Export Credit Guarantee Corpn. of India Ltd. v. M/S. Garg Sons International
DR. B.S. CHAUHAN, J. 1. All the above-mentioned
appeals have been preferred against the common impugned
G judgment and order dated 18.2.2003 passed by the National
Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, New Delhi, in
Revision Petition Nos. 662, 663, 664, 665, 666, 667, 668,
669, 670, 671, 672, 673, 674, 933 of 2002 and F.A. 238, 246
and 247 of 2001.
EXPORT CREDIT GUARANTEE CORPN. OF INDIA LTD. v. 341
GARG SONS INTERNATIONAL [DR. B.S. CHAUHAN, J.]
2. Facts and circumstances giving rise· to these appeals A
are that:
A. The appellant herein; Export Credit Guarantee
Corporation of India Ltd., (hereinafter referred to as 'the
insurer'), is a government company, which is in the business 8 of insuring exporters. Respondent, M/s Garg Sons International,
on 23.3.1995 purchased a policy for the purpose of insuring a
shipment to foreign buyers i.e. M/s Natural Selection Co. Ltd.
of UK, and the said buyer committed default in making
payments towards such policy from 28.12.1995 onwards, with C
· respect to the said consignment.
B. The insured, that is M/s Garg Sons International, sought
enhancement of credit limit to the tune of Rs.50 lakhs with
respect to the said defaulting foreign importer. Subsequently,
he presented 17 claims. D
C. The insurer rejected all the abovementioned claims on
the ground that the insured did not ensure compliance with
Clause 8 (b) of the insurance agreement, which stipulated the
period within which the insurer is to be informed about any E
default committed by a foreign importer.
D. Thus, the insured then filed several complaints before
the State Disputes Redressal Commission, to which the insurer
filed replies. The State Disputes Redressal Commission
adjudicated upon the case and disposed of the said complaint, F
vide order dated 4.6.2001, directing the insurer to make various
requisite payments due under different claims, with 9 per cent
interest and litigation expenses etc.
E. Being aggrieved against the orders passed in all 17 G
claims, the insurer preferred appeals under Section 19 of the
Consumer Protection Act, 1986, before the National Consumer
Disputes Redressal Commission, wherein the impugned
judgment and order was disputed, stating that it was evident
from the said judgment that 11 claims had been rejected and H
A that 5 claims made by the insured were accepted.
Hence, both the parties preferred these appeals.
3. Shri Santosh Paul, learned counsel appearing on behalf
of the insurer, has submitted that the insured failed to
B communicate information pertaining to the default made by the
foreign importer, to the insurer, within the stipulated period,
which was fixed as 45 days from the date on which the payment
became due, and thus, failed to ensure compliance with the
mandatory requirement under Clause 8 (b), owing to which, the
C claims with respect to which the said information was not
furnished within the time period stipulated in the agreement,
have wrongly been allowed. Moreover, it is evident from the
judgment that only 5 claims made by the insured were
accepted, and that 11 claims were rejected, though in the said
D order, only 9 claims were found to be rejected and 4 were
shown as accepted. As the only numbers of 4 revisions have
been mentioned, stating that only these were worth acceptance,
and those of 9 revisions have been mentioned, as those that
were rejected, which was all stated to show that there were
E typographical errors in the judgment itself.
In addition thereto, there were also certain appeals and
thus, the order was required to be modified to the extent that
only two claims which were made in respect of Civil Appeal
F Nos. 154 7 of 2004 and 1557 of 2004, wherein all statutory
requirements were complied with deserve to be allowed, while
the others, owing to default on the part of the insured, are liable
to be rejected.
4. On the other hand, Shri Satinder Singh Gulati, learned
G counsel appearing on behalf of the insured, has submitted that
admittedly, there is in fact a typographical error in the impugned
judgment and order, and has stated that the claims of the
insured, with respect to which there has been no default on the
part of insured, i.e., some claims have wrongly been rejected.
EXPORT CREDIT GUARANTEE CORPN. OF INDIA LTD. v. 343
GARG SONS INTERNATIONAL [DR S.S. CHAUHAN, J.]
