Union of India & Ors. v. v. R. Nanukuttan Nair
HEMANT GUPTA, J.
1. The challenge in the present appeals is to the orders passed by
the Armed Forces Tribunal, Regional Bench, Kochi 1 on 26 th October,
2010 and April 12, 2011 holding that the respondent 2 is entitled to service
element of disability pension from the date of discharge.
2. The facts in brief are that the applicant was discharged on 30 th
June, 1978 after completion of 10 years and 169 days of service. He
was in low medical category since 1970. He was granted disabi lity
pension @50% on account of suffering from Viral Myocarditis pos t
discharge, but the applicant was denied the benefit of service element of
disability pension. It is the denial of this service element which led the
applicant to invoke the jurisdiction of the Tribunal.
3. The stand of the appellants before the Tribunal was that the
applicant is not entitled to service element of disability p ension as he
was released on expiry of engagement before completion of pensionable
qualifying service of 15 years and was not invalided out of ser vice on
account of disability, though he has been paid service gratuity and death-
cum-retirement gratuity.
4. The learned Tribunal relied upon Regulation 101 of Na vy
(Pension) Regulations, 1964 3 to hold that since applicant has been invalided
from service on account of disability, therefore, he is entit led to full
disability pension including the service element. The reliance was also
placed upon Regulation 107 of the Regulations which contemplates that
where the individual has not rendered sufficient service to qualify for
service pension, the personnel will be entitled to proportion of the minimum
service pension appropriate to the individual’s ranks and group. It is the
said order passed by the Tribunal which is the subject matter of challenge
in the present appeals.
5. Ms. Divan, learned Additional Solicitor General for the appellants
argued that the applicant was not boarded out of service on account of
1 for short, ‘Tribunal’
2 hereinafter referred to as the ‘applicant’
3 for short, ‘Regulations’
UNION OF INDIA & ORS. v. V. R. NANUKUTTAN NAIR
disability but on account of completion of the engagement. The learned
ASG traced the history of the grant of disability pension. It is submitted
that disability pension was initially granted when a member of the Armed
Forces could not be retained in the Force on account of d isability,
attributed to or aggravated by military service. Such course was creating
hardship to the personnel boarded out on account of injury suffered due
to military service. Therefore, the concept of disabil ity pension was
introduced. The disability pension has two components i.e. service element
and the disability element. The disability element is related to disability
whereas; the service element is to be granted as per th e rules and
regulations applicable. The qualification service for earning pension is
15 years; therefore, an individual who has not rendered 15 years of
qualifying service and was not boarded out on account of disability is not
entitled to service element of pension.
6. It is argued that Regulation 105B of the Regulations would be
applicable if an individual is not invalided out of service on account of
disability and has not opted for continuation in the Armed Forces. The
said Regulation provides that on completion of period of engagement,
apart from service pension admissible which is on completion of 15 years
of service, a disability element is also granted.
7. It is argued that initially, the Regulations contemplated 10 years
of engagement with another 10 years as reservist. Therefore, an individual
would not be entitled to pension merely upon completion of 10 years of
active service but would become entitled to service pension upon
completion of 15 years of service including 5 years as re servist. It is
argued that such situation has undergone change when on 3 rd July, 1976,
the Government of India contemplated 10 years as initial period of
engagement, with the option of re-engagement of the existing sailors on
completion of 10 years of engagement. It is argued that the period of
engagement in case of the applicant was 10 years app roximately,
therefore, he has not completed the qualifying service of 15 years in
terms of Regulation 78 of the Regulations. Thus, he is not ent itled to
service element as the same is payable only after completion of 15 years
other than to an individual who is boarded out from service on account
of disability. The reliance is placed upon a judgment of this Court reported
as T .S. Das & Ors. v. Union of India & Anr. 4 wherein, the Court held
as under:
4 (2017) 4 SCC 218
85
“29. As aforesaid, on introducing the new policy on 3-7-1976, the
Fleet Reserve was discontinued and instead the Sailors in service
at the relevant time were given an option to continue in acti ve
service for a further term of 5 years. Some of the Sailors opted to
continue till completion of 15 years, who, then became eligible for
“service pension” having qualifying service.
