No. 1466828M Ex Cfn Narsingh Yadav v. Union of India & Ors.
HEMANT GUPTA, J.
1. The challenge in the present appeal is to an order passed by the
Armed Forces Tribunal, Lucknow 1 on September 23, 2011 whereby, the
claim of the appellant for grant of disability pension was not accepted.
2. The appellant was enrolled in the Indian Army on December 2,
2003. The invaliding Medical Board found the appellant to be suffering
from Schizophrenia, which disability was assessed at 20% for a period
of five years. The opinion of the Board was that disability was neither
attributable to nor aggravated by military service and consequently, the
appellant was discharged from army service on May 8, 2007. The claim
of the appellant for disability pension was rejected departmentally and
later by the Tribunal and still aggrieved, the appellant is before this Court.
3. The appellant was appointed as CFN - Craftsman (Military
Rank). In Annexure RP1 which includes the signed Personal Statement
of the appellant, he was posted at 3 EME Centre, Bhopal from December
2, 2003 to August 23, 2005 and thereafter at AD Static Workshop from
August 24, 2005 till the time, he was produced before the invaliding
Medical Board. Both the places of posting of the appellant were the
peace stations. In respect of disease, the appellant declared that he was
treated, firstly, at INHS, Nivarini Chilka on September 7 and 8, 2006,
then, at Command Hospital, Kolkata from September 9, 2006 to
December 23, 2006. Thereafter, he was treated at Military Hospital,
Allahabad from January 21, 2007 to February 21, 2007 and finally, at
Command Hospital, Kolkata from February 23, 2007 till the time, he
was examined by the invaliding Medical Board. In Part I of the Personal
Statement, the Question asked was to “Give details of any incidents
during your service which you think caused or made your disability
worse”. The answer given by the appellant was ‘NIL’. In Part II of the
Report, the Commanding Officer answered ‘No’ to the question – “Did
the Duties involve Severe/exceptional stress and strain?”
NO. 1466828M EX CFN NARSINGH YADA V v. UNION OF
INDIA & ORS.
1 for short, ‘Tribunal’
4. The summary and opinion of the Specialist in Psychiatry of
Command Hospital (Eastern Command), Kolkata dated April 10, 2007
read as under:
“Summary
Period of Hospitalization:
Sec Hospital, Gopalpur 07 Sep 06 to 07 Sep 06
INHS Kaiyani, Vizag 07 Sep 06 to 15 Sep 06
CH (EC), Kolkata 16 Sep 06 to 23 Dec 06
Sick Leave 24 Dec 06 to 21 Jan 07
MH Allahabad 21 Jan 07 to 22 Feb 07
CH (EC), Kolkata 23 Feb 07 onwards till date
AFMSF-10 dated 07 Sep 06 mentions “punctual, disciplines,
dedicated, social drinker, above average competence, cheerful,
active and outgoing, retention recommended, developed fever and
headache on 06 Sep 06 following which he was noted to be
behaving abnormally.
History of Present Illness:
Individual was brought to psychiatric attention in mid Sep at the
behest of unit authorities as he was talking irrelevantly, laughing
and crying for no apparent reason, in the background of febrile
episode. Apparently functioning well until Sep 06 when he was
noted to be aloof, lacked interest in his work, not taking self care
nor reporting for duty in time. Found to be wandering aimlessly in
the unit. Felt that others were planning to harm him; could hear
them talking about him. Further when onboard the train to Vizag
felt he was being followed and things happening around him was
in reference to him. When offered fruits by co-passenger felt it
had a special meaning often noted to be taking irrelevantly, crying
for his mother who had died about 12 years back. Felt that others
came to know what he was thinking. Become violent when others
tried to stop him or gave instructions to follow.”
“Opinion
21½ years old EME/Veh Mech with nearly 3½ years service, no
past or family h/o psychiatric illness. Had a psychotic breakdown
of schizophrenic nature in Sep 06 Managed as a case of
Schizophrenia F 20 and treated with antipsychotics, ECT and other
265
supportive measures. Poor response to treatment. Presently
asymptomatic, residual negative features persist.
