Union of India & Others v. Ajay Wahi
C.K. PRASAD, J. 1. Union of India and its functionaries,
aggrieved by the order dated 28th November, 2003 passed by
the Division Bench of the Rajasthan High Court (Jaipur Bench)
G in DB Civil Special Appeal No.1461 of 1997, have preferred
this appeal by special leave of the Court.
2. Shorn of unnecessary details, facts giving rise to this
appeal are that the writ petitioner-respondent, Lt.Col.Ajay Wahi
H (hereinafter referred to as the 'writ petitioner') was
UNION OF INDIA & ORS. v. AJAY WAHi 781
[C.K. PRASAD, J.]
commissioned in the Army Medical Corps on 27th February, A
1977. While in service and holding the rank of Major he was
admitted to Command Hospital on 3rd October, 1988 for
management and treatment of Bronchial Asthma and low back
ache. Medical Board proceeding dated 6th October, 1988 does
not indicate that the disability i.e. Bronchial Asthma or low back B
ache was directly attributable to military service. However, the
Medical Board certified that it is aggravated by stress and strain
of exposure to hostile terrain and weather. The writ petitioner
was later on examined on 9th June, 1990 by Col. T.R.S. Bedi,
Senior Adviser of Base Hospital who recommended for his c
posting at dry temperate climate area and not at high altitude.
While writ petitioner was holding the rank of Lieutenant Colonel,
by letter dated 27th December, 1993, he sought premature
retirement, inter a/ia, stating that his "falling health is affecting"
his performance. On his prayer for premature retirement the D
Commanding Officer recommended for consideration of his
case for "invalidment/premature retirement after obtaining the .
opinion of a Senior Adviser". He was neither called upon to
appear before the Medical Board nor invalided on medical
· ground. However, by order dated 26th July, 1994, writ E
petitioner's prayer for premature retirement was approved and
he was allowed to leave the unit on 20th October, 1994. Writ
, petitioner made claim for grant of disability pension. His prayer
was considered and by letter dated 30th March, 1995, he was
informed that he is neither entitled for service pension nor
disability pension. Writ petitioner wrote to the Director General
of Medical Services(Army) to make him available the copy of
the Medical Board proceedings, inter alia, alleging that he
underwent a Release Medical Board prior to retirement. It is
assertion of the writ petitioner that he ought to have been
granted premature retirement on medical ground and sought G
voluntary retireme11t under pressure and, therefore, entitled to
disability pension.
3. Aggrieved by the denial of disability pension he filed writ
petition before the Rajasthan High Court, inter alia, contending H
A that Regulation 50 of the Pension Regulations providing that
an officer who retires voluntarily shall not be eligible for
disability pension is discriminatory and violative of Article 14
of the Constitution of India. It was emphasized that when an
officer is invalided out of service on account of disability
s attributable to the military service is granted disability pension,
there is no rationale basis to deny the same to an officer who
has been granted voluntary retirement on medical ground. The
aforesaid submission did not find favour with the learned Single
Judge and he dismissed the writ petition by order dated 15th
c May, 1997 inter alia observing as follows:
"Regulations 48 and 50 are contained in Section Ill
which deals with the disability pensionary award.
Regulation 50 clearly provides that an officer who retires
voluntarily shall not be eligible for any disability pensionary
award on account of any disability. Since the petitioner has
sought voluntary retirement, he is not entitled to any
disability pension award. Regulation 48 is not applicable
to the case of the petitioner because the Regulation 48
applies only when an officer is retired from military service
on account of the disability or attaining the superannuation
age. The petitioner was voluntarily retired and, therefore,
under Regulation 50, he is not entitled to any pensionary
award.
I do not think that the Regulation 50 is violative of
Article 14 of the Constitution of India. The class of officers
who retire voluntarily is quite distinguishable from the class
of officers who are retired on account of disability or
attaining the superannuation age. The classification of both
the said classes of officers is obviously founded on an
intelligible differentia which distinguishes persons of one
class from another class and the differentia does have a
rational relation to the object sought to be achieved by
regulations 48 and 50 in relation to the disability pensionary
..
UNION OF !NOIA & ORS. v. AJAY WAHi 783
[C.K. PRASAD, J.]
awards. In my opinion, the regulation 50 cannot be said
to be ultra vires."
4. On appeal, the Division Bench of the High Court set
aside the order of the learned Single Judge and directed for
payment of disability pension and while doing so it relied on a
Judgment of the Delhi High Court in the case of Lt. Col. B.R.
Malhotra vs. U. 0.1. & Ors. [71 (1998) Delhi Law Times 498]
relevant portion whereof reads as follows:
"I find no justification to deprive an officer his disability
pension simply on the ground that he sought voluntary C
retirement. If on account of disability Army can invalidate
an Officer and thrown him out of the service then why an
Officer is denied disability pension when he seeks
voluntary retirement. I find no reason for this discrimination.