30. The quintessence for grant of reservist pension, as per
Regulation 92, is completion of the prescribed Naval and Reserve
qualifying service of 10 years “each”. Merely upon completion of
10 years of active service as a Sailor or for that matter continued
beyond that period, but falling short of 15 years or qualifying
Reserve Service, the Sailor concerned cannot claim benefit under
Regulation 92 for grant of reservist pension. For, to qualify for the
reservist pension, he must be drafted to the Fleet Reserve Service
for a period of 10 years. In terms of Regulation 6 of the Indian
Fleet Reserve Regulations, there can be no claim to join the Fleet
Reserve as a matter of right. None of the applicants were drafted
to the Fleet Reserve Service after completion of thei r active
service. Hence, the applicants before the Tribunal, could not have
claimed the relief of reservist pension. …”
8. On the other hand, learned counsel for the applicant supported
the order of the Tribunal to contend that Regulatio n 105B of the
Regulations was introduced to clarify that the benefit of disability element
who has completed the period of engagement shall be in addition to the
service pension. The provision was to grant benefit and not to deny the
benefit of the service element. It was inserted to avoid pa yment of
service element twice i.e. as part of disability pension and again as service
pension. In respect of an individual who has either been invalided out of
service or has completed less than 15 years of qualifyin g service for
pension, the disability pension including service element is computable
and payable in terms of Regulation 107 of the Regulatio ns. Such
Regulation deals with an individual who has not rendered sufficient service
to qualify for service pension. The service element i s granted in
proportion to the minimum service pension appropriate to an individual’s
rank and group, in which the number of his completed years of qualifying
service bears to 15, but in no case less than two-thirds of the minimum
service pension. Such Regulation would be rendered otiose, if the
argument of the appellants is to be accepted.
UNION OF INDIA & ORS. v. V. R. NANUKUTTAN NAIR
[HEMANT GUPTA, J.]
9. The relevant clauses from the pension Regulation read as under:
“78. Minimum qualifying service for pension. - Unless otherwise
provided, the minimum service which qualifies for service pension
is fifteen years.
xx xx xx
101. Conditions for the grant of disability pension. – Unless
otherwise specifically provided, a disability pension may be granted
to a person who is invalided from service on account of a disability
which is attributable to or aggravated by service and is assessed
at twenty per cent, or over.
101A. Individuals discharged on account of their being permanently
in low medical category. – Individuals who are placed in a lower
medical category (other than ‘E’) permanently and who are
discharged because no alternative employment suitable to t heir
low medical category could be provided shall be deemed to have
been invalided from service for the purpose of the Rules laid down
in Appendix V of these Regulations.
101B. Reservists discharged on account of being placed in a low
medical category. – (1) A reservist who is placed permanently in
a lower medical category (other than ‘E’) and is discharged from
the Fleet Reserve on that account will be deemed to have be en
invalided out of service for the purpose of the rules laid down in
Appendix ‘V’ of these regulations.
(2) An individual who is found to be ineligible for the grant of
disability pension shall be paid service gratuity as admissible under
regulation 89.
xx xx xx
105B. Disability at the time of discharge. – (1) A sailor, who is
discharged from service after he has completed the period of his
engagement and is, at the time of discharge found to be suffering
from a disability attributable to or aggravated by naval service
may at the discretion of the competent authority be granted in
addition to the service pension admissible, a disability element as
if he has been discharged on account of that disability.
xx xx xx
87
(3) The provisions in sub-regulations (1) and (2) shall also apply
to sailors discharged from service on completion of the period of
their engagement and who have earned only a service gratuity.
xx xx xx
107. Amount of disability pension. – In cases where the accepted
degree of disablement is twenty per cent, or over, the monthly
rates of disability pension consisting of service and disabil ity
elements, shall be as follows, namely:
Provided that for the purpose of this clause, service rendered
before the age of seventeen years shall be treated as qualif ying
service.
Explanation. – The service element shall be assessed –
(i) in the case of ordinary seaman or equivalent, on the basis of
(1) S ervice ele ment
(a) Where the individual has
rendered sufficient service to
qualify for a service pension.
Service pension admissible
in accordance with his
rank and group last held,
and length of service.
(b) Where the individual has not
rendered sufficient service to
qualify for service pension.
(i) If the disability was
sustained while on flying
or parachute jumping duty
in an aircraft or while
being carried on duty in an
aircraft under proper
authority, the minimum
service pension
appropriate to his rank
and group.
