Saurashtra Chemicals Ltd. (presently Known As Saurashtra Chemicals Division of Nirma LTD.) v. National Insurance Co. Ltd.
KRISHNA MURARI, J.
1. The appellant purchased a standard fire and special perils policy
from the respondent National Insurance Company Ltd. thereby insuring
the risk of loss/damage to the stock of coal and lignite stored in its factory
compound. An additional premium of Rs. 59,200/- was paid by the
appellant company so as to cover the risk of loss of the aforesaid stock
on account of spontaneous combustion. The appellant was declared a
Sick Unit and was accordingly registered under SICA. The fac tory
remained closed from 17.02.2006 to 09.08.2006 and was re-opened on
10.08.2006.
2. After re-opening it was noticed between the perio d from
11.8.2006 to 20.8.2006 that some amount of stock of coal and lignite has
been diminished/destroyed on account of spontaneous combustion, causing
loss and damage. Intimation in this regard was sent to the respo ndent-
insurer on 12.09.2006.
3. Pursuant to the claim made, a surveyor was appointed who
visited the premises of the appellant on 18.09.2006 and sought certain
details, which were provided on 28.11.2006. After carrying out the requisite
survey, the surveyor submitted his report on 11.04.2007 assessing total
loss to the tune of Rs. 63,43,679/-.
4. The claim lodged by the appellant was however repudiated by
the respondent-insurer vide communication dated 27.07.2007 on the
ground that since spontaneous combustion did not result into fire thus,
SAURASHTRA CHEMICALS LTD. v. NATIONAL
INSURANCE CO. LTD.
loss had not been caused by fire as stipulated in the relevant endorsement
with respect to spontaneous combustion of the insurance policy. The
appellant was further informed through the letter that unless spontaneous
combustion results into fire, there is no liability under the policy.
5. On denial of the claim the appellant approached the National
Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (hereinafter refer red to as
the NCDRC) vide consumer complaint no. 115 of 2007 seeking following
reliefs:-
(a) To direct the respondent company to allow the demanded claim
of Rs. 98,46,732/- on account of loss suffered by it on account
of loss of stock of goods insured with the respondent;
(b) To award compensation of a sum of Rs. 25,00,000/- on account
of pain and suffering suffered by the appellant on account of
deficient service provided by the respondent company;
(c) Award of sum of Rs. 11,81,608/- being interest @ 18% from
the date of the claim till the filing of the petition;
(d) Award further interests @ 18% pendent lite on amounts
specified in Clause (a) and (b);
(e) Award cost of Rs. 1,00,000/- to the complainant;
The complaint was resisted by the Insurer on three main grounds:-
(i) No claim was payable under the terms and conditions on
which policy was issued inasmuch as destruction or damage,
if any, caused to the property by fire on account of its ow n
fermentation, natural heating or spontaneous combustion or
undergoing natural heating or drying process is not covered.
(ii) Since the factory remained closed from 17.02.20 06 to
09.08.2006, the insurance cover ceased to operate in view
of the condition no. 3 of the policy which provides that unless
the insured has obtained the prior sanction of the company in
this regard, the insurance would cease to operate as regards
the property affected :
(a) if the trade or manufacture carried on be altered or if
the nature of occupation of or other circumstances affecting
the building insured or containing the property insured be
29
changed in such a way as to increase the risk of loss or
damage.
(b) if the building insured or containing the insured property
becomes unoccupied and so remains for a period of more
than 30 days.
(iii) Intimation of claim was sent with considerable delay of over
a month thereby violating condition no. 6(i) of the General
Conditions of Policy.
6. Insofar as ground nos. (i) and (ii) are concerned, the same
were not accepted by NCDRC and were decided against the respondent-
insurer. The said two grounds (i) and (ii) are not in issue before us in this
appeal as such we need not enter into the same.
7. However ground no. (iii) raised by the respondent-insurer in
defence to the claim of the appellant found favour with the NCDRC and
the complaint was dismissed on the premise that there was breach of
conditions incorporated in Clause 6(i) of the General Conditions of Policy.
Under Clause 6(i) the intimation of loss and damage was required to be
given in writing by way of notice within 15 days of the occurance thereof.
It is an admitted case between the parties that intimation of loss/damage
was given by the appellant to the respondent-insurer for the first time on
12.09.2006 and a claim for loss for a sum of Rs. 1.4 Crores to 1.5
Crores was made vide letter dated 14.09.2006.