In view of the above, onset of his psychotic breakdown at the
start of the career, and persistence of residual negative features,
he is unlikely to be a fit soldier for further service. Hence
recommend to be invalided from service in category S5 of SHAPE
classification as a case of Schizophrenia F20.”
5. The Medical Board concluded that the disability is neither
attributed to army service nor aggravated by military service though it
assessed the disability at 20% for five years. Such opinion of the Medical
Board dated April 20, 2007 is the basis of the discharge of the appellant.
The opinion of the Medical Board is as under:
“CERTIFICATE
1. Certified that the IMB held in respect of No.14666828m CFN
NS Yadav of AD State Wk Sp C/o 99 APO to a case of
SCHIZOPHRENIA F. 20.0.
2. Individual is found fit for civil job.
Date: 20 Apr. 2007 Lt. Col.
(Rajiv Kamra)”
6. The appellant relies upon an order passed by this Court in Ex.
Gnr. Laxmanram Poonia (Dead) through Legal Representatives v.
Union of India & Ors. 2 as also the judgments in Dharamvir Singh v.
Union of India & Ors. 3 and Union of India & Anr. v. Rajbir Singh 4 to
contend that since no note was given at the time of enrolment of the said
disease in the Army, therefore, such disability is to be attributed to military
service.
7. In Laxmanram Poonia , there was a positive finding that
appellant was overburdened with work due to scarcity of staff and he
suffered hypertension resulting in lack of sleep and hunger due to
continuous restless duty hours for several days. This Court allowed the
appeal of the appellant and granted disability pension.
NO. 1466828M EX CFN NARSINGH YADA V v. UNION OF
INDIA & ORS. [HEMANT GUPTA, J.]
2 (2017) 4 SCC 697
3 (2013) 7 SCC 316
4 (2015) 12 SCC 264
8. In Dharamvir Singh , the appellant was sepoy in the Corps of
Signals of the Indian Army and was boarded out of service after nine
years of service when he was suffering from schizophrenia. This Court
relied upon Guide to Medical Officers (Military Pension), 1980 and the
Entitlement Rules for Casualty Pensionary Awards, 1982 5 to hold that
since no note was given at the time of enrolment of the person, therefore,
such disease is presumed to be attributed to or aggravated by military
service. The Guide to Medical Officers (Military Pensions), 2002 —
“Entitlement: General Principles” has mentioned following diseases in
para 27 of the judgment, which ordinarily escape detection at the time of
enrolment:
“( a ) Certain congenital abnormalities which are latent and only
discoverable on full investigations e.g. Congenital Defect of Spine,
Spina bifida, Sacralisation,
( b ) Certain familial and hereditary diseases e.g. Haemophilia,
Congential Syphilis, Haemoglobinopathy.
( c ) Certain diseases of the heart and blood vessels e.g. Coronary
Atherosclerosis, Rheumatic Fever.
( d ) Diseases which may be undetectable by physical examination
on enrolment, unless adequate history is given at the time by the
member e.g. Gastric and Duodenal Ulcers, Epilepsy, Mental
Disorders , HIV Infections.
(e) Relapsing forms of mental disorders which have intervals
of normality .
( f ) Diseases which have periodic attacks e.g. Bronchial Asthma,
Epilepsy, Csom, etc.”
(Emphasis Supplied)
9. This Court also extracted the relevant provisions from the 1982
Rules in the order, which read as under:-
“5. The approach to the question of entitlement to casualty
pensionary awards and evaluation of disabilities shall be based on
the following presumptions:
5 for short, ‘1982 Rules’
267
Prior to and during service
( a ) A member is presumed to have been in sound physical and
mental condition upon entering service except as to physical
disabilities noted or recorded at the time of entrance.
