Reliance Life Insurance Co Ltd & Anr. v. Rekhaben Nareshbhai Rathod
DR. DHANANJAYA Y. CHANDRACHUD, J.
1. Leave granted.
2. This appeal is from a decision of the National Co nsumer
Disputes Redressal Commission 1 dated 20 February 2015. The State
Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission 2 at Ahmedabad allowed an
appeal of the insured – respondent and sustained a claim under a policy
of life insurance. This decision has been upheld in revision by the NCDRC.
The insurer is hence in appeal.
3. On 10 July 2009, the spouse of the respondent took a policy of
life insurance from Max New York Life Insurance Co Ltd, for a sum of
Rs 11 lakhs. Barely two months thereafter, on 16 September 2009 he
submitted a proposal for a life insurance term plan policy of the appellant
for an insurance cover of Rs 10 lakhs. Among the questions tha t the
proposer was required to answer in the proposal form was whether he
was currently insured or had previously applied for life insurance cover,
critical illness cover or accident benefit cover. This query was answered
in the negative. Item 17 of the proposal form required a disclosure of:
1 “NCDRC”
2 “SCDRC”
RELIANCE LIFE INSURANCE CO. LTD. v. REKHABEN
NARESHBHAI RATHOD
“DETAILS OF LIFE INSURANCE POLICIES HELD/
PROPOSALS APPLIED WITH LIFE INSURANCE
COMPANIES (INCLUDING EXISTING POLICIES WITH
RELIANCE LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY LTD.)”
The information which was required to be furnished under the
above head included: (i) name of the life to be assured/pro poser; (ii)
name of company; (iii) contract/proposal number; (iv) basic sum assured;
(v) sum assured under rider; and (vi) year of commencemen t. The
proposer was also required to furnish details in regard to the present
status and terms of acceptance and to fill up one of the accompa nying
boxes namely: (i) declined; (ii) postponed; (iii) rated up; (iv) rejected; (v)
in force; (vi) lapsed; and (vii) applied.
4. The proposer answered the query as to whether he was
currently insured for a cover of life insurance, critical illness or accident
benefit in the negative . On the details of other insurance covers held by
him, the proposer had indicated “NA” or a “not applicable” response.
The declaration which was required to be furnished by the propos er
with the proposal form was in the following terms:
“I understand and agree that the statements in this proposal form
shall be the basis of the contract between me and Relia nce Life
Insurance Company Limited (“the Company”) and that if any
statements made by me are untrue or inaccurate or if any of the
matter material to this proposal is not disclosed by me the n the
Company may cancel the contract and all the premiums paid, will
be forfeited.”
5. On 22 September 2009, the appellant issued a policy of l ife
insurance to the spouse of the respondent based on the discl osures
contained in the proposal form. The respondent’s spouse di ed on 8
February 2010. On 24 May 2011, nearly fifteen months after the date of
death, the respondent, who was a nominee under the policy issue d by
the appellant, submitted a claim of Rs 10 lakhs under the term s of the
policy. The claim was supported by a medical certificate stating that the
policy holder had suffered from sudden chest pain prior to his death. On
7 June 2011, the appellant sought copies of medical reports including, as
the case may be, death or discharge summaries together with previous
medical records of the deceased. On 14 July 2011, in response to t he
appellant’s e-mail dated 29 June 2011, Max New York Life Insurance
743
Co Ltd informed the appellant that the spouse of the respond ent had
been insured with them for a sum of Rs 11 lakhs and that the claim had
been settled. The appellant repudiated the respondent’s clai m on 30
August 2011 stating thus:
“In the light of suppression of material fact, where glaring omission
to answer especially the question no (17) relating to details of the
life insurance policies held by the life assured, we are constrained
to repudiate the claim under the policy in terms of Section 45 of
the Insurance Act 1938.”
6. On 24 February 2012 the respondent addressed a legal notice
alleging a deficiency in service and then moved a consumer complaint
before the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum, B havnagar 3.
The appellant contested the claim.
7. On 31 August 2013, the District Forum dismissed the complaint
inter alia , on the ground that there was a non-disclosure of the fact that
the insured had held a previous policy in the proposal form filled up by
the proposer. The appeal filed by the respondents was, however, allowed
by the SCDRC on 28 November 2014 relying on a decision of the
NCDRC in Sahara India Life Insurance Company Limited v Rayani
Ramanjaneyulu 4. This decision of the SCDRC was affirmed by the
NCDRC on 6 February 2015, for the reason that the omission of the
insured to disclose a previous policy of insurance would not influence
the mind of a prudent insurer as held in Sahara India (supra).
8. On 14 May 2015, this Court while issuing a notice, stayed the
execution of the decision of the NCDRC, subject to th e appellant
depositing 50 percent of the decretal amount before the District Forum.
The respondent was permitted to withdraw the amount on deposit.
Pursuant to the interim order of 1 June 2015, the appellant handed over
a demand draft in the amount of Rs 16,18,987 drawn on the State Bank
of India to the respondent, which has been encashed.
