New India Assurance Company Limited v. Rajeshwar Sharma and Ors.
DR. DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.
1. Delay condoned in Civil Appeal @ SLP(C)@CC 5127 of 2017.
2. These appeals arise from a judgment of a Division Bench of
the High Court of Jammu and Kashmir dated 28 July 2016. The Hig h
Court has affirmed the decision of the Jammu and Kashmir Consumer
Disputes Redressal Commission 1 by which an insurance claim was
allowed in the amount of Rs. 17.28 lacs. New India Assurance Company
Limited, the insurer, failed in its challenge to the decisi on of the State
Commission before the High Court. Cross-objections filed befor e the
High Court by the insured for the grant of interest were also rejected.
Hence, there are two appeals: one by the insurer and the second by the
insured, against the judgment of the High Court.
3. The claim of the insured before the State Commission was
that it owns a building known as Patel House which is situated at Akhnoor
road, Jammu. The insured claimed that the building was constructed in
1“The State Commission”
NEW INDIA ASSURANCE COMPANY LIMITED v.
RAJESHWAR SHARMA
1984 with due permission of the municipality. In 1993 , additional
construction was raised, it is alleged, with the pe rmission of the
municipality. According to the insured, on a notice issued under Section
229 of the Jammu and Kashmir Municipal Corporation Act 2000, he had
approached the Jammu and Kashmir Special Tribunal which compounded
the infraction in 1996. The Municipal Corporation initiated a demolition
drive. Apprehending action against his property, the insured instituted a
suit in the Court of the First Civil Subordinate Judge, Municipal Magistrate,
Jammu where an ad-interim injunction was granted, rest raining the
Corporation from proceeding, except in accordance wit h law. The
Municipal Corporation demolished the front portion of the building. The
insured was carrying on a business of sanitary ware in the premises. As
a result of the demolition, the insured claimed that it suffered damage in
the amount of Rs.19.55 lacs.
4. The claim before the State Commission was founded on a policy
of insurance which was obtained by the insured. The insurance poli cy
contained the following exclusion:
“V. Riot, Strike, Malicious and Terrorism Damage Loss of or
visible physical damage or destruction by external violent
means directly caused to the property insured but excluding
those caused by:-
a) xxxx
b) Permanent or temporary dispossession resulting fr om
confiscation, commandeering, requisition or destruction by
order of the Government or any lawfully constituted
Authority.”
Relying on the aforesaid exclusion, the insurer repudiated the claim
on the ground that the action of demolition was carried out by the
municipal authorities and was hence by order of a lawfully constituted
authority.
5. The State Commission allowed the claim under the insurance
policy in the amount of Rs.17.28 lacs. Litigation costs of Rs.10,000/ -
were awarded. The State Commission opined that the order of demolition
passed by the Municipal Corporation had not been brought on the record
and, in its absence, the exclusion would not operate. In appeal, the High
Court affirmed the view of the State Commission, holding that it was
1185
incumbent on the insurer to establish that the exclusion contained in the
policy of insurance was attracted by placing on record the orders of a
lawfully constituted authority by which demolition was ordered. While
affirming the view of the State Commission, the High Court held that in
the absence of such an order being produced on the record, the insurer
was liable to indemnify the loss sustained by the insured.
6. The principal basis on which the complaint was allowed by the
State Commission has been called into question in these proc eedings.
The insurer has submitted that it was not in dispute that the demolition
was caused by the Municipal Corporation. To substantiate this submission,
the insurer relies upon the averments contained in the consumer complaint
which are extracted below:
“5) That after the constitution of the Municipal Corporat ion,
Municipal Corporation had started demolition drive to remove the
encroachment and illegal constructions.
6) …..
7) That the Municipal Corporation in spite of the injunction issued
by the Court, demolished the front portion of the building which
was duly compounded by the Appellate Court, on 18.04.2003, in
violation of the Court order and also in violation of the order already
passed compounding the constructions.
8) …..
9) …..