(ii) In all other cases , that
proportion of the minimum
service pension
appropriate to the
individual’s rank and group
which the number of his
completed years of
qualifying service bears to
fifteen but in no case less
than two-thirds of the
minimum service pension.
UNION OF INDIA & ORS. v. V. R. NANUKUTTAN NAIR
[HEMANT GUPTA, J.]
the minimum service pension laid down for able seaman or
equivalent of the same group.
xx xx xx
Appendix V – Nature, Assessment and Attributability of Disability
and Entitlement to Disability Pension.
1. xx xx xx
2. Invalidment from service is a necessary condition for the grant
of disability pension. An individual who at the time of his release
under the Release Regulations is in a lower medical catego ry
than that in which he was recruited will be treated as inva lided
from service. Sailors who are placed permanently in a medical
category other than ‘A’ and are discharged because no alternative
employment suitable to their low medical category can be provided
as well as those who having been retained in altern ative
employment but are discharged before the completion of thei r
engagement will be deemed to have bene invalided out of service.”
10. We have heard learned counsel for the parties and find no
merit in the present appeals.
11. The disability pension has two elements: disability e lement
and the service element. The disability element is in r elation to the
extent of disability suffered by an individual whereas the service element
is to be granted keeping in view of rules and regulations. Service pension
and service element are synonymous. The expression service element
is used in the case of payment of disability pension whereas , service
pension is used for the pension payable on account of services rendered.
12. In the present case, we are concerned with the situation where
the individual has completed his period of engagement in the low medical
category but not the qualifying service for pension in terms of Regulation
78 of the Regulations. The question is whether the applicant is entitled
to service element of disability pension corresponding to the number of
years he has put in the service of Navy.
13. We do not find any merit in the argument that as per Clause
(1) of Regulation 105B, the service element is admissible only if the
following conditions are satisfied:
89
(i) That discharge was on account of disability attributable to or
aggravated by Naval Service.
(ii) The individual is entitled to service pension only on completion
of 15 years of service in terms of Regulation 78.
14. In terms of Regulation 101A of the Regulations, an individual
who is placed in lower medical category and is discharged because no
alternative employment suitable to his low medical category and an
individual who at the time of his release under the Release Regulations
is in a lower medical category than that in which he was recruited will
be treated as invalided from service in terms of Clause 2 of Appendix V
of the Regulations. Therefore, in terms of such Regulations, individuals
who are invalided out of service on account of disability for the reason
that no alternative employment suitable to their low medical category or
an individual who at the time of his release under the Release Regulations
is in a lower medical category, are entitled to disability pension.
15. Clause 1 and 2 of Regulation 105B are applicable to sailors
who are discharged from service on completion of the period of
engagement and who have earned only a service gratuity in term s of
Clause (3) of the said Regulation. Clause 1 pertain to the grant of service
pension in addition to the disability element. Therefore, in terms of Clause
3, service element would be payable to an individual who has been paid
service gratuity.
16. We find that the purpose of the Regulation 105B is to exclude
dual payment of the service element of disability pension , when an
individual is entitled to service pension as well. In the absence of such
Regulation, an individual would be entitled to disability pension including
the service pension. Therefore, the service element cannot be granted
again as part of disability pension. It is to avoid the payment of service
element twice over. The Regulation 105B has not used the expression
‘on completion of qualifying service’. The interpretation as argued by
the learned ASG leads to addition of words in Regulation 105B which is
not permissible as the Regulations have to be interpreted harmoniously
and not by adding words to the Regulations. A person who has completed
the period of engagement is entitled to disability eleme nt apart from
service pension. The expression ‘service pension’ admissib le is not
restricted to the qualifying service provided under Regulation 78. It is
not for the Courts to remedy the defect in the Statute. The reference
UNION OF INDIA & ORS. v. V. R. NANUKUTTAN NAIR
[HEMANT GUPTA, J.]