9. Learned counsel appearing on behalf of the appellant submits
that:
(i) In spite of the specific disclosures required in item 17 of the
proposal form, the proposer suppressed the fact that he had an existing
policy of insurance. In answering the query in the negative the proposer
3 “District Forum”
4 III (2014) CPJ 582
RELIANCE LIFE INSURANCE CO. LTD. v. REKHABEN
NARESHBHAI RATHOD [DR. DHANANJAYA Y. CHANDRACHUD, J.]
submitted ex facie false information. This was in breach of the bounden
duty of the proposer to furnish full and complete details in response to
the queries contained in the proposal form;
(ii) The commencement date of the policy being 22 Septembe r
2009, the claim in the present case was repudiated within two years, on
30 August 2011, due to the non-disclosure of the previous life insurance
policy held by the proposer. If the information sought by the insurer in
the proposal form is not disclosed, is suppressed or if a false answer is
furnished by the proposer, the insurer is entitled to repudiate the insurance
policy or any claim arising from it under Sections 17 and 19 of the Contract
Act 1872 ( Mithoolal Nayak v LIC 5);
(iii) In a case covered by (ii) above, the insurer is not required to
establish that the non-disclosure, suppression or falsity of response by
the proposer is material. This is for the reason that it is for the insurer,
and not the proposer, to determine whether the information which has
specifically been sought in the proposal form is materia l or otherwise
(Satwant Kaur Sandhu v New India Assurance Co Ltd 6);
(iv) It is only when an insurer seeks to repudiate a policy of life
insurance or a claim arising under it after two years of the effective date
of the policy that by reason of Section 45 of the Insurance Act 1938, the
insurer will have to demonstrate that the information sought i n the
proposal form was material;
(v) Disclosure of a pre-existing life insurance cover of the proposer
is necessary to enable the insurer to assess the human life val ue of the
proposer before the issuance of a policy. The consequence of non-
disclosure of a pre-existing cover is that the insurer is unable to assess
the real risk. This is an important facet of financial under-writing;
(vi) Section 45 modifies the common law where a life insurance
policy is repudiated due to a misstatement or suppression of facts after
two years have expired from the date of commencement of the policy.
A repudiation within two years is not governed by S ection 45
(Sheoshankar Ratanlalji Khamele v Life Insurance Corporation
of India 7);
5 1962 Suppl (2) SCR 531
6 (2009) 8 SCC 316
7 AIR 1971 Bom 304
745
(vii) The judgment of the NCDRC is contrary to the law l aid
down by this Court in Satwant Kaur Sandhu (supra) and the earlier
decisions of the NCDRC itself ( LIC of India v Vidya Devi 8 and
Dineshbhai Chandarana v LIC 9);
(viii) In Sahara India (supra) which was relied upon by the
NCDRC, the earlier decision in Vidya Devi (supra) which in turn had
followed Chandarana (supra) was noticed but erroneously not followed.
Vidya Devi and Chandarana specifically, dealt with non-disclosure of
the previous policies by the insurer in the proposal form and upheld the
repudiation of the claim by the insurer;
(ix) In Vidya Devi , the NCDRC rejected the argument that the
suppression of a previous policy was not material since the insured was
an illiterate person had affixed a signature on blank papers; and
(x) In Condogianis v Guardian Assurance Company Ltd 10 ,
the Privy Council has held that even a partial non-disclosure or ambiguous
disclosure regarding the previous policies in the proposal form vitiates
the policy, which is thus liable to be rescinded.
On the above grounds, a challenge has been addressed to the
judgment of the NCDRC.
10. On the other hand, learned counsel appearing on behalf of the
respondent supported the decision appealed against, urging that:
(i) The insurance agent induced the insured to take a policy of life
insurance by taking his signature on a blank proposal form together with
the premium in cash. The insured was not conversant with English and
it was the duty of the insurer to translate the proposal form into Gujarati.
The proposal form was either filled in by the appellants or their agent
and the witness was unknown to the insured;
(ii) Though in the letter of repudiation dated 30 August 2011, it
was only the alleged suppression of a previous policy which was pressed
in aid, the appellants sought to support the repudiati on before the
consumer forum on the ground that there was a pre-existing uri nary
bladder ailment. The insured had suffered from the infection i n 2002,
several years before the submission of the proposal form;
8 (2012) 3 CPJ 288 (NC)
9 (2010) 3 CPJ 358 (NC)
10 AIR 1921 PC 195
RELIANCE LIFE INSURANCE CO. LTD. v. REKHABEN
NARESHBHAI RATHOD [DR. DHANANJAYA Y. CHANDRACHUD, J.]
(iii) A non-disclosure of a previous insurance policy cannot be a
valid ground for repudiation of the claim. There is no prohibition in law
from a person holding any number of life insurance policies from different
insurers. The insurer has admitted that the death of the i nsured on 8
February 2010 was due to a heart attack and hence the claim was covered
within the terms of the policy;
(iv) The non-disclosure of a previous insurance cover is n ot of
any material consequence under Section 45 of the Insurance Act 1932.
