Union of India & Ors. v. Ram Prakash
DR. MUKUNDAKAM SHARMA, J. 1. Leave granted.
2. The present appeal is directed against the judgment and H
510 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2010) 7 S.C.R.
A order dated 4.7.2005 passed by the learned Single Judge of
the Punjab and Haryana High Court whereby the learned Single
Judge has allowed the Second Appeal filed by the respondent
and thereby setting aside the findings recorded by the Civil
Judge (Junior Division) in his judgment and decree dated
B 27 .9 .1996 dismissing the suit of the respondenUplaintiff for the
grant of disability pension and also the judgment and decree
dated 27.8.1998 passed by the Additional District Judge,
Jalandhar whereby the appeal filed by the respondent was
dismissed.
c 3. The respondent was enrolled in the Indian Air Force in
the month of May, 1970. After he rendered service for 15 years
in the Air Force, the Respondent was unwell and consequently
he was examined by a Medical Board which was constituted
to consider the case of the respondent. After such medical
D examination, the Release Medical Board found that the
respondent suffered from Retinal detachment to the extent of
60% and that the degree of disablement was permanent. He
was also found to be suffering from Immature Cataract of both
the eyes and his disablement was assessed at 40% by the
E Release Medical Board. '
4. The Release Medical Board assessed the composite
disability at 90% and gave an opinion that the said disability
suffered by the respondent during his service was neither
F attributable to nor aggravated by Air Force Service and that the
diseases were constitutional in nature.
5. The respondent on being discharged from service in
terms of the opinion of the Release Medical Board claimed for
payment of disability pension. The Appellate authority, however,
G informed the respondent that disability for which the respondent
was released from service were constitutional in nature. The
authorities namely Chief Controller of Defence Accounts
(Pension) and the appellate Jl1edical authority examined the
case of the respondent and thereafter both the authorities held
UNION OF INDIA & ORS. v. RAM PRAKASH 511
[DR. MUKUNDAKAM SHARMA, J.]
that the disability suffered by the respondent was not due to A
injury suffered during the course of duty or because of nature
of duties performed by the respondent. The appellate authority
also gave an opinion that the disease of the respondent was
neither attributable to nor aggravated by Air Force service.
6. Being aggrieved by the aforesaid order, the respondent B
herein filed a suit claiming payment of disability pension on the
ground that at the time of his entry to the Air Force service, no
such disease was recorded in his records and therefore, onset
of the aforesaid disease during the course of service should
be considered as attributable to service, particularly due to the C
adverse service conditions which caused the disease.
7. The aforesaid suit was contested by the appellant herein
by filing a detailed written statement. On the basis of the
pleadings of the parties, several issues were framed and the D
parties led their evidence in support of their cases, and finally
by judgment and decree dated 27.9.1996, the learned Trial
Court dismissed the suit.
8. Being aggrieved by the aforesaid judgment and decree, E
the respondent filed an appeal before the first appellate court
which was heard and was dismissed.
9. The respondent being aggrieved by the aforesaid
concurrent findings of fact arrived at by the two courts below
filed a second appeal in the Punjab and Haryana High Court F
which, however, after hearing the parties was allowed by the
learned Single Judge, on account of which the present appeal
was filed by the appellant herein. The appeal was listed before
us and the counsel appearing for the parties were heard at
length. G
10. The counsel appearing for the appellants submitted
before us that the High Court was not justified in interfering with
the concurrent findings of fact of two courts below and therefore,
the said judgment is required to be set aside and quashed. It H
A was also submitted that the medical report having a primacy,
should have been given due weightage and primary
consideration and the learned Single Judge was not justified
in substituting the said findings and opinion of the Medical
Board by substituting its own opinion.
B 11. The aforesaid submissions of the counsel appearing
for the appellant were refuted by the counsel appearing for the
respondent who submitted that the High Court was justified in
holding that since at the time of his entry in the Air Force on
1.5.1970, no such disease was found despite a thorough
C medical check up, it must be held that the adverse service
conditions of the Respondent was the cause for onset of the
diseases in question.
12. In the light of the aforesaid submissions of the counsel
D appearing for the parties, the question that falls for our
consideration is whether or not the disability suffered by the
respondent court be attributed to the service conditions of the
Air Force service.
E 13. The Pension Regulations was enacted for the Air
Force, the provisions of which are made applicable to the
personnel of the Air Force and all claims of pension are to be
regulated by the provisions made in the Regulations at the time
of individual's retirement or release or discharge as the case
may be.
