The Oriental Insurance Company Ltd. v. Sorumai Gogoi and Ors.
~ + ~
S.B. SINHA, J. 1. Leave granted.
2. Bipul Gogoi was appointed as a Driver. of a vehicle
C bearing Registration No.AS-09/2289 by the third respondent.
He reported to his duty at about 9.30 am on 9.10.1996. He was
since then not heard by the members of his family or by his
employer.
D 3. The Officer In-charge of the Bokajan Police Station
registered a case against Bipul Gogoi. A charge-sheet was filed ~
in connection with the said case before the Judicial Magistrate
stating that the Driver has absconded with the vehicle on
23.7.1999.
E 4. First and second respondents herein, being the parents .
of the said Bipul Gogoi, filed an application under the Workmen
Compensation Act, 1923 (the 1923 Act) for payment of
compensation for a sum of Rs.4,48,000/- before the
Commissioner of Workmen Compensation, Golaghat for death
F of their son in course of his employment. Notices were issued ~
to the appellant. It denied and disputed the said claim, inter alia,
contending~that no compensation in terms of the Workmen
Compensation Act was payable, only on a presumption that the
said Bipul "Gogoi ha~ died. The owner of the vehicle being the
G third respondent, however, contended that ·some miscreants
have taken away the vehicle with the driver which could not be -;; ~
searched out by the Police.
The vehicle was not traced. No dead body was found.
Whether the said Bipul Gogoi had died or still alive is not certain.
r
THE ORIENTAL INSURANCE COMPANY LTD. v. 881
SORUMAI GOGOi AND ORS. [S.B. SINHA, J.]
The Commissioner, Workmen Compensation, in view of A
. the rival contentions of the parties, framed two issues.
On issue No.1, it was held :
"I have gone through the evidence on record. The DW-1
Sri Jayanta Madhab Dutta categorically stated that he B
investigated the incident. He enquired about the incident
in the locality where the driver had lived. He disclosed the
names of neighbourers of the claimant. All the persons
are residing in front, left and right hand side of the
claimant's residence. All of them had spoken that they c
have not seen the driver since long back. From the above
discussion, ·on the evidence of the Investigator it is proved
that the driver never seen by the people of that locality
from the date of incident. The driver is not traced since
8.10.1996 till date, i.e., more than seven years. Therefore, D
in view of Section 108 of evidence Act, it is presumed that
the driver is dead. Therefore, the claimant is entitled to
get compensation under the provisions of Workmen's
Compensation Act. Therefore, the issue No.1 is answered
in favour of the claimant."
5. On issue No.2, the Commissioner: without there being
any materials on record and only upon drawing a presumption
on the basis of Section 108 of the Indian Evidence Act that the
said Bipul Gogoi must have died, held:
"It is proved that the deceased was a workman and he F
died as a result of injuries sustained in an incident/accident:~ -
· arising out of and in course of his employment. Therefore,
the claimant is entitled to get compensation."
6. The Commissioner awarded a sum of Rs.2,24,000/- G
against the appellant herein, opining :
"It is admitted fact that Bipul Gogoi was the paid driver of·
vehicle No.AS-09/2289 (Maruti Van) employed by the
opposite party No.1. It is also proved that the said driver
and vehicle is untraceable from the date of incident H
(9.10.1996) till date. At the time of incident/accident he
was on duty. Now the question came for decision that
whether Bipul Gogoi is dead or alive? The learned counsel
for the claimant argued that the driver is murdered by the
miscreants at the time of taken away the said vehicle on
the other hand, the learned counsel for the opposite party
Insurance Company advanced his argument that proof of
death is necessary."
7. An appeal was preferred thereagainst by the appellant
before the High Court in terms of Section 30 of the 1923 Act.
8. By the impugned judgment, the High Court has
dismissed the said appeal, opining :
"The learned commissioner while deciding the issue No.1
has considered and approved the statement of the claimant
as well as DW1 in favour of the appellant and on such
assessment and appreciation, the learned commissioner ~
has come to the finding that the driver has not been traced
since '9.10.1996, till date i.e. more than seven years and
-·presumption of the death of the driver. Under Section 108
'of the Evidence Act, I am of the considered opinion the
aforesaid finding of the learned Commissioner cannot
be said to be unjust, unreasonable and unwarranted on
facts.
Regarding the submission of Mr. Ahmed that the
accident took during the course and out of employment of '"f
the driver also belies the facts of the statement made on
the pleadings of the owner of the vehicle that apart the FIR
that was registered in the Bokajan Police Station on which
heavy reliance has been laid by the same also belies the
contention."