may be made to an early judgment of this Court reported as Nalinakhya
Bysack v. Shyam Sunder Haldar 5, wherein it was held as under:-
“9. …It must always be borne in mind, as said by Lord Halsbury
in Commissioner for Special Purposes of Income
Tax v. Pemsel [LR (1891) AC 531 at p 549], that it is not competent
to any court to proceed upon the assumption that the legislature
has made a mistake. The Court must proceed on the footing that
the legislature intended what it has said. Even if there i s some
defect in the phraseology used by the legislature the court cannot,
as pointed out in Crawford v. Spooner [6 Moo PC 1: 4 MIA 179]
, aid the legislature’s defective phrasing of an Act or add and
amend or, by construction, make up deficiencies which are left in
the Act. Even where there is a casus omissus, it is, as said by
Lord Russell of Killowen in Hansraj Gupta v. Official
Liquidator of Dehra Dun-Mussoorie Electric Tramway C o.,
Ltd. [(1933) LR 60 IA 13; AIR (1933) PC 63] , for others than
the courts to remedy the defect. In our view it is not right to give
to the word “decree” a meaning other than its ordinary accepted
meaning and we are bound to say, in spite of our profound respect
for the opinions of the learned Judges who decided them, that the
several cases relied on by the respondent were not corr ectly
decided.”
17. In another judgment reported as Petroleum and Natural Gas
Regulatory Board v. Indraprastha Gas Limited & Ors. 6, this Court
held:
“35. After so stating the Court has referred to the observatio ns
made by Lord Diplock in Duport Steels Ltd. [ Duport Steels
Ltd. v. Sirs , (1980) 1 WLR 142 : (1980) 1 All ER 529 (HL)] wherein
it has been ruled thus: (All ER p. 541 h-j)
“… the role of the judiciary is confined to ascertaining fr om
the words that Parliament has approved as expressing i ts
intention what that intention was, and to giving effect to it.
Where the meaning of the statutory words is plain a nd
unambiguous it is not for the Judges to invent fancied
ambiguities as an excuse for failing to give effect to its
5 AIR 1953 SC 148
6 (2015) 9 SCC 209
91
plain meaning because they themselves consider that the
consequences of doing so would be inexpedient, or even
unjust or immoral . In controversial matters such as are
involved in industrial relations there is room for differences of
opinion as to what is expedient, what is just and what is morally
justifiable. Under our Constitution it is Parliament’s opinion on
these matters that is paramount.”
(emphasis supplied)
36. Recently, in Sarah Mathew v. Institute of Cardio Vascular
Diseases [(2014) 2 SCC 62 : (2014) 1 SCC (Cri) 721] , while
interpreting Section 468 CrPC, the Court has opined: (SCC p. 99,
para 45)
“45 . It is argued that a legislative casus omissus cannot be
supplied by judicial interpretation. It is submitted that to read
Section 468 CrPC to mean that the period of limitation as period
within which a complaint/charge-sheet is to be filed, would
amount to adding words to Sections 467 and 468. It is further
submitted that if the legislature has left a lacuna, it is not open
to the court to fill it on some presumed intention of the
legislature. Reliance is placed on Shiv Shakti Coop. Housing
Society [ Shiv Shakti Coop. Housing Society v. Swaraj
Developers , (2003) 6 SCC 659] , Bharat Aluminium [(2012)
9 SCC 552 : (2012) 4 SCC (Civ) 810] and several other
judgments of this Court where doctrine of casus omissus is
discussed. In our opinion, there is no scope for application of
doctrine of casus omissus to this case. It is not possible to hold
that the legislature has omitted to incorporate something which
this Court is trying to supply. The primary purpose of
construction of the statute is to ascertain the intention of th e
legislature and then give effect to that intention. After
ascertaining the legislative intention as reflected in the Forty-
second Report of the Law Commission and the Report of the
JPC, this Court is only harmoniously construing the provisions
of Chapter XXXVI along with other relevant provisions of the
Criminal Procedure Code to give effect to the legislative intent
and to ensure that its interpretation does not lead to any
absurdity. It is not possible to say that the legislature has kept
a lacuna which we are trying to fill up by judicial interpretative
UNION OF INDIA & ORS. v. V. R. NANUKUTTAN NAIR
[HEMANT GUPTA, J.]
process so as to encroach upon the domain of the legislature.
