Kanwaljit Singh v. National Insurance Company Ltd
VINEET SARAN, J.
1. The question involved in this appeal is with regard to the extent
of the liability of the Insurance Company with regard to individual claim
under “Parivar - Mediclaim for Family Policy” (for shor t “Family
Mediclaim Policy”).
233
2. The admitted facts of this case are that since 2007-2008, the
appellant had been taking individual Mediclaim Policies for his individual
family members. The dispute in the present appeal pertains to the medical
claim for the year 2014-15, with regard to son of the appellant, namely
Master Jasnoor Singh. The individual Mediclaim Policies of th e said
Master Jasnoor Singh from 2007-2008 to 2013-2014 was for different
sum insured, varying from Rs.50,000 in 2007-2008 to Rs.2,54,000/- in
2013-2014. In the year 2014-2015, the appellant took Family Mediclaim
Policy for a sum insured of Rs.5,00,000/- for the period 07.02.2014 to
06.02.2015, which was for the appellant himself and his family members,
namely, his wife, son Master Jasnoor Singh and daughter.
3. It was during the validity of the Family Mediclaim Policy 2014-
15, that in the year 2014 Master Jasnoor Singh fell sick and had to undergo
treatment in Post Graduate Institute (PGI), Chandigarh. He was initially
hospitalized from 24.05.2014 to 19.07.2014 for which the medical bill
was for an amount of Rs.5,40,741/-. He was again ho spitalized
from 31.08.2014 to 17.10.2014, for which the medica l bill was
for Rs.3,14,485/-. The total amount of medical bill thus came to
Rs.8,55,226/-. The appellant lodged a claim for the said amount with the
respondent–National Insurance Company Ltd (for short “ Insurance
Company”), which was initially repudiated by the Insurance Company
without assigning any reason. However, later considering that the said
Master Jasnoor Singh had an individual medical claim policy in the year
2009-2010 for Rs.55,000/-, the respondent - Insurance Company deposited
a sum of Rs.27,550/- in the account of the appellant towards final payment
of the claim.
4. Since the remaining claim was not paid, the appellant file d a
complaint before the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum (for
short “District Forum”) claiming an amount of Rs.5,00,000/-, which was
the sum insured under the Family Mediclaim Policy for the relevant year
2014-2015. Before the District Forum, the respondent – I nsurance
Company raised various preliminary objections but had mainly claimed
that since the said Master Jasnoor Singh was having pre-existing disease,
hence the claim was not payable under the terms of the Poli cy. The
District Forum, however, held that since the sum insured under the
individual Mediclaim Policy of Master Jasnoor Singh for the year 2010-
2011 (four years prior to his hospitalisation) was Rs.1,07,500/-, the amount
payable would be 50% of such sum insured for the year 2010-2011,
KANWALJIT SINGH v. NATIONAL INSURANCE COMPANY
LTD. [VINEET SARAN, J.]
which comes to Rs.53,750/- and not 50% of the sum i nsured in
the year 2009-2010, according to which Insurance Company had paid
Rs.27,550/-. Thus, District Forum directed that the balance amount of
Rs.26,200/- would be payable to the appellant, along with Rs.5000/-
towards harassment and mental agony, plus Rs.2000/- on account of
litigation expenses, along with interest @ 9% p.a.
5. Challenging the said order, the appellant herein filed an appeal
before the State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (f or short
“State Commission”), which allowed the appeal of the claimant in toto,
and directed payment of the entire sum insured i.e. Rs.5,00,000/-, minus
the amount already paid by the Insurance Company. Besides this, the
Insurance Company was also directed to pay Rs.30,00 0/- as
compensation for mental agony and harassment, plus Rs.10,000 /- as
litigation cost.
6. Aggrieved by the said order of the State Commission, the
respondent–Insurance Company filed a Revision Petition No. 2295 of
2017 before the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commiss ion
(for short “National Commission”). By its order dated 20.07.2017, the
National Commission upheld the order of the District Forum . After
holding that the said Master Jasnoor Singh had pre-existing disease which
was symptomatic in the year 2009, the National Commission held that
the appellant herein would be entitled to 50% of the sum insured under
the individual Mediclaim Policy of Master Jasnoor Singh fo r the year
2010-2011. Challenging the said order of the National Commission, this
appeal has been filed by way of Special Leave Petition.
7. The submission of learned counsel for the appellant is that since
the individual Mediclaim Policy of Master Jasnoor Singh was continuously
held since 2007-2008 till the year 2014-2015 and it not being the case of
the Insurance Company that at the time of taking initia l individual
Mediclaim Policy in the year 2007, the said Master Jasnoor Singh had
any such disease, hence, the repudiation or scaling down of the claim of
the appellant could not be justified. It was contended that t he entire
amount, as awarded by the State Commission, should be restored a nd
this appeal be allowed.
