Manju Sarkar & Ors. v. Mabish Miah and Ors.
C. NAGAPPAN, J. 1. Leave granted.
D .
2. This appeal is directed against the judgment and order
dated 16.3.2009 passed by the Guwahati High Court, Agartala
Bench, in MFC (W.C.) 03 of 2009 dismissing the appeal of the E
appellants herein against the order dated 12.12.2008 of the
' Commissioner for Workmen's Compensation West Tripura,
Agartala, whereby the appellants were denied compensation
for the demise of employee Sajal Sarkar.
3. The facts in brief are stated as follows: Respondents 1
and 2 are the joint owners of the truck vehicle bearing
Registration No.TR 01-B-1G89 and they had taken policy of
insurance for the said truck with respondent-No.3. Sajal Sarkar,
the husband of the appellant No.1 was driver of the said truck G
vehicle under the employment ofrespondents Nos.1 and 2 on
14.5.2005 and he drove the truck and reached Dharmanagar
from Agartala and at that time he noticed some mechanical
trouble in the truck and he got down to make arrangement for
repair of the vehicle but on the intervening night of 14/15-5-2005 H
A at about 1.00 - 1.30 a.m. he met with a road accident and
sustained grievous injuries in Assam Agartala road in between
S.T. Para and Kherengjuri under Churaibari Police Station limit
and he was taken to Dharmanagar hospital where. .he
succumbed to the injuries in the early hours on 15.5.2005. The
B helper of the truck Bikram Deb who was waiting in the truck,
went in search of Sajal Sarkar in the morning on 15.5.2005 and
after coming to know of the accident, he went to.hospital and
confirmed the death of driver Sajal Sarkar and thereafter went
to Churaibari Police Station and gave a complaint on which a
C case under FIR No.28/05 for the alleged offentes under Section
279 and 304 (A) IPC was registered. The appellant No.1 the
widow along with appell2nt No.2, her minor daughter and
appellant No.3, the mother-in-law, filed a suit under the
Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923 in T.S. W.G. 39 of 2005
D before the Commissioner, Workmen's Compensation, West
Tripura at Agartala contending that Sajal Sarkar met with a road
accident in the course of his employment under respondent
Nos.1 and 2 resulting in his death and the respondents were
liable to pay cof']'lpensation of Rs. 7 lakhs along with interest
E as per the provisions of the Act. The Commissioner dismissed
the suit on contest. The appellants challenged the same by filing
appeal in MFA(WC) 03 of 2009 and the High Court dismissed
the appeal~ Aggrieved by the same the appellants have
preferred the present appeal.
4. The learned counsel for the appellants contended that
Sajal Sarkar met with a road accident resulting in his death
during the course of his employment as truck driver under
respondent Nos.1 and 2 and the Courts below have failed to
'
G note the principle of notional extension at both the entry and exit .
by time and space and apply the same to the present case and
the appellants are entitled to compensation.
5. Per contra the learned counsel for the respondents
H contended that Sajal Sarkar parked the truck in the godown
MANJU SARKAR v. · MABISH MIAH 133
[C. NAGAPPAN, J.]
complex of FCI Churaibari and considering the delay of loading A
goods, he left the truck and went away towards an unknown
destination in connection with his personal affairs, saying to
helper Bikram Deb that he would return by night, and the
appellants have not proved that there was mechanical trouble
in the truck on the way to Churaibari FCI godown as pleaded B
by them and Sajal Sarkar did not suffer the injuries in the
course of his employment and, therefore, the appellants are not
entitled to receive any compensation under the Act, as rightly
held by the Courts below.
6. We have carefully considered the rival contentions and
perused the records. The case of the appellants is that on
14.5.2005 Sajal Sarkar was driving the truck vehicle under the
employment of respondents 1 and 2 from Agartala to Churaibari
FCI godown and when he reached Dharmanagar he got down D
to make arrangement for repairing the mechanical trouble in
the truck and in the same night he met with a road accident
and sustained injuries which led to his death in the hospital and
since death has occurred in the course of employment, they are
entitled to compensation from the respondents. Respondent E
Nos.1 and 2 in their joint written statement filed before the
Commissioner have stated that one Gopal Sharma was the
permanent driver of their truck vehicle and on 13.5.2005 in the
absence of their permanent driver they entrusted their truck to
Sajal Sarkar to drive to Churaibari FCI godown and on the F
same day the truck entered the godown complex of FCI at
Churaibari and Sajal Sarkar left the truck handing over the key
to Bikram Deb, helper of the truck and thereafter Sajal Sarkar
ceased to be in their employment and on 17.5.2005 the
permanent driver Gopal Sharma drove the truck from G
Churaibari to Agartala and hence they are not liable to pay any
compensation for the death of Sajal Sarkar and in any event
their vehicle is insured with Respondent No.3 and it is liable to
pay compensation.
A 7. From the pleadings it is clear that Sajal Sarkar was
employed by respondent Nos.1 and 2 to drive their truck at the
relevant time. Though respondent Nos. 1 and 2 had stated in
the counter that Sajal Sarkar was entrusted to drive the truck
on 13.5.2005 and on the same day the said truck entered the
B godown complex of FCI at Churaibari, this statement about the
date does not appear to be correct. It is categorically stated in
the claim petition that Sajal Sarkar drove the truck vehicle on
14.5.2005 and the said fact is corroborated by the averments
in the First Information Report as well as final report which
c specifically states that the truck reached the FCI godown at
Churaibari on 14.5.2005.
