Bharat Watch Company Through Its Partner v. National Insurance Co. Ltd. Through Its Regional Manager
DR. DHANANJAYA Y. CHANDRACHUD, J.
1. Leave granted.
2. The National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission 1 by
its judgment dated 16 April 2015 reversed the concurrent findings arrived
at by the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum, So lapur 2 and
by the Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Maharashtra 3.
3. The appellant has a showroom at Solapur in which watches
are sold. The appellant had insured its stock of watc hes with the
respondent. During the course of the night on 3 August 2001, after the
shop had closed for the day, a theft occurred in the premises. The theft
was detected at about 9 A.M. on the next day after the shop opened for
business.
4. A First Information Report was lodged with the Police and a
claim under the insurance policy was made. The surveyor submitted a
preliminary report on 4 September 2001 indicating a loss of approximately
Rs 3,86,395. The surveyor recorded that they were informed by the
partner of the firm that the theft may have taken place by utilising duplicate
keys. The surveyor, however, found empty watch stands on which the
strips of the model numbers were lying behind the counters. There was
no sign of forcible entry. This was followed by a surveyo r’s report
dated 30 November 2001.
5. After the claim was repudiated by the insurer, the appella nt
filed a consumer complaint. By an order dated 26 April 2007, the District
Forum allowed the claim in the amount of Rs. 3,04,000. The decision of
the District Forum was affirmed, in appeal, by the SCDRC on 19 April
2010.
6. The NCDRC reversed the above decisions in its revisional order
dated 16 April 2015, relying upon a decision of this Court in United
1 “NCDRC”
2 “District Forum”
3 “SCDRC”
BHARAT WATCH CO. THR. ITS PARTNER v. NICL THR. ITS
REG. MANAGER
India Insurance Co. Ltd. vs. Harchand Rai Chandan Lal 4 .
Construing the terms of the exclusion in a policy of insurance against
burglary and/or house breaking, this Court had held that where the loss
or damage was caused without forcible and violent entry to and/or exit
from the premises, the claim could not be maintained. The terms of the
policy in the above decision of this Court read as follows:
“’Burglary and/or housebreaking’ shall mean theft involving entry
to or exit from the premises stated therein by forcible and violent
means or following assault or violence or threat thereof to t he
insured or to his employees or to the members of his family.”
7. Construing the above condition, this Court held:
“15….we are of the opinion that theft should have been preceded
with force or violence as per the terms of insurance polic y. In
order to substantiate a claim an insurer has to establish that theft
or burglary took place preceding with force or violence and if it is
not, then the insurance company will be well within their right to
repudiate the claim of the insurer.”
8. In the present case, the NCDRC in the course of its deci sion
adverted to “clause 8” of the insurance policy which was in the following
terms:-
“Loss of money and / or other property abstracted from s afe
following the use of the key to said safe or any duplicate thereof
belonging to the insured unless such key has been obtained by
assault or any threat”
9. This was in any event not applicable, since the loss was n ot
from a safe.
10. Clause (a) of the policy as extracted in the above judgment
reads thus:
“Any loss of or damage to the property or any part thereof whilst
contained in the premises described in the schedule hereto due to
Burglary or Housebreaking (theft following upon an actual forcible
and violent entry to and / or exit from the premises and hold-up”
11. Since clause (a) was pari materia with the clause which was
construed by this Court in the above decision of this Court i n United
4 (2004) 8 SCC 644
305
India Insurance (supra), the NCDRC reversed the decisions of the
District Forum and the SCDRC.
12. The basic issue which has been canvassed on behalf of the
appellant before this Court is that the conditions of exclusion under the
policy document were not handed over to the appellant by the insu rer
and in the absence of the appellant being made aware of the terms of
the exclusion, it is not open to the insurer to rely upon the exclusionary
clauses. Hence, it was urged that the decision in Harchand Rai (supra)
will have no application since there was no dispute in that case that the
policy document was issued to the insured.
13. This submission is sought to be answered by the learned counsel
appearing on behalf of the insurer by adverting to the fact that the
SCDRC construed the terms of the exclusion. The SCDRC, however,
did not notice the decision of this Court, and hence, the NCDRC was (it
was urged) justified in correcting the error having regard to the law laid
down by this Court. Learned counsel urged that the appellant has been
insuring its goods for nearly ten years and it is improbable that the appellant
was not aware of the exclusion.
14. We find from the judgment of the District Forum that it was
the specific contention of the appellant that the exclusionary conditions
in the policy document had not been communicated by the insurer as a
result of which the terms and conditions of the exclusion were ne ver
communicated. The fact that there was a contract of insurance is not in
dispute and has never been in dispute. The only issue is whethe r the
exclusionary conditions were communicated to the appellant. The District
Forum came to a specific finding of fact that the insurer did not furnish
the terms and conditions of the exclusion and special conditions to the
appellant and hence, they were not binding. When the case travelled to
the SCDRC, there was a finding of fact again that the condi tions of
exclusion were not supplied to the complainant.
15. Having held this, the SCDRC also came to the conclusion that
the exclusion would in any event not be attracted. The finding of the
SCDRC in regard to the interpretation of such an exclusionary clause is
evidently contrary to the law laid down by this Court in Harchand Rai
(supra). However, the relevance of that interpretation would have arisen
provided the conditions of exclusion were provided to the insured. The
NCDRC missed the concurrent findings of both the District Forum and
BHARAT WATCH CO. THR. ITS PARTNER v. NICL THR. ITS
REG. MANAGER [DR. DHANANJAYA Y. CHANDRACHUD, J.]
the SCDRC that the terms of exclusion were not made known to the
insured. If those conditions were not made known to the insured, as is
the concurrent finding, there was no occasion for the NCDRC to render
a decision on the effect of such an exclusion.
16. In the circumstances, the NCDRC was in error in reversing
the decisions of the District Forum and the SCDRC which were grounded
on a pure finding of fact that the terms of exclusion were no t made
known to the insured.
17. We clarify that in a situation where the terms of exclusion as
noted earlier apply, the law laid down by this Court in Harchand Rai
(supra) would undoubtedly stand attracted. This case is, however,
distinguishable on facts, since the terms of exclus ion were not
communicated.
18. We accordingly, allow the appeal and set aside the impugned
judgment and order of the NCDRC. The order passed by the Distr ict
Forum shall accordingly, stand restored. There shall be no order as to
costs.
19. Pending application(s), if any, shall stand disposed of.
Kalpana K. Tripathy Appeal allowed.