Delhi Transport Corporation v. Balwan Singh & Ors.
SANJAY KISHAN KAUL, J. 1. The respondents are all ex-
employees of the appellant/Delhi Transport Corporat ion (for short
‘DTC’), who availed of the Voluntary Retirement Scheme (for sho rt
‘VRS’). The respondents have, however, been held disentitled to pension
on account of exclusion of period when they remained absent with out
authorisation for which period they were held not entitled to salary. In
D.T.C. v. Lillu Ram,1 such exclusion was upheld with the consequence
that the ex-employees would not get pensionary benefits, ha ving not
completed 10 years of qualifying service. In the presen t appeal, two
1(2017) 11 SCC 407
DELHI TRANSPORT CORPORATION v. BALWAN SINGH
Hon’ble Judges of this Court, after examining LilluRam’s 2 case opined
that a reconsideration by a larger Bench, of that view, was required. As
a sequitur, the present appeal has been placed before us.
2. A perusal of the reference order dated 9.11.2016, shows that
the disagreement with the view taken in Lillu Ram 3 case emanated on
various accounts: (a) if the employee has been sanctioned leave without
pay, why such period should be treated asa period of unaut horised
absence; (b) non-consideration of relevant rules such as Rules 27 & 28
of the Central Civil Services (Pension) Rules, 1972 (hereinafter referred
to as the ‘Pension Rules’) and FR 17-A of the Fundamental Rules; (c)
no adverse effect should be visited on the employee to receive pension,
unless given notice by the appropriate authority, by an entry in the service
book or through other notice, that his absence will be treated as
unauthorised absence and will not be counted towards qualifying service
for pension; (d) the VRS is permissible only on completion of 10 years
of service and, thus, it may be unjust and harsh to inflict the employee
with adverse consequences, in the absence of such notice.
3. The relevant facts for determination of the issue before us are
that the employees of the appellant-Corporation were governed by the
Employees Contributory Provident Fund Scheme. In terms of Off ice
Order No.16 dated 27.11.1992, the introduction of a pension scheme in
DTC as applicable to the Central Government employees was announced,
on sanction having been obtained from the Central Government. This
pension scheme was to be operated by the LIC on behalf of DTC and
the date of effect of the pension scheme was retrospective,w.e.f. 3.8.1981,
with the option to the existing employees and those who retired w .e.f.
3.8.1981 to opt for this pension scheme or continue to be governed by
the Employees Contributory Provident Fund Scheme. Prospective ly,
the pension scheme was to apply compulsorily. The retired employees,
however, were required to refund the employer’s shar e under the
Employees Provident Fund Act, in the event of their opting for the pension
scheme.
4. It appears that despite all intentions, the scheme that had to be
operated by LIC was not implemented till 1995, when it was implemented
by the appellant-Corporation itself. The other development in proximity
to the announcement of the scheme was the announcement of the VRS
2 (supra)
3 (supra)
537
on 3.3.1993. In order to avail of this Scheme, the eligibility conditions
required an employee to have completed 10 years of ser vice in the
appellant-Corporation, or completed 40 years of age. Sub-clause (g) of
Clause 4 of the Scheme provided for pensionary benefits as per Office
Order No.16 dated 27.11.1992.
5. It appears that considerable litigation ensued in respect of both
these aspects, on various accounts, inter alia on the issue of the eligibility
for pension for persons who had put in 10 years or more of qualifying
service, but less than 20 years. All these different issue s have been
settled in proceedings before the Delhi High Court or before this Court.
Suffice to say that there isno controversy now, in view of the judicial
pronouncements that there is no embargo in the pension rule s that an
employee having put in more than 10 years of service but less than 20
years would earn pro rata pension if he avails of the VRS.
6. Insofar as the present controversyis concerned, it appears that
the Delhi High Court opined in favour of the employees and SLPs were
dismissed leaving the question of law open till the appellant-Corporation
pointed out that the question of law needed to be settled, in view of a
large number of cases coming up on this aspect. It is in these
circumstances that the issue was examined in LilluRam ’s 4 case. A
reference was made to Rule 3(1)(q) of the Pension Rules, which reads
as under:
“3. Definitions:
In these rules, unless the context otherwise requires –
(1) (a) to (p) xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx
(q) ‘Qualifying Service’ means service rendered while on duty or
otherwise which shall be taken into account for the purpose of
pensions and gratuities admissible under these rules;”
7. It was opined that since the leave availed of wa s treated
asabsence from dutyin an unauthorisedmanner, that period ought not to
be counted towards the “qualifying service” as the very def inition of
“qualifying service” means service rendered while on duty or otherwise.