8. Further case of respondent Nos.1 and 2 is that Sajal
Sarkar was employed by them to drive the truck vehicle from
D Agartala to Dharmanagar FCI godown at Churaibari and on the
truck reaching the godown, Sajal Sarkar ceased to be in their
employment. This also appears to be an after thought and
factually incorrect. As per the averments in the First Information
Report lodged by helper Bikram Deb the truck reached
E Churaibari FCI godown on 14.5.2005 and Sajal Sarkar was to
return back to Agartala with the truck laden with rice bags.
According to the complainant, on reaching FCI godown in the
afternoon on 14.5.2005, considering the delay of loading goods,
Sajal Sarkar left the place by leaving the truck in his care and _
F told him that he would return in the night and since he did not
return during the night, he searched him the next morning and
after coming to know about the accident and death, he lodged
the complaint. If Sajal Sarkar was actually employed only for
the trip from Agartala to FCI godown Churaibari there was no
G need for him -to inform the helper that he would come back in
the night to the godown for the return trip and in the same way
there was no obligation on the part of the helper Bi~ram Deb
to search for Sajal Sarkar the next day morning leading to
lodging of the complaint. These circumstances clinch the issue
H and prove that Sajal Sarkar was employed to drive the truck
MANJU SARKAR v. MABISH MIAH 135
[C. NAGAPPAN, J.]
from Agartala to FCI godown Churaibari and return back to A
Agartala with the truck laden with the rice bags. It is also relevant
to point out that respondent Nos.1 and 2 neither examined
themselves in the trial nor examined helper Bikram Deb or
permanent driver Gopal Sharma to substantiate their plea.
9. According to the appellants, Sajal Sarkar on reaching
Dharmanagar noticed some mechanical trouble in the truck and
he got down to make arrangement for repairing the same and
in the night he met with an accident. Churaibari FCI godown is
located in Dharmanagar. The Courts below have rejected the c
claim petition on the ground that there is contradiction in the
claimants case since there was no mention of mechanical
defect in the truck in the First Information Report. What is
relevant is as to whether Sajal Sarkar continued to be in course
of employment under respondent Nos.1 and 2 at the time of D
sustaining injuries in the accident culminating in his death. Sajal
Sarkar was at Churaibari, Dharmanagar only on account of his
employment as driver of the truck and there he met with the road
accident.
10. This Court has in the celebrated decision in General
Manager B.E.S. T. Undertaking, Bombay vs. Mrs. Agnes (AIR
· 1964 SC 193] laid down as follows:
"Under Section 3(1) of the Act the injury must be caused
to the workman by an accident arising out of and in the
course of his employment. The question, when does an
employment begin and when does it cease, depends upon
the facts of each case. But the Courts have agreed that
the employment does not necessarily end when the "down
tool" signal is given or when the workman leaves the actual
workshop where he is working. There is a notion-al
extension at both the entry and exit by time and space. The
scope of such extension must necessarily depend on the
circumstances of a given case. As employment may end
A or may begin not only when the employee begins to work
or leaves his tools but also when he used the means of
access and, egress to and from the place of employment."
11. As rightly contended by learned counsel appearing for
B the appellants there is a notional extension in the present case
also and we would, therefore, hold that Sajal Sarkar met with
the road accident in the course of his employment under
respondent Nos.1 and 2. The Courts below have misdirected
themselves while dealing with this question and the finding
c rendered by them is perverse and unsustainable.
12. In the claim petition the appellants have stated that
Sajal Sarkar at the time of death was aged about 22 years and
used to get monthly wages of Rs. 4,500/- at the time of
0 accident. The first appellant herein examined herself as PW1
in the trial and has reiterated the age and income of the
deceased. Three documents were marked on her side. Her
testimony deserves acceptance. As per Section 4 clause 1 (a)·
of the Act where death results from the injury, 50% of the
E . monthly wages of the deceased multiplied by the relevant factor
would be the amount of compensation. In the present case the
compensation would be a sum of Rs.2250 being 50% of the
monthly wages multiplied by factor 221.37, which comes to
Rs.4,98,082.50 and a further sum of Rs.10,000/- could be
awarded towards funeral expenses as per Section 4 Clause F (4). In the circumstances of the case we deem it just and proper
to award interest at the rate of 9% per annum on the
compensation from the date of claim petition.
13. A contention was raised by the learned counsel for the
G Respondent No.3 Insurance Company that they are not liable
to pay the interest component and reliance was placed on the
decision of New lndia·Assurances Co. Ltd. Vs. Harshad Bhai
Amrut Bhai Modhiya and another [(2006) 5 SCC 192] In the
facts of the case on which the said decision arose, the contract
MANJU SARKAR v. MABISH MIAH 137
[C. NAGAPPAN, J.]
of insurance entered into between the parties contained a A
proviso that the insurance granted is not extended to include
any interest. In the present case there is nothing on record to
show that re~pondent No.3 Insurance Company either pleaded
about existence of such a clause in the contract of insurance
or led any evidence to the said effect and hence the said B
decision will not help respondent No.3 in any way and the
contention raised is devoid of merit.
14. In the result the appeal is allowed and the judgment
and order of the Courts below are set aside and the claim c
petition is allowed and there shall be a Decree directing the
-respondents to pay a sum of Rs.5,08,082.50 as compensation
together with interest at the rate of 9 per cent per annum from
the date of claim petition with costs.
Devika Gujral Appeal allowed.