The alleged omission or commission is not of any material consequence
and would have not influenced the mind of the appellant while issuing
the policy nor would it affect the rate of premium; and
(v) A Special Leave Petition [SLP (C) No 130740 of 2014] against
the decision of the NCDRC in Sahara India (supra) has been dismissed.
On the above grounds, learned counsel appearing on behalf of the
respondent supported the view of the NCDRC.
11. While considering the rival submissions, it is necessary to
preface our analysis with reference to two basic facts. The first pertains
to the nature of the disclosure made by the insured in the proposal form.
The second relates to the ground for repudiation of the clai m. The
proposal form required a specific disclosure of the life insurance policies
held by the proposer and all proposals submitted to li fe insurance
companies, including the appellant. The proposer was called upon to
furnish a full disclosure of covers for life insurance, critic al illness or
accident benefit under which the proposer was currently insured or for
which the proposer had applied. The answer to this was giv en in the
negative. Furthermore, item 17 of the proposal form required a detailed
disclosure of the other insurance policies held by the proposer including
the sum assured. A disclosure was also required of the status of pending
proposals. These were answered with a “not applicable” r esponse,
following the statement that the proposer did not hold any other insurance
cover. The fact that two months prior to the policy which was obtained
from the appellant on 16 September 2009, the insured had obtaine d a
policy from Max New York Life Insurance Co Ltd in the amount of Rs
11 lakhs has now been admitted. There was evidently a non-disclosure
of the earlier cover for life insurance held by the insured.
The second aspect of the case which merits to be noticed is that
the repudiation of the claim on 30 August 2011 was on the ground that
747
there was a non-disclosure of a material fact on the part of the insured
in not disclosing that he held a prior insurance cover. The insurer stated
that if this was to be disclosed in the proposal form, it would have called
for and evaluated financial income documents together with the te rms
for the acceptance of the cover. Though the insurer has subs equently,
during the pendency of the proceedings made an effort to susta in its
repudiation on the ground that the insured had a pre-existing illness which
was not disclosed, it is necessary to record that this was not pressed in
aid during the hearing before this Court.
12. The repudiation in the present case was within a period of
two years from the commencement of the insurance cover. This assumes
significance because of the provisions of Section 45 of the I nsurance
Act 1932, as they stood at the material time:
“45 No policy of life insurance effected before the commencement
of this Act shall after the expiry of two years from the date of
commencement of this Act and no policy of life insurance effected
after the coming into force of this Act shall, after the e xpiry of
two years from the date on which it was effected be cal led in
question by an insurer on the ground that statement made in the
proposal or in any report of a medical officer, or referee, or friend
of the insured, or in any other document leading to the issue of the
policy, was inaccurate or false, unless the insurer shows that such
statement was on a material matter or suppressed facts whi ch it
was material to disclose and that it was fraudulently made by the
policy-holder and that the policy-holder knew at the time of making
it that the statement was false or that it suppressed facts which it
was material to disclose.
Provided that nothing in this section shall prevent the insurer from
calling for proof of age at any time if he is entitled to do so, and no
policy shall be deemed to be called in question merely bec ause
the terms of the policy are adjusted on subsequent proof that the
age of the life insured was incorrectly stated in the proposal”.
13. Section 45 stipulates restrictions upon the insurer calling into
question a policy of life insurance after the expiry of two years from the
date on which it was effected 11 . After two years have elapsed the
11 There is a similar restriction in the case of policies effected before the commencement
of the Insurance Act 1932 after the expiry of two y ears from the date of the
commencement of the Act, which is not material for the present case.
RELIANCE LIFE INSURANCE CO. LTD. v. REKHABEN
NARESHBHAI RATHOD [DR. DHANANJAYA Y. CHANDRACHUD, J.]
insurer cannot call it into question on the ground that: (i) a stat ement
made in the proposal; or (ii) a statement made in any report of a medical
officer, referee or friend of the insured; or (iii) a statement made in any
other document leading to the issuance of the policy was inaccurate or
false, unless certain conditions are fulfilled. Those conditions are that :
(a) such a statement was on a material matter; or (b) th e statement
suppressed facts which were material to disclose and that (i) they were
fraudulently made by the policy holder; and (ii) the policy holder knew at
the time of making it that the statements were false or suppressed facts
which were material to disclose. The cumulative effect of Section 45 is
to restrict the right of the insurer to repudiate a policy of life insurance
after a period of two years of the date on which the policy was effected.
Beyond two years, the burden lies on the insurer to establish the
inaccuracy or falsity of a statement on a material matter or the suppression
of material facts. Moreover, in addition to this requirement, the insurer
has to establish that this non-disclosure or, as the case ma y be, the
submission of inaccurate or false information was fraudulently made
and that the policy holder while making it knew of the fa lsity of the
statement or of the suppression of facts which were material to disclose.
14. Section 45 curtails the common law rights of the insurer after
two years have elapsed since the cover for life insurance was effected.
