K.J.S. Buttar v. Union of India and Anr.
MARKANDEY KAT JU, J. 1. This appeal has been filed
D against the judgment and order dated 13.9.2004 in C.W.P.
No.20447 of 2002 of the High Court of Punjab and Haryana at
Chandigarh .
. 2. Heard learned counsel for the parties and perused the
record.
3. The appellant is an ex-captain in the Indian Army, who
was commissioned on 12.1.1969. During the course of his
service, the appellant suffered serious injuries of a permanent
nature and was invalided out of service. The Release Medical
F Board held on 3.1.1979 viewed his injury 'gun shot wound left
elbow' as attributable to military service and assessed the
degree of disability at 50% and the appellant was released from
service in Low Medical Category on 10.4.1979. Accordingly,
the appellant was granted Disability Pension w.e.f. 26.7.1979.
4. The appellant filed a writ petition in the High Court
claiming foMowing benefits under Circular and Notification
issued by the Ministry of Defence, Union of India from time to
time:
"(a) War Injury Pension w.e.f. 1.1.1996 in terms of
\
-
K.J.S. BUTIAR v. UNION OF INDIA AND ANR. 141
[MARKANDEY KAT JU, J.]
Ministry of Defence letter dated 31.1.2001; A
(b) Treating the disability at 75% instead of 50% w.e.f.
1.1.1996 as per Ministry of Defence letter dated
31.1.2001;
(c) Grant ofservice element for full 10 years of service B
instead of 2 years; and
(d) Revision of the rates of the disability pension w.e.f.
1.1.1996 in terms of the letter dated 31. f.2001.
It is pertinent to state that the Ministry of Defence letter dated C
31.1.2001 had revised the rates pursuant to recommendations
of Fifth Pay Commission.
5. The appellant was denied the above benefits by the
respondent on the basis that he retired. before 1.1.1996, and
hence in terms of the notification dated 31.1.2001 he could not D
get the said benefits as they were granted to officers who
retired on or after 1.1.1996. The appellant contended that that
in view of the instruction issued on 31.1.2001 and subsequent
instructions the said benefits are available to those who were
mvalided even prior to 1.1.1996. In addition, the appellant also E
prays that his disability should be treated as 75% instead of
50% in terms of clause 7.2 of the subsequent instructions.
6. The appellant had been granted the short service
commission in the Indian Army on 21.1.1969. According to him F
while participating in the exercise conducted with live
ammunition, he suffered gun shot on his left elbow and as a
result the appellant was relieved from Indian Army with 50%
disability on 10.4.1979.
7. A counter affidavit was filed by the respondent in the writ G
petition in which it was alleged that instruction dated 1.1.1996
is not applicable to the appellant. It was also contended that
as regards the instruction dated 31.1.2001 it is not applicable
to the appellant as he had not retired but was invalided out.
With regard to the instruction dated 16.5.2001 it was alleged H
A that the said instruction is applicable only with respect to
paragraph 7.1 (ii)( a) of the instruction dated 31.1.2001, and it
has no application to the appellant.
8. The High Court in the impugned judgment held that
paragraph 7.2 of the instructions dated 31.1.2001 is not 8 applicable to the appellant. With respect we cannot agree.
9. As regards the claim of the appellant for pension for his
full 10 years service as a short service commission officer, we
have already held in Union of India & Anr. vs. C.S. Sidhu
C 2010(4) SCC 563 that this claim is justified. Hence his entire
service in the army has to be taken into consideration for grant
of Disability Pension and he must be given arrears with interest
@ 8% per annum as was granted in C.S. Sidhu's case.
10. The stand of the respondent is that the disability of the
D appellant cannot be enhanced to 75% because the relevant
provision being para 7.2 of Government of India, Ministry of
Defence, letter dated 31.1.2001 is applicable only to those
cases where the officer was invalided out of service after
1.1.1996. It is alleged that the appellant was invalided out much
E before the date.
11. In our opinion, the restriction of the benefit to only
officers who were invalided out of service after 1.1.1996 is
violative of Article 14 of the Constitution and is hence illegal.
F We are fortified by the view as taken by the decision of this
Court in Union of India & Anr. vs. Deoki Nandan Aggarwal
1992 Suppl.(1) SCC 323, where it was held that the benefit of
the Amending Act 38 of 1986 cannot be restricted only to those
High Court Judges who retired after 1986.
G 12. In State of Punjab vs. Justice S.S. Dewan (1997) 4
sec 569 it was held that if it is a liberalization of an existing
scheme all pensioners are to be treated equally, but if it is
introduction of a new retrial benefit, its benefit will not be
available to those who stood retired prior to its introduction. In
H our opinion the letter of the Ministry of Defence dated 31.1.2001
-
-
K.J.S. BUTTAR v. UNION OF INDIA AND ANR.
[MARKANDEY KAT JU, J.]
is only liberalization of an existing scheme.