People who become disable due to Military service are a D~
class apart, they cannot be discriminated nor denied
disability pension on the ground of voluntary retirement. I
see no justification nor any nexus in depriving this class
of Officers the disability pension merely because they
sought voluntary retirement, the disability does not cease E
on voluntary retirement. Hence, to my mind, Rule 50 of the
Pension Regulation is discriminatory. It cannot stands the
test being arbitrary and bad in law."
5. Ultimately, the Division Bench directed for grant of
disability pension to the writ petitioner and while doing so
observed as follows :
"Considering the view and object behind the
' provision for allowing the disability pension, when
admittedly the officer has become disabled and cannot G
remain in service, whether he has been voluntary retired
or compulsorily retired that is immaterial for the purpose
of pension to the person who become disabled during
service."
A 6. Union of India and its officers, aggrieved by the
aforesaid order, are before us by grant of special leave to
appeal.
7. Mr. P.P. Malhotra, learned Additional Solicitor General
8 contends that writ petitioner sought voluntary retirement on
medical ground and, therefore, cannot be said to be invalided
out of service on account of disability attributable to or
aggravated by military service. He points out that a
comprehensive procedure is prescribed in Appendix II of
Pension Regulations to determine as to whether a disability is
C attributable to or aggravated by military service. He points out
that disability of the petitioner was not determined under the
Rules in Appendix II and the writ petitioner sought voluntary
retirement claiming ill health, hence, it cannot be said that he
was invalided out of service on account of disability attributable
D to or aggravated by military service. He submits that in view of
Regulation 50 of Pension Regulations, writ petitioner having
retired voluntarily shall not be eligible for award of pension on
account of any disability.
E 8. Mrs. Arnita Duggal, however, appearing on behalf of the
writ petitioner-respondent submits that the writ petitioner sought
voluntary retirement on medical ground and though he was not
invalided out of service on account of disability, no distinction
can be made between officer who has been invalided on
F account of a disability attributable or aggravated by military
service and an officer who retired voluntarily and, therefore, the
action of the respondent in denying the disability pension is
illegal. She points out that Regulation 50 which provides that
an officer retiring voluntarily shall not be eligible for award of
G disability pension is discriminatory and, therefore, violative of
Article 14 of the Constitution of India. She referred to the
decision of the Delhi High Court in the case of Lt.Col.B.R.
Malhotra (supra) relied on in the impugned order. She points
out that the Union of India having not challenged the aforesaid
judgment of the Delhi High Court, it has attained finality and,
UNION OF INDIA & ORS. v. AJAY WAHi 785
[C.K. PRASAD, J.]
therefore, action of the Union of India in denying the writ A
petitioner disability pension is discriminatory.
9. Mrs. Duggal has also placed reliance on a Division
Bench Judgment of the Delhi High Court in the case of Mahavir
Singh Narwal vs. Union of India and another [111 (2004] Delhi B
Law Times 550] and she had drawn our attention to the following
passage from paragraph 7 of the judgment, which reads as
follows:
"Merely because a person has attained discharge on
compas"sionate ground although his disability has been C
acquired on account of stress and strain of military service
will not be a ground to reject the claim of disability pension,
it has been invalidated act in terms of Appendix II of Rule
173. We allow the writ petition and direct the respondent
to grant disability pension to the petitioner on the basis of D
assessment of 30% disability as opined by the Release
Medical Board in the year 1979 upto date. For future
disability pension the respondent may conduct another
medical board to assess the percentage of disability of the
petitioner. Arrears of disability pension be paid to the E
petitioner within a period of 8 weeks. If the same are not
paid within 8 weeks the petitioner shall be entitled'to the
interest at the rate of 9% on the amount of arrears. With
these directions the writ petition is allowed."
10. Rival submission necessitates examination of the
scheme of the Pension Regulation. Section Ill of the Pension
Regulations (hereinafter referred to as the "Regulations")
applies to all commissioned officers of the Army. Regulation
48 of the Regulations which forms part of Section-Ill, provides
for grant of disability pension to an officer who is invalided out G
of service on account of disability attributable to or aggravated
by military service and Appendix II provides for the procedure
for determination of the disability, the same reads as follows:
"48(a) Unless otherwise specifically provided a disability H
786
pension consisting of service element and disability
element may be granted to an officer who is invalided out
of service on account of a disability which is attributable
to or aggravated by military service in non-battle casuality
cases and is assessed at 30 percent or more.
(b)The question whether a disability is attributable to
or aggravated by military service shall be determined under
the rules in Appendix II."
11. Regulation 50 of the Regulations provides that an
C officer who retires voluntarily shall not be eligible for any award
of disability pension, same reads as follows:
"50. An officer who retires voluntarily shall not be eligible
for any award on account of any disability.
Provided that officer who is due for retirement on
completion of tenure, or on completion of service limits or
on completion of the terms of engagement or on attaining
the prescribed age of retirement, and who seeks pre- ·
mature retirement for the purpose of getting higher
commutation value of pension, shall remain eligible for
disability element."
