P. Bandopadhya & Ors. v. Union of India & Ors.
INDU MALHOTRA, J.
Leave granted.
1. The present Civil Appeal arises out of S.L.P. (C) No. 4652 of
2018 wherein the impugned Judgment and Order dated January 13, 2016
passed by the Bombay High Court in Writ Petition No. 2704 of 2005 has
been challenged.
2. The facts relevant for the present Civil Appeal, are briefly set
out below:
2.1. The Appellants were erstwhile employees in the Overse as
Communications Service [“ OCS ”], a Department of the Government
of India. On April 1, 1986 the OCS was converted into a Governmen t
Company known as the Videsh Sanchar Nigam Limited [“ VSNL ”].
Initially, all employees of the erstwhile OCS were transferred en masse
to Respondent No. 4 – VSNL (now known as Tata Communications
Limited), where they worked on deputation from April 1, 1986 to January
1, 1990.
2.2. On July 5, 1989 the Department of Pension and Pension
Welfare of the Government of India issued Office Memorandum No. 4/
18/87-P & P.W. (D) [“ Office Memorandum ”] specifying the terms
and conditions governing the pensionary benefits of employees who were
transferred en masse on the conversion of a Government Department
into a Central Public Sector Undertaking or Autonomous Body.
The relevant extract of the Office Memorandum is se t out
hereinbelow for ready reference:
“…The following terms and conditions will be applicabl e in
the case of en masse transfer of employees:
(a) The permanent Government servants shall have an option
to retain the pensionary benefit available to them un der
the Government rules or be governed by the rules of the
Public Sector Undertaking/Autonomous Body . This option
shall also be available to the quasi permanent and
temporary employees after they have been confirmed in
the Public Sector Undertaking/Autonomous Body.
259
(b) The Government servants who opt to be governed by the
pensionary benefits available under the Government, shall
at the time of their retirement, be entitled to pension, etc.,
in accordance with the Central Government rules in force
at that time .
(c) The permanent Government servants with less tha n 10
years’ service, quasi permanent employees and temporary
employees who opt for the rules of the Public Secto r
Undertaking/Autonomous Body shall be entitled to an
amount equal to Provident Fund contribution for the period
of their service under the Government up to the dat e of
permanent absorption in the PSU/Autonomous Body with
simple interest at 6% per annum as opening balance in
their CPF account with the Public Sector Undertakin g/
Autonomous Body… ”
(emphasis supplied)
2.3. In pursuance of the Office Memorandum, Notice da ted
December 11, 1989 was issued by Respondent No. 4 – VSNL giving the
erstwhile employees of OCS the option to either be absorbe d in the
regular service of VSNL; or, be transferred to the Surplus Staff Cell of
the Central Government for employment against possible v acancies
available in other Government offices.
The Appellants voluntarily exercised the option to be absor bed
into the regular service of VSNL with effect from January 2, 1990.
2.4. Thereafter, a Staff Notice dated February 21, 1990 was issued
by Respondent No. 4 – VSNL to its employees, who were earlier working
in OCS. The employees were called upon to exercise their option in
terms of Clause (a) of the Office Memorandum, i.e. either to retain the
pensionary benefits available under the Government of India at the time
of retirement as per the applicable Central Government rules in force, or
opt to be governed by the rules of Respondent No. 4 – VSNL.
The format in which the option was to be indicated was enclosed
with the Staff Notice, along with a document titled “ Clarificatory
Information to Facilitate Exercise of Option ”. As per paragraph I (1)
(ii) of the clarificatory document, the eligibility of employees who chose
to retain pensionary benefits under the Central Gov ernment was
conditional on putting in a minimum of ten years of qualifying service.
P. BANDOPADHYA & ORS. v. UNION OF INDIA & ORS.
[INDU MALHOTRA, J.]
The relevant portion of Paragraph I (1) is reproduced hereinbe low for
ready reference:
“I. Exercise of option in favour of retention of pen sionary
benefit under Central Government rules .
