rs.3,44,000/- with interest.
in the manner determined by the National Commission. The
appellant shall also have his costs which are quantified at
Rs.25,000/-.
N.J. Appeal allowed.