Therefore, the appeals filed by him i.e. Civil Appeal Nos. 1559, A
1544, 1545, 1543 and 1546 of 2004 should be allowed and
the other appeals, should be rejected accordingly.
5. We have considered the rival submissions made by
learned counsel for the parties and perused the record. 8
6. Relevant clauses of the insurance policy dated
23.3.1995, read as under:
"8. Declarations:
(a) Declaration of shipments :- ........... .
(b) Declaration of overdue payments: The insured shall
also deliver to the Corporation, on or before the 15th of
every month, declaration in the term prescribed by the
Corporation, of all payments which remained wholly or D
partly unpaid for more than 30 days from the due date of
payment in respect of shipments made within the policy
period and such declaration shall continue to be rendered
to the Corporation even after the expiry of the policy period
so long as any such payment remains overdue. E
xx xx xx
19. Exclusion of Liability: Notwithstanding anything to the
contrary contained in this policy, unless otherwise agreed F
to by the Corporation in writing, the Corporation shall
cease to have any liability in respect of the gross invoice
value of any shipment or part thereof, if:
(a) the insured has failed to declare, without any omission,
all the shipments .required to be declared in terms of G
clause 8(a) of the policy and to pay premium in terms of
clause 1 O of the policy;
(b) the insured has failed to submit declaration of overdue
payments as required by clause 8(b) of the policy; or H
A (c) .........
7. If both the conditions referred to hereinabove are read
together, it becomes evident that the insured must make a
declaration in the prescribed form (Form No. 205), on the 15th
8 of every month as regards whether or not, there has been any
default committed by the foreign importer, either in part, or in
full, for a period exceeding 30 days from the date on which the
payment fell due, with respect to shipments made within the
policy period. Non-compliance with the said term(s) of contract,
C will exonerate the insurer of all liability in this regard.
8. It is a settled legal proposition that while construing the
terms of a contract of insurance, the words used therein must
be given paramount importance, and it is not open for the Court
to add, delete or substitute any words. It is also well settled,
D that since upon issuance of an insurance policy, the insurer
undertakes to indemnify the loss suffered by the insured on
account of risks covered by the policy, its terms have to be
strictly construed in order to determine the extent of the liability
of the insurer. Therefore, the endeavour of the Court should
· E always be to interpret the words used in the contract in the
manner that will best express the intention of the parties. (Vide:
Mis. Suraj Mal Ram Niwas Oil Mills (P) Ltd. v. United India
Insurance Co. Ltd., (2010) 10 SCC 567).
F 9. The insured cannot claim anything more than what is
covered by the insurance policy. " ... the terms of the contract
have to be construed strictly, without altering the nature of the
contract as the same may affect the interests of the parties
adversely." The clauses of an insurance policy have to be read
G as they are ... Consequently, the terms of the insurance policy,
that fix the responsibility of the Insurance Company must also
be read strictly. The contract must be read as a whole and every
attempt should be made to harmonize the terms thereof,
keeping in mind that the rule of contra proferentem does not
H apply in case of commercial contract, for the reason that a
EXPORT CREDIT GUARANTEE CORPN. OF INDIA LTD. v. 345
GARG SONS INTERNATIONAL [DR. B.S. CHAUHAN, J.]
clause in a commercial contract is bilateral and has mutually A
been agreed upon.
(Vide : Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Sony Cheriyan AIR
1999 SC 3252; Polymat India P. Ltd. v. National Insurance
Co. Ltd., AIR 2005 SC 286; M/s. Sumitomo Heavy Industries B
Ltd. v. Oil & Natural Gas Company, AIR 2010 SC 3400; and
Rashtriya /spat Nigam Ltd. v. Mis. Dewan Chand Ram Saran
AIR 2012 SC 2829).