143
13. In Union of India & Anr. vs. S.P.S. Vains (Retd.) &
Ors. 2008(9) SCC 125 it was observed :
"26. The said decision of the Central Government does not
address the problem of a disparity having created within B
the same class so that two officers both retiring as Major
Generals, one prior to 1-1-1996 and the other after 1-1-
1996, would get two different amounts of pension. While
the officers who retired prior to 1-1-1996 would now get
the same pension as payable to a Brigadier on account C
of the stepping up of pension in keeping with the
fundamental rules, the other set of Major Generals who
retired after 1-1-1996 will get a higher amount of pension
since they would be entitled to the benefit of the revision
of pay scales after 1-1-1996. o
27. In our view, it would be arbitrary to allow such a situation
to continue since the same also offends the provisions of
Article 14 of the Constitution.
28. The question regarding creation of different classes E
within the same cadre on the basis of the doctrine of
intelligible differentia having nexus with the object to be
achieved, has fallen for consideration at various intervals
for the High Courts as well as this Court, over the years.
The said question was taken up by a Constitution Bench
in D.S. Nakara where in no uncertain terms throughout the
judgment it has been repeatedly observed that the date of
retirement of an employee cannot form a valid criterion for
classification, for if that is the criterion those who retired
by the end of the month will form a class by themselves. In
the context of that case, which is similar to that of the G
instant case, it was held that Article 14 of the Constitution
had been wholly violated, inasmuch as, the Pension Rules
being statutory in character, the amended Rules, specifying
a cut-off date resulted in differential and discriminatory
treatment of equals in the matter of commutation of H
pension. It was further observed that it would have a
traumatic effect on those who retired just before that date.
The division which classified pensioners into two classes
was held to be artificial and arbitrary and not based on any
rational principle and whatever principle, if there was any,
had not only no nexus to the objects sought to be achieved
by amending the Pension Rules, but was counterproductive
and ran counter to the very object of the pension scheme.
It was ultimately held that the classification did not satisfy
the test of Article 14 of the Constitution.
30. However, before we give such directions we must also
observe that the submissions advanced on behalf of the
Union of India cannot be accepted in view of the decision
in D.S. Nakara case. The object sought to be achieved
was not to create a class within a class, but to ensure that
the benefits of pension were made available to all persons
of the same class equally. To hold otherwise would cause
violence to the provisions of Article 14 of the Constitution.
It could not also have been the intention of the authorities
to equate the pension payable to officers of two different
ranks by resorting to the step-up principle envisaged in the
fundamental rules in a manner where the other officers
belonging to the same cadre would be receiving a higher
pension."
14. In our opinion the appellant was entitled to the benefit
F of para 7.2 of the instructions dated 31.1.2001 according to
which where the disability is assessed between 50% and 75%
then the same should be treated as 75%, and it makes no
difference whether he was invalided from service before or after
1.1.1996. Hence the appellant was entitled to the said benefits
G with arrears fron'l 1.1.1996, and interest at 8% per annum on
the same.
15. It may be mentioned that the Government of India
Ministry of Defence had been granting War Injury Pension to
H pre 1996 retirees also in terms of para 10.1 of Ministry's letter
-
K.J.S. BUTIAR v. UNION OF INDIA AND ANR. 145
[MARKANDEY KAT JU, J.]
No.1 (5)/87/D(Pen-Ser) dated 30.10.1987 (Page 59 Para 8). A
The mode of calculation however was changed by Notification
dated 31.1.2001 which was restricted to post 1996 retirees.
The appellant, therefore, was entitled to the War Injury Pension
even prior to 1.1.1996 and especially in view of the instructions
dated 31.1.2001 issued by the Government of India. The said B
instruction was initially for persons retiring after 1.1.1996 but
later on by virtue of the subsequent Notifications dated
16.5.2001 it was extended to pre 1996 retirees also on
rationalization of the scheme. As per the Instructions, different
categories have been provided by the Government for award c
of pensionary benefits on death/disability in attributable/
aggravated cases. As per Para 10.1 of the Instructions dated
31.1.2001, where an Armed Forces personnel is invalided on
account of disability sustained under circumstances mentioned
in Category-E(f)(ii) of Para 4.1, he shall be entitled to War Injury 0 Pension consisting of service element and war injury element.
Para 4.1 provides for the different categories to which the
pensionary benefits are to be awarded. Category-E(f)(ii) of Para
4.1 pertains to any death or disability which arises due to battle
inoculation, training exercises or demonstration with live E
__ ammunition. Appellant is entitled to the War Injury Pension in
terms of Category-E(f)(ii) of Para 4.1 and Para 10.1 of the
Instructions dated 31.1.2001, which are reproduced hereunder
for ready reference :-
Para 10.1 F
Where an armed forces personnel is invalided out
of service on account of disability sustained under
circumstances mentioned in category 'E' of para 4.1
above, he/she shall be entitled to war injury pension
consisting of service element and War Injury Pension as G
follows:
(a) Service element : Equal to retiring/service pension
which he/she would have been entitled to on the
basis of his/her pay on the. date of invalidment but H
counting service up to the date on which he/she
would have retired in that rank in the normal course
including weightage as admissible. Provisions of
para 6 of the Ministry of Defence letter No.1 /6/98/
D(Pens/Ser) dated 3.2.1998 shall apply for
calculating retiring/service pension. There shall be
no condition of minimum qualifying service for
earning this element.