(1) This option is open to every employee whose servic es have
been transferred from Overseas Communications Servic e
to Videsh Sanchar Nigam Limited and who has been
permanently absorbed in the Videsh Sanchar Nigam Ltd. ,
irrespective of service rendered in the Overseas
Communications Service. Your eligibility for benefits under
the Pension Rules will however be conditional to :-…
… (ii) Putting in a minimum of ten years of qualifying ser vice .
(9 years 9 months and above will be reckoned as 10 years)… ”
(emphasis supplied)
2.5. The Appellants opted to retain pensionary benefits under the
rules of the Central Government by exercising their option in pursuance
of the Staff Notice dated February 21, 2009.
2.6. Respondent No. 4 – VSNL vide Letters dated May 22, 2003
and June 29, 2004, sought a clarification from Respondent No. 3 – Ministry
of Communications and Information Technology, Depar tment of
Telecommunications [“ DOT ”] as to whether the Appellants – P.
Bandhopadhya, I.P. Singh and G. Palaniappan could retain the pensionary
benefits in spite of having less than 10 years of service as on January 2,
1990.
2.7. In response, the DOT vide Letter dated October 13, 2004
requested VSNL to settle the cases of the Appellants in a ccordance
with Clause (b) of the Office Memorandum.
2.8. Accordingly, by Letter dated November 30, 2004, Respondent
No. 4 – VSNL informed Respondent No. 2 – Department of Pension
and Pension Welfare, Government of India to settle the cases of the
Appellants in accordance with Clause (b) of the Office Memorandum.
2.9. In supersession of the Letter dated October 13, 2004, the
Department of Pension and Pension Welfare, Government of India, vide
Letter dated March 24, 2005 informed Respondent No. 4 – VSNL that
the payment of Pension to the Appellants would be settled in terms of
261
the Office Memorandum. This was re-confirmed by Respondent No. 3
– DOT vide Letter dated May 30, 2005.
2.10. Accordingly, Respondent No. 2 – Department of Pension
and Pension Welfare, Government of India informed the Appellants that
their pension would be settled in terms of the Office Memorandum.
2.11. On June 27, 2005 the Appellants were informed by
Respondent No. 4 – VSNL that they would not be eligible to r eceive
Government Pension. They would, however, be eligible to receive benefits
under Clause (c) of the Office Memorandum i.e. an amount equal to the
Provident Fund contribution for the period of their service unde r the
Government up to the date of permanent absorption in the Public Sector
Undertaking/Autonomous Body with 6% Simple Interest as opening
balance in their CPF account with the Public Sector Undertaking/
Autonomous Body.
2.12. Aggrieved by this decision, the Appellants ma de a
representation before the Respondents seeking for a declaration that
their cases be governed by Clause (b), and not Clause (c) of the Office
Memorandum.
2.13. The Appellants thereafter filed Writ Petition No. 2704 of
2005 before the Bombay High Court seeking the following prayers:
• setting aside of Communication/Orders passed by the
Respondents on March 24, 2005, May 30, 2005 and June 27,
2005;
• directions to treat the cases of the Appellants as being governed
by Clause (b), and not Clause (c) of the Office Memorandum.
In effect, the Appellants were seeking directions that their cases
be considered eligible for grant of pension by the Government of India.
2.14. A Division Bench of the Bombay High Court dismissed Writ
Petition No. 2704 of 2005 on April 26, 2006 after holding that the case of
the Appellants was covered by an earlier decision of a Division Bench in
S.V . Vasaikar & Ors. v. Union of India & Ors. [2003 (2) Mh.L.J. 691
: 2003 (4) Bom CR 79]. The Judgment dated April 26, 2006 passed by
the Division Bench was challenged by the Appellants before this Court
by way of S.L.P. (C) No. 15862 of 2006, which was later renumbered
as Civil Appeal No. 3059 of 2007. This Court vide Order dated July 14,
2011 set aside the Judgment dated April 26, 2006 passed by the Division
P. BANDOPADHYA & ORS. v. UNION OF INDIA & ORS.
[INDU MALHOTRA, J.]