10) That the Municipal Commissioner, Jammu without any
authority and taking law into his own hands in violation of the
Court order dated 10.04.2003 demolished the front portion of the
building and totally damaged the Cabin fitting, display items electric
systems etc without any notice to the complainants thereby causing
a loss of Rs. 19,55,946/- which estimate was prepared after due
inspection by Sh. K R Sharma, Retired Executive Engineer and
valuator. The building and the material including Furniture and
Fixture etc. were insured by the respondent for an amount of Rs.
1,23,50,000/- for which insurance covers were issued by t he
respondent vide policy no. 350700/11/02/00119 for the period
03.05.2002 to midnight 02.05.2003. Copy of the estimate is
enclosed.
NEW INDIA ASSURANCE COMPANY LIMITED v. RAJESHWAR
SHARMA [DR. DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.]
11) That the Commissioner, Municipality and Executive Officer
to show their loyalty towards the Government in violation of Court
order and fully well knowing that the complainants are owners of
the land demolished the front portion of the building causing total
loss of Rs. 19,55,846/- on 18.04.2003. Besides this, due to the
damage to the building, the basement has been rendered useless
and has to be dismantled which is going to cause a further loss of
Rs. 6,15,422/- to the complainants and the complainants reserve
their right to claim the said amount as and when the basement is
dismantled.”
7. In his counter affidavit filed in these proceedi ngs, the
Commissioner of the Jammu Municipal Corporation has stated th at in
order to remove encroachments/projections over public premises including
over footpaths, streets and drains, the Municipal Corporation i ssued a
public notice on 25 January 2003 in the daily editions of ‘Kashmir Times’
and ‘Daily Excelsior’. The notice made an appeal for the remo val of
projections, platforms and encroachments which were not in conformity
with the building line provided by the Jammu Master Plan and Prevention
of Ribbon Development Act 1953. After the period stipulated in the public
notice ended on 31 January 2013 demarcations were carried out in areas
where there were encroachments and the encroachers includi ng the
private respondents were directed to remove the encroachme nt. In the
meantime, a suit was filed by the insured, Rajeshwar Sharma, b efore
the First Civil Subordinate Judge, Jammu in which the following ad interim
order was passed on 11 March 2003:
“…Issue notice to the defendants to file objections to this
application on or before next date of hearing and in the meanwhile
subject to objections and till next date of hearing the parties shall
maintain status quo on spot. However, in case any violation has
been committed by the Plaintiff in the said building the defendants
shall take action in accordance with the provisions of law…”
8. The above order permitted the municipal authorities to t ake
action in accordance with the provisions of law. T he Municipal
Corporation claims that it removed the new construction raise d in the
present case on 18 April 2003 which was found to encroach on public
land and was causing an inconvenience to the free flow of traffi c on
Akhnoor road. According to the Municipal Corporation, it had not razed
any part of the construction which was carried out in 1985 and 1993 but
1187
only “the new illegal construction”. The Municipal Corporation has also
submitted that the building which has been constructed still exists in
violation of the Master Plan 1974-1994 and the Master Plan 2021.
9. We must make it clear at the outset, that we are no t in these
proceedings entering upon the validity of the action which was adopted
by the municipal authorities. A suit is pending before the c ivil court
questioning the legality of the action whereas the counter affidavit
indicates, relief for the restoration of the work which was removed has
been sought. The issue in the present case is confined to whet her the
exclusion under the policy of insurance was attracted.
10. Both the State Commission as well as the High Court were of
the view that the exclusion was not attracted having due rega rd to the
judgment of this Court in National Insurance Company v Irshad 2.
This Court has held that where there is an exclusionary clause in an
insurance policy, the burden lies on the insurer to establis h that the
exclusion is attracted. Any ambiguity must be construed in favour of the
insured. Purporting to apply this principle, the State Commission and the
High Court held that the insurer had failed to establish that there was an
order of the Municipal Corporation for carrying out demolition and hence
the exclusion was not attracted.
11. On this aspect, we find merit in the submission of the insurer
that there was no dispute about the fact that the demolition was carried
out under the authority of the Municipal Corporation. As the averments
in the consumer complaint indicate, the insured proceeded on the basis
that the Municipal Corporation had carried out the work of demolition.