9. The High Court in the impugned judgment took note of
the fact that a first information report was lodged as against the
said Bipul Gogoi under Sections 420 and 406 of the Indian Penal
Code. It furthermore took notice of the fact that the police having
... _
THE ORIENTAL INSURANCE COMPANY LTD. v. 883
SORUMAI GOGOi AND ORS. [S.B. SINHA, J.]
~ found a prima facie case against him, submitted a charge sheet A
and there was no other evidence to show that he had expired
and, if so, under what circumstances.
10. Dr. Meera Agarwal, learned counsel appearing on
behalf of the appellant, submitted : B
1. The contract of insurance in terms of the proviso
..-·L appended to Section 27 of the Motor Vehicles Act
being confined to a death or an injury suffered by a
workman, the impugned award awarding a
compensation for a sum of Rs.2,24,000/- is c
unsustainable in law, occurrence of any accident in
course of employment, has been proved.
2. Death or bodily injury suffered by the workman was
a sine qua non for entertaining a claim petition under
the Workmen Compensation Act and, thus, in D
~
absence of proof of death of the said Bipul Gogoi,
the impugned judgments are wholly unsustainable .
.
11. The 1923 Act was enacted to provide for payment of
certain classes of employers to their workmen compensation
E for injury caused by accident. The said Act does not provide for
a mandatory insurance policy to be taken by an employer.
A dependent has been defined by Section 2(d) to mean
the relative(s) of a deceased workman specified therein
including a widow mother. F
~
12. Section 3 of the Act provides for the employer's liability
for compensation; sub-section (1) whereof reads as under :
Section 3.-Employer's liability for compensation.-
(1) If personal injury is caused to a workman by accident G arising out of and in the course of his employment, his
. ''t. employer shall be liable to pay compensation in
accordance with the provisions of this Chapter."
13. Proviso appended thereto provides for exclusion of
the liability of the employer as specified therein. H
._.
~
884 SUPREME COURT~EPORTS [2008] 2 S.C.R.
A 14. Section 4 of the 1923 Act provides for payment of the >-
amount of compensation.
15. Section 147 of the MotorVehiclesAct, 1988, however,
mandatorily provides for obtaining insurance cover by the owner
of a vehicle. Proviso appended thereto reads as under :
"Provided that a policy .shall not be required-
-
(i) to cover liability in respect of the death, arising out of ~+-...
and in the course of his employment, of the employee
of a person insured by the policy or in. respect of
. bodily injury sustained by such an employee arising
out of and in the course of his employment other than
a liability arising under the Workmen's
Compensation Act, 1923 (8 of 1923) in respect of.
the death of, or bodily injury to, any such employee-
D (a) engaged in driving the vehicle, or
(b) if it is a public service vehicle engaged as . conductor of the vehicle or in examining .tickets
on the vehicle, or
E (c) if it is a goods carriage, being carried in the·
vehicle, or
(ii) to cover any contractual liability."
16. The sine qua non for invoking the proviso appended
to Section 147 is that the employee must be engaged in driving
the vehicle. Death or bodily injury must occur arising out of or in
the course of his employment. The 1923 Act or the 1988 Act,
therefore, would be applicable only if the conditions precedent
laid down thereunder are satisfied.
G 18. The employer lodged a first information report against
Bipul Gogoi. A charge sheet was also filed. There is nothing on "1f.
r~cord to show that the death had occurred to Bipul Gogoi in an
accident arising·. out of or in course of employment. If some
H miscreants have taken away the driver along with the vehicle or
THE ORIENTAL INSURANCE COMPANY LTD. v. 885
SORUMAI GOGOi AND ORS. [S.S. SINHA, J.]
~ has murdered him, it is an offence. It, except in certain situations, A
does not give rise to a presumption that the death had occurred
arising out or in the course of an employment. Some evidence
should have been adduced in that behalf. If the version brought
on records by the police was correct, namely, he had himself
run away with the vehicle and had not been heard for a period s
of seven years, particularly, when he had "been declared a
proclaimed offender by a Court of law, presumption under
\. ....... ~ Section 108 of the Evidence Act could have been invoked by
the criminal court for dropping the criminal case that he is dead.
In our opinion, in a case of this nature, the said provisions could c
not have been invoked for the purpose of grant of compensation
under the 1923 Act without any other evidence having been
brought on records.