Since the Pension Rules had been adopted, the provisions of the Pension
Rules would have to be applied for determining the eligibility. A reference
was also made to Rule 49(1) of the Pension Rules, which reads as under:
4 (supra)
DELHI TRANSPORT CORPORATION v. BALWAN SINGH
[SANJAY KISHAN KAUL, J.]
“49. Amount of Pension:
(1) In the case of a Government servant retiring in acc ordance
with the provisions of these rules before completing qualifyi ng
service of ten years, the amount of service gratuity sh all be
calculated at the rate of half month’s emoluments f or every
completed six monthly period of qualifying service.”
The conclusion, thus reached was that absence without sanction
is unauthorised leave, which would have to be excluded fromthe period
of qualifying service, for determining the period of 10 years of qualifying
service for admissibility of pension, and thatwhen a person is entitled to
seek VRS on completion of 10 years of service, that would not ipso
facto imply that this period would also have to be counted for purposes
of admissibility of pension.
8. On behalf of the appellant-Corporation, Ms.AvnishAhlawat,
learned counsel sought to draw sustenance for her argument from Rule
21, which reads as under:
“21. Counting of periods spent on leave
All leave during service for which leave salary is payable [and all
extraordinary leave granted on medical certificate] shall count as
qualifying service :
Provided that in the case of extraordinary leave [othe r than
extraordinary leave granted on medical certificate], the appointing
authority may, at the time of granting such leave, allow the period
of that leave to count as qualifying service if such leave is granted
to a Government servant –
(i) omitted .
(ii) due to his inability to join or rejoin duty on account of civil
commotion; or
(iii) for prosecuting higher scientific and technical studies.”
9. It was, thus, her contention that when the Rule itself is clear
that the counting of period for pension, in respect of leave ava iled of,
would be admissible only where “leave salary is payable,” and there are
only two exceptions as stipulated in the proviso, it was not for this Court
to add or subtract from the Rule.
539
10. She further contended that reference to Rules 27 & 28 of the
Pension Rules would not be appropriate as those provisions dealt with
the effect of interruption in service and condonation of interrup tion in
service. The Rules read as under:
“27. Effect of interruption in service
(1) An interruption in the service of a Government servant entails
forfeiture of his past service, except in the following cases:-
(a) authorized leave of absence;
(b) unauthorized absence in continuation of authorized leave of
absence so long as the post of absentee is not filled substantively;
(c) suspension, where it is immediately followed by reinstatement,
whether in the same or a different post, or where the Government
servant dies or is permitted to retire or is retired on attaining the
age of compulsory retirement while under suspension;
(d) transfer to non-qualifying service in an establishme nt under
the control of the Government if such transfer has been ordere d
by a competent authority in the public interest;
(e) joining time while on transfer from one post to another.
(2)Notwithstanding anything contained in sub-rule (1 ), the
[appointing authority] may, by order, commute retrospectively the
periods of absence without leave as extraordinary leave.
28. Condonation of interruption in service
(a) In the absence of a specific indication to the contr ary in the
service book, an interruption between two spells of civil service
rendered by a Government servant under Government including
civil service rendered and paid out of Defence Services Estimates
or Railway Estimates shall be treated as automatically condoned
and the pre-interruption service treated as qualifying service.
(b) Nothing in Clause (a) shall apply to interruption caused b y
resignation, dismissal or removal from service or for participation
in a strike.
(c) The period of interruption referred to in Clause (a) sha ll not
count as qualifying service.”
DELHI TRANSPORT CORPORATION v. BALWAN SINGH
[SANJAY KISHAN KAUL, J.]
11. The contention, thus, was that an interruption in service would
entail forfeiture of past service, unless it fell within clauses (a) to (e) of
sub-rule (1) of Rule 27 of the Pension Rules.
12. FR 17-A of the Fundamental Rules also deals with unauthorised
absence without prejudice to the provisions of Rule 27 of the Pension
Rules but none of those provisions would apply in the facts of the present
case.
