The General Manager, United Insurance Co. Ltd. v. M. Laxmi and Ors.
DR. ARIJIT PASAYAT, J.1. Leave granted.
2. Challenge in this appeal is to the judgment of a learned
F Single Judge of the Andhra Pradesh High Court allowing the
appeal filed by respondent Nos. 1 to 3.
3. Background facts in a nutshell are as follows:
G One Ramulu (hereinafter referred to as the 'deceased')
died in a vehicular accident on 8.10.1996. Respondents 1 to <
3 are his widow, son and father respectively. A claim petition
was filed under Section 166 of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988
(in short 'the Act') claiming compensation of Rs. 3,00,000/-. The
claimants averred in the claim petition that the deceased and
GENERAL MANAGER, UNITED INSURANCE CO. v. M. 51
LAXMI AND ORS. [DR. ARIJIT PASAYAT, J.]
one Mohd. Mohsin were going on a scooter belonging to M. A
Yadireddy, respondent no.4 in the present appeal. The scooter
was being driven by Mohd. Mohsin. At about 7.00 p.m. the
scooter hit a bullock cart which was going in the same direction
because of rash and negligent driving of the scooter, the
;., deceased fell down and sustained fatal injuries. At the time of B
his death, he was 29 years of age. Compensation was claimed
from the owner of the scooter. Present appellant was the insurer
which had insured the vehicle in question. The insured
remained ex-parte. The present appellant filed its counter-
affidavit denying all the material allegations. It was pointed out c
that admittedly, the policy of insurance was an Act policy and
the deceased was a pillion rider and also gratuitous passenger
and hence, not a third party, and he cannot claim compensation
from the insurance company which insured the vehicle. The
learned Additional Special Judge for SPE and ACB Cases- D cum-V Additional Chief Judge, City Civil Court, Hyderabad
(hereinafter referred to as 'MACT') who adjudicated the claim
petition, held that the policy was an Act policy in respect of the
Scooter on the date of accident, therefore, the insurer had no
liability. It was categorically held that unless the policy in E question covers even a gratuitous passenger, such person, who
met with an accident while going in the vehicle in question and
received injuries or his legal heirs, in case of his death following
... such accident, cannot proceed against the concerned
insurance company for any compensation. The compensation
F payable was fixed at Rs.1,07,436/-with 12% interest per
annum. It was held that the sum was to be realized from the
insured and not from the present appellant.
An appeal was preferred by the claimants before the High
Court, which, by the impugned judgment relying on a Circular G } of the Tariff Advisory Committee held that the liability of the
insurer was there. The appeal was, accordingly, allowed.
4. Learned counsel for the appellant submitted that the
High Court has misread the Circular of the Tariff Advisory H
A Committee dated 2.6.1986. The same referred to
compensation payable to pillion riders ih case of
comprehensive policy. The Clarification/Circular has no
relevance so far as Act Policy Cases are concerned and it
related to only Comprehensive Policy.
B 5. Learned counsel for respondent Nos. 1 to 3, on the
other hand, supported .the judgment of the High Court.
6. There is no dispute that the Circular dated 2.6.1986
refers to Comprehensive Policy. It categorically states that
C standard form for motorcycle should cover liability to pillion
passengers in case ofComprehensive Policy. As noted by the
MACT, the policy in th'e instant case was an Act Policy.
7. In New India Assurance Co. Ltd. v. Asha Rani and Ors,
D (2003 (2) SCC 223), i_t has been noted as follows:
"Section 147 of the 1988 Act, inter alia, prescribes
compulsory coverage against the death of or bodily injury~
!o any passeng~r of "public service vehicle". Proviso
appended thereto categorically states that compulsory
coverage in resP,ect of drivers and conductors of public
service vehicle and employees carried in a goods vehicle
would be limited to the liability under the Workmen's
Compensation Act. It does not speak of any passenger in . .
a "goods carriage".
In view ofthe changes in the relevant provisions in
the 1988 Act vis-a-vis the 1939 Act; we are of the opinion
that the meaning of the words "any person" must also be
attributed having regard to the context in which they have
been used i.e. "a third party". Keeping in view the
provisions of the 1988 Act, we are of the opinion that 35 1
the provisions tllereof do not enjoin any statutory liability ·
on the owner of a vehicle to get his vehicle insured for any
passenger travelling in a goods vehicle, the insurers would
not be liable therefor.
. •
GENERAL MANAGER, UNITED INSURANCE CO. v. M. 53
LAXMI AND ORS. [DR. ARIJIT PASAYAT, J.]
Furthermore, sub-clause (i) of clause (b) of sub- A
section ( 1) of Section 14 7 speaks of liability which may
be incurred by the owner of a vehicle in respect of death
of or bodily injury to any person or damage to any property
of a third party caused by or arising out of the use of the
vehicle in a public place, whereas sub-clause (ii) thereof B
deals with liability which may be incurred by the owner of
a vehicle against the death of or bodily injury to any
passenger of a public service vehicle caused by or arising
out of the use of the vehicle in a public place."
8. In United India Assurance Co. Ltd., Shim/a v. Tilak C
Singh and Ors. (2006 (4) sec 404), it has been noted as
follows:
,
"'In our view, although the observations made in
Asha Rani case (supra) were in connection with carrying D
passengers in a goods vehicle, the same would apply with
equal force to gratuitous passengers in any other vehicle
also. Thus, we must uphold the contention of the appellant
Insurance Company that it owed no liability towards the
injuries suffered by the deceased Rajinder Singh who was E
a pillion rider, as the insurance policy was a statuto1y policy,
and hence it did not cover the risk of death of or bodily
injury to a gratuitous passenger."
9. In view of what has been stated by this Court in Asha
Rani and Tilak Singh cases (supra), the order of theHigh Court F
is clearly unsustainable and is set aside and that of the MACT
is restored.
10. The appeal is disposed of accordingly.
G B.B.B. Appeal disposed of.