The authorities cited on doctrine of casus omissus are, therefore,
not relevant for the present case.”
xx xx xx
38. We must take note of certain situations where the Court in
order to reconcile the relevant provision has supplied words and
the exercise has been done to advance the remedy inten ded by
the statute. In Surjit Singh Kalra v. Union of India [(1991) 2
SCC 87] , a three-Judge Bench perceiving the anomaly, held: (SCC
p. 98, para 19)
“19 . True it is not permissible to read words in a statute which
are not there, but ‘where the alternative lies between eith er
supplying by implication words which appear to have been
accidentally omitted, or adopting a construction which deprives
certain existing words of all meaning, it is permissible to supply
the words’ (Craies Statute Law , 7th Edn., p. 109). Similar are
the observations in Hameedia Hardware Stores v. B. Mohan
Lal Sowcar [(1988) 2 SCC 513 at pp. 524-25] where it was
observed that the court construing a provision should not easily
read into it words which have not been expressly enacted but
having regard to the context in which a provision appears and
the object of the statute in which the said provision is enacted
the court should construe it in a harmonious way to make i t
meaningful. An attempt must always be made so to reconcile
the relevant provisions as to advance the remedy intended by
the statute. (See Siraj-ul-Haq Khan v. Sunni Central Board
of Waqf [AIR 1959 SC 198 : 1959 SCR 1287].)”
18. It, thus, transpires that by judicial interpretation, words cannot
be added to a statute, which would include the Rules, Regulations and
Instructions issued under a Statute, as an excuse to give eff ect to its
plain meaning of the language of the regulations. If the legislature has
left a lacuna, it is not open to the Court to fill it on som e presumed
intention of the legislature. But where the Courts find that the words
appear to have been accidentally omitted, or if adopting a construction
deprives certain existing words of all meaning, it is permissible to supply
additional words but should not easily read words which have not been
expressly enacted. The Court should construct the p rovisions
harmoniously having regard to the context and the object of the statute
93
in which a provision appears, to make it meaningful. An atte mpt must
always be made so to reconcile the relevant provisions, so as to advance
the remedy intended by the statute. Thus, it is not possible to read
completion of qualifying service in Regulation 105B of the Regulations.
19. In view of the principles of interpretation relating to Casus
Omissus , we find that a reading of the Regulations does not lead to an
inference that the service element should be limited to an individual who
has completed minimum 15 years of engagement. Regulation 78 cannot
be read into Regulation 105B when no such qualification is provided in
Regulation 105B.
20. Still further, the Regulation 107 providing service element in
the event of an individual who has not completed the qualifying service
will become otiose. A reading of all the regulations harmoniously and
keeping in view the object of grant of disability pension, we find that the
interpretation which advances the object and purpose of the grant of
disability needs to be accepted being a beneficial provision for a class of
individuals who have suffered disability in the course of duty.
21. The quantification of disability pension in the cases of an
individual, who has not completed qualification service is dealt with in
Regulation 107. Sub-clause (a) of Clause (1) of Regulation 107 deals
with the situation where the individual has rendered sufficient service to
qualify for a service pension i.e. 15 years of service in terms of Regulation
78. However, sub-clause (b) comes into play where the individual has
not rendered sufficient service to qualify for service pension. In cases
where the disability was suffered while flying or parachute jumping, the
minimum service pension is appropriate to his rank and group but in all
other cases, the service pension is restricted to minimum of two-thirds
of the minimum service pension. For such reason, the disability element
would be in addition to the service pension by cumulative r eading of
Regulation 78, Regulation 105B and Regulation 107 of the Regulations.
The service pension is to be assessed on the basis of the minimum service
pension laid down for an able individual of the same group in Regulation
107 of the Regulations.
22. Learned counsel for the appellants refers to an order pass ed
by this Court in Bhola Singh v. Union of India & Ors.7. We find that
this Court has not referred to Regulation 105B as well as Regulation 107
7 Civil Appeal No. 4486 of 2002 decided on 10 th August, 2010.
UNION OF INDIA & ORS. v. V. R. NANUKUTTAN NAIR
[HEMANT GUPTA, J.]
of the Regulations to maintain an order of the High Court to deny service
element of pension to an individual who has completed the initial fixed
period of 10 years. Since the appeal has been decided without any
reference to statutory regulations, we find that the r eliance of the
appellants on the said order is not helpful to the arguments advanced.
We find that the reliance on the judgment of this court T.S. Das is not
tenable for the reason that it was not the case of grant of disa bility
pension. It was the case of grant of special pension.
23. In view of the above, we find no merit in the present appeals,
the same are dismissed. The appellants shall pay the arrears of service
element preferably within a period of four months from today in terms
of directions issued by the Tribunal.
Divya Pandey Appeals dismissed.