In the present case, the Court is called upon to determine the nature of
the authority of the insurer where a policy of life insurance o r a claim
under it is sought to be repudiated within two years. The insurer submits
that within a period of two years, its right to repudiate the respondent’s
claim is untrammelled and is not subject to the conditions which apply
beyond two years. On the other hand, the submission of the respondent
is that even within a period of two years, a non-disclosure or suppression
must be of a material fact to justify a repudiation. In other words, before
a non-disclosure can be utilized as a ground to repudiate, it must pertain
to a realm where it can be found that the non-disclosu re was of a
circumstance or fact which would have affected the decision of t he
insurer regarding whether or not to grant a cover.
15. The fundamental principle is that insurance is governed by the
doctrine of uberrima fidei . This postulates that there must be complete
good faith on the part of the insured. This principle has been formulated
in MacGillivray on Insurance Law 12 succinctly, thus:
12 Twelfth Edition, Sweet and Maxwell (2012)
749
“[Subject to certain qualifications considered below], the assured
must disclose to the insurer all facts material to a n insurer’s
appraisal of the risk which are known or deemed to be known by
the assured but neither known or deemed to be known by the
insurer. Breach of this duty by the assured entitles the insurer to
avoid the contract of insurance so long as he can show that the
non-disclosure induced the making of the contract on the relevant
terms…”
The relationship between an insurer and the insured is recognized
as one where mutual obligations of trust and good faith are paramount.
16. In Condogianis (supra), the Privy Council dealt with an appeal
by Special Leave from a judgment of the High Court of Australia. The
appellant had claimed a declaration under a policy of insurance that the
insurer was liable to pay him for a loss sustained as a consequence of a
fire. In response to the requirement of disclosing whether the proponent
had ever been a claimant of a fire insurance company in respect of the
property proposed or any other property, the insurer had disclosed one
claim which had been made in the past but omitted to disclose another, in
respect of the burning of a motor car. The terms of the de claration
were as follows:
“5. This proposal is the basis of the contract and is to be taken as
part of the policy and (if accepted) the particulars are to be deemed
express and continuing warranties furnished by or on behalf of
the proponent; and any questions remaining unanswered will be
deemed to be replied to in the negative. The proposal is ma de
subject to the Company’s conditions as printed any/or written in
the policy to be issued hereon, and which are hereby accepted by
the proponent.”
Lord Justice Shaw, speaking for the Privy Council held:
“6. The case accordingly is one of express warranty: If in point of
fact the answer is untrue, the warranty still holds, notwithstanding
that the untruth might have arisen inadvertently and without any
kind of fraud. Secondly, the materiality of the untruth is not in
issue; the parties having settled for themselves—by mak ing the
fact the basis of the contract, and giving a warranty—that a s
between them their agreement on that subject precluded all inquiry
into the issue of materiality. In the language of Lord Eldon
RELIANCE LIFE INSURANCE CO. LTD. v. REKHABEN
NARESHBHAI RATHOD [DR. DHANANJAYA Y. CHANDRACHUD, J.]
in Newcastle Fire Insurance Co. v. Macmorran [(1815) 3 Dow.
255.] .
“It is a first principle in the law of insurance, on all occasions, that
where a representation is material it must be complied wi th—if
immaterial, that immateriality may be inquired into and show n;
but that if there is a warranty it is part of the contr act that the
matter is such as it is represented to be. Therefore the materiality
or immateriality signifies nothing.””
17. This principle was followed by the Bombay High Court in
Lakshmishankar v Gresham Life Assurance Society 13 where it was
held:
“… where the representations, statement and agreements made
by an assured in his application for a policy of life assurance are
made a basic condition of the contract by the policy o f life
assurance, the truth of the statements contained in the prop osal
are, apart from the question of their materiality, the condition of
the liability of the assurance company. It would therefore follow
that the defendant company was entitled to repudiate its liability
on account of the untrue statement contained in the proposal form
and in the examination by the medical examiner...”
18. In Sheoshankar (supra), a Division Bench of the Bombay
High Court noted:
“The law with respect to insurance previously was that any mis-
statement on the part of the assured while making the proposal or
at any stage thereafter avoided the contract of policy a nd the
insurer was not liable for the claim on such policy .
In Condogianis v. G. Assurance Co., Ltd. [[1921] A.I.R. P.C.
195.], their Lordships pointed out that if in point of fact the answer
is untrue, the warranty still holds, notwithstanding that the untruth
might have arisen inadvertently and without any kind of fraud.