14. Section Ill of the said Air Force Pension Regulations
deals with the Disability Pensioner Awards. Regulation 37
provides the manner and method of entertaining the claim of
disability pension and also the circumstances under which such
G pension becomes admissible.
Regulation 37 reads as follows:-
"37(a) An officer who is retired from air force service on
account of a disability which is attributable to or
H aggravated by such service and is assessed at 20 per cent
UNION OF INDIA & ORS. v. RAM PRAKASH 513
[DR. MUKUNDAKAM SHARMA, J.]
or over may, on retirement, be awarded a disability A
pension consisting of a service element and a disability
element in accordance with the regulations in this section .
.
(b) The question whether a disability is attributable to or
aggravated by air force service shall be determined 8
under the regulations in Appendix II."
15. Section IV of the said Pension Regulations deals with
the primary conditions for the grant of disability pension. In
Regulation 153, it is stated thus;
"153. Unless otherwise specifically provided, a disability
pension may be granted to an individual who is invalided
from service on account of a disability which is attributable
to or aggravated by air force service and is assessed at
20 per cent or over.
154. The question whether a disability is attributable to or
aggravated by air force service shall be determined under
the regulations in Appendix II."
16. In the light of the aforesaid provisions, what is laid down E
in Appendix 2 becomes relevant. The said Appendix 2 deals
with the Entitlement Rules. It is provided therein that the
aforesaid Entitlement Rules would apply in cases where the
disablement or death, on which the claim to casualty pensioner
award is based. Rule 1, 2, 3 and 4 read as follows:- F
"1. With effect from 1st April, 1948, in supersession of all
previous orders on the subject, the entitlement to disability
and family pension, children's allowance and death
gratuities will be governed by the following rules. Invaliding G
from service at the time of his release under the Release
Regulations is in a lower medical category than that in
which he was recruited will be treated as invalided from
service. Airmen who are placed permanently in a medical
category other than 'A' and are discharged because no
514
alternative employment suitable to their low medical
category can be provided as well as those who having
been retained in alternative employment but are
discharged before the completion of their engagement will
be deemed to have been invalided out of service.
2. Disablement or death shall be accepted as due to air
force service provided it is certified that :-
(a) the disablement is due to a wound, injury or disease
which-
(i) is attributable to air force service ; or
(ii) existed before or arose during air force service
and has been and remains aggravated thereby ;
D (b) the death was due to or hastened by-
(i) a wound, injury or disease which was attributable
to air force service;
(ii) the aggravation by air force service of a wound,
injury or disease which existed before or arose
during air force service.
3. There must be a casual connection between
disablement and air force service for attributability or
aggravation to be conceded~'
17. There is no dispute with regard to the fact that when
the respondent was initially appointed as an Air Force Personnel
in the Indian Air Force, there was a medical examination held
G in which he was found to be fit to be appointed to the Air Force.
After he had rendered. service ifl the Air Force for about 15
years, the respondent. was examined by the Release Medical
Board and he.was dfagl'losed as•a case of retinal detachment
and immature cataract of both the eyes.
H 18. A Medical Board asses~ed composite disability at
UNION OF INDIA & ORS. v. RAM PRAKASH 515
[DR. MUKUNDAKAM SHARMA, J.]
90%, and in view of the opinion of the said Release Medical A
Board and as recommended by them, the respondent was
released from service. The aforesaid Regulations which are
referred to and extracted hereinbefore give primacy to the
Report of the Medical Board. The Report of the Medical Board
is annexed with the records. Part 3 of the said Report deals B
with the opinion of the Medical Board. In the said opinion of
the Medical Board, it is stated that the aforesaid disabilities
did not exist before entering the service. The Medical Board
has further given an opinion that the aforesaid diseases from
which the respondent was suffering were not attributable to c
service during peace or under field service conditions nor
aggravated thereby. The Medical Board has given a specific
and definite opinion that the said diseases were in no manner
connected with service.
19. The respondent filed an appeal as against the D
aforesaid opinion of the Medical Boar,d and his case was
considered by the Appellate Medical Board who upheld the
aforesaid opinion of the Medical Board and held that the ·
diseases from which the respondent was suffering at the time
of his release from Air Force Service, were neither attributable E
to service nor aggravated thereby. Despite the aforesaid
opinion of the Medical Board, the le.arned Single Judge took
pains to re-appreciate the records, and on such appreciation
held that there could be presumption drawn that the respondent
was subjected to perform arduous nature of duties during his F
span of service with the Indian Air Force inasmuch as it is
general knowledge that a person in defence services is always
required to perform arduous nature of duties. The aforesaid
findings recorded by the Trial Court and Single Judge was
presumptive in nature and are based on surmises and G
conjectures and there is no factual foundation for arriving at
such a decision. The learned Single Judge totally ignored the
applicability of the aforesaid Regulations to the case of the
Respondent. Unless and until it is proved and established that
an individual has become disabled to the extent of more than H
516 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [201 O] 7 S.C.R.
