Union of India & Anr v. Jai Kishun Singh (d) Through Lrs. & Ors.
H ARUN MISHRA, J. 1. In the case in hand, the Court is
UNION OF INDIA v. JAi KISHUN SINGH (D) 1153
THROUGH L.RS. [ARLIN MISHRA, J.]
required to adjudicate upon the issue whether F.reedom Fighter A
pension had been undeservingly extended to respondent No.1
inspite of the fact that he did not participate in freedom struggle
as he was a child of 7 to 8 years in the year 1942.
2. Initially, original respondent No.1 's case for granting
suchpension was declined by the appellant vide letter
dated19.06.1995. However, original respondent No.1 was
successfulin getting released pension on second attempt and
it was ordered to be released on 26.12.1997 with retrospective
effect from 28.07.1981.
3. The matter did not set at rest at that. The High Court at
Patnadirected suo motu inquiry in the rampant complaints that
largepersons in the State of Bihar were availing such benefits
inspiteof not having participated in freedom struggle as
contemplatedunder the Swatantrata Sainik Samman Pension
Scheme, 1980(for short "the SchE;!me"). The Deputy Collector
conductedinquiry into the matter and recorded evidence. He
found that claim of the deceased respondent No.1 was not
genuine. On that basis, the Union of India issued show-cause
notice and thereafter took decision on 19.05.2004 to cancel
-pension witheffect from the date it was initially sanctioned, i.e.
28.07.1981 and the amount of pension already drawn by him
be recovered.
4. The deceased respondent No.1 unsuccessfully
impugned the aforesaid order in writ petition filed before the
Single Bench. However, the Division Bench of the High Court
in the appeal has quashed the order. Hence, the Union of India
has come up in appeal before us. The operation of order
passed by the Division Bench of the High Court was stayed
by this Court on 10.11.2008.
5. The learned counsel for the appellants submitted that
pension was rightly withdrawn. The age of the deceased
respondent No.1 was 7 to 8 years in 1942. Thus, his
participation in the incident of August 1942 was rightly
H.
1154 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2014) 8 S.C.R.
A disbelieved. He was unable even to give details of the incident
in the course of inquiry. The reliance placed by the Division
Bench on the determination of age by the Medical Board at 73
years in 2001 was uncalled for as the Medical Board has not
conducted scientific tests and has opined on the basis of
B physical appearance of the original respondent No.1. He had
also submitted that the original respondent No.1 had stated his
age on 06.06.1977 to be 40 years while deposing in Criminal
Case No.1018/1974 (Trial No.381/77). Apart from this, in the
Voter List of 1975, his age has been mentioned as 42 years.
c Thus, at the age of 7 to 8 years, the claim that he participated
in freedom struggle could not be said to be believable.
6. Per contra, the counsel for L.Rs. of the deceased
.respondent No.,1 would submit that pension had bet;ln rightly
D sanctioned in 1997. Thereafter, in view of the report of Medical
Board, there was no reason to withdraw it as the age at the
relevant time in 1942 would have been 13 years.
7. The main question for consideration is what was the
apprdximate age of deceased respondent No. 1 on 15th
E August, 1942. He has claimed that his age was 13 years when
he went underground for a year w.e.f. 14th August, 1942 to 15th
August, 1943.
8. The enquiry officer recorded oral statement indicating
F that his age was much less. We discard such statement as oral
statement cannot be a safe criteria for arriving at conclusion.
However, the documentary evidence of the years 1975 and
1977 in the form of Voter List and deposition-sheet clinches
the issue and establishes that the claim is not genuine.
G Documentary evidence has to prevail, more so as there was
no such dispute as to age at the relevant time. As per
depositionsheet of criminal case, age was approximately 40
years in 1977. If the said date is taken as correct, the date of
birth would come to the year 1937. As per Voter List of 1975,
H his age was 42 years. From aforesaid documents in
consideration, age in 1942 would have been above 5 years and
UNION OF INDIA v. JAi KISHUN SINGH (D) 1155
THROUGH L.RS. [ARUN MISHRA, J.]
below 10 years. At such an age, participation in the incident in A
question is highly improbable as such cancellation of the
pension in the facts and circumstances of the casei could not
be said to be unwarranted at all.
9. T.he freedom fighter pension is a form of gratitude
extended by an indebted nation in recognition of the sacrifice
made by the freedom fighters to achieving independence. We
are conscious of the fact that liberal approach has to be
adopted in such matters so that rightful persons.are not
deprived of deserving benefit for lack of evidence, after a lapse
of long time. It has been laid down by this Court that such cases C
have to be decided on preponderance of probabilities and
standard of proof beyond reasonable doubt is not to be applied.
