K Sivaraman & Ors. v. P Sathishkumar & Anr.
DR. DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.
1. This appeal arises from a judgment of a Division Bench of the
Madurai Bench of the Madras High Court dated 1 June 2017. In an
appeal arising from a decision of the Deputy Commis sioner for
Employee’s Compensation, the High Court enhanced the compensation
payable under the Employee’s Compensation Act 1923 1 from
Rs. 4,33,060 to Rs. 8,86,120. The High Court has awarded interest at
the rate of 12% per annum from the date of the accident.
2. In the present proceedings which have been instituted und er
Article 136 of the Constitution, notice was issued on 26 July 2019. Since
the appellants were represented by the first appellant in person, this
Court, by its order dated 26 July 2019, directed that an amicus curiae
be nominated by the Supreme Court Legal Services Com mittee.
Accordingly, Mr. S Mahendran, learned counsel, has been nominated as
the amicus curiae , whom we have heard in support of the appeal.
3. The appellants are the father, mother, sister and brother of
Dinesh Kumar, who died in the course of an accident on 31 January
2008. On the date of the incident, the deceased was 26 years of age and
was engaged as a driver of a trailor lorry. While the vehicle was being
driven on NH 12 in Kota, Rajasthan, a truck bearing registrat ion No.
MH 19 Z 1696 came from the opposite direction and dashed against the
trailor, resulting in the death of Dinesh Kumar. At the time of the accident,
the deceased was in the employment of the first respondent. A claim
under the 1923 Act was lodged before the Deputy Commissioner for
Employee’s Compensation, Madurai on 29 April 2013. On 26 Marc h
2014, the claim was allowed by an award in the amount of Rs. 4,33,060.
K SIVARAMAN & ORS. v. P SATHISHKUMAR & ANR.
1 ‘‘1923 Act’’
The Deputy Commissioner had proceeded ex parte . The appellants filed
an appeal 2 before the Madras High Courtfor enhancement of the
compensation.
4. The High Court, by its judgment dated 23 November 2015,
remanded the proceedings to the Deputy Commissioner for determination
afresh. While remanding the proceedings, the High Court noted th at
though the appellants had filed a salary certificate as Exhibit P5 to establish
that the monthly income of the deceased was Rs. 32,000, no witnes s
was examined on behalf of the employer to prove the salary certificate.
However, acceding to the request of the appellants that they should be
furnished with an opportunity to examine the employer’s wit ness in
support of Exhibit P5, the High Court considered it in the interes ts of
justice to remand the proceedings.
5. On remand, the Commissioner for Workmen’s Compensation,
Madurai, by an order dated 4 March 2016, maintained the award of
compensation in the amount of Rs. 4,33,060. Before the Commissioner,
on remand, the appellants examined PW2, the owner of the vehicle which
was being driven by the deceased. During the course of his evidence, he
stated as follows:
“I am the 1 st respondent in this case under W.C. Case
No.74/2011 is under tail in this court is known to me. I
received summons 3 times from the court. For the last two
summons, as my own lorries were working in the othe r
states and I also have to go there, I was unable to come
and adduce witness for the court summon. The accident
platform trailor lorry TN 28 AB 1933 belongs to Sathi sh
kumar. The deceased Dinesh Kumar S/o Sivaraman worked
as a driver. In 2008, (31.1.2008) when going to Pandicheri
to Rajasthan Sironi before Kotta town the opposite comin g
tarras lorry dashed face to face and caused accident. As
soon as the accident occurred in the same occurrence plac e
Dinesh Kumar died. Before accident he worked for about
3 years. He was having proper driving license. He w as
having license for driving heavy vehicles. The Ex.P .5
monthly pay certificate was issued by me. In it, for deceased
Dinesh Kumar I was paying Rs. 32,000 per month (including
food expenses) but pay of Rs. 25,000. The vehicle involved
in the accident has been properly insured with
2 CMA (MD) 344 of 2014
485
2nd respondent company of M/s Reliance General Insurance
Company. At the time of accident, the insurance was in
current.”
6. The Commissioner, however, proceeded on the basis that in
terms of the notification issued under Section 4(1B) of the 1923 Ac t,
whatever be the monthly pay received by a person, the juris diction of
the adjudicating authority was subject to a ceiling of Rs. 4,000 per month
in computing the monthly wages of the employee. Taking the monthly
salary at Rs. 4,000, the Commissioner applied a multiplicand of 215.28 in
terms of Schedule IV (the deceased being 26 years of age) and arrived
at a figure of Rs. 4,30,560 to which an additional amount of Rs 2,500
was added towards funeral expenses. A total award in the a mount of
Rs. 4,33,060 was decreed as the compensation payable to the appellants.
7. In an appeal filed before the High Court, the Division Benc h
took note of the fact that in pursuance of the order of remand, the salary
of deceased employee had been proved to be Rs. 32,000 per month.
