United India Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Leisure Wear Exports Ltd.
ABHAY MANOHAR SAPRE, J. I. These appeals are filed
by the United India Insurance Company Ltd. against the common final
judgment dated 05.07 .2004 of the National Consumer Disputes Redressal
Commission, New Delhi in First Appeal Nos. 30-33 of2000 by which
the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission dismissed their
801
802
SUPREME COURT REPORTS {2016] 4 S.C.R.
appeals and upheld the order of the State Consumer Commission.
2. These appeals involve a short point. However, to appreciate the
point, few facts need mention infra.
3. The appellant - United India Insurance Company Ltd. is the
non-applicant whereas the respondent - Leisure Wear Exports Ltd. is
the complainant in the complaint filed before the State Consumer
Commission, Punjab out of which these appeals arise.
4. The respondent/complainant is engaged in the business of sale
of various kinds of hosiery goods and ready-made garments at Ludhiana.
They also import and export the goods in which they trade. On I 3 .06.1996,
the respondent obtained from the appellant one Open Marine Policy
(Cargo) bearing No. 201002-21-99-042-96. The respondent also paid
necessary premium. The policy covered the risk of all kinds of hosiery
goods and ready-made garments kept in wooden and cardboard cases
sent from any part oflndia to any friendly country in the world. The
policy covered the risk under Institute Cargo Clause 'A', Inland Transit
Claqse 'A' and risk of war, SRCC, Riots, Strike valid for "Warehouse to
warehouse at final destination". The insurance covered the risk of the
insured goods to the extent of Rs. 2 crores. It was subject to terms and
conditions as were mutually agreed upon. The policy was for the period
from 13.06.1996to 12.06.1997. ·
5. The respondent received one order from one party-Mis Magna
Overseas, Moscow for supply of hosiery goods and ready-made garments
to them at Moscow. The respondent accordingly dispatched 320
cardboard cartons in two separate consignments - one was under cover
note No~'LDR0/26948 dated 20.06.1996 worth Rs.49,63,200/- and
F another was under cover note No. LDR0/28051 dated 28.06.1996 worth
Rs.31,68,000/. The respondent duly notified these transactions to the
appellant(insurer). The export was to be made from Ex. Ludhiana to
Moscow.
6. The consignments reached Mumbai Port and from there, it was
G loaded in the ship for its final destination-Moscow. The consignments
landed at port Odessa in Ukraine and from there, the consignment was
moved by road to Moscow. When the delivery was taken at Moscow, it
was found short of 142 and 139 cartons respectively.
7. The matter was then reported to the Insurance Company who,
UNITED INDIA INSURANCE CO. LTD. v. LEISURE WEAR
EXPORTS LTD. [ABHAY MANOHAR SAPRE, J.)
in tum, appointed Mis Ingostarkh Insurance Company Ltd., Moscow as
the surveyors to investigate into the matter and assess the loss. The
surveyors confirmed the short delivery of the cartons. In terms of policy,
the claim forthe loss sustained by the consignee was· lodged with Mis
Ingostrakh Insurance Company in the first instance. They did not settle
it and hence the consignee authorized the respondent to file the claim
against the appellant for recovery of the loss sustained by them due to
loss of their goods.
8. The respondent then filed two separate complaint petitions under
the Consumer Protection Act before the State Consumer Commission,
Punjab against the appellant (Insurance Company) on the strength of
the policy issued by the appellant in their favour claiming compensation
for the loss of their goods while in· transit and which were duly insured
by the respondent under the policy dated 13.06.1996. In substance, the
case of the respondent in their complaint was that since the goods, which
were lost, were admittedly got insured by the respondent with the appellant
and, therefore, the respondent are entitled to claim compensation for the
loss sustained by them from the appellant on the strength of the policy
which covered such loss. It was alleged that the policy was admittedly
in force when the loss occurred and hence the appellant cannot deny
their liability to compensate the respondent for the loss caused to the
goods of the respondent.
'9. The appellant filed their written statement and admitted the factum
of issuance of policy in respondent's favour so also the factum ofthe
loss of goods sustained by the respondent while the goods were in transit.
-Their main objSlction was that the respondent had no right to file the
complaint and claim compensation from the appellant on the strength of
policy in question. It was alleged that since the respondent had already
assigned the policy in question in favour of their consignee, i.e., Mis
Magna Overseas to whom the goods
0
were sent by them and, therefore,
it was for the consignee/assignee to file the complaint for realization of
the loss amount from the appellant (insurer) on the strength of the
assignment of the policy. It was, therefore, alleged that once the
respondent made the assignment offlre policy in favour of the consignee
then in such event, they lost all their rights and interest in the policy qua
the insurer and hence had no locus to file the·complaint against the
appellant. The complaint was, therefore, liable to be dismissed on this
ground alone. Parties filed their evidence.