8. The NCDRC rejected the claim holding that since the
complainant (Appellant herein) had contravened Clause 6(i) of the General
Conditions of Policy, no claim is payable.
9. We have heard Sh. Nikhil Goel, Learned Counsel for the
appellant and Sh. Yogesh Malhotra for the respondent.
10. It is submitted by Learned Counsel for the appellant that the
NCDRC has erred in holding that the claim stands defeated because of
delayed intimation as postulated in Clause 6(i) of the General Conditions
of Policy. It is also contended that, since respondent company had
appointed a surveyor, its right to advance the plea, with r espect to the
claim being not maintainable because of delayed intimation as envisaged
in Clause 6(i), stood waived. It is further contended that since the letter
of repudiation does not even remotely refer to delayed inti mation or
SAURASHTRA CHEMICALS LTD. v. NATIONAL
INSURANCE CO. LTD. [KRISHNA MURARI, J.]
delayed claim, as postulated in Clause 6(i), the said ground cannot be
taken as a defence to the claim. Reliance in support of the above
contentions is placed upon judgment rendered by this Court in Galada
Power and Telecommunication Ltd. vs. United India I nsurance
Company Ltd & Another .1
11. Mr. Yogesh Malhotra, Learned Counsel for the respondent-
insurer while supporting the order passed by the NCDRC cont ended
that by mere appointment of a surveyor, the insurer is not estopped from
raising a plea of the violation of a condition warranting repudiation of the
claim. Hence there is no waiver of the condition relating to delay in
intimation as stipulated in the General Conditions of Policy. It is further
submitted that the judgment rendered by the two judge Bench of this
Court in the case of Galada (Supra) was considered by a three Judge
Bench in the case of Sonell Clocks and Gifts Ltd. v/s New India
Assurance Company Ltd. 2and was distinguished on the ground that
dictum in Galada case was in context of peculiar facts of that case.
12. We have considered the argument advanced by Learned
Counsel at the bar.
The twin issues which arise for consideration in this appeal are:-
(1) Whether the respondent-insurer had waived the condition
relating to delay in intimation and lodging of the claim, by
appointing a surveyor.
(2) Whether in the absence of any mention, of aspect of delay in
intimation and violation of conditions of Clause 6(i) of General
Conditions of Policy, in the repudiation letter, the same could
be taken as defence before the NCDRC.
13. It is not disputed that on the basis of the communication made
by the appellant, the respondent-insurer appointed a surveyor on
18.09.2006 without any caveat and qualification.
14. The Surveyor submitted his report dated 11.04.2007 assessing
total loss to the tune of Rs. 63,43,679/-. Subsequently, vide letter dated
27.07.2007 the respondent-insurer repudiated the claim by stating as
under:-
1 (2016) 14 SCC 161
2 (2018) 9 SCC 784
31
M/s Saurashtra Chemicals Ltd.
Nirma House,
Ashram Road,
Ahmedabad,
Kind Attn: Sh. Deepak Shah, Company Secretary.
Dear Sir,
Re:- Policy No. 301200/11/06/3300000033
Claim No. 301200/33/37/2007
Loss/Damage due to Spontaneous Combustion to Lignite and
Coal.
This has reference to the claim lodged by you as above.
On scrutiny of survey reports, various claim documents, the
nature cause and circumstances of the loss, it is noticed that in the
instant case the Spontaneous Combustion has occurred, b ut it did
not result into the fire and loss has not been caused by fire only as
stipulated in the relevant endorsement of spontaneous co mbustion.
Further, the spontaneous combustion endorsement is clear
and unambiguous in this regard and unless the spont aneous
combustion results into fire, there is no liability under the policy.
In view of the above the competent authority has decide d to
repudiate the said claim which please note.
Sd/-
(George Valamchery)
Sr. Divisional Manager.
15. As is evident from the repudiation letter there is no reference
to any of the aspects enumerated in Clause 6(i) of the General Conditions
of Policy which reads as under:-
“6(i) On the happening of any loss or damage, the i nsured
shall forthwith give notice thereof to the company and shall
within 15 days after the loss or damage or such further tim e
as the company may in writing allow in that behalf deliv er to
the company.”
SAURASHTRA CHEMICALS LTD. v. NATIONAL
INSURANCE CO. LTD. [KRISHNA MURARI, J.]