The High Court noticed that though the accident had taken place on 31
January 2008, the petition for compensation had been lodged on 28
January 2011 and was decided by the Commissioner on 4 March 2016.
8. In the meantime, a notification was issued by the Central
Government on 31 May 2010 in the following terms:
“S.O.1258(E) – In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section
(1B) of Section 4 of the Employee’s Compensation Act, 1923, (g
of 1923), the Central Government hereby specified, for the purpose
of Sub-Section (1) of the said section, the following amount as
monthly wages, with effect from the date of publication of this
notification in the official gazette, namely – Eight thousand rupees.”
9. The High Court was of the view that having due regard to the
fact that the legislation in question is a social welfare legislation, the
enhanced income of Rs 8,000 per month should form the basis of the
computation. Thus, applying the multiplicand in terms of Schedule IV,
the High Court enhanced the compensation to Rs. 8,86,120.
10. In appeal before this Court, the learned amicus curiae urged
that both the Commissioner and the High Court have erred - the
Commissioner having adopted a figure of Rs. 4,000 per month and the
High Court, Rs. 8,000 per month. The learned amicus curiae submitted
that in terms of the provisions of Section 4(1)(a) of the 1923 Act, where
K SIVARAMAN & ORS v. P SATHISHKUMAR & ANR
[DR. DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.]
death has resulted from injury, the compensation payable is an amount
equal to fifty per cent of the monthly wages of the deceased employee
multiplied by the relevant factor. The relevant factor i s specified in
Schedule IV and for the deceased who was 26 years old on the date of
the accident, the multiplicand would be 215.28. The learned amicus
curiae submitted that under sub-section (1B) of Section 4, the Central
Government is empowered to issue a notification specif ying, for the
purposes of sub-section (1), the monthly wages in relation to an employee
as it may consider necessary. However, it was submit ted that the
notification does not impose a cap or ceiling on the monthly wages which
form the basis of calculating the compensation due and payable. Where
the actual wages of an employee are proved to be in exces s of the
amount which is specified in the notification, there is no bar in adopting
the monthly wages so proved in terms of Section 4(1)(a). The learned
counsel buttressed this submission by adverting to Act 45 of 2009, which
took effect from 18 January 2010 and deleted the deeming provision in
Explanation II to Section 4 3. Moreover, it was urged by the learned
amicus curiae that the method of calculating wages is specified in Section
5. It was urged that clause (a) of Section 5 will be attrac ted to the
present case where the employee was, during a continuous period of not
less than twelve months immediately preceding the accident, in the service
of the employer.
11. The learned amicus curiae , at a belated stage, sought to
distinguish the judgments of this Court in Pratap Narain Singh Deo v
Srinivas Sabata 4(“ Pratap Narain Singh ”)and Kerala State Electricity
Board v Valsala K 5(“ Valsala ”)in which it was held that the date relevant
for the determination of compensation payable under the 1923 Act is the
date of the accident and that the benefit of an amendment enhancing the
amount of compensation shall not apply to accidents that take pl ace
prior to its coming into force. To support this, the amicus curiae relied
on the judgments of this Court in New India Assurance Company
3 “Explanation II – Where the monthly wages of a wor kman exceed four thousand
rupees, his monthly wages for the purposes of clause(a) and clause(b) shall be deemed
to be four thousand rupees only.”
4 (1976) 1 SCC 289
5 (1999) 8 SCC 254
487
Ltd . v Neelakandan (“ Neelakandan ”),6 and National Insurance Co
Ltd . v Mubasir Ahmed 7(“ Mubasir Ahmed ”).
12. Section 4(1)(a) of the Act contains the following provision:
“4. Amount of compensation.—(1) Subject to the provisions of
this Act, the amount of compensation shall be as follows, namely:—
(a) where death results an amount equal to fifty per cent of the
from the injury monthly wages of the deceased
employee multiplied by the relevant
factor;
or
an amount of one lakh and twenty
thousand rupees, whichever is more;”
13. The proviso to the above provision stipulates that the Central
Government may, by notification in the Official Gazette, from time to
time, enhance the amount of compensation mentioned in clauses (a) and
(b). Clause (b) deals with a case involving permanent total disablement
resulting from the injury. The expression “relevant factor” is defined in
Explanation I to be the factor specified in Schedule IV. Prior to Act 45
of 2009, Section 4 contained Explanation II, which was in the following
terms:
“Explanation II – Where the monthly wages of a workman exceed
four thousand rupees, his monthly wages for the purposes of
clause(a) and clause(b) shall be deemed to be four thousand rupees
only.”
14. By Act 45 of 2009, which came into force on 18 January
2010, Explanation II came to be deleted. Sub-section (1B) was introduced
in Section 4 to read as follows:
“(1-B) The Central Government may, by notification in the Official
Gazette, specify, for the purposes of sub-section (1), such monthly
wages in relation to an employee as it may consider necessary.”