803
804
SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2016) 4 S.C.R.
10. The State Consumer forum vide order dated 31.12.1999 allowed
both the complaints and awarded Rs.19,90,000/- in all to the complainant/
re.spondent by way of compensation in each complaint. The compensation
awarded to the respondent comprises of the reported value of the loss
of the goods, 10% towards moral loss, 15% towards loss of earning and
interest at the rate of 12% payable from 07.11.1996 till realization.
11. Felt aggrieved, the appellant filed the appeals before the National
Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, New Delhi out of which
this appeal arises.
12. By impugned order, the National Consumer Disputes Redressal
c Commission dismissed the appeals and upheld the order of the State
Consumer Commission.
13. Felt aggrieved, the Insurance Company has filed these appeals
by way of special leave before this Court.
14. Heard Mr. Vishnu Mehra, learned counsel for the appellant
D and Mr. Ashwani Kumar, learned counsel for the respondent.
15. Learned counsel for the appellant reiterated the submissions
here, which they had urged before the two forums unsuccessfully. The
submission was that both the forums erred in entertaining the complaint
filed bythe respondent, which deserved dismissal at the threshold.
16. According to learned counsel, since the respondent assigned
the policy in question in favour of consignee (MIS Magna Overseas),
they (respondent) ceased to have any subsisting interest in the policy,
which they could enforce against the appellant. Learned counsel urged
that in these circumstances, a right to file the complaint on the strength
of policy and to seek its enforcement against the appellant was with the
consignee and not with the respondent. It was, therefore, urged that the
respondent had no locus to file the complaint against the appellant and
seek enforcement of the terms of the policy for realization of any claim
arising out of the policy.
17. In reply, learned counsel for the respondent supported the.
reasoning and the conclusion arrived at by the National Consumer
Redressal Commission and contended. that it does not call for any
interference and deserves to be upheld.
18. Having heard the learned counsel for the parties and on perusal
UNITED INDIA INSURANCE CO. LTD. v. LEISURE WEAR
EXPORTS LTD. [ABHAY MANOHAR SAPRE, J.]
of the record of the case, we find no merit in the appeal.
19. The short question which arises for consideration in this appeal
is whether the complaint petition filed by the respondent under the
Consumer Protection Act against the appel I ant (Insurer) was maintainable
or not or in other words whether the respondent had the locus to file the
complaint on the strength of contract oflnsurance Policy in question for
claiming compensation for the loss sustained in the transaction?
20. Sections 17 and 52 of the Marine Insurance Act, 1963
(hereinafter referred to as "the Act") are relevant for deciding the
abovesaid question. They read as under :
"Section 17. Assignment of interest.-Where the assured
assigns or otherwise parts with his interest in the subject
matter insured, he does not thereby transfer to the assignee
his rights under the contract of insurance, unless there be
an express or implied agreement with the assignee to that
effect.
But the provisions of this section do not affect transmission
of interest by operation of law.
"Section 52. When and how policy is assignable.-_
(1) A marine policy may be transferred by assignment unless
it contains terms expressly prohibiting assignment. It may
be assigned either before or after loss.
(2) Where a marine policy has been assigned so as to pass
the beneficial interest in such policy, the assignee of the
policy is entitled to sue thereon in his own name; and the
defendant is entitled to make any defence arising out of
the contract which he would have been entitled to make if
the suit had been brought in the name of the person by or
on behalf of whom the policy was effected.
(3) A marine policy may be assigned by endorsement thereon
or in other customary manner."
21. Section 52 provides as to when and how the marine policy may
be transferred. It says that a marine policy may be transferred by
assignment unless it contains express terms, which prohibits any
assignment of the policy. It also provides that such 1;1ssignment can be
805
A made before or after the loss has occasioned.
22. Sub-Section(2)ofSection 52 provides that once the· assignment
is made then the assignee is entitled to sue in his name whereas the
insurer/defendant is ltlso entitled to raise all such defences against the
assignee, which are available to him against the original insured i.e.
assigner.
23. Section 17 deals with "assignment of interest". It provides
that where the assured assigns or otherwise parts with his interest in the
subject-matter insured, he (insured) does not thereby transfer to the
assignee his rights under the contract of insurance unless there is an
express or implied agreement with the assignee to that effect. This
Section, however, does not affect transmission of interest by operation
of law.
24. When we examine the undisputed facts of the case in the light
of aforementioned two provisions, then in our considered opinion, Section
17 has full application to the facts of the case. In fact, it is a complete
answer to the submission urged by the learned counsel for the appellant.