Bench of the Bombay High Court in view of the submission by t he
Appellants that the decision in S.V . Vasaikar & Ors. v. Union of India
& Ors. [2003 (2) Mh.L.J. 691 : 2003 (4) Bom CR 79] was not applicable
to the facts of their case. The matter was remanded to the High Court
for fresh consideration on merits.
2.15. After remand, the Bombay High Court re-heard the matter,
and passed a detailed judgment dismissing Writ Petitio n No. 2704 of
2005, and held that the Appellants were not eligible to avail pensionary
benefits under the Government of India, since they had served for less
than 10 years on the date of their absorption into VSNL.
The High Court held that on a cumulative reading of Clauses (a),
(b), and (c) of the Office Memorandum makes it clea r that only
permanent Government servants who have served for more than 10
years would have the option of getting pensionary benefits after their
absorption in Public Sector Undertakings.
The case of the Appellants would be governed by Clause (c ) of
the Office Memorandum which clearly carved out the cat egory of
employees who had not completed 10 years of service. It was held that
a new category which is either contrary to Clause (c), or renders the
import of Clauses (a) and (b) nugatory, cannot be created by way of
judicial interpretation.
The High Court held that the matter was squarely covered by the
earlier decision of a Division Bench of the Bombay High Court in S.V .
Vasaikar & Ors. v. Union of India & Ors. [2003 (2) Mh. L.J. 691 :
2003 (4) Bom CR 79].
3. Aggrieved by the Judgment and Order dated January 13, 2016
passed by the Division Bench, the Appellants filed the present Special
Leave Petition. Applications for Impleadment have been file d by 48
persons who claim to be similarly situated as the Appellants.
4. Mr. Sanjay Kumar Mishra, Advocate appeared on behalf of
the Appellants, and sought the setting aside of the impugned Judgment
and Order dated January 13, 2016 passed by the Division Bench.
Mr. Vikramjit Banerjee, learned Additional Solicitor Gener al,
appeared on behalf of Respondent Nos. 1 – 3, and Mr. Maninder Singh,
learned Senior Advocate, appeared on behalf of Respondent No. 4 –
VSNL.
263
5. We have perused the record with the able assistance of th e
counsel for the parties. The issue which arises for our consideration in
the present Civil Appeal is whether the Bombay High Court was justified
in holding that the case of the Appellants was covered by t he earlier
decision in S.V . Vasaikar & Ors. v. Union of India & Ors. [2003 (2)
Mh. L.J. 691 : 2003 (4) Bom CR 79], and whether they are entitled to
receive pensionary benefits under the Central Government.
6. SUBMISSIONS OF P ETITIONERS
6.1. Mr. Sanjay Kumar Mishra, Advocate, submitted that th e
Division Bench of the Bombay High Court had committed an error by
denying pensionary benefits to the Appellants.
6.2. It was submitted that Clause (b) of the Office Memorandum
would govern the case of the Appellants, since they had opted to avail
the pensionary benefits available under the Central Governme nt at the
time of their retirement under Clause (a) of the Office Me morandum.
6.3. It was further submitted that the Office Memorandum should
be interpreted in isolation on the basis of its plain text, and the Form
attached with the Staff Notice dated February 21, 1990 should not
condition the said interpretation.
6.4. The Division Bench had erroneously interpreted the Office
Memorandum, since Clause (a) is the controlling provision, and Clause
(c) in no way dilutes what is provided by Clause (a).
The Appellants challenged the interpretation of the Office
Memorandum given by a co-ordinate bench in S.V . Vasaikar & Ors. v.
Union of India & Ors. [2003 (2) Mh. L.J. 691 : 2003 (4) Bom CR 79].
According to Mr. Mishra, Clauses (c) and (d) of the Office
Memorandum provides only the mode of payment of retiral be nefits
with respect to two different categories of employees – viz. employees
with less than 10 years of qualifying service, and employees with more
than 10 years of qualifying service.