Secondly, the materiality of the untruth is not in issue; the parties
having settled for themselves—by making the fact the basis of
contract and giving warranty—that as between them t heir
agreement on that subject precluded all inquiry into the issue of
materiality…”
13 AIR 1932 Bom 582. Also see Great Eastern Life Assurance Company Limited v Bai
Hira - 1930 ILR Vol.LV 124
751
The High Court observed that the law of insurance had, however,
undergone a material change by the enactment of Section 45 of the
Insurance Act 1938. Explaining the provisions of Section 45 the High
Court held:
“… The section is divided into two parts. Under the first part, if
the insurer calls in question the policy within a period of two years
from the date on which it was effected, then the insurer company
has only to show that a statement made in the proposal for insurance,
or in any report of a medical officer, or referee, or friend of the
insured, or in any other document, leading to the issue of the policy
was inaccurate or false. Even an incorrect statement which may
not be on a material fact and suppression of fact which may n ot
be on a material point, would be enough for the insurer company
to avoid the contract of policy under this part. Under the second
part, where a period of two years expired after the date of policy
was effected without any challenge to it by the insurer, the insurer
could call it in question only on showing that such statement by
the insured was on a material matter or suppressed facts which it
was material to disclose and that it was fraudulently made by the
policy holder and that the policy-holder knew at the time of making
it that the statement was false or that it suppressed facts which it
was material to disclose. The question as to the date on which the
policy could be said to be effected and the date on which t he
proposal can be said to have been accepted assumes importance
in this case as on the determination of this question will depend
whether the repudiation by the insurer has been within two years
or after a period of two years from the date on which the policy
was effected.”
19. In Mithoolal (supra), a Bench of three learned Judges of this
Court dealt with a case where a policy had been issued on 13 Ma rch
1945. The policy came into effect from 15 January 1945. The amount
insured was payable after 15 January 1968 or at the death of the insured,
if earlier. The insurer repudiated its claim on 10 October 1947. Hence
the provisions of Section 45 were applicable. The three Judge Bench
rejected the submission that a period of two years had not expired from
the date of the revival of the policy, holding that from Section 45 it was
evident that the period of two years can only mean the date on which
the policy was effected. From that date a period of two years had clearly
RELIANCE LIFE INSURANCE CO. LTD. v. REKHABEN
NARESHBHAI RATHOD [DR. DHANANJAYA Y. CHANDRACHUD, J.]
elapsed when the insurer repudiated the claim. The significance of the
decision in Mithoolal (supra) for this case lies in the fact that the Court
specifically kept open the issue about what would govern a case where
Section 45 did not apply:
“… As we think that Section 45 of the Insurance Act applie d in
the present case, we are relieved of the task of examining t he
legal position that would follow as a result of inaccurate statements
made by the insured in the proposal form or the personal statement
etc. in a case where Section 45 does not apply and where the
averments made in the proposal form and in the proposal statement
are made the basis of the contract.”
Mithoolal (supra) was a case involving a repudiation beyond two
years, where Section 45 was applicable. The present case involves a
repudiation within two years. The question which was left open in
Mithoolal has squarely arisen.
20. In Life Insurance Corporation of India v Smt GM
Channabasamma 14 , a two Judge Bench of this Court held:
“7. … It is well settled that a contract of insuran ce is
contract uberrima fides and there must be complete good faith
on the part of the assured. The assured is thus under a solemn
obligation to make full disclosure of material facts which may be
relevant for the insurer to take into account while deciding whether
the proposal should be accepted or not. While making a disclosure
of the relevant facts, the duty of the insured to state them correctly
cannot be diluted. Section 45 of the Act has made special provisions
for a life insurance policy if it is called in question by the insurer
after the expiry of two years from the date on which i t was
effected. Having regard to the facts of the present case, learned
counsel for the parties have rightly stated that this distin ction is
not material in the present appeal. If the allegations of fact made
on behalf of the appellant Company are found to be correct, all
the three conditions mentioned in the section and discu ssed
in Mithoolal Nayak v. Life Insurance Corporation of
India [1962 Supp 2 SCR 571 : AIR 1962 SC 814 : (1962) 32
Comp Cas 177] must be held to have been satisfied...”
14 (1991) 1 SCC 357
753
21. The decision of this Court in Life Insurance Corpn of India
v Asha Goel (Smt) 15 considered a situation in which a claim under a
life insurance policy was repudiated on the ground that the in sured
suppressed facts pertaining to the condition of health. The Single Judge
of the High Court held that a writ petition under Article 226 could be
maintained against the Life Insurance Corporation and that the insurer
had failed to discharge its burden under Section 45 of the Insurance Act
1932. A Division Bench of the High Court held in appeal that there was
some substance in the complaint that the insurer ought t o have been
given an opportunity to lead evidence to discharge the onus of justifying
the rejection. The matter was accordingly remanded. The insurer then
moved to this Court challenging the maintainability of a writ petition
under Article 226 of the Constitution before the High Court. This Court
held that where a dispute in regard to a repudiation of a claim raises a
serious matter requiring oral and documentary evidence, the appropriate
remedy would be a civil suit and not a writ petition. After elaborating
the requirements of Section 45, this Court held:
“12. ... The contracts of insurance including the contract of li fe
assurance are contracts uberrima fides and every fact of material
(sic material fact) must be disclosed, otherwise, there is good
ground for rescission of the contract. The duty to disclose material
facts continues right up to the conclusion of the contract and also
implies any material alteration in the character of the risk which
may take place between the proposal and its acceptance. If there
are any misstatements or suppression of material facts, the policy
can be called into question. For determination of the question
whether there has been suppression of any material facts it may
be necessary to also examine whether the suppression relates to
a fact which is in the exclusive knowledge of the person intending
to take the policy and it could not be ascertained by reas onable
enquiry by a prudent person.”