Sections 108 and 109 of the Evidence Act are founded on
the presumption that things once proved to have existed in a D
particular state are to be understood as continuing in that state
~ until contrary is established by evidence either direct or
circumstantial. The said provision can be invoked in a legat
proceeding where the death of a person may be an issue. The
Section does nof say that presumption·wo'uld be applicable in E
all situations. It shall not apply in respect of a person who
absconds from justice or evade a trial or is otherwise charged
for commission of a grave offence as h~ in that situation may
not communicate with his relations. Furthermore in a case of
. this nature, it is also difficult to rely upon self serving statements F
~ made by the claimants that they had not heard of their son for a
period of seven years. The Commissioner of Wor~en
Compensation or the High Court did not assign any reason as
to why the fact disclosed in the charge sheet which was filed
upon investigation that Bipul Gogoi himself had run away with G
·the vehicle would not be.· a relevant fact, particularly, when
.• ~ cog.nizance had been taken by a competent court of law on the
· basis thereof. ..
Section 3 of the 1923 Act would be attracted only when
the conditions precedent therefor are fulfilled and not otherwise. H
A 19. The view which we have taken find support from a
judgment of this Court in Mackinnon Machenzie & Co. (P) Ltd.
,.
v. Ibrahim Hameed lssak [(1969) 2 SCC 607], holding : ,,
"To come within the Act the injury by accident must arise
8
both out of and in the course of employment. The words
"in the course of the employment" mean "in the course of
the work which the workman is employed to do and which l
is incidental to it." The words "arising out of employment" \ ... ~··1-
are understood to mean that "during the course of the ~
employment, injury has resulted from some risk incidental
I!
c to the duties of the service, which, unless ·engaged in the
duty owing to the master, it is reasonable to believe the
workman would not otherwise have suffered." In other ,.
words there must be a causal relationship between the )= accident and the employment. The expression "arising l D out of employment" is again not confined to the mere nature .I
of the employment. The expression applies to employment '
as such - to its nature, its conditions, its obligations and ~ -
its incidents. If by reason of any of those factors the
workman is brought within the zone of special danger the
E injury would be one which arises 'out of employment'."
20. In Jyothi Ademma v. Plant Engineer, Ne/fore & Anr.
[(2006) 5 SCC 513] also this Court held :
"6. Under Section 3(1) it has to be established that there
F was some causal connection between· the death of the
workman and his employment. If the workman dies as a ~
natural result of the disease which he was suffering or
while suffering from a particular disease he dies of that
disease as a result of wear and tear of the employment,
~
'
G no liability would be fixed upon the employer. But if the
employment is a contributory cause or has accelerated
~
the death, or if the death was due not only to the disease
~ .. but also the disease coupled with the employment, then it
can be said that the death arose out of the employment
. H and the employer would be liable .
I THE ORIENTAL INSURANCE COMPANY LTD. v. 887
' SORUMAI GOGOi AND ORS. [S.B. SINHA, J.]
~ 7. The expression "accident" means an untoward mishap A
which is not expected or designed. "Injury" means
physiological injury. In Fenton v. Thorley & Co. Ltd. it was
observed that the expression "accident" is used in the
popular and ordinary sense of the word as denoting an _., unlooked for mishap or an untoward event which is not 8
\ expected or designed. The above view of Lord
I
l ~ k' Macnaghten was qualified by the speech of Lord Haldane,
~ A.C. in Trim Joint District School Board of Management
~
v. Kelly as follows:
"I think that the context shows that in using the word c
'designed' Lord Macnaghten was referring to designed
by the sufferer"."
21. Furthermore, the rights of the parties were required to
be determined as on the date of the incident, namely, 9.10.1996. D
~
It is, therefore, difficult to hold that a subsequent event and that
too by raising a presumption in terms of Section 108 of the
Evidence Act can give rise to fructification of claim, save and
except in very exceptional cases.
22. In Kera/a State Electricity Board & Anr. v. Valsaka K. E
& Anr. [(1999) 8 SCC 254], this Court held :
"Thus, the relevant date for determination of the rate of
compensation is the date of the accident and not the date
of adjudication of the claim."
F ~
{[See also Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Khajuni Devi &
Ors. [(2002) 1 o sec 567]}.
23. For the reasons aforementioned, the impugned
judgment cannot be sustained. It is set aside accordingly. The
appeal is allowed. However, as nobody has appeared on behalf G
.. t.: of the respondent, there shall be no order as to costs.
K.K.T. Appeal allowed.
' H