7. SUBMISSIONS OF R ESPONDENTS
7.1. The counsel for the Respondents inter alia submitted that
the issue in the present case was squarely covered by the earlier judgment
of the Bombay High Court in S.V . Vasaikar & Ors. v. Union of India
& Ors. [2003 (2) Mh. L.J. 691 : 2003 (4) Bom CR 79]. The Appellants
P. BANDOPADHYA & ORS. v. UNION OF INDIA & ORS.
[INDU MALHOTRA, J.]
through their Federation had appeared in this case, and had not challenged
this judgment before this Court. As a consequence, this judgment attained
finality. It was therefore not open to the Appellants to r e-litigate the
same issue in the present Writ Petition. The Division Be nch rightly
followed the said decision while dismissing Writ Petition No. 2 704 of
2005 by way of the impugned Judgment and Order dated January 13,
2016.
7.2. It was submitted on behalf of VSNL that the Of fice
Memorandum categorises employees into two classes – first , those who
have completed 10 years of qualifying service; and second , those who
do not have 10 years of qualifying service. Under t he Office
Memorandum, while the first class of employees is entitled to pension
under the Government of India, the second class is entitled to a certain
sum of Provident Fund contribution.
7.3. The Appellants admittedly had less than 10 years of qualifying
service. They had voluntarily exercised their option of getting absorbed
in the regular service of VSNL. As a consequence, this res ulted in the
severance of their previous service with the Central Gover nment, and
they were deemed to have retired from Government service on January
2, 1990 i.e. the date of their absorption with VSNL in accordance with
Rule 37(1) of the Central Civil Services (Pension) Rules, 1972 [“ CCS
(Pension) Rules, 1972 ].
The Appellants having taken a conscious decision to opt for
absorption in VSNL, knowing fully well that they had not completed 10
years of qualifying service with the Central Government, were not entitled
to receive pensionary benefits as per Rule 49 of the CCS (P ension)
Rules, 1972.
7.4. It was submitted that the Office Memorandum was virtually
in conformity with Rule 49 r.w. Rule 37 of the CCS (Pension) Rules ,
1972. In any case, the Office Memorandum cannot be interpreted in
isolation, and has to be construed in consonance with the CCS (Pension)
Rules, 1972.
The requirement of having completed a minimum qualifying service
of 10 years for entitlement to pensionary benefits under Rule 49 of the
CCS (Service) Rules, 1972 would apply to Clause (a) of the O ffice
Memorandum.
265
The Appellants had admittedly less than the minimum qualifying
service of 10 years, and were deemed to have retired from Government
service, and were not entitled to pensionary benefits under the Central
Government. On absorption with VSNL, they would not be entitled to
pension.
8. DISCUSSION AND ANAL YSIS
8.1. Rule 37 of the CCS (Pension) Rules, 1972 provides that a
Government servant who is absorbed in a Corporation or Government
Company is deemed to have retired from government service on t he
date of his/her absorption.
The relevant extract of Rule 37 of the CCS (Pension) Rules, 1972
is reproduced hereinbelow:
“37. Pension on absorption in or under a corporation, company
or body
(1) A Government servant who has been permitted to be
absorbed in a service or post in or under a Corporation
or Company wholly or substantially owned or controll ed
by the Central Government or a State Government or in or
under a Body controlled or financed by the Central
Government or a State Government, shall be deemed t o
have retired from service from the date of such absorption
and subject to sub-rule (3) he shall be eligible to receiv e
retirement benefits if any, from such date as may b e
determined, in accordance with the orders of the Centr al
Government applicable to him.
(2) …
(3) Where there is pension scheme in a body control led or
financed by the Central Government in which a Government
servant is absorbed, he shall be entitled to exercise option
either to count the service rendered under the Cent ral
Government in that body for pension or to receive pro r ata
retirement benefits for the service rendered under the
Central Government in accordance with the orders issued
by the Central Government.