22. In Satwant Kaur (supra) this Court considered a case which
arose from a decision of the NCDRC. The insurer had rep udiated a
claim under a health insurance policy on the ground that the policy holder
was suffering from chronic diabetes and renal failure. This, according
to the insurer, was a material fact a non-disclosure of which in the
proposal form justified repudiation of the claim. Section 45, which applies
15 (2001) 2 SCC 160
RELIANCE LIFE INSURANCE CO. LTD. v. REKHABEN
NARESHBHAI RATHOD [DR. DHANANJAYA Y. CHANDRACHUD, J.]
to policies of life insurance, was not applicable since the case related to
a mediclaim policy. Justice DK Jain, speaking for the Bench of two
learned Judges, held:
“18. A mediclaim policy is a non-life insurance policy meant to
assure the policy-holder in respect of certain expenses pertaining
to injury, accidents or hospitalisations. Nonetheless, it is a contract
of insurance falling in the category of contract uberrima fidei ,
meaning a contract of utmost good faith on the part of the assured.
Thus, it needs little emphasis that when an information on a specific
aspect is asked for in the proposal form, an assured is under a
solemn obligation to make a true and full disclosure of the
information on the subject which is within his knowledge. It is
not for the proposer to determine whether the informati on
sought for is material for the purpose of the policy or n ot.
Of course, the obligation to disclose extends only to fac ts
which are known to the applicant and not to what he ought
to have known. The obligation to disclose necessari ly
depends upon the knowledge one possesses. His opini on
of the materiality of that knowledge is of no momen t.
(See Joel v. Law Union & Crown Insurance Co. [(1908) 2 KB
863 (CA)] )”
(Emphasis supplied)
In taking this view, the Court relied upon the earlier decisions in
United India Insurance Co Ltd v MKJ Corporation 16 and Modern
Insulators Ltd v Oriental Insurance Co Ltd 17 . Adverting to the
expression “material fact” this Court explained it as:
“22. … any fact which would influence the judgment of a prudent
insurer in fixing the premium or determining whether he wou ld
like to accept the risk. Any fact which goes to the root of the
contract of insurance and has a bearing on the risk involved would
be “material”.
In a situation which was not governed by Section 45, this Court
applied the fundamental tenet of insurance law namely, utmost good
faith.
16 (1996) 6 SCC 428
17 (2000) 2 SCC 734
755
23. The Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority of India,
by a notification dated 16 October 2002 issued the Insurance Regulatory
and Development Authority (Protection of Policyholders’ Interests)
Regulations 2002. The expression “proposal form” i s defined in
Regulation 2(d) thus:
“2(d) ”Proposal form” means a form to be filled in by the proposer
for insurance, for furnishing all material information required by
the insurer in respect of a risk, in order to enable the ins urer to
decide whether to accept or decline, to undertake the risk, and in
the event of acceptance of the risk, to determine the rates, terms
and conditions of a cover to be granted.
Explanation: “Material” for the purpose of these regulations shall
mean and include all important, essential and relevant information
in the context of underwriting the risk to be covered by the insurer.”
Regulation 4, deals with proposals for insurance and is in the
following terms:
“4. Proposal for insurance
(1) Except in cases of a marine insurance cover, where current
market practices do not insist on a written proposal form, i n all
cases, a proposal for grant of a cover, either for life b usiness or
for general business, must be evidenced by a written document.
It is the duty of an insurer to furnish to the insured free of charge,
within 30 days of the acceptance of a proposal, a copy of t he
proposal form.
(2) Forms and documents used in the grant of cover may, depending
upon the circumstances of each case, be made availa ble in
languages recognised under the Constitution of India.
(3) In filling the form of proposal, the prospect is to be guided by
the provisions of Section 45 of the Act. Any proposal form seeking
information for grant of life cover may prominently state therein
the requirements of Section 45 of the Act.
(4) Where a proposal form is not used, the insurer shall record the
information obtained orally or in writing, and confirm it within a
period of 15 days thereof with the proposer and incorporate the
RELIANCE LIFE INSURANCE CO. LTD. v. REKHABEN
NARESHBHAI RATHOD [DR. DHANANJAYA Y. CHANDRACHUD, J.]
information in its cover note or policy. The onus of proof shall rest
with the insurer in respect of any information not so recorded,
where the insurer claims that the proposer suppressed any material
information or provided misleading or false information on any
matter material to the grant of a cover.”
24. Regulation 2(d) specifically defines the expression “proposal
form” as a form which is filled by a proposer for insurance to furnish all
material information required by the insurer in respect of a risk. The
purpose of the disclosure is to enable the insurer to deci de whether to
accept or decline to undertake a risk. The disclosures are also intended
to enable the insurer, in the event that the risk is accepted, to determine
the rates, terms and conditions on which a cover is to be gr anted. The
explanation defines the expression “material” to mean and include “all
important essential and relevant information” for underwriting the risk
to be covered by the insurer. Regulation 4(3) stipulates that while filling
up the proposal, the proposer is to be guided by the provisions of Section
45. Where a proposal form is not used, the insurer under Reg ulation
4(4) is to record the information, confirming it within a stipulated period
with the proposer and ought to incorporate the information in the cover
note or policy. In respect of information which is not so recorded, the
onus of proof lies on the insurer who claims that there was a suppression
of material information or that the insured provided misleading or false
information on any matter that was material to the grant of the cover.