12. From a plain reading of Regulation 48 of the
Regulations it is evident that unless otherwise specifically
F provided a disability pension shall be granted to an officer who
is invalided out of service on account of disability attributable
to or aggravated by military service, whereas Regulation 50 in
no uncertain terms provides that an officer who retires
voluntarily shall not be eligible for any award on account of any
G disability. Undisputedly, writ petitioner has not been invalided
out of service on account of any disability attributable or
aggravated by military service and further his disability has not
been determined under the Rules in Appendix II. Writ petitioner
had sought voluntary retirement on medical ground which was
H granted. In face of the language of Regulation 50 there is no
UNION OF INDIA & ORS. v. AJAY WAHi 787
(C.K. PRASAD, J.]
escape from the conclusion that an officer retiring voluntarily A
shall not be eligible for disability pension.
13. Faced with this situation, writ petitioner contends that
Regulation 50 of the Regulations is discriminatory and thus
violative·of Article 14 of the Constitution of India.
14. Regulation 48 of the Regulations provides for disability
pension to officers who are invalided out of service on account
of disability attributable to the military service and, therefore,
such officers constitute a class in itself. Officers who retire
voluntarily constitute a different class altogether and, therefore, C
the plea that when an officer is invalided on the ground of
disability attributable to the military service, there is no reason
to deny such disability pension to an officer who seeks
voluntary retirement does not appeal to us as in our opinion
both constitute different and distinct classes. Article 14 of the D
Constitution frowns on discrimination but it permits reasonable
classification. An officer who retires voluntarily and another who
is invalided out of service on account of disability attributable
to military service constitute different and distinct classes.
Undisputedly, writ petition has not been invalided out of service E
on account of disability which is attributable to military service
but retired voluntarily. Voluntary retirement can be sought and
granted on many grounds, whereas an officer under Regulation
48 of the Regulations can be invalided out of service on account
of disability attributable to military service. It is to be borne'in F
mind that if employer despite disability attributable to Military
Service does not invalided an officer out of service, he
continues in service with all the benefits and nobody can make
issue of that. It is not the case of the writ petitioner that he was
asked to seek voluntary retirement on the threat of being G
invalided out of service. In fact, he had chosen to seek voluntary
retirement on health ground which was granted and it was not
the act of the employer to invalided him out of service. We ~re'
of the opinion that the observation of the High Court that an
officer cannot be denied disability pension on the ground of H
A voluntary retirement suffers from fundamental error. Officers
invalided out of service and seeking voluntary retirement, which
can be on umpteen grounds, constitute different and distinct
class than invalidation from service on the ground of disability
attributable or aggravated by Military Service. It needs no
B discussion that a provision of the Statute can be declared
ultravires only when it patently violates some provision of the
Constitution. Regulation under challenge, in our opinion, does
not suffer from any such error.
15. We would like here to add that sufficient internal
C safeguard and remedy have been provided under Appendix II
of the Regulation. We hasten to add that in case an officer is
denied invalidation from service despite u1sability attributable
to military service, the same shall be subject to judicial review.
There may be a case in which an officer had suffered disability
D dttributable to or aggravated by military service and he has not
been invalided out of service only to deny him the disability
pension, his remedy is to challenge the order by which prayer
for invalidating out of service is denied. In case it is found that
an officer is entitled for invalidation out of service has wrongly
E been denied the same, he shall be entitled for disability
pension. Here no such challenge is made and the only plea of
the writ petitioner is that Regulation 50 of the Regulations
providing that an officer retiring voluntarily shall not be eligible
for disability pension is discriminatory and thus ultra vires of the
F Article 14 of the Constitution of India.
16. True it is that the judgment of the Delhi High Court in
the case of Lt. Col. B. R. Malhotra (Supra) supports the
contention of the writ petitioner but from what we have pointed
G above, its observation that "people who become disable due
to military service are a class apart, they cannot be
discriminated nor denied disability pension on the ground of
voluntary retirement" is patently fallacious.
17. In the present case it has not been determined in
H accordance with Appendix II of the Regulations that writ
UNION OF INDIA & ORS. v. AJAY WAHi 789
[C.K. PRASAD, J.]
petitioner's voluntary retirement was accepted on the ground A
of disability attributable to or aggravated by military service and,
therefore, he shall not be entitled for disability pension. In view
of the aforesaid the judgment of the Delhi High Court in the
case of Mahavir Singh Narwa/ (Supra) has no bearing at all.
18. We are of the opinion that an officer is entitled for
disability pen.sion only when he is invalided out of service on
account of disability attributable to military service or
aggravated thereby and shall not be entitled for disability
pension in case of voluntary retirement, unless it is found and C
held that the officer deserved to be invalided out of service on
account of disability attributable to military service but the same
was not granted to him for unjustified reasons and forced to
seek voluntary retirement.
19. In the result, the appeal is allowed, the impugned D
judgment of the Division Bench of the High Court is set aside
and that of the learned Single Judge is restored. No costs.
R.P. Appeal allowed.