EXPLANATION .– Body means Autonomous Body or Statutory
Body. ”
(emphasis supplied)
P. BANDOPADHYA & ORS. v. UNION OF INDIA & ORS.
[INDU MALHOTRA, J.]
The Appellants having voluntarily exercised the option to get
absorbed in the regular service of VSNL, were deemed to have retire d
from the service of the Central Government on the date of their absorption
i.e. January 2, 1990 as per Rule 37(1) of the CCS (Pension) Rules,
1972.
8.2. It is the admitted position that the Appellants had not completed
10 years of service on the date of their absorption into VSNL, i.e. when
they were deemed to have retired from the service of t he Central
Government.
To receive pensionary benefits from the Government, a
Government servant is required to put in a minimum ‘qualifying service’
as defined by Rule 3(q) of the CCS (Pension) Rules, 1972. According to
Rule 3(q), ‘qualifying service’ means the service rendered while on duty
or otherwise which shall be taken into account for the purpose of Pensions
and Gratuities admissible under the CCS (Pension) Rules, 1972.
8.3. Rule 49(2) of the CCS (Pension) Rules, 1972 provides that a
Government servant is entitled to receive pension on retir ement only
after the completion of the qualifying service of 10 years. 1 On the other
hand, a Government servant who retires before completing the qualifying
service of 10 years is entitled to service gratuity under Rule 49(1) of the
CCS (Pension) Rules, 1972.
The relevant extract of Rule 49 of the CCS (Pension) Rules, 1972
is reproduced hereunder for ready reference:
“49. Amount of Pension
(1) In the case of a Government servant retiring in accordance
with the provisions of these rules before completin g
qualifying service of ten years, the amount of serv ice
gratuity shall be calculated at the rate of half month’s
emoluments for every completed six monthly period o f
qualifying service.
(2) (a) In the case of a Government servant retirin g in
accordance with the provisions of these rules after
completing qualifying service of not less than thirty-t hree
years, the amount of pension shall be calculated at fifty
per cent of average emoluments, subject to a maximum of
four thousand and five hundred rupees per mensem.;
1 Union of India & Anr. v. Bashirbhai R. Khiliji , (2007) 6 SCC 16 : AIR 2007 SC 1935.
267
(b) I n the case of a Government servant retiring in
accordance with the provisions of these rules befor e
completing qualifying service of thirty-three years , but
after completing qualifying service of ten years, the am ount
of pension admissible under Clause (a) and in no case the
amount of pension shall be less than Rupees three hundred
and seventy-five per mensem;… ”
(emphasis supplied)
A conjoint reading of the statutory rules, i.e. Rule 37 with Rule 49
of the CCS (Pension) Rules, 1972, would make it abundantly clear that
the Appellants were not entitled to pensionary benefits since admittedly
they did not have the minimum qualifying service of 10 years, to make
their service pensionable with the Central Government. On absorption
in VSNL on January 2, 1990 there was a severance of their service with
the Central Government. The Appellants would be entitled to the retiral
benefits under VSNL.
After exercising the option to be absorbed in VSNL, the Appellants
are now estopped from seeking pensionary benefits from the C entral
Government.
8.4. The Office Memorandum dated July 5, 1989 was issued by
the Department of Pension and Pension Welfare, Government of India
to settle the pensionary terms and conditions applicable in cases of en
masse transfer of employees on the conversion of a Govern ment
Department into a Central Public Sector Undertaking/Autonomous Body.
(a) Clause (a) of the Office Memorandum provided an option to
Government servants (permanent, quasi-permanent and
temporary) to either retain the pensionary benefits available to
them under the Government rules or be governed by the rules
of the Public Sector Undertaking/Autonomous Body. Under
Clause (b), Government servants who opt to retain pensionary
benefits were entitled to receive pension at the time of the ir
retirement “ in accordance with Central Government rules
in force at that time ”.
