Challamma v. Tilaga & Ors.
S.B. SINHA, J. Leave granted.
1. K.T. Subramanya (the deceased) was employed with
Karnataka Power Corporation (for short, "KPC") at
G Linganamakki. He took four life insurance policies from Life
Insurance Corporation of India being dated 13.1.1987,
16.2.1987, 31.3.1987, and 3.6.1988. Indisputably, therein he
nominated Challamma, his mother as the beneficiary thereof.
The first respondent is said to have entered into a wedlock with
the deceased on 3.12.1984. Subramanya died on 22.9.1988.
CHALLAMMA v. TILAGA & ORS. [S.B. SINHA, J.] 835
2. Respondent Nos. 2 and 3 are said to be the sons of A
the deceased Subramanya and the first respondent herein. The
respondents filed an application for grant of succession
certificate in their favour in terms of Section 372 of the Indian
Succession Act, 1925 (for short, "the Act") in the Court of Civil
Judge, Sagar in respect of the scheduled debts. The said B
application was marked as P & S.C. 3/89. Appellant admittedly
being the mother of the deceased filed an application for being
impleaded as a party therein, which was allowed. She objected
to the grant of the said succession certificate contending that
the deceased was not married .at all. The core question in view c
of the aforementioned stand taken by the appellant in the said
proceedings was as to whether the first re~pondent was
married to the deceased or not.
3. A large number of witnesses beihg P.Ws. 1 to 5,
namely, Tilaga, first respondent herein (P .W.1 ), Muniyamma,
the mother of respondent no.1 (P .W.2), Puttappa, father of the
respondent No.1 (P.W.3), Y.M. Bangera, Administrative Officer,
L.l.C. of India, Sagar (P.W.4) and Subba Rao B.R., the
Personnel Officer of the K.P .C. (P .W.5) were examined by the
respondents in support of their contention that the first
respondent was married to the deceased .. A large number of
documents including photographs showing performance of
marriage ceremony were also filed. Inter alia on a finding that
the first respondent and the deceased having been residing in
F a quarter together for a period of 3 years, 9 months and 19 days
and furthermore having arrived at a fin~ing of fact that the
society acce'pted them as husband and wife, the learned trial
judge held that a presumption of valid marriage should be
drawn and on the basis thereof the application for grant of
succession certificate filed by the respondents herein was G
allowed. '"
' 4. Appellant, aggrieved by and dissatisfied with the said
judgment and order of the learned Civil Judge, preferred an
appeal thereagainst in the court of District Judge, Shimoga H
A which was marked as Misc. Appeal No. 52 of 1995. The said
appeal was eventually transferred to the Court of Additional
District Judge. By reason of a judgment and order dated
1.3.2004, the learned First Appellate Court opined that the
appellant was entitled to 1/4th share in the estate of the
B deceased while upholding the judgment and order of the
learned trial judge that the marriage by and between the
deceased and the first respondent was valid and the
respondent Nos. 2 and 3 were their sons.
~
5. Still not satisfied, the appellant preferred Civil Revision
Petition No. 1115 of 2004 before the High Court which by
reason of the impugned judgment has been dismissed.
6. Mr. O.P. Chaturvedi, learned counsel appearing on ,,_
behalf of the appellant would contend that the courts below
D committed a serious error 1n passing the impugned judgments
insofar as they failed to take into consideration the evidences
brought on record by the parties in their correct perspective. It
was urged that keeping in view the provisions of the Hindu
Marriage Act, 1955, it was obligatory on the part of the first
E respondent to establish that all the ingredients of a valid
marriage were proved. In a case of this nature where the first ..
respondent was a woman of easy virtue, it was urged, the
presumption of a valid marriage ought not to have been drawn.
7. Mr. R.S. Hegde, learned counsel appearing on behalf
of the respondent, on the other hand, would support the
impugned judgment.
8. First respondent examined herself as P .W.1 before the
learned trial judge. In her deposition she not only stated in great
G details the factum of her marriage which took place on
3.12.1984 at Dharmasthala but also produced a document
styled as an 'agreement of marriage' which was registered with
the office of Sub-Registrar, Sagar on 13.12.1984. She
furthermore produced various documents to show that the
H deceased had insured his life with the Life Insurance
CHALLAMMA v. TILAGA & ORS. {S.B. SINHA, J.] 837
Corporation of India and also under group insurance while in A
service. Furthermore some documents were also brought on
record to show that the deceased applied for allotment of a
house as a marrie}I person.
Appellant examined herself as D.W.1. An officer of the Life B· Insurance Corporation of India was also examined to prove the
life insurance policies ..
9. The question as to whether a valid marriage had taken
place between the deceased Subramanya and the first
respondent is essentially a question of fact. In arriving at a C
finding of fact indisputably the learned trial judge was not only
entitled to analyze the evidences brought on record by the
parties hereto so as to come to a conclusion as to whether all
the ingredients of a valid marriage as contained in Section 5
of the Hindu Marriage Act, 1955 stand established or not; a D
presumption of a valid marriage having regard to the fact that
they had been residing together for a long time and has been
accepted in the society as husband and wife, could also be
drawn.