( b ) In the event of his subsequently being discharged from service
on medical grounds any deterioration in his health, which has taken
place, is due to service.
xx xx xx
9. Onus of proof .—The claimant shall not be called upon to prove
the conditions of entitlements. He/She will receive the benefit of
any reasonable doubt. This benefit will be given more liberally to
the claimants in field/afloat service cases.
xx xx xx
14. Diseases .—In respect of diseases, the following rules will be
observed—
( a ) Cases in which it is established that conditions of military
service did not determine or contribute to the onset of the disease
but influenced the subsequent courses of the disease will fall for
acceptance on the basis of aggravation.
( b ) A disease which has led to an individual’s discharge or death
will ordinarily be deemed to have arisen in service, if no note of it
was made at the time of the individual’s acceptance for military
service. However, if medical opinion holds, for reasons to be stated,
that the disease could not have been detected on medical
examination prior to acceptance for service, the disease will not
be deemed to have arisen during service.
( c ) If a disease is accepted as having arisen in service, it must
also be established that the conditions of military service
determined or contributed to the onset of the disease and that the
conditions were due to the circumstances of duty in military
service.”
10. The Rule 14, as reproduced above, was amended vide
Government of India, Ministry of Defence letter No. 1(1)/81/D(Pen-C)
dated 20th June, 1996. The amended Clauses read as follows:
NO. 1466828M EX CFN NARSINGH YADA V v. UNION OF
INDIA & ORS. [HEMANT GUPTA, J.]
“Rule 14 (a)- For acceptance of a disease as attributable to military
service, the following two conditions must be satisfied
simultaneously:
(i) That the disease has arisen during the period of military service,
and
(ii) That the disease has been caused by the conditions of
employment in military service.
(b) If medical authority holds, for reasons to be stated, that the
disease although present at the time of enrolment could not have
been detected on medical examination prior to acceptance for
service, the disease, will not be deemed to have arisen during
service. In case where it is established that the military service
did not contribute to the onset or adversely affect the course
disease, entitlement for casualty pensionary award will not be
conceded even if the disease has arisen during service.
(c) Cases in which it is established that conditions of military service
did not determine or contribute to the onset of the disease but,
influenced the subsequent course of the disease, will fall for
acceptance on the basis of aggravation.
(d) In case of congenital, hereditary, degenerative and
constitutional diseases which are detected after the individual has
joined service, entitlement to disability pension shall not be
conceded unless it is clearly established that the course of such
disease was adversely affected due to factors related to conditions
of military services.”
11. In Rajbir Singh , this Court held that the respondents having
been discharged from service on account of medical disease/disability,
the disability must be presumed to have been arisen in the course of
service which must, in the absence of any reason recorded by the Medical
Board, be presumed to have been attributable to or aggravated by military
service. There is initial presumption that the respondents were all
physically fit and free from any disease and in sound physical and mental
condition at the time of their entry into service. The Court held as under:
“9. As regards diseases Rule 14 of the Entitlement Rules stipulates
that in the case of a disease which has led to an individual’s
discharge or death, the disease shall be deemed to have arisen in
269
service, if no note of it was made at the time of individual’s
acceptance for military service, subject to the condition that if
medical opinion holds for reasons to be stated that the “ disease
could not have been detected on medical examination prior
to acceptance for service, the same will not be deemed to
have so arisen ”. ……
xx xx xx
14. The legal position as stated in Dharamvir Singh case
[ Dharamvir Singh v. Union of India , (2013) 7 SCC 316 : (2013)
2 SCC (L&S) 706] is, in our opinion, in tune with the Pension
Regulations, the Entitlement Rules and the Guidelines issued to
the Medical Officers. The essence of the rules, as seen earlier, is
that a member of the armed forces is presumed to be in sound
physical and mental condition at the time of his entry into service
if there is no note or record to the contrary made at the time of
such entry. More importantly, in the event of his subsequent
discharge from service on medical ground, any deterioration in
his health is presumed to be due to military service. This necessarily
implies that no sooner a member of the force is discharged on
medical ground his entitlement to claim disability pension will arise
unless of course the employer is in a position to rebut the
presumption that the disability which he suffered was neither
attributable to nor aggravated by military service.