(b) A conjoint reading of Clauses (a) and (b) would indicate that
the option of retaining pensionary benefits was available only
P. BANDOPADHYA & ORS. v. UNION OF INDIA & ORS.
[INDU MALHOTRA, J.]
to those Government servants who were, in the first place,
entitled to receive pension at the time of their retirement. This
is evident from Clause (a) which provides the option to “ retain ”
pensionary benefits available under the relevant Government
rules. Clauses (a) and (b) pre-suppose that the Government
servants who opt to retain pensionary benefits, should b e
entitled to receive pensionary benefits under the Cent ral
Government rules, in the first place.
(c) Rule 37 read with Rule 49 of the CCS (Pension) Rules, 1972
indicates that the Appellants were not entitled to receive Pension
under the CCS (Pension) Rules, 1972, since they had not
completed 10 years of qualifying service. There was, therefore,
no question of the Appellants availing of the option of ‘retaining’
the benefits under Clause (a).
(d) The Division Bench has rightly held that Clause (b) o f the
Office Memorandum cannot be read in isolation, and is required
to be read in conjunction with Clause (a). The entitlement to
Pension under Clause (b) is qualified by the phrase “ in
accordance with the Central Government rules in force at
that time ”.
(e) Further, Paragraph I (1) (ii) of the document t itled
“Clarificatory Information to Facilitate Exercise of Opti on ”
clearly stated that the eligibility to retain pensionary benefits
under the Central Government was subject to the condition of
putting in a minimum of 10 years as qualifying service.
The Appellants were specifically informed of this clarification at
the time of exercising their option that their eligibil ity for pensionary
benefits under the CCS (Pension) Rules, 1972 was dependant on t heir
fulfilling the minimum eligibility requirement of 10 years qualifying service
on the day their retirement.
8.5. We find great force in the submissions made by Mr. Maninder
Singh, Senior Advocate appearing for VSNL, and the learned Additional
Solicitor General, that the case is squarely covered by the earlier decision
of a Division Bench of the Bombay High Court in S.V . Vasaikar & Ors.
v. Union of India & Ors. [2003 (2) Mh. L.J. 691 : 2003 (4) Bom CR
79].
269
8.6. It has been rightly contended that the earlier Writ Petiti on
No. 5374 of 2002 was filed in a representative capacity. Petitioner No.
3 in the said Writ Petition was the Federation of the VSNL Employees
Union, a collective body of VSNL employees. The Federation was
espousing the collective interest of the Appellants, and other sim ilarly
situated persons before the Division Bench. The prayers in Writ Petition
No. 5374 of 2002, was recorded by the High Court in the following
words:
“3. In the second petition, i.e., Writ Petition No. 5374 of 2002,
a prayer is made for declaring that the action of t he
respondents in not giving the petitioners and similarly situat ed
employees, who had not completed ten years of service wi th
the Government of India, the right to exercise opti on for
retaining Government pensionary benefits on their absorption
with VSNL is arbitrary, discriminatory and violative of Artic les
14 and 16 of the Constitution . It was, therefore, prayed that
appropriate direction be issued to the Government o f India
that the Petitioners and similarly situated employees, who h ad
not completed ten years of service on their date of abso rption
in VSNL, are entitled to exercise option for retain ing
Government pensionary benefits by counting their service in
Government of India along with their service with VSNL for
such benefits .”
(emphasis supplied)
The Division Bench dismissed the Writ Petitions, and held as
follows:
“26. Regarding the contention that employees, who had not
completed ten years, were not allowed to exercise the opt ion
with regard to pensionary benefits, it may be stated that even
when they were in the Government service, when VSNL was a
Government Company, they were not entitled to such benefits.
Reading the memorandum also, it becomes abundantly clear
that the persons, who had not completed ten years of servic e
with the Government, were not entitled to pensionary benefits.