25. It is not in dispute that there is no express agreement between
the respondent (insured) and M/s Magna Overseas (consignee) agreeing
to transfer insured's rights under the contract of insurance in favour of
MIS Magna Overseas (consignee). Under these circumstances, by virtue
of Section 17, the respondent is legally entitled to retain, enjoy and
exercise all those rights, which are available to them under the contract
of insurance, which they have entered into with the appellant despite
making the assignment of their policy in favour of the assignee.
26. Section 17, in terms, recognizes and permits the insured to make
assignment of their contract of insurance policy in favour ofan assignee ·
and at the same time allows the insured even after making an assignment
to retain all those rights which are available to them under the contract
of insurance with the Insurer (appellant). In other words, in terms of
Section 17, even after making an assignment by the insured of their
contract of insurance policy, the rights of insured under the contract of
insurance policy are not assigned in favour of assignee by the deed of
assignment but they are continued to remain with the insured.
27. We are, therefore, of the considered view that firstly, we do
not find that the respondent (insured) assigned the contract ofinsurance
UNITED INDIA INSURANCE CO. LTD. v. LEISURE WEAR
EXPORTS LTD. {ABHAY MANOHAR SAPRE, J.]
policy in favour of their consignee as contended by the appellant. Secondly,
even assuming that the respondent (insured) assigned the contract of
insurance policy in favour of their consignee, yet the assignment so made
did not have any adverse effect on the rights of the insured under the
contract of insurance pol icy as the rights con~inued to remain with them
by virtue of Section I 7 of the Act.
28. The respondent was, therefore, legally entitled and had the locus
to file a complaint against the appellant on the strength of contract of
insurance policy for enforcement of their all contractual rights available
to them under the insurance policy for claiming compensation for the
loss caused from the appellant and the complaint so filed by the respondent
could not be dismissed as not maintainable on the ground of locus. It
was thus rightly held as maintainable.
29. This takes us to the next argument of learned counsel for the
appellant. It was his submission that there was implied agreement
between the respondent and the consignee whereby the respondent had
transferred all their rights in favour of the consignee and, therefore, the
respondent had no locus to file a compl!!.int for enforcement of those
rights, which were no longer with them. In support of his submission,
learned counsel referred to letters dated 30.06.1997, 08.07.1997,
04.07.1997 and some Paras from the pleadings. We find no merit in this
submission.
30. In our considered opinion, even if we accept, for the sake of
argument, that the respondent had assigned their rights under the contract
oflnsurance policy in favour of their consignee by way of endorsement
as contended by the appellant, yet in the I ight of authori~tion letter dated
04.07.1997 duly issued by the consignee in favour of the respondent
authorizing the respondent to file a complaint petition before the Consumer
forum for recovery of the compensation, the respondent was entitled
and had the locus to file a complaint against the appellant for realization
of compensation amount towards the loss sustained due to short delivery
of the goods on the strength of the authorization letter for enforcement
of contract of insurance policy.
31. In view of foregoing discussion, we are of the considered opinion
that in any event, the complaint filed by the respondent (insured) was
maintainable and that the respondent had the locus to file the complaint
against the appellant. It was, in our view, saved by Section 17 of the Act
807
808
and by the authorization letter dated 04.07 .1997, issued by the consignee
in respondent's favour.
32. Both the Authorities, i.e., State forum and National forum (as
the first appellate authority) were, therefore, justified in overruling the
objection of the appellant and were justified in ,holding that the complaint
filed by the respondent was maintainable and the respondent was legally
competent to file such complaint.
33. Learned counsel for the appellant then by referring to Section
79 of the Act contended that the complaint filed by the respondent was
not maintainable. We find absolutely no merit in this submission. In our
view, Section 79 which deals with sabrogation does not apply to the case
at hand but it is Section 17 read with Section 52 which governs the case
in question.
34. Learned counsel for the appellant then placed reliance on the
decisions reported in New India Assurance Co. Ltd. vs. GN. Sainani,
1997 (6) SCC 383 and Oberai Forwarding Agency vs. New India
Assurance Co. Ltd. & Anr. [2000(2) SCC 407]. We have perused
these decisions and find that these are distinguishable on facts. In the
latter decision, the question of locus was not expressly examined in the
context of Section 17 but was examined in the context of Section 79 of
· the Act on different set of facts. Likewise, in the former case, the facts
were different and again Section 17 of the Act did not fall for
consideration. In any event, in the light of findings which we have
recorded on the facts· of this case against the appellant, the case law
relied upon by the appellant is ofno help to them.
35. So far as the findings relating to the merits of the case are
concerned, learned counsel for the appellant did not challenge any of the
findings in this appeal and in our opinion rightly. We, therefore, need not
go into any of them.
36. In the light of aforesaid discussion, we find no merit in these
appeals which fail and are hereby dismissed.
Kalpana K. Tripathy Appeals dismissed.