National Insurance Special Voluntary RETIRED/ Retired Employees Association & Anr. v. United India Insurance Co. Ltd. & Anr.
SANJAY KISHAN KAUL, J. 1. Leave granted.
2. The appellants are ex-employees of the respondent Insurance
Companies, who initially joined as Assistants, between 1972 to 1980,and
went out of service taking advantage of the General Insurance Employees’
Special Voluntary Retirement Scheme, 2004 (for short ‘SVRS-2004
Scheme’). The bone of contention is the plea of these appellants, that
they are also entitled to certain benefits arising under the earlier scheme
known as The General Insurance (Employees) Pension Scheme, 1995
(for short ‘1995 Scheme’), which inter alia provided that the qualifying
service of an employee, retiring under that1995Scheme, would be
increased by a period not exceeding five (5) years, subject to certain
conditions.
3. The concept of providing pension to the employees of the
respondent Insurance Companies was introduced for the first time by
the 1995 Scheme, which was notified in the Gazette of India on 28.6.1995,
but was brought into force from 1.11.1993. The relevant para 30 of the
1995Scheme, which is of concern to the present dispute, is as under:
“30. Pension on voluntary retirement -
(1) At any time after an employee has completed twenty years
of qualifying service, he may, by giving notice of not less than
ninety days, in writing to the appointing authority, retire from
service:…………”
xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx
“(5) The qualifying service of an employee retiring voluntarily
under this paragraph shall be increased by a period not
exceeding five years, subject to the condition that the total
qualifying service rendered by such employee shall not in any
case exceed thirty three years and it does not take him beyond
the date of retirement.”
4. The aforesaid 1995 Scheme, thus, envisaged an additional
notional benefit of five (5) years’ service for employees retiring voluntarily
under it, with the limitation that the qualifying service rendered by such
NATIONAL INSURANCE SPECIAL VOLUNTARY RETIRED/RETIRED
EMPLOYEES ASSN. v. UNITED INDIA INSURANCE
employees: (i) shall not, in any case, exceed 33 years; and (ii) does not
take them beyond the date of retirement.
5. The insurance companies were faced with excess manpower,
and, thus, to prune the manpower size, a special scheme, being the SVRS-
2004 Scheme, was introduced for a limited period of sixty (60) days
from the date of its notification, that is 1.1.2004. The Scheme was made
applicable to permanent, full-time employees eligible to seek special
voluntary retirement, provided that they had attained the age of 40 years
and had completed the minimum qualifying service of ten (10) years, as
on the date of notification. The relevant clauses 5 & 6 read as under:
“5. Amount of ex-gratia:-
(1) An employee seeking Special Voluntary Retirement under
this Scheme shall been (sic.) 1 entitled to lower of the ex-gratia
amount as given below , namely: sixty days salary for each
completed year of service, OR, salary for the number of months
of remaining service.
(2) The ex-gratia shall be computed on the basis of his/her salary
as on the date of relieving. In case, wage revision is effected
from a date prior to the date of this notification in the Official
Gazette, the benefit of revised pay for the purpose of payment
of ex-gratia will be allowed.
6. Other Benefits
(1) An employee opting for the Scheme shall also be eligible
for the following benefits in addition to the ex-gratia amount
mentioned in para5, namely:
(a) Provident Fund;
(b) Gratuity as per Payment of Gratuity Act, 1972 (39 of 1972)
or gratuity; payable under the Rationalisation scheme, as
the case may be;
(c) Pension (including commuted value of pension) as per
General Insurance (Employees’) Pension Scheme,
1995, if eligible. However, the additional notional benefit
of five years of added service as stipulated in para 30
of the said pension scheme shall not be admissible for
1 To be read as ‘be’.
647
the purpose of determining the quantum of pension and
commutation of pension;
(d) Leave encashment.
(2) An employee who is opting for the scheme shall not be
entitled to avail Leave Travel Subsidy and also encashment of
leave while in service during the period of sixty days from the
date of notification of this scheme.”
(emphasis supplied )
6. It is, thus, quite apparent that clause (c),as part of the overall
package, clearly stated that the notional benefit of five (5) years of added
service, as stipulated in para 30 of the 1995 Scheme, would not be
admissible for purposes of determining the quantum of pension and
commutation of pension to such employees who availed retirement under
the SVRS-2004 Scheme. Suffice to say that the SVRS-2004 Scheme
provided for additional benefits beyond the 1995 Scheme, while
simultaneously curtailing this aforesaid aspect, specifically. Despite this
clear stipulation, the appellants sought the benefit of these very five (5)
added notional years of service, for calculation of their pension, under
the SVRS-2004 Scheme, in addition to the other benefits offered. This
demand was declined by the respondent Insurance Company .