The option, which was allowed by the Government, and to be
exercised by the employees, was in respect of those e mployees
P. BANDOPADHYA & ORS. v. UNION OF INDIA & ORS.
[INDU MALHOTRA, J.]
who had completed ten years or more of service and quasi-
permanent employees and temporary employees, who woul d
be entitled to such benefits after they would be confirme d in
the Public Sector or Autonomous Bodies. Since the petitioners
and similarly situated persons, who had not complet ed ten
years of service, were not entitled to such benefits even under
the Government, they cannot make grievance for pensionary
benefits. ”
(emphasis supplied)
The afore-said findings of the Division Bench squarely cover the
present case of the Appellants.
8.7. The decision in S.V . Vasaikar & Ors. v. Union of India &
Ors. [2003 (2) Mh. L.J. 691 : 2003 (4) Bom CR 79] was not challenged
before the Supreme Court, and has since attained finality. Therefore,
the relief sought by the Appellants before the High Court was barred by
the principle of res judicata .
Reference can be made to the decision of the Constitution Bench
in Direct Recruit Class II Engineering Officers’ Associat ion v. State
of Maharashtra & Ors. 2 wherein Sharma, J., on behalf of the five-
judge bench, held:
“35…It is well established that the principles of res judi cata
are applicable to writ petitions. The relief prayed for on behalf
of the petitioner in the present case is the same as he would
have, in the event of his success, obtained in the earlier writ
petition before the High Court. The petitioner in r eply
contended that since the special leave petition bef ore this
Court was dismissed in limine without giving any reason, the
order cannot be relied upon for a plea of res judicat a. The
answer is that it is not the order of this Court dismiss ing the
special leave petition which is being relied upon; the pl ea of
res judicata has been pressed on the basis of the High Court’s
judgment which became final after the dismissal of the speci al
leave petition. In similar situation a Constitution Bench of
this Court in Daryao v. State of UP 3 held that where the High
2 (1990) 2 SCC 715 : AIR 1990 SC 1607.
3 (1962) 1 SCR 574 : AIR 1961 SC 1457.
271
Court dismisses a writ petition under Article 226 o f the
Constitution after hearing the matter on the merits , a
subsequent petition in the Supreme Court under Article 32 on
the same facts and for the same reliefs filed by the same p arties
will be barred by the general principle of res judica ta. The
binding character of judgments of courts of compete nt
jurisdiction is in essence a part of the rule of law on which
the administration of justice, so much emphasised b y the
Constitution, is founded and a judgment of the High Court
under Article 226 passed after a hearing on the merits must
bind the parties till set aside in appeal as provid ed by the
Constitution and cannot be permitted to be circumvente d by
a petition under Article 32… ”
(emphasis supplied)
Albeit the decision of the Constitution Bench was in the context
of a Writ Petition filed under Article 32, it would apply with greater force
to bar a Writ Petition filed under Article 226, like the one filed by the
present Appellants, by the operation of the principle of res judicata .
8.8. The Appellants were not entitled to receive pensionary benefits
either under the CCS (Pension) Rules, 1972 or under Clauses (a) and
(b) of the Office Memorandum.
The case of the Appellants being Government servants prior to
their absorption in VSNL, with less than 10 years of qualifying service,
would be squarely covered by Clause (c) of the Office Memora ndum.
Under Clause (c), they would be entitled to receive an amount equal to
the Provident Fund contribution for the period of their service under the
Government, upto the date of their permanent absorption along with
Simple Interest at 6% per annum as the opening balance in their CPF
account with the Public Sector Undertaking/Autonomous Body.
9. In view of the aforesaid findings, the present Civil Appeal is
dismissed. The impugned Judgment and Order dated January 13, 2016
passed by the Bombay High Court in Writ Petition No. 2704 of 2005 is
affirmed.
P. BANDOPADHYA & ORS. v. UNION OF INDIA & ORS.
[INDU MALHOTRA, J.]
10. The Applications for Impleadment filed in the Appeal are
disposed of in terms of the present judgment. Any other pending I.A.s
are disposed of.
Ordered accordingly.
Kalpana K. Tripathy Appeal dismissed.