There could be no dispute about the factual position since, as a matter of
fact, the insured has instituted a suit for diverse rel iefs including a
challenge to the action of the Municipal Corporation. Hence the basis
on which the claim was allowed is fundamentally flawed.
12. The essential aspect which needs to be considered is whether
the exclusion was attracted. Mr Jayant Bhushan, learned senior counsel
appearing on behalf of the insured submits that Clause V postulates that
there must be a “destruction by order of the government or any lawfully
constituted authority”. Learned counsel submits that the exclusion
postulates that there must be an action in accordance with law. Action
according to law, in the submission of counsel, requires that the action of
the municipal authority or governmental authority (in the present case)
2(2007) 4 SCC 105
NEW INDIA ASSURANCE COMPANY LIMITED v. RAJESHWAR
SHARMA [DR. DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.]
should conform to the Jammu and Kashmir Municipal Corporation Act
2000. In this submission, an act of illegal demolition by the Municipal
Corporation will not fall within the purview of the exclusion. Hence, it
has been urged, that the judgment of the State Commission, as affirmed
by the High Court, is correct.
13. On the other hand, Ms.Awantika Manohar, learned counsel
appearing on behalf of the insurer has submitted that the demolition was
carried out by the Municipal Corporation. This action clearly falls within
the ambit of the expression “destruction by order of any lawfully
constituted authority”. Learned counsel submitted that the validity of the
action of the municipal authority is the subject matter of a pending suit.
In determining as to whether the exclusion is attracted, what the Court
must assess is whether the demolition was carried out by order of any
lawfully constituted authority. The grounds of challenge in the suit are
distinct from the claim under the insurance policy. Hence, once it is
found that the demolition was by the order of the Municipal Corporation
which is a lawfully constituted authority under the Jammu and Kashmir
Municipal Corporation Act 2000, the exclusion is attracted.
14. We find considerable merit in the submission which has been
urged on behalf of the insurer. Clause V of the insurance policy contains
an exclusion, where the destruction of the property has been caused “by
order of the government or any lawfully constituted authorit y”. The
expression “by order of” means under the authority of government or of
a lawfully constituted authority. There can be no dispute about the position
that the Municipal Corporation is indeed a lawfully constituted authority,
being a statutory authority under the Jammu and Kashmir Municipa l
Corporation Act 2000. From the records as well as from the pleadings
before the State Commission, there is no dispute about the fundamental
position that the demolition was carried out by the Municipal Corporation.
The destruction was hence by order of a lawfully constituted authority.
Once this be the position, there can be no manner of doubt th at the
exclusion under the policy of insurance was attracted.
15. The position of the common law with respect to the
interpretation of exclusionary clauses in insurance policies is no different.
In Cornish v Accident Insurance Co Ltd 3, the Court of Appeal
emphasized the duty of the insurer to except their liability in clear and
unambiguous terms. The Court of Appeal held that:
3Queen’s Division Bench as per Lord Lindley L.J. (18 89) 23 Q.B.D. 453, 456
1189
“… in a case of real doubt, the policy ought to be construed most
strongly against the insurers; they frame the policy and insert the
exceptions. But this principle ought only to be applied for the
purpose of removing a doubt, not for the purpose of creating a
doubt, or magnifying an ambiguity, when the circumstances of the
case raise no real difficulty.”
According to The Law Relating to Accidental Insurance 4,
insurers are exempt from any liability where the loss is attributable to an
excepted cause which is inserted ex abundanti cautela to make it quite
clear to the assured that the policy is not intended to cover such losses.
The position is elucidated below:
“The object of the exceptions is to define with greater precision
the scope of the policy by making clear what is intende d to be
excluded and contrasting it with what is intended to be included.
Since exceptions are inserted in the policy mainly for the purpose
of exempting the insurers from liability for a loss which, but for
the exception, would be covered by the policy, they are construed
against the insurers with the utmost strictness and it is the duty of
the insurers to except their liability in clear and unambiguous terms.
The onus of proving that the loss falls within an exception li es
upon the insurers, unless by proving the language of the exception
the assured is expressly required to prove that, in the circumstances,
the exception does not apply.”