7. There is a background to this lis inter se the parties. On an
earlier occasion, the employees availing of the SVRS-2004 Scheme,
sought to take advantage of the revision of pay-scales, as provided for
under the notification dated 21.12.2005, which had retrospective effect
from 1.8.2002. This benefit was denied on the ground that such of the
persons who had availed voluntary retirement under the SVRS-2004
Scheme had ceased to be employees of the respondent Insurance
Company and were, thus, not entitled to the benefit of revision of pay-
scales, retrospectively.2 In coming to the conclusion, various clauses of
the benefits given under the SVRS-2004 Scheme were taken note of,
including sub-clause (c) of clause 6(1) reproduced hereinabove.
However, what was sought to be taken advantage of was sub-clause
(2) of Clause 5 of the SVRS-2004 Scheme, providing for ex-gratia to
be computed on the basis of salary received as on the date of retirement,
but also providing that in case of wage revision being effected from a
date prior to the date of notification of the SVRS-2004 Scheme in the
2 See Manojbhai N. Shah &Ors. v. Union of India &Ors. (2015) 4 SCC 482.
NATIONAL INSURANCE SPECIAL VOLUNTARY RETIRED/RETIRED
EMPLOYEES ASSN. v. UNITED INDIA INSURANCE [SANJAY KISHAN KAUL, J.]
Official Gazette, the benefit of revised pay for purposes of payment of
ex-gratia would be allowed. It appears that in the course of justifying
their actions, an argument was sought to be advanced on behalf of the
insurance company, that apart from the objective of reduction of man-
force, the employees were given ex-gratia payment which they were
otherwise not entitled to, and were also given an additional amount of
pension because a notional period of five (5) years had been added to
the number of years served by them (It may be noted, however, that this
is contrary to the clear stipulation in the SVRS-2004Scheme). This Court
opined in favour of the insurance companies, specifically noticing that
retrospective rise in salary is only given to those employees who are in
service at the relevant point in time or to those who retired in normal
circumstances, and not to those employees opting under such special
schemes, like the SVRS 2004 Scheme. No doubt the plea of five (5)
years addition for calculation of pension was noticed in the judgement,
however, no further discussion of the same formed part of the reasoning.
8. The beneficiaries of the SVRS-2004 Scheme sought a review
of the judgment predicated on a plea that this Court had incorrectly
recorded that persons retiring under the SVRS-2004 Scheme would be
given the benefit of five (5) years of extra service for calculation of
pension, while actually the same had been specifically excluded. However,
such endeavour proved to be fruitless and the review application was
dismissed on 7.4.2015.
9. That ought to have put the issue at rest, but the insurance
companies in their wisdom made a belated attempt to once again urge
that issue, by seeking to plead that those observations were only obiter
in nature and were factually contrary to the scheme. This application for
modification/clarification was, however , refused to be listed by the
Registrar as it was found to be a belated endeavour at review . The
beneficiaries then filed a Miscellaneous Application which was listed
before the Court, but was later withdrawn.
10. We have set out the aforesaid controversy because the real
substantive ground forming the basis of the plea of the appellants before
us is that what was recorded in the judgment in the Manojbhai N. Shah
& Ors case3 amounted to a concession on the part of the insurance
companies, which concession in turn resulted in a finding against them
to the effect that, the, insurance companies are bound to give the benefit
3 Supra.
649
of additional five (5) years’ service, as per the 1995 Scheme, even to
those persons who have opted for voluntary retirement under the SVRS-
2004 Scheme.
11. The aforesaid controversy , after an initial direction to the
insurance companies to examine the demands of the retired employees
substantively, was examined by the learned Single Judge, when the former
came to be rejected by the insurance companies, by the judgment in
WP(MD) No.19431/2015 and connected matters dated 8.6.2016.In this
judgement, it was opined that in view of the judgment of the Supreme
Court in Manojbhai N. Shah &Ors.,4 this benefit of additional five (5)
years’ service, as per the 1995 Scheme was admissible despite the clear
terms of clause 6(1)(c) of the SVRS-2004 Scheme. The learned Single
Judge also opined that since clause 6(1)(c) of the SVRS-2004 Scheme
did not specifically exclude the benefits under para 30(5) of the 1995
Scheme, there was no reason to deny the same to the beneficiaries of
the SVRS-2004 Scheme.