(b) War Injury eleme.nt: Equal to reckonable
emoluments last drawn for 100% disablement.
However, in no case the aggregate of service
element and war injury element should exceed last
pay drawn. For lower percentage of disablement,
war injury element shall be proportionately reduced.
D Category 'E"
Death or disability arising as a result of :-
(a) to (e) xxx xxx xxx
(f) War like situations, including cases, which are
attributable to/aggravated by :-
(i) extremist acts, exploding mines etc., while on way
to an operational areas;
(ii) battle inoculation training exercises for
demonst~ation with live ammunition;
(iii) Kidnapping by extremists while on operational duty
(g) to (i) xxx xxx xxx
G These instructions, which were initially restricted to
Armed Forces personnel, who retired on or before
1.1.1996 were subsequently made applicable to the pre
1996 retirees also by virtue of instruction dated 16.5.2001.
Relevant portion of the Instruction/Notification in this regard
. H is reproduced hereunder :-
·,.•
-
K.J.S. BUTTAR v. UNION OF INDIA AND ANR. 147
[MARKANDEY KATJU, J.]
Subject - Rationalization of Pension Structure for pre A
1996 Armed Forces Pensioners - Implementation of
Government decisions on the recommendations of the Fifth
Central Pay Commission."
16. As per para-6 of these instructions/letter dated
16.5.2001, any person, who is in receipt of disability pension 8
as on 1.1.1996 is entitled to the same benefit as given in letter
dated 31.1.2001. Further as per para-7 of this letter w.e.f.
1.1.1996 the rates of War Injury element shall be the rates
indicated in letter dated 31.1.2001. Thus, in our opinion in view
of the instruction dated 31.1.2001 read with our opinion C
16.5.2001, the appellant was entitled to the War Injury Pension.
It is pertinent to state that reading of paras 6, 7 and 8 of the
Notifications/Circular dated 16.5.2001 makes it absolutely clear
that the said benefits were available to pre 1996 retirees also
but the rates were revised on 31.1.2001 and the revised rates D
were made applicable to post 1996 retirees only. But
subsequently by means of the Notification dated 16.5.2001 the
revised rates were extended to pre 1996 retirees also.
17. At any event, we have held that there will be viol.ation E
of Article 14 of the Constitution if those who retired/were
invalided before 1.1.1996 are denied the same benefits as
given to those who retired after that date.
18. The respondents submitted that the appellant was not
entitled to the above benefits as he had retired on completion F
of his short service commission of 10 years and had not been
invalided out of service. In this connection it may be mentioned
that the appellant was i1walided out and released in a low
medical category with permanent disability assessed at 50%
by the Release Medical Board. As per the Defence Service G
Regulation/Pension regulation for the Army 1961 where any
officer is found suffering from disability attributable to or
aggravated by Military Service he shall be deemed to have
been invalided out of service. Relavant provision (page 25 ·
additional documents) read as under :- H
148 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2011) 4 S.C.R.
"Officers Compulsorily Retired on account of Age or on
Completion of Tenure.
53.(1) An officer retired on completion of tenure or on
completion of terms of engagement or on attaining the age
of 50 years (irrespective of their period of engagement),
if found suffering from a disability attributable to or
aggravated by military service and recorded by service
Medical Authorities, shall be deemed to have been
invalided out of service and shall be granted disability
pension from the date of retirement, if the accepted
degree of disability is 20 percent or more, and service
element if the degree of disability is less than 20 percent.
The retiring pension/retiring gratuity, if already, sanctioned
and paid, shall be adjusted against the disability pension/
service element, as the case may be.
(2) The disability element referred to in clause (1) above
shall be assessed on the accepted degree of disablement
at the time of retirement/discharge on the basis of the rank
held on the date on which the wound/injury was sustained
or in the case of disease."
In our opinion the appellant is entitled to the benefit of the above
Regulation.
19. As a result this appeal is allowed and we hold that the
F appellant is entitled to grant of War Injury Pension w.e.f.
1.1.1996. The disability element of the Disability Pension shall
be commuted as 75% instead of 50% and the appellant will
be granted arrears w.e.f. 1.1.1996 with an interest of 8% per
annum. He will also be granted 1 O years' commission service
and interest as granted in C. S. Sidhu's case from the date of
G his release. The impugned judgment is set aside.
20. The appeal is allowed. There shall be no order as to
costs.
H R.P. Appeal allowed.