16. Insofar as issue (1) is concerned, a two Judge Bench of this
Court in the case of Galada (supra) where despite violation of duration
clause stipulated in Clause 5(3) to Clause 5(5) of the policy in surance
company had appointed a surveyor held as under:-
“13. The National Commission has relied upon Clause 5 and
on that basis has rejected the claim by putting the blame on
the complainant. The letter of repudiation dated 20-9-19 99,
which we have reproduced hereinbefore, interestingly , does
not whisper a single word with regard to delay or, in fact,
does not refer at all to the duration clause. What h as been
stated in the letter of repudiation is that the claim lodged by
the complainant does not fall under the purview of transit
loss because of the subsequent investigation report . It is
evincible, the insurer had taken cognizance of the
communication made by the Appellant and nominated a
surveyor to verify the loss. Once the said exercise h as been
undertaken, we are disposed to think that the insurer could
not have been allowed to take a stand that the claim is hit by
the clause pertaining to duration…………….
18. In the instant case, the insurer was in custody of t he policy.
It had prescribed the clause relating to duration. It was ver y
much aware about the stipulation made in Clauses 5( 3) to
5(5), but despite the stipulations therein, it appo inted a
surveyor. Additionally, as has been stated earlier, in the l etter
of repudiation, it only stated that the claim lodge d by the
insured was not falling under the purview of transit loss . Thus,
by positive action, the insurer has waived its right t o advance
the plea that the claim was not entertainable becau se
conditions enumerated in duration clause were not sati sfied.
In our considered opinion, the National Commission could
not have placed reliance on the said terms to come to the
conclusion that there was no policy cover in existe nce and
that the risks stood not covered after delivery of goods to the
consignee.”
17. However, the dictum in Galada case (supra) came up for
consideration before a three Judge Bench of this Court in the case of
Sonell Clocks and Gifts Ltd. (supra) and it was distinguished on the
ground that dictum in Galada is in context of the peculiar facts and
33
circumstances of that case and does not lay down that on appointment
of the surveyor, the insurer is estopped from raising of plea of violation
of condition stipulated in the insurance policy. It may be relevant to extract
the following from the said report:-
“20. The Respondent has rightly pointed out the oth er
distinguishing features in the present case. To wit, in tha t case
[Galada], the Court had considered Clause 5 of a Ma rine
Insurance Policy wherein the issue was whether the insuranc e
cover itself had extinguished by efflux of time and that the
intimation given by the insured to the insurer was no t made
within 7 days of arrival of the vehicle at the dest ination
mentioned in the policy. According to the insurer, on e xpiry
of 7 days from delivery the insurance cover stood per ished
and no cover would subsist beyond the said 7 days’ period. It
is in that context, the Court noted that appointmen t of the
surveyor by the insurer beyond the said period can be
construed as an act of waiver by the insurer of the position
that the policy stands extinguished. In other words ,
appointment of a surveyor by the insurer was interpr eted as
a manifestation of the stand of the insurer that the insurance
cover still subsists. This is evident from the dictum in para 13
of the reported decision as the Court noted that on ce a
surveyor was nominated to verify the loss, the insure r could
not be allowed to take a stand that the claim is hi t by the
clause pertaining to duration and more so because of absence
of any mention in the letter of repudiation. Thus, it we nt on to
hold that from the positive conduct of the insurer in
unequivocally appointing a surveyor, the insurer had wa ived
the right which was in its favour under the duration clause.
21. The expression “duration” is of some significance which
is reflective of the existence or otherwise of the polic y itself.
In the present case, there is no dispute about the subsist ence
of the policy but is one of violation of Condition 6 of the
policy. Furthermore, in the present case the controversy w ill
have to be answered on the basis of Standard Fire and Special
Perils Policy relatable to Condition 6 obligating the in sured
to give forthwith intimation of the loss to the insurer. Th e two
clauses are materially different and relate to two different
SAURASHTRA CHEMICALS LTD. v. NATIONAL
INSURANCE CO. LTD. [KRISHNA MURARI, J.]
and distinct insurance policies. In other words, Clause 5 of
the Marine Insurance Policy and Clause 6 of the present policy
are incomparable being qualitatively different.
22. To put it differently, Galada case was not a case which
considered repudiation based on a premise or a reason similar
to Condition 6 of the present policy and a specific plea taken
by the insurer in that behalf in the repudiation lett er itself.