25. The expression “material” in the context of an insurance policy
can be defined as any contingency or event that may have a n impact
upon the risk appetite or willingness of the insurer to provide insurance
cover. In MacGillivray on Insurance Law 18 it is observed thus:
“The opinion of the particular assured as to the materiality of a
fact will not as a rule be considered, because it follows from the
accepted test of materiality that the question is whether a prudent
insurer would have considered that any particular circumstance
was a material fact and not whether the assured believed it so ...”
Materiality from the insured’s perspective is a relevant factor in
determining whether the insurance company should be able to cancel
the policy arising out of the fault of the insured. Whether a question
18 Twelfth Edition, Sweet and Maxwell (2012). See Pg. 493 for cases relied upon.
757
concealed is or is it not material is a question of fact. As this Court held
in Satwant Kaur (supra):
“Any fact which goes to the root of the contract of insurance and
has a bearing on the risk involved would be “material”.”
Materiality of a fact also depends on the surrounding circumstances
and the nature of information sought by the insurer. It covers a failure to
disclose vital information which the insurer requires in order to determine
firstly, whether or not to assume the risk of insurance, and secondly, if it
does accept the risk, upon what terms it should do so. The insurer is
better equipped to determine the limits of risk-taking as it deals with the
exercise of assessments on a day-to-day basis. In a contract of insurance,
any fact which would influence the mind of a prudent insurer in deciding
whether to accept or not accept the risk is a material fact. If the proposer
has knowledge of such fact, she or he is obliged to disclose it particularly
while answering questions in the proposal form. An inaccurate answer
will entitle the insurer to repudiate because there is a presumption that
information sought in the proposal form is material for the purpose of
entering into a contract of insurance.
26. Contracts of insurance are governed by the principle of utmost
good faith. The duty of mutual fair dealing requires all parties to a contract
to be fair and open with each other to create and maintain trust between
them. In a contract of insurance, the insured can be expect ed to have
information of which she/he has knowledge. This justifies a duty of good
faith, leading to a positive duty of disclosure. The duty of disclosure in
insurance contracts was established in a King’s Bench decision in Carter
v Boehm 19 , where Lord Mansfield held thus:
“Insurance is a contract upon speculation. The special facts, upon
which the contingent chance is to be computed, lie most commonly
in the knowledge of the insured only; the under-writer trusts to his
representation, and proceeds upon confidence that he does not
keep back any circumstance in his knowledge, to mislead the under-
writer into a belief that the circumstance does not exist, and to
induce him to estimate the risque, as if it did not exist.”
It is standard practice for the insurer to set out in the application a
series of specific questions regarding the applicant’s health history and
19 (1766) 3 Burr 1905
RELIANCE LIFE INSURANCE CO. LTD. v. REKHABEN
NARESHBHAI RATHOD [DR. DHANANJAYA Y. CHANDRACHUD, J.]
other matters relevant to insurability. The object of the proposal form is
to gather information about a potential client, allowing the insurer to get
all information which is material to the insurer to know in order to assess
the risk and fix the premium for each potential client. Pr oposal forms
are a significant part of the disclosure procedure and warrant accuracy
of statements. Utmost care must be exercised in filling the proposal
form. In a proposal form the applicant declares that she/ he warrants
truth. The contractual duty so imposed is such that any suppressi on,
untruth or inaccuracy in the statement in the proposal for m will be
considered as a breach of the duty of good faith and will render the
policy voidable by the insurer. The system of adequate disclosure helps
buyers and sellers of insurance policies to meet at a common point and
narrow down the gap of information asymmetries. This allows the parties
to serve their interests better and understand the true ex tent of the
contractual agreement.
The finding of a material misrepresentation or concealment i n
insurance has a significant effect upon both the insured and the insurer
in the event of a dispute. The fact it would influence the decis ion of a
prudent insurer in deciding as to whether or not to accept a risk is a
material fact. As this Court held in Satwant Kaur (supra) “there is a
clear presumption that any information sought for in the proposal form is
material for the purpose of entering into a contract of insurance”. Each
representation or statement may be material to the risk. The i nsurance
company may still offer insurance protection on altered terms.
27. In the present case, the insurer had sought information with
respect to previous insurance policies obtained by the assured. The duty
of full disclosure required that no information of substance or of interest
to the insurer be omitted or concealed. Whether or not the insurer would
have issued a life insurance cover despite the earlier cover of insurance
is a decision which was required to be taken by the insurer after duly
considering all relevant facts and circumstances. The disclosure of the
earlier cover was material to an assessment of the risk which was being
undertaken by the insurer. Prior to undertaking the risk, this information
could potentially allow the insurer to question as to why the insured had
in such a short span of time obtained two different life insurance policies.