8. Per contra, learned counsel for the respondent – Insurance
Company has justified the order of the National Commission in awarding
the compensation of 50% of the sum insured for the year 2010-2011, as
235
had been awarded by the District Forum and has prayed that the present
appeal be dismissed.
9. We have heard learned counsel for the parties at length and
have perused the record.
10. The fact that Mediclaim Policy of Master Jasnoor Singh was
continuously taken by the appellant for varying sum insured since 2007-
2008 till 2014-2015 is admitted by the insurance company. It is also not
disputed that at the time of taking the initial Mediclai m Policy for the
year 2007-2008, the said Master Jasnoor Singh did not have any pre-
existing disease. In fact, it is admitted that prior to the year 2014-2015,
the appellant had been taking individual Mediclaim Policies for his family
members and it was only in the year 2014-2015, at the time of renewal
of the individual Mediclaim Policies, that the appellant had taken the
Family Mediclaim Policy, which was effective from 07.0 2.2014 to
06.02.2015. It is also admitted that the said Family Mediclaim Policy
was for a total sum insured amount of Rs.5,00,000/-. Under the terms
of the Policy, the total expenses incurred for any one illnes s would be
limited to 50% of the sum insured for the family. The relevant Clause
under the Policy is re-produced hereunder:
“Company’s liability would, arise if the treatment of di sease
or injury contracted/suffered is incepted during th e policy
period. Total expenses incurred for any one illness is li mited
to 50% of Sum Insured per family. Company’s liability in respect
of all claims admitted during the period of insuran ce shall
not exceed the Sum Insured mentioned in the Schedule”.
(emphasis supplied)
11. It is not disputed that the sum insured under the F amily
Mediclaim Policy, was Rs.5,00,000/-. From the above, it would be clear
that the total medical claim for all the four members of the family during
the period of commencement of the Insurance Policy (i.e. 07.02.2014 to
06.02.2015) would be Rs.5,00,000/- and for any individual claim or illness
for any one member of the family, the limit would be 50% of the sum
insured, which in the present case would come to Rs.2,50,000/-. Thus,
at best the maximum claim which could be payable in the present case
would be 50% of the sum insured under the Family Mediclaim Policy for
the medical treatment of one member of the family, which was Master
Jasnoor Singh.
KANWALJIT SINGH v. NATIONAL INSURANCE COMPANY
LTD. [VINEET SARAN, J.]
12. It may be noticed that the claim could not have been repudiated
by the Insurance Company as there was no pre-existing disease wh en
the initial individual Mediclaim Policy of Master Jasnoor Singh was taken
in the year 2007-2008. Since then the policy was regularly renewed up
to the year 2014-2015. Thus in the facts of the pres ent case, the
respondent – Insurance Company cannot take the plea of any pre-existing
disease of Master Jasnoor Singh. Even otherwise, after having initially
repudiated the claim of the appellant, the Insurance Company had itself
allowed the claim to the extent of Rs.27,550/-, which am ount was
deposited in the account of the appellant, meaning thereby that the
question of pre-existing disease in the case of the claimant was not
considered to be material by the Insurance Company.
13. As we have already observed herein above, the total medical
expense or claim for any one illness for any individual member of the
family would be limited to 50% of the sum insured for the family. In the
present case, the sum insured for the family under the Family Mediclaim
Policy was Rs.5,00,000/-. Thus, in our considered view, the amount
payable against the medical claim of Master Jasnoor Singh, under the
policy, would be limited to the extent of Rs.2,50,000/-. Undisputedly, the
medical expense incurred and claimed by the appellant for the treatment
of Master Jasnoor Singh within the effective period of the pol icy was
over Rs.8,00,000/-. As such the appellant would be entitled to a sum of
Rs.2,50,000/- minus the amount already paid by the Insurance Company
under the orders of the District Forum.
14. Accordingly, we allow this appeal to the extent that the respondent –
Insurance Company shall pay to the appellant a sum of Rs.2,50,000 /-
(two lakh fifty thousand) minus the amount already paid, towards final
settlement of the medical insurance claim of the appellant. The appellant
would also be entitled to an amount of Rs.50,000/- towards mental agony
and harassment, plus Rs.30,000/- towards costs of l itigation. The
Insurance Company would also be liable to pay interest @ 7.5% p.a. on
the balance amount payable, from the date of the complaint filed before
the District Forum, till the date of actual payment of the balance amount.
Devika Gujral Appeal allowed.