Notably, Clause 5 of the Marine Insurance Policy which was
the subject-matter in Galada case did not have a ne gative
covenant as in this case in the proviso to Condition 6 of t he
subject policy. The fulfilment of the stipulation in Clau se 6 of
the General Conditions of the Policy is the sine qua non to
maintain a valid claim under the policy.
23. We, therefore, agree with the Respondent that the dictum
in Galada case is in the context of the facts of that c ase and
does not lay down that on the appointment of a surveyor, p er
se, the insurer is estopped from raising a plea of v iolation of
the condition warranting a repudiation of the claim. The factum
of waiver has to be gathered from the totality of the obtaini ng
circumstances.”
(Emphasis supplied)
18. In view of the law laid down by the three Judge Bench in the
Sonell Clocks (supra), the argument that by appointing a surveyor the
respondent-insurer is estopped from raising the plea of viol ation of
condition prescribing a time limit for intimation/lodging of the claim, has
no legs to stand. Thus issue no. (1) is answered accordingly.
19. Insofar as issue no. (2) is concerned it is undisputed that the
letter of repudiation did not even remotely mention anything about violation
of duration clause stipulated in Clause (6) (i) of the General Conditions
of Policy. The Respondent-insurer repudiated the claim sole ly on the
ground that since spontaneous combustion did not result into fire a nd
loss had not been caused by fire as stipulated by policy conditions, there
was no liability under the policy. It was for the first time the respondent-
insurer raised the issue of delayed intimation of claim and violation of
stipulation of Clause 6(i) of the General Conditions of Policy in its reply
filed before NCDRC.
35
20. This court in the case of Galada Power Ltd. (supra) has
elucidated upon issue (2) as under :
“It is evincible, the insurer had taken cognizance of the
communication made by the Appellant and nominated a
surveyor to verify the loss. Once the said exercise h as been
undertaken, we are disposed to think that the insurer could
not have been allowed to take a stand that the claim is hit by
the clause pertaining to duration. In the absence o f any
mention in the letter of repudiation and also from the conduct
of the insurer in appointing a surveyor, it can saf ely be
concluded that the insurer had waived the right which was in
its favour under the duration clause. In this regar d, Mr.
Mukherjee, learned Senior Counsel appearing for the
Appellant has commended us to a decision of the High Court
of Delhi in Krishna Wanti v. LIC, wherein the High Court has
taken note of the fact that if the letter of repudiation did not
mention an aspect, the same could not be taken as a s tand
when the matter is decided. We approve the said view.”
(Emphasis supplied)
21. Undoubtedly, as mentioned supra, this Court in Sonell Clocks
(supra) has distinguished Galada Power on facts and held that the
appointment of a surveyor cannot, as a matter of law, be construed as a
waiver of the terms and conditions of the insurance policy. However, in
Sonell Clocks, the insurer had taken a specific plea in the repudiation
letter that the loss was not conveyed within the stipulated period. Hence
the singular issue before this Court was only whether the insurer had
waived the condition as to delay in intimation by appointing a surveyor.
This Court in Sonell Clocks did not have the occasion to consider whether
the insurance company could have raised delay as a ground for repudiation
for the first time before the consumer forum.
22. Hence we are of the considered opinion that the law a s laid
down in ‘Galada’ on issue (2) still holds the field. It is a settled position
that an insurance company cannot travel beyond the grounds mentioned
in the letter of repudiation. If the insurer has not taken delay in intimation
as a specific ground in letter of repudiation, they cannot do s o at the
stage of hearing of the consumer complaint before NCDRC.
SAURASHTRA CHEMICALS LTD. v. NATIONAL
INSURANCE CO. LTD. [KRISHNA MURARI, J.]
23. Admittedly in the case at hand there was no reference of
delay in intimation or lodging of the claim as stipulated in Clause 6(i) of
the General Conditions of Policy in the repudiation letter.
24. The NCDRC has failed to take into consideration this aspect
of the matter and, therefore, cannot be held to be justified in rejecting
the claim of the appellant, on that ground.
25. In view of the aforesaid analysis the appeal stands allowed
and the impugned judgment and the order of the NCDRC is set as ide.
The Respondent-insurer is directed to make payment of Rs. 63,43,679/
-, as assessed by the surveyor, to the appellant with interest @ 8% from
the date of the filing of the claim of petition till date of payment. The
payment, as above, be made within eight weeks from today.
26. There will be no order as to costs.
Ankit Gyan Appeal allowed.