12. The aforesaid judgment was assailed before the learned
Division Bench, which, however, opined to the contrary and dismissed
the original writ petition filed by the appellants vide judgment dated
17.7.2017 in WA (MD) Nos.1228-1231/2016. It is this judgment which
has been assailed before us.
13. We have examined the impassioned plea made on behalf of
the employees by Mr . Guru Krishna Kumar , learned Senior Advocate
and the defence put up by the insurance companies through Mr. Rakesh
Dwivedi, Senior Advocate and Mr. Jaideep Gupta, Senior Advocate.
14. One of the aspects emphasised by learned counsel for the
appellants was that the financial impact would not be huge, as was sought
to be contended by the insurance companies, as it would be in the range
of Rs.388 to Rs.1477, per beneficiary , per month. We, however, find
that this would neither be here nor there, as that cannot be the basis for
grant or refusal of the relief. The question for consideration is whether
the beneficiaries under theSVRS-2004 Scheme, which specifically
excludes the benefit of additional five (5) years’ service of the 1995
Scheme, would still be entitled to claim the said amount contrary to the
explicit terms. We are of the view that the answer to this question must
be in the negative.
4 Supra.
NATIONAL INSURANCE SPECIAL VOLUNTARY RETIRED/RETIRED
EMPLOYEES ASSN. v. UNITED INDIA INSURANCE [SANJAY KISHAN KAUL, J.]
15. It has to be appreciated that the SVRS-2004 Scheme is
statutory in character, being a Scheme under Section 17-A of the General
Insurance Business (Nationalisation) Act, 1972. It would not be
appropriate to add or subtract terms from the Scheme, which has a
statutory flavour. There could not have been any concession contrary
to the terms of the Scheme, and if such a concession was to ensure for
the benefit of the retirees, then it had to go through the process of a
formal notification. In fact, post the decision in Manojbhai N. Shah
&Ors.,5 both the parties also understood that there was really no question
of availing the benefit, contrary to clause 6(1)(c) of the SVRS-2004
Scheme. This is what resulted in the review application, the clarification
and modification application, etc. The rejection of the review application
filed by the beneficiaries itself shows that post the judgment, clause
6(1)(c) was once again highlighted before the Bench. Despite this, the
review application was dismissed, which clearly shows that this fact
was not important for finally coming to the conclusion that the salary
revision was not applicable to those who had already retired. Learned
senior counsel for the appellant himself acknowledged that in the absence
of any specific direction in this behalf, they could not have even filed a
contempt petition and thus the fresh round of litigation began.
16. Learned senior counsel for the appellants, however, sought to
persuade us by referring to the judgment of this Court in State of
Maharashtra v. Ramdas Shrinivas Nayak & Anr.6 where, in para 4,
a question arose qua a concession made in the High Court, while
contending the matter before this Court. It is in that context that it was
observed that this Court would not launch into an inquiry as to what
transpired in the High Court:
“4. .........It is simply not done. Public Policy bars us. Judicial
decorum restrains us. Matters of judicial record are
unquestionable. They are not open to doubt. Judges cannot be
dragged into the arena. “Judgments cannot be treated as mere
counters in the game of litigation” (Per Lord Atkinson in
Somasundaram Chetty v . Subramanian Chetty , AIR 1926 PC
136). We are bound to accept the statement of the Judges
recorded in their judgment, as to what transpired in court. We
cannot allow the statement of the judges to be contradicted by
5 Supra.
6 (1982) 2 SCC 463
651
statements at the Bar or by affidavit and other evidence. If the
judges say in their judgment that something was done, said or
admitted before them, that has to be the last word on the subject.
The principle is well settled that statements of fact as to what
transpired at the hearing, recorded in the judgment of the court,
are conclusive of the facts so stated and no one can contradict
such statements by affidavit or other evidence. If a party thinks
that the happenings in court have been wrongly recorded in a
judgment, it is incumbent upon the party, while the matter is still
fresh in the minds of the judges, to call attention of the very
judges who have made the record to the fact that the statement
made with regard to his conduct was a statement that had been
made in error (Per Lord Buckmaster in Madhu Sudan Chowdhri
v. Chandrabati Chowdhrain, AIR 1917 PC 30). That is the
only way to have the record corrected. If no such step is taken,
the matter must necessarily end there. Of course a party may
resile and an Appellate Court may permit him in rare and
appropriate cases to resile from a concession on the ground that
the concession was made on a wrong appreciation of the law
and had led to gross injustice; but, he may not call in question the
very fact of making the concession as recorded in the judgment.”