xx xx xx
16. Applying the above parameters to the cases at hand, we are
of the view that each one of the respondents having been
discharged from service on account of medical disease/disability,
the disability must be presumed to have been arisen in the course
of service which must, in the absence of any reason recorded by
the Medical Board, be presumed to have been attributable to or
aggravated by military service. There is admittedly neither any
note in the service records of the respondents at the time of their
entry into service nor have any reasons been recorded by the
Medical Board to suggest that the disease which the member
concerned was found to be suffering from could not have been
detected at the time of his entry into service. The initial presumption
that the respondents were all physically fit and free from any
NO. 1466828M EX CFN NARSINGH YADA V v. UNION OF
INDIA & ORS. [HEMANT GUPTA, J.]
disease and in sound physical and mental condition at the time of
their entry into service thus remains unrebutted. Since the disability
has in each case been assessed at more than 20%, their claim to
disability pension could not have been repudiated by the appellants.”
12. A three Judge Bench of this Court in Veer Pal Singh v.
Secretary, Ministry of Defence 6 rejected the opinion of invaliding
Medical Board but directed the respondents to refer the case to Review
Medical Board to reassess the medical condition of the appellant and to
find out whether at the time of discharge from service, he was suffering
from disease which made him unfit to continue in service. In the said
case, the appellant was appointed in the year 1972 and was discharged
in view of the opinion of the invaliding Medical Board dated November
14, 1977. The appellant has prayed for constitution of a fresh Medical
Board to assess his disease and disability in a writ petition filed before
the Allahabad High Court. This Court held as under:
“10. Although, the courts are extremely loath to interfere with the
opinion of the experts, there is nothing like exclusion of judicial
review of the decision taken on the basis of such opinion. What
needs to be emphasised is that the opinion of the experts deserves
respect and not worship and the courts and other judicial/quasi-
judicial forums entrusted with the task of deciding the disputes
relating to premature release/discharge from the army cannot, in
each and every case, refuse to examine the record of the Medical
Board for determining whether or not the conclusion reached by
it is legally sustainable.
xx xx xx
16. F.C. Redlich and Daniel X. Freedman in their book titled The
Theory and Practice of Psychiatry (1966 Edn.) observed:
“ Some schizophrenic reactions, which we call psychoses, may
be relatively mild and transient; others may not interfere too
seriously with many aspects of everyday living…. (p. 252)
Are the characteristic remissions and relapses expressions of
endogenous processes, or are they responses to psychosocial
variables, or both? Some patients recover, apparently completely,
when such recovery occurs without treatment we speak of
6 (2013) 8 SCC 83
271
spontaneous remission . The term need not imply an independent
endogenous process; it is just as likely that the spontaneous
remission is a response to non-deliberate but nonetheless
favourable psychosocial stimuli other than specific therapeutic
activity….” (p. 465)
(emphasis supplied)
18. In Controller of Defence Accounts (Pension) v. S.
Balachandran Nair [(2005) 13 SCC 128 : 2006 SCC (L&S)
734] on which reliance has been placed by the Tribunal, this Court
referred to Regulations 173 and 423 of the Pension Regulations
and held that the definite opinion formed by the Medical Board
that the disease suffered by the respondent was constitutional
and was not attributable to military service was binding and the
High Court was not justified in directing payment of disability
pension to the respondent. The same view was reiterated in
Ministry of Defence v. A.V . Damodaran [(2009) 9 SCC 140:
(2009) 2 SCC (L&S) 586]. However, in neither of those cases,
this Court was called upon to consider a situation where the Medical
Board had entirely relied upon an inchoate opinion expressed by
the psychiatrist and no effort was made to consider the
improvement made in the degree of illness after the treatment.
19. As a corollary to the above discussion, we hold that the impugned
order as also the orders dated 14-7-2011 and 16-9-2011 passed
by the Tribunal are legally unsustainable. In the result, the appeal
is allowed. The orders passed by the Tribunal are set aside and
the respondents are directed to refer the case to the Review
Medical Board for reassessing the medical condition of the
appellant and find out whether at the time of discharge from service
he was suffering from a disease which made him unfit to continue
in service and whether he would be entitled to disability pension.”