In 2016, the UK Supreme Court dealt with the interpretation of
an exclusion clause in a solicitors’ professional indemnity insurance policy
in Impact Funding Solutions Ltd v Barrington Support Services
Ltd 5.
Dealing with the construction of insurance exclusions , Lord
Toulson JSC observed thus:
“35. The fact that a provision in a contract is expressed as an
exception does not necessarily mean that it should be approached
with a pre-disposition to construe it narrowly. Like any other
provision in a contract, words of exception or exemption must be
4AW Baker Welford : The Law Relating to Accidental Insurance (Butterworth & Co.,
1923) at page 126
5Supreme Court as per Lord Toulson JSC (with whom Lo rd Mance, Lord Sumption
and Lord Hodge JJSC agreed) [2016] UKSC 57
NEW INDIA ASSURANCE COMPANY LIMITED v. RAJESHWAR
SHARMA [DR. DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.]
read in the context of the contract as a whole and with due regard
for its purpose. As a matter of general principle, it is well established
that if one party, otherwise liable, wishes to exclude or limit his
liability to the other party, he must do so in clear words; and that
the contract should be given the meaning it would convey to a
reasonable person having all the background knowledge which is
reasonably available to the person or class of persons to whom
the document is addressed… This applies not only where the words
of exception remove a remedy for breach, but where they seek to
prevent a liability from arising by removing, through a subsidiary
provision, part of the benefit which it appears to have be en the
purpose of the contract to provide. The vice of a clause of that
kind is that it can have a propensity to mislead, unless its language
is sufficiently plain. All that said, words of exception may be simply
a way of delineating the scope of the primary obligation.”
The principles for construing insurance exclusions as laid down in
Impact Funding Solutions Ltd v Barrington Support Services
Ltd 6 were relied upon by the England and Wales High Court (Commercial
Court) in the case of Crowden and Crowden v QBE Insurance
(Europe) Ltd 7.
While dealing with the question of construction of insuranc e
exclusions, Judge Peter MacDonald Eggers QC observed:
“65. … the Court must adopt an approach to the interpretation of
insurance exclusions which is sensitive to their purpose and place
in the insurance contract. The Court should not adopt principles
of construction which are appropriate to exemption clauses -
i.e. provisions which are designed to relieve a party otherwise
liable for breach of contract or in tort of that liabili ty - to the
interpretation of insurance exclusions, because ins urance
exclusions are designed to define the scope of cover which the
insurance policy is intended to afford. To this end, the Court should
not automatically apply a contra proferentem approach to
construction. That said, there may be occasions, where there is a
genuine ambiguity in the meaning of the provision, and the effect
6Supreme Court as per Lord Toulson JSC (with whom Lo rd Mance, Lord Sumption
and Lord Hodge JJSC agreed) [2016] UKSC 57
7 England and Wales High Court (Commercial Court) as per Peter MacDonald Eggers
QC :[2017] EWHC 2597 (Comm)
1191
of one of those constructions is to exclude all or most of the
insurance cover which was intended to be provided. In that event,
the Court would be entitled to opt for the narrower construction…”
In the present case, there is no ambiguity in Clause V of the
insurance policy. The exclusion was clear in exempting the insurer from
liability for a loss arising from the destruction of proper ty caused “by
order of the government or any lawful authority.”
16. For the above reasons, we are of the view that both the State
Commission and the High Court were in error in allowing the claim
under the policy of insurance. We would, accordingly, have to allow the
appeal filed by the insurer, which we do by setting aside the impugned
judgment of the High Court which has affirmed the decision of the State
Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission. In conseque nce, the
complaint filed by the insured before the State Commission (CC 2628/
2004) shall stand dismissed.
17. Before concluding, we clarify that since these proceeding s
are confined to the claim of the insured under the insurance policy, nothing
contained in this judgment shall affect the merits of the suit which has
been instituted by the insured against the Municipal Corporation. The
appeal filed by the insurer is allowed. The appeal file d by the insured
shall stand dismissed. There shall be no order as to costs.
Divya Pandey Appeals disposed of.
NEW INDIA ASSURANCE COMPANY LIMITED v. RAJESHWAR
SHARMA [DR. DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.]