A 20% during his service career and released from service due
to such disability which is attributable to or aggravated by air
force service, he is not entitled to receive such disability
pension. Rules are also clear on the issue that such entitlement
should be considered and decided giving emphasis and
B primacy on the opinion of the Medical Board constituted for the
purpose.
20. The scope and limit of interfering with the finding of fact
in a case under Section 100 of the Code of Civil Procedure
has been reiterated by this Court time and again. Instead of
C going into the ratio of all the aforesaid decisions, we may
summarise the legal principles em,mciated by this Court in the
decision of Shee/ Chand v. Prakash Chand reported in (1998)
6 SCC 683. In this case, this Court while dealing with question
of existence of a substantial question of law, held as foUows:-
"7 ....... The existence of a "substantial question of law"
is the sine qua non for the exercise of jurisdiction by the
High Court under the amended provisions of Section 100
CPC. It appears that the learned Single Judge overlooked
the change brought about to Section 100 CPC by the
amendment made in 1976. The High Court unjustifiably
interfered with pure questions of fact while exercising
jurisdiction under Section 100 CPC. It was not proper for
the learned Single Judge to have reversed the concurrent
findings of fact while exercising jurisdiction under Section
100 CPC. That apart, we find that the learned Single Judge
did not even notice, let alone answer the question of law
which had been formulated by it at the time of admission
of the second appeal. There is no reference to the question
of law in the impugned order and it appears that the High
Court thought that it was dealing with a first appeal and
not a second appeal under Section 100 CPC. The findings
of fact recorded by the two courts below were based on
proper appreciation of evidence and the material on the
record. There was no perversity, illegality or irregularity in
UNION OF INDIA & ORS. v. RAM PRAKASH 517
[DR. MUKUNDAKAM SHARMA, J.]
those findings. None has been brought to our notice by the A
learned counsel for the respondent either. The findings,
· therefore, did not require to be upset in a second appeal
under Section 100 CPC. The judgment of the learned
Single Judge, under the circumstances, cannot be
sustained ....... " B
21. Several decisions of this Court like Secretary, Ministry
of Defence and Ors. Vs. A. V. Damodaran (DJ through LRs.
and Ors. reported in 2009 (9) SCC 140, Union of India & Ors.
Vs. Keshar Singh reported in 2007 (12) SCC 675, Controller C
of Defence Accounts (Pension) and Others Vs. S.
Balachandran Nair reported in 2005 (13) SCC 128, Union of
India and Ors. Vs. Dhir Singh China (Colonel) Retd. reported
in 2003 (2) SCC 382 and Union of India and Anr. Vs. Baljit
Singh reported in 1996 (11) SCC 315, this Court had the
occasion to deal with a similar issue and in all the aforesaid D
decisions, it was held that the Medical Board consists of an
. expert body and that its opinion is entitled to be given due
weight and value. The consistent view of this Court is that such
opinion of the Medical Board would be given a primacy and a
Court should be slow in interfering with and substituting its own E
opinion with the opinion of the Medical Board.
22. The Medical Board has given a categorical opinion that
the diseases for which the respondent has been released from ·
service were neither attributable to nor aggravated by Air Force
service. The aforesaid Pension Regulations when read with the
Entitlement Rules, make it clear that the determination of
attributable or aggravation is as per the Entitlement Rules. As
the Medial Board has given a categorical opinion that the
ailment of the respondent was constitutional and the same is G
not attributable to or aggravated by Air Force Service, it was
unjustified for the learned Single Judge to set aside the
aforesaid concurrent opinions of the appellate Board and
Released Medical Board and also the findings recorded by the
trial court and also by the First Appellate Court merely because H
518 SUPREME COURT REPORTS (2010) 7 S.CR
A the learned Single Judge felt that there could be a presumption
that the respondent was undergoing arduous nature of job as
he was appointed as a Air Force personnel.
23. We, therefore, set aside the judgment and order of the
8 learned Single Judge, and allow the appeal filed by the
appellant. As a result of this order, the suit filed by the
respondent should be held to be dismissed.
R.P. Appeal allowed