10. In Vikram Greentech (/) Ltd. & Anr. v. New India C
Assurance Co. Ltd. AIR 2009 SC 2493, it was held :
"An insurance contract, is a species of commercial
transactions and must be construed like any other
contract to its own terms and by itself.... The endeavour
of the court must always be to interpret the words in which D
the contract is expressed by the parties. The court while
construing the terms of policy is not expected to venture
into extra liberalism that may result in re-writing the
contract or substituting the terms which were not intended
by the parties." E
(See also : Sikka Papers Limited v. National Insurance
Company Ltd & Ors. AIR 2009 SC 2834).
11. Thus, it is not permissible for the court to substitute the
terms of the contract itself, under the garb of construing terms F
incorporated in the agreement of insurance. No exceptions can
be made on the ground of equity. The liberal attitude adopted
by the court, by way of which it interferes Jn the terms of an
insurance agreement, is not permitted. The same must certainly
not be extended to the extent of substituting words that were G
never intended to form a part of the agreement.
12. The instant case is required to be considered in light
of the aforesaid settled legal propositions. The requisite record
reveals the factual matrix as under: H
346 SUPREME COURT REPORTS (2013] 1 S.C.R.
A CA Invoice Invoice Date Due Period Date for Delay In Amount
No. No. date of ship- date for submls- flllng
men! of payment slon 8(b)
payment of co_mpll-
Form- a nee
205 8(b) (I.e.
complle form
nee 205)
B 1555/04 160/95 3.11.95 13.11.95 28.12.95 45 days 17.7.96 More than 87771-
5 months
1548/04 163195 8.11.95 20.11.95 5.1.96 45 days 17.7.96 More than 116424/-
5 months
1552/04 165195 13.11.95 19.11.95 4.1.96 45 days 17.7.96 More than 96474/-
5 months
c 1549/04 166/95 13.11.95 19.11.95 4.1.96 45 days 17.7.96 More than 67194/-
5 months
1551/04 177/96 2.1.96 3.2.96 16.3.96 45 days 17.7.96 More than 52629/-
2 months
-
1558/04 182/96 16.1.96 3.2.96 18.3.96 45 days 17.7.96 More than 249377/-
2 months
1553/04 184/96 29.1.96 15.2.96 31.3.96 45 days 17.7.96 More than 414354/-
2 months D
1559/04 186/96 7.2.96 6.3.96 6.5.96 60 days 17.7.96 More than 239656/-
1 month
1550/04 191/96 22.2.96 24.2.96 24.4.96 60 days 17.7.96 More than 242055/-
1 month
1544/04 192/96 22.2.96 6.3.96 6.5.96 60 days 17 7.96 More than 343777/-
1 month E
1545/04 193196 26.2.96 26.2.96 30.4.96 60 days 17.7.96 More than 267229/-
1 month
1543/04 195196 13.3.96 25.3.96 25.5.96 60 days 17.7.96 2 days 306159/
1556/04 196196 22.3.96 25.3.96 25.5.96 60 days 17.7.96 2 days 264400/
F 1547/04 200/98 19.4.96 6.5.96 6.7.96 60 days 17.7.96 314961/-
1546/04 162/95 8.11.95 20.11.95 5.1.96 45 days 17.7.96 More than 528257/-
5 months
1557/04 201/96 19.4.96 6.5.96 6.7.96 eo days 17.7.96 1362688/-
1542/04 184/95 11.11.05 19.11.95 4.1.95 45 days 17.7.96 More than 579766/-
G 5 months
13. The aforesaid chart clearly establishes that the insured
failed to comply with the requirement of clause 8(b) of the
agreement informing the insurer about the non-payment of
H outstanding dues by the foreign importer within the stipulated
EXPORT CREDIT GUARANTEE CORPN. OF INDIA LTD. v. 34 7
GARG SONS INTERNATIONAL [DR. B.S. CHAUHAN, J.]
time except in two cases.
14. Thus, we are of the view that only two claims which are
subject-matters in Civil Appeal Nos. 1547 and 1557 of 2004
deserve to be allowed. The others are dis-allowed.
With these observations, all 17 appeals stand disposed B
of.
B.B.B. Appeals disposed of.