10. Relying upon Gurdial Singh vs. Union of India (2001)
8 SCC · 8 in Kamlabai Sinkar vs. State of Maharashtra & Ors. D
(2012) 11 sec 754, this Court has laid down thus :
"6. Having perused the above materials on record, at the
very outset, we wish to refer tothe observations made by
this Court in regardto the grant of freedom fighters' pension . E
in thedecision in Gurdial Singh v. Union of India. In para 7
of the judgment; this Court has highlighted the manner in
which such claims are to be considered for grant of
freedom fighters' pension. It will be worthwhile to make a
reference to the said passage before expressing our
conclusion with regard to the claim of the appellant's
husband in the case onhand."
7. Para 7 reads as under: (Gurdial Singh case)
"7. The standard of proof required in such casesis not such G
standard which is required in a criminal case or in a case
adjudicated upon rivalcontentions or evidence of the
parties. As the object of the Scheme is to honour and to
mitigate the sufferings of those who had giventheir all for
the country, a liberal and not a technical- approach is H
required to be followedwhile determining the merits of the
case of aperson seeking pension under the Scheme. It
should not be forgotten that the persons intended to be
. covered by the Scheme had suffered for the country about
half-a-century back and had not expected to be rewarded
for the imprisonment suffered by them. Once the country
has decided to honour such freedom fighters; the
bureaucrats entrusted with the job of examining the cases
of such freedom fighters are expected to keep in mind the
purpose and object of the Scheme. The case of the
claimants under this Scheme is required to be determined
on the basis of the probabilities and not on the touchstone
of the test of 'beyond reasonable doubt'. Once on the basis
of the evidence it is probabilised that the claimant had
suffered imprisonmentfor the cause of the country and
during thefreedom struggle, a presumption is required to
be drawn in his favour unless the same is rebutted by
cogent, reasonable and reliable evidence."
[emphasis added]
E 11. We are unable to rely upon determination of age by
the Medical Board as it is based upon physical appearance
only and not based upon any scientific medical test like
ossification test and radiological examination. When it is based
on such scientific tests as laid down in Om Prakash vs. State
F of Rajasthan & Anr. (2012) 5 SCC 201, it is of strong
corroborative value. The Medical Board held on 11.4.2002 has
opined on physical appearance basis age about 73 years. It
is not based on scientific tests hence it cannot be accepted,
more so in view of other documentary evidence on record.
12. This Court in State of Orissa vs. Choudhury Nayak
(D) through L.Rs. & Ors. (2010) 8 SCC 796 has adversely
commented on undeserving candidates availing the benefits of
such welfare schemes, thus:
"9. It is of some interest to note from the statistics furnished
UNION OF INDIA v. JAi KISHUN SINGH (D) 1157
THROUGH L.RS. [ARUN MISHRA, J.]
by the Central government in their additional affidavit, A
that1, 70;813 freedom fighters/dependants havebeen
sanctioned freedom fighters pension (ason 31.5.2010). At
· present as many as 60000persons are getting pension or
family pensionas freedom fighters/dependants. The
averagepension of a freedom fighter and after his/ B
herdeath to the spouse is Rs.12400/-p.m. and the average
pension paid to a dependant unmarried daughter is
Rs.3000 per month. The expenditure for the year 2009-
2010 under the scheme was Rs.785 crores. We have
referred to these figures only to showthat when false claims C
come to the notice of the Central Government, it is bound
to take stern action. Any complacency on the part ofthe
Government in taking action against bogus claims under
any scheme would encourage bogus claims under all
schemes.by undeserving candidates who are "well
connected and influential". False claimants walking away D
with the benefits meant for genuine and deserving
candidates has become the bane of several welfare
schemes.
10.xx xx xx E
11. Grant of freedom fighters' pension to bogus claimants
producing false and fabricated documents is as bad as
genuinefreedom fighters being denied pension. The only
way to respect the sacrifices of freedomfighters is to
ensure that only genuinefreedom fighters get the pension.
This meansthat the Government should weed out false and
fabricated claims and cancel the grant when the bogus
nature of the claim comes tolight. In Union of India vs. A vtar
Singh [(2006) 6 SCC 493) this Court therefore cautioned: G
"8 ....... The genuine freedom fightersdeserve to be treated
with reverence, respectand honour. But at the same time
it cannot be lost sight of that people who had no role toplay
in the freedom struggle should not bepermitted to benefit
1158 SUPREME COURT REPORTS (2014] 8 S.C.R.
from the liberal approachrequired to be adopted in the
case of the freedom fighters, most of whom in the normal
course are septuagenarians and octogenarians."
13. In the facts and circumstances of this case, we have
B no hesitation to restore the judgment and order passed by the
Single Bench of the-High Court at Patna. The judgment;md
order of the Division Bench is set aside. As the respondent has
been wrongly allowed pension after rejecting claim at the first
instance by the appellant, the High Court has directed suo motu
inquiry and on this basis pension had been withdrawn, and also
C considering the fact that the recipient of pension respondent
No.1 has died, we direct that the amount paid to him shall not
be recovered from his legal representatives.
14. The appeal is accordingly allowed. No costs.
Devika Gujral Appeal allowed.