It is true, as has been contended by Mr. Chaturvedi, that
the appellant had brought on record certain documents to show
that the deceased in the year 1986 while applying for his
employment in Mysore Power Corporation showed his status
as 'single, but a specific finding of fact had been arrived at by
the courts below that all the subsequent documents clearly
showed that not only the deceased married,thefirst respondent
but also he sought for allotment of a quarter as a married
person. It is of some significance to notice that one Subba Rao,
a personnel officer of the KPC while examining himself as
P.W.5 categorically stated that in terms of the rules for allotment G
of quarter by the company commonly known as 'Township
Committee, Rules' quarters were allotted to married persons
only and clubbed accommodation were provided to the
' bachelors.
A 10. It is beyond any cavil of doubt that in determining the
question of valid marriage, the conduct of the deceased in a
~ase of this nature would be of some relevance. If on the
aforementioned premise, the learned trial judge has arrived at
a finding that the deceased Subramanya had married the first
B respondent, no exception thereto can be taken. A long
cohabitation and acceptance of the society of a man and
woman as husband and wife goes a long way in establishing
a valid marriage.
In Tulsa v. Durghatiya [(2008) 4 SCC 520], this court held:
"11. At this juncture reference may be made to Section
114 of the Evidence Act, 1872 (in short "the Evidence Act").
The provision refers to common course of natural events,
human conduct and private business. The court may
presume the existence of any fact which it thinks likely to
have occurred. Reading the provisions of Sections 50 and·
114 of the Evidence Act together, it is clear that the act of
marriage can be presumed from the common course of
natural events and the conduct of parties as they are borne
out by the facts of a particular case.
12. A number of judicial pronouncements have been made
on this aspect of the matter. The Privy Council, on two
occasions, considered the scope of the presumption that
could be drawn as to the relationship of marriage between
two persons living together. In first of them i.e.
Andrahennedige Dinohamy v. Wijetunge
Liyanapatabendige Balahamy. Their Lordships of the
Privy Council laid down the general proposition that: (AIR
p. 187)
" ... where a man and woman are proved to have lived
together as man and wife, the law will presume, unless the
contrary be clearly proved, that they were living together
in consequence of a valid marriage and not in a state of
concubinage."
CHALLAMMA v. TILAGA & ORS. [S.B. SINHA, J.] 839
13. In Mohabbat Ali Khan v. Mohd. Ibrahim Khan Their A
Lordships of the Privy Council once again laid down that:
(AIR p. 138)
"The law presumes in favour of marriage and against
concubinage, when a man and a woman have cohabited B continuously for a number of years."
14. It was held that such a presumption could be drawn
under Section 114 of the Evidence Act."
'
It is also well settled that a presumption of a valid marriage c
although is a rebuttable one, it is for the other party to establish
the same. {See Ranganath Parmeshwar Panditrao Modi v.
Eknath Gajanan Kulkarni [(1996) 7 SCC 681], and Sobha
Hymavathi Devi v. Setti Gangadhara Swamy [(2005) 2 SCC
244]}. D
Such a presumption can be validly raised having regard
to Section 50 of the Indian Evidence Act. [See Tulsa (supra)]
A heavy burden, thus, lies on the person who seeks to
prove that no marriage has taken place. E
11. There is another aspect of the matter which cannot be
lost sight of. Section 39 of the Insurance Act, 1938 enables the
holder of a policy, while effecting the same, to nominate a
person to whom the.money secured by the policy shall be paid F
" in the event of his death. The effect of such nomination was
considered by this Court in Vishin N. Khanchandani & Anr.
Vs. Vidya Lachmandas Khanchandani & Anr. [(2000) 6 SCC
724]wherein the law has been laid down in the following terms:
" .... The nomination only indicated the hand which was G
authorised to receive the amount on the payment of which
the insurer got a valid discharge of its liability under the
policy. The policy-holder continued to have an interest in
the policy during his lifetime and the nominee acquired no
sort of interest in the policy during the lifetime of the policy- H
A holder. On the death of the policy-holder, the amount
payable under the policy became part of his estate which
was governed by the law of succession applicable to him.
Such succession may be testamentary or intestate.
Section 39 did not operate as a third kind of succession
B which could be styled as a statutory testament. A nominee
could not be treated as being equivalent to an heir or
legatee. The amount of interest under the policy could,
therefore, be claimed by the heirs of the assured in
accordance with the law of succession governing them."
c In Smt. Sarbati Devi & Anr. vs. Smt. Usha Devi [(1984)
1 SCC 424], this Court held:
"4. At the outset it should be mentioned that except the
decision of the Allahabad High Court in Kesari Devi v.
D Dharma Dev on which reliance was placed by the High
Court in dismissing the appeal before it and the two
decisions of the Delhi High Court in S. Fauza Singh v.
Ku/dip Sing and Uma Sehgal v. Dwarka Dass Sehgal in
all other decisions cited before us the view taken is that
E the nominee under Section 39 of the Act is nothing more
than an agent to receive the money due under a life
--insurance policy in the circumstances similar to those in
the present case and that the money remains the property
of the assured during his lifetime and on his death forms
F part of his estate subject to the law of succession
applicable to him .... "
12. In view of the fact that the appellant was one of the heirs
and legal representatives of the deceased Subramanya, there
cannot be any doubt whatsoever that she had been rightly held
G to be entitled to 1/4th share in the estate of the deceased
Subramanya.
13. For the aforementioned reasons, the appeal is
dismissed with costs. Counsel's fee assessed at Rs.5,000/-.
H R.P. Appeal dismissed.