13. On the other hand, learned counsel for the respondents sought
to draw our attention to the Government of India decision M.F., O.M.
No.F.11 (3)-E. V (A)/76 dated 28.2.1976, reproduced as “Government
of India’s decisions” set out just below Rule 21 of the Pension Rules,
which reads as under:
“GOVERNMENT OF INDIA’S DECISIONS
(1) Need for making proper entries for treatment of
extraordinary leave for pensionary benefits. - Under Rule
21 of the CCS (Pension) Rules, 1972, extraordinary leave granted
on medical certificate qualifies for pension. The A ppointing
Authority may, at the time of granting extraordinary leave, also
allow the period of such leave to count as qualifying for pension if
the leave is granted to a Government servant –
(i) due to his inability to join or rejoin duty on account of c ivil
commotion, or
(ii) for prosecuting higher technical and scientific studies.
Extraordinary leave taken on other grounds is treated as non-
qualifying and, therefore, a definite entry is to be made in the
service records to that effect. Entries regarding service being
qualifying or otherwise are required to be made simultaneously
with the event. Even where this is not done, it should still be possible
to rectify the omission during the period allowed for preparatory
action, i.e., from two years in advance of the retirement date up
to eight months before retirement. At the end of that period,
however (i.e., when the actual preparation of the pension papers
is taken in hand), no further enquiry into past events or check of
past records should be undertaken. Specific entries in the service
records regarding non-qualifying periods will be taken note of and
541
such periods excluded from the service. All spells of extraordinary
leave not covered by such specific entries will be deemed to be
qualifying service.”
14. Learned counsel emphasised that a definite entry is required
to be made inthe service record latest by 8 months before
retirement.Allspells of extraordinary leave not covered by such specific
entry would be deemed to be qualifying service.
15. Learned counsel also drew our attention to SR 2 00 of
theSupplementary Rules (hereinafter referred to as the ‘S R’), which
reads as under:
“S.R. 200. Every period of suspension from employment and every
other interruption of service must be noted, with full details of its
duration, in an entry made across the page of the Servic e Book
and must be attested by the Attesting Officer. It is the duty of the
Attesting Officer to see that such entries are promptly made .”
16. Learned counsel also referred to the Government of India
Order No.M.F., O.M. No.F.18 (7)-E. V (B)/65-Part-V dated 24.6.1966,
the relevant extract of which reads as under:
“Government of India’s Orders
(1) Annual verification of services. -
xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx
NOTE 2. – Questions affecting pension or the pensionable service
of a Government servant which for their decision depend on
circumstances known at the time, should be considered as soon
as they arise and should not be left over for consideration until the
Government servant retires or is about to retire. Definite decisions
should be arrived at on all such questions in consultation with the
Audit Officer and/or the Accounts Officer, as the case may be,
where necessary and recorded in the Service Book qu oting
reference to the orders of the Competent Authority.
…. …. …. …. …. ….”
(2) Need for proper maintenance of Service Book to
eliminate delay in payment of pension. –
xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx
DELHI TRANSPORT CORPORATION v. BALWAN SINGH
[SANJAY KISHAN KAUL, J.]
3. The orders of the Competent Authority regarding the counting
or otherwise of periods of extraordinary leave or periods preceding
breaks in service as qualifying for pension should be obtai ned
invariably at the same time as the occasion arises and not later.
Such orders should be noted in the Service Book. Unless otherwise
shown in the Service Book, it will be presumed that the orders of
Competent Authority have been obtained and the period s of
extraordinary leave and periods preceding break in servi ce will
count for pension.
…. …. …. …. …. ….”
17. Learned counsel, thus, emphasised the importance of every
interruption of service required to be noted with full details of its duration,
and its entry made in the service book, as also the inadvisabi lity of
consideration of question affectingpension or pensionable service being
left until the Government servant retires or is about to retire.
18. Learned counsel also contended that possibly, the respondents
may not have availed of the VRS had they been told that they would not
get the benefit of pension in view of what is stated afo resaid by the
appellant-Corporation, and to deprive them subsequently of it would be
unfair and unjust, apart from itbeing an adverse decision madewithout
notice to them.