17. The aforesaid paragraph was, once again, extracted with
approval in Y. Sleebachen & Ors. v . State of T amil Nadu through
Superintending Engineer Water Resources Organisation/Public
Works Department & Anr.7
18. On the other hand, it was canvassed by the insurance
companies that there could be no concession against law [Tripura Goods
Transport Association & Anr . v . Commissioner of T axes &
Ors. 8].Learned counsel also referred to New India Assurance
Company Limited v . Raghuvir Singh Narang & Anr.9 to buttress the
plea that if there is a scheme which has a statutory character, then there
could not be any contention which could be permissibly raised, contrary
to the Scheme. Even qua contractual schemes, if one has availed of the
benefits, it would not be open to raise pleas and seek benefits beyond
what is stipulated in the Scheme.
7 (2015) 5 SCC 747
8 (1998) 2 SCC 264 para 9
9 (2010) 5 SCC 335
NATIONAL INSURANCE SPECIAL VOLUNTARY RETIRED/RETIRED
EMPLOYEES ASSN. v. UNITED INDIA INSURANCE [SANJAY KISHAN KAUL, J.]
19. The earlier judgments in Bank of India & Ors. v . O.P.
Swarnakar & Ors. 10 And HEC Voluntary Retired Employees Welfare
Society & Anr. v . Heavy Engineering Corporation Lt d. &Ors., 11
dealing with voluntary retirement schemes have been taken note of in
the impugned judgment, to come to the conclusion that the terms of such
schemes must be strictly followed, and the contract cannot be varied.
We may add here that apparently there are certain observations in paras
33 and 34 of the impugned order, which may also run contrary to clause
5(1) of the SVRS-2004 Scheme, insofar as the Division Bench has opined
that the words “whichever is less” have been excluded from clause 5 of
the SVRS-2004 Scheme. It may be noted that such is not the case, for
clause 5 of the SVRS-2004 Scheme, as extracted above, explicitly
provides, in clause 5(1), that an employee seeking special voluntary
retirement, under the Scheme shall be entitled to the lower of the ex-
gratia amounts as mentioned thereunder . We feel it suf fice to clarify
that what is binding between the parties is the statutory scheme itself, as
per its terms.
20. We have, thus, no hesitation in coming to the conclusion that
statutory or contractual, such voluntary retirement schemes as the SVRS-
2004 Scheme have to be strictly adhered to, and the very objective of
having such Schemes would be defeated, if parts of other Schemes are
sought to be imported into such voluntary retirement schemes. What is
offered by the employer is a package as contained in the Schemes of
voluntary retirement, and that alone would be admissible.
21. The issue which arose in Manojbhai N. Shah &Ors. 12 Was
qua the revision of pay , with retrospective ef fect. That was the only
issue. That issue was decided against the beneficiaries of the SVRS-
2004 Scheme. If there are certain observations made by that Bench
while deciding so, qua aspects which are not forming the subject matter
of that dispute, the same cannot be read to amount to grant of relief/
benefits, contrary to the terms of the Scheme, and that too, in the absence
of any specific directions.
22. The intent of the SVRS-2004 Scheme was made even more
explicitly clear by clause 8 specifying the general conditions in sub-
clause(xiv), which reads as under:
10 (2003) 2 SCC 721
11 (2006) 3 SCC 708
12 Supra.
653
“8. General conditions:
xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx
(xiv) Save as provided in para 5(2) the benefits payable under
this scheme shall be in full and final settlement of all claims of
whatsoever nature, whether arising under the regulation or
otherwise to the employee (or to the nominee in case of death).
An employee who voluntarily retires under this Scheme shall not
have any claims against the Company for re-employment or
compensation or employment of any of his or her relative on
compassionate grounds in the service of the company or for any
other like benefits.”
23. It is, thus, abundantly clear that nothing more would be given
than what is stated in the Scheme, and for that matter , nothing less. If
the employees avail of the benefit of such a Scheme with their eyes
open, they cannot look here and there, under different schemes, to see
what other benefits can be achieved by them, by seeking to take advantage
of the more beneficial schemes, while simultaneously enjoying the more
beneficial aspects of the SVRS-2004 Scheme.
24. We, thus, find no reason to interfere with the impugned order,
except with regards to observations made in paras 33and 34 of the
impugned order, and consequently, the appeals are dismissed leaving the
parties to bear their own costs.
Ankit Gyan Appeals dismissed.
NATIONAL INSURANCE SPECIAL VOLUNTARY RETIRED/RETIRED
EMPLOYEES ASSN. v. UNITED INDIA INSURANCE [SANJAY KISHAN KAUL, J.]