13. In the aforesaid case, the Court referred the matter to the
Review Medical Board in view of the fact that Psychiatrist has noted
that the appellant has improved with treatment. The Court referred to
Merriam Webster Dictionary ;Report of National Institute of Mental
Health, USA; Modi’s Medical Jurisprudence and Toxicology; and
the booktitled ‘The Theory and Practice of Psychiatry’ authored by
F.C. Redlich and Daniel X. Freedman, to hold that the observations made
NO. 1466828M EX CFN NARSINGH YADA V v. UNION OF
INDIA & ORS. [HEMANT GUPTA, J.]
by Psychiatrist was substantially incompatible with the existing literature
on the subject.
14. However, in the present case, we find that there is no such
infirmity in the report of the Medical Board which may warrant
reconsideration of the physical condition and the extent of disability by
the Review Medical Board.
15. We find that it is not mechanical application of the principle
that any disorder not mentioned at the time of enrolment is presumed to
be attributed to or aggravated by military service. The question is as to
whether the person was posted in harsh and adverse conditions which
led to mental imbalance.
16. Annexure I to Chapter IV of the Guide to Medical Officers
(Military Pensions), 2002 — “Entitlement: General Principles” points
out that certain diseases which may be undetectable by physical
examination on enrolment including the Mental Disorders; Epilepsy and
Relapsing forms of mental disorders which have intervals of normality,
unless adequate history is given at the time by the member. The
Entitlement Rules itself provide that certain diseases ordinarily escape
detection including Epilepsy and Mental Disorder, therefore, we are unable
to agree that mere fact that Schizophrenia, a mental disorder was not
noticed at the time of enrolment will lead to presumption that the disease
was aggravated or attributable to military service.
17. The 1982 Rules classify the diseases which are affected by
climatic conditions, stress and strain and dietary complications. The stress
and strain cause the following injuries as per the said classification of
diseases:
“ (a) Psychosis and psychoneurosis.
(b) Bronchial Asthma.
(c) Myocardial infarction, and other forms of IHD.
(d) Peptic ulcer.”
18. Therefore, each case has to be examined whether the duties
assigned to the individual may have led to stress and strain leading to
Psychosis and psychoneurosis. Relapsing forms of mental disorders which
have intervals of normality and Epilepsy are undetectable diseases while
carrying out physical examination on enrolment, unless adequate history
is given at the time by the member.
273
19. The appellant was a young boy of 18 years at the time of
enrolment and had been boarded within 3½ years of his service. Even if
he was suffering from any mental disorder prior to enrolment, the same
could not be detected as there were intervals of normality. The appellant
was posted in peace station as a Vehicle Mechanic. Neither the nature
of job nor the place of posting was such which could have caused stress
and strain leading to disability as attributed to or aggravated by military
service.
20. In the present case, clause 14(d), as amended in the year
1996 and reproduced above, would be applicable as entitlement to
disability pension shall not be considered unless it is clearly established
that the cause of such disease was adversely affected due to factors
related to conditions of military service. Though, the provision of grant
of disability pension is a beneficial provision but, mental disorder at the
time of recruitment cannot normally be detected when a person behaves
normally. Since there is a possibility of non-detection of mental disorder,
therefore, it cannot be said that Schizophrenia is presumed to be attributed
to or aggravated by military service.
21. Though, the opinion of the Medical Board is subject to judicial
review but the Courts are not possessed of expertise to dispute such
report unless there is strong medical evidence on record to dispute the
opinion of the Medical Board which may warrant the constitution of the
Review Medical Board. The invaliding Medical Board has categorically
held that the appellant is not fit for further service and there is no material
on record to doubt the correctness of the Report of the invaliding Medical
Board.
22. Thus, we do not find any merit in the present appeal,
accordingly, the same is dismissed.
Devika Gujral Appeal dismissed.
NO. 1466828M EX CFN NARSINGH YADA V v. UNION OF
INDIA & ORS. [HEMANT GUPTA, J.]