19. We have examined the contentions of learned counsel for the
parties and the judgment in LilluRam ’s 5case and the order of reference
dated9.11.2016.
20. In our view,the only aspect which is required to be considered
is the requirement of the specific rule of the Pension Rul es, which
provides for admissibility of pension. No one, including the respondents
can be permitted to plead that they would be unaware of the Pension
Rules, which have a statutory force and whose benefit they seek to
avail. In fact, the VRS itself, more specifically clause (g), makes these
very Rules applicable. Rule 21 is quite clear in its terms, i.e., “all leave
during service for which leave salary is payable” woul d count. The
corollary is that if an employee is not paid for leave, that period has to be
excluded from the period to be counted for admissibility of pension. Rule
3(1)(q), while defining “qualifying service” provides for service rendered
5 (supra)
543
while on duty “or otherwise which shall be taken into account f or the
purpose of pensions and gratuities admissible under these rules.” Thus,
theperiod of leave for which salary is payable would be taken into account
for determining the pensionable service, while the period for which leave
salary is not payable would be excluded. The Rule is crystal clear and
does not brook any two interpretations. It is a well settle d principle of
interpretation that when the words of a statute are clear and unambiguous,
there cannot be a recourse to any principle of interpretation other than
the rule of literal construction. 6
21. The endeavour to refer to Rules 27 & 28 of the Pension Rules
is of no avail, as those are dealing with theeffect of interruption in service
which may result in forfeiture of past service. In the present case, there
has been no forfeiture of past service.
22. Insofar as the Government decision dated 28.2.1 976 is
concerned, that elucidates the requirement ofa prom pt entry into
theservice record, but thiscertainly cannot supersede the Rule. The
position would be no different for SR 200, SR 202 a nd theother
Government of India Order dated 24.6.1966. It is trite to say t hat as
perKelsen’s Hierarchy of Legal Norms, the Grundnorm , being the
Constitution of India, the applicable hierarchy would read as under:
“(1) The Constitution of India.
(2) Statutory Law, which may be either Parliamentary Law or
law made by the State Legislature.
(3) Delegated legislation which may be in the form of rul es,
regulations etc. made under the Act.
(4) Administrative instructions which may be in the form of GOs,
Circulars etc.”
23. In the given facts of the present case, we will have to take
note of an important aspect, i.e., the respondents were not governed by
these Rules, but by the Employees Contributory Provident Fund Scheme.
The Pension Scheme was sought to be introduced only couple of months
before the VRS, and that too was not implemented till 1995. Not only
that, it was not implemented through the LIC but ultimately by the
appellant-Corporation itself, much later in 1995. Thus, the occasion for
6Swedish Match AB v. Securities and Exchange Board, India AIR (2004) SC 4219
DELHI TRANSPORT CORPORATION v. BALWAN SINGH
[SANJAY KISHAN KAUL, J.]
making any entries for this leave period in the service record, in terms of
the Rules did not even arise at the stage when the VRS w as applied.
There may have been some significance to these aspects if the Pension
Rules were already applicable over a period of time and entries had not
been made, though, even there, it would not be in supersession of the
plain language of the Rule.
24. We have, thus, no hesitation in coming to the conclusion that
to avail of the benefit of Pension Rules, an employee must q ualify in
terms of the Rules. In the present case, the respondents unf ortunately
do not do so, as the period which is sought to be excluded fr om their
qualifying service is one where they have admittedly not been paid leave
salary. The qualifying period for the VRS would have to be governed by
that Scheme and cannot ipso facto be imported into the entitlement of
pension, contrary to the plain wordings of the Pension Rules. We see no
conflict in this, apart from the fact that the Pension Rule s came into
force actually much later, though the intention was announced just before
the VRS. The respondents were governed prior to that by the Employees
Contributory Provident Fund Scheme.
25. We may, however, notice here that while the result may be
the same as in LilluRam ’s 7case, our reasoning is slightly different from
that view.
26. We, thus, allow the appeal and set aside the impugned order,
leaving the parties to bear their own costs.
27. However, to avoid any grave hardship, if any payments have
been made to the respondents, especially in view of the inter im order
dated 23.7.2014, the appellant-Corporation will not claim any refund of
such amount already paid.
Divya Pandey Appeal allowed.
7 (supra)