Such a fact is sufficient to put the insurer to enquiry.
759
28. Learned counsel appearing on behalf of the insurer submitted
that where a warranty has been furnished by the proposer in terms of a
declaration in the proposal form, the requirement of the information being
material should not be insisted upon and the insurer would be at liberty to
avoid its liability irrespective of whether the information which is sought
is material or otherwise. For the purposes of the present case, it is
sufficient for this Court to hold in the present facts that the information
which was sought by the insurer was indeed material to its decision as to
whether or not to undertake a risk. The proposer was aware of the fact,
while making a declaration, that if any statements w ere untrue or
inaccurate or if any matter material to the proposal wa s not disclosed,
the insurer may cancel the contract and forfeit the premium.
MacGillivray on Insurance Law 20 formulates the principle thus:
“… In more recent cases it has been held that all-important element
in such a declaration is the phrase which makes the decla ration
the “basis of contract”. These words alone show that the proposer
is warranting the truth of his statements, so that in the event of a
breach this warranty, the insurer can repudiate the liability on the
policy irrespective of issues of materiality”
29. We are not impressed with the submission that the proposer
was unaware of the contents of the form that he was required to fill up
or that in assigning such a response to a third party, he was absolved of
the consequence of appending his signatures to the proposal. The proposer
duly appended his signature to the proposal form and the grant of the
insurance cover was on the basis of the statements contained i n the
proposal form. Barely two months before the contract of insurance was
entered into with the appellant, the insured had obtained another insurance
cover for his life in the sum of Rs 11 lakhs. We are of the view that the
failure of the insured to disclose the policy of insurance obtained earlier
in the proposal form entitled the insurer to repudiate the claim under the
policy.
30. We may note at this stage, that the view which was taken by
the NCDRC in the present case was contrary to its earl ier decision in
Vidya Devi (supra). In that case, the NCDRC upheld the repudiation of
an insurance claim under a life insurance cover by the LIC on the ground
of a non-disclosure of previous insurance policies. In taking this view,
20 Twelfth Edition, Sweet and Maxwell (2012). See Pg. 257 for cases relied upon.
RELIANCE LIFE INSURANCE CO. LTD. v. REKHABEN
NARESHBHAI RATHOD [DR. DHANANJAYA Y. CHANDRACHUD, J.]
the NCDRC relied on its earlier decision in Chandarana (supra).
Subsequently in Sahara India (supra), the NCDRC took a contrary
view. Having noticed its earlier decisions, the NCDRC did not even
attempt to distinguish them. Indeed, the earlier decisions were binding
on the NCDRC. This line of approach on the part of the NCDRC must
be disapproved.
31. Finally, the argument of the respondent that the signatures of
the assured on the form were taken without explaining the details cannot
be accepted. A similar argument was correctly rejected in a decision of
a Division Bench of the Mysore High Court in VK Srinivasa Setty v
Messers Premier Life and General Insurance Co Ltd 21 where it
was held:
“ Now it is clear that a person who affixes his signature to a
proposal which contains a statement which is not true, cannot
ordinarily escape from the consequence arising therefrom b y
pleading that he chose to sign the proposal containing such
statement without either reading or understanding it. Tha t is
because, in filling up the proposal form, the agent normally, ceases
to act as agent of the insurer but becomes the agent of the insured
and no agent can be assumed to have authority from the insurer
to write the answers in the proposal form.
If an agent nevertheless does that, he becomes mere ly the
amanuensis of the insured, and his knowledge of the untruth or
inaccuracy of any statement contained in the form of proposal
does not become the knowledge of the insurer. Further, apart from
any question of imputed knowledge, the insured by signing that
proposal adopts those answers and makes them his own and that
would clearly be so, whether the insured signed the proposal
without reading or understanding it, it being irrelevant to consider
how the inaccuracy arose if he has contracted, as the plaintiff has
done in this case that his written answers shall be accurat e.”
32. For the reasons which we have adduced, we are of the view
that the SCDRC was in error in reversing the judgment of the D istrict
Forum. The NCDRC has similarly erred in affirming the vie w of the
SCDRC. We, accordingly, allow the appeal and set aside the impugned
21 AIR 1958 Mys 53
761
judgment and order of the NCDRC dated 20 February 2015 . The
consumer complaint filed by the respondent shall stand dismissed.
33. By the interim order of this Court dated 14 May 2015, the
respondent was permitted to withdraw 50 per cent of the decretal amount,
unconditionally. Since the respondent has done so, we are of the view
that the ends of justice would require a direction by this Court under
Article 142 of the Constitution that the amount which has been withdrawn
by the respondent shall not be recovered. We order accordingly. Subject
to the aforesaid direction, the appeal shall stand allowed. There will be
no order as to costs.
Devika Gujral Appeal allowed.
RELIANCE LIFE INSURANCE CO. LTD. v. REKHABEN
NARESHBHAI RATHOD [DR. DHANANJAYA Y. CHANDRACHUD, J.]