15. The question before this Court is whether the benefit of Act
45 of 2009 deleting the deeming provision in Explanation II which capped
6 Civil Appeal Nos. 16904-09 of 1996
7 (2007) 2 SCC 349
K SIVARAMAN & ORS v. P SATHISHKUMAR & ANR
[DR. DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.]
the monthly wages of an employee at Rs 4,000 would also appl y to
accidents which took place prior to the coming into force of its provisions
i.e. 18 January 2010 and where final adjudication is pending. In assessing
whether the Act 45 of 2009 applies retrospectively, it is n ecessary to
analyze the relevant precedents of this Court. In Pratap Narain Singh ,
the first respondent was in the employment of the appellant and suffered
injuries which arose out of and in the course of employment. It wa s
contended that the Commissioner committed an error of law in imposing
a penalty on the appellant under Section 4A(3) of the 1923 Act as t he
compensation payable had not fallen due until it was ‘s ettled’ by the
Commissioner under Section 19 of the 1923 Act. Section 4A reads:
“4A. Compensation to be paid when due and penalty for default.-
(1) Compensation under section 4 shall be paid as soon as it falls
due.
(2) In cases where the employer does not accept the liability for
compensation to the extent claimed, he shall be bound to make
provisional payment based on the extent of liability which he
accepts, and, such payment shall be deposited with the
Commissioner or made to the employee, as the case may be,
without prejudice to the right of the employee to make any
further claim.
(3) Where any employer is in default in paying the compensation
due under the Act within one month from the date it fell due,
the Commissioner shall –
(a) Direct that the employer shall, in addition to the amount of
the arrears, pay simple interest thereon at the rate of
twelve percent per annum or at such higher rate not
exceeding the maximum of the lending rates of any
scheduled bank as may be specified by the Central
Government, by notification in the Official Gazette, on the
amount due; and
(b) If, in his opinion, there is no justification for the delay,
direct that the employer shall, in addition to the amount of
arrears and interest thereon, pay a further sum not
exceeding fifty per cent of such amount by way of
penalty…”
489
16. In terms of Section 4A(1), compensation under Section 4 is
payable “as soon as it falls due.” Section 4A(2) contemplates a situation
wherein the employer, though accepting the liability to pay compensation
to the injured employee, disputes the quantum of compensation payable.
In such cases, sub-section (2) enjoins the employer to make a provisional
payment based on the extent of accepted liability by depositing it with
the Commissioner or by paying it directly to the employee. Section 4A(3)
stipulates that where an employer defaults in paying compensation within
one month from the date on which it falls due, the Commiss ioner is
empowered to direct the payment of interest as well as an additional
amount as arrears for an unjustifiable delay in making payment. Section
19 of the Act reads:
“19. Reference to Commissioners.- (1) If any question arises in
any proceedings under this Act as to the liability of any person to
pay compensation (including any question as to whether a person
injured is or is not an employee or as to the amount or duration of
compensation (including any question as to the nature or extent of
disablement), the question shall, in default of agreement be settled
by a Commissioner…”
17. Section 19 stipulates that any question arising in any proceeding
under the Act shall, in the default of an agreement, be set tled by the
Commissioner. A four judge Bench of this Court rejected the contention
urged by the appellant and held that compensation “falls d ue” on the
date of the accident. Consequently, the Commissioner was empowered
to impose interest or penalty for the duration prior to the settling of the
claim or where there was unjustified delay in making good the payment
of compensation. The Court held:
“18…The employer therefore became liable to pay the
compensation as soon as the aforesaid personal injury was caused
to the workman by the accident which admittedly arose out of
and in the course of the employment. It is therefore fut ile to
contend that the compensation did not fall due with after the
Commissioner’s order dated May 6, 1969 under section 19. What
the section provides is that if any question arises in any proceeding
under the Act as to the liability of any person to pay compensation
or as to the amount or duration of the compensation it shall, in
default of an agreement, be settled by the Commissioner. There
is therefore nothing to justify the argument that the employ er’s
K SIVARAMAN & ORS v. P SATHISHKUMAR & ANR
[DR. DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.]
liability to pay compensation under section 3, in respect of th e
injury, was suspended until after the settlement contemplated by
section…
19. The appellant was thus liable to pay compensation as soon as
the aforesaid personal injury was caused to the appellant , and
there is no justification for the argument to the contrar y. It was
the duty of the appellant, under section 4A(1) of the Act, to pay
the compensation at the rate provided by section 4 as soon as the
personal injury was caused to the respondent. He failed to do so.
What is worse, he did not even make a provisional payment under
sub-section (2) of section 4 for, as has been stated, he went to the
extent of taking the false pleas that the respondent was a casual
contractor and that the accident occurred solely because of his
negligence. Then there is the further fact that he paid no heed to
the respondent’s personal approach for obtaining the compensation.
It will be recalled that the respondent was driven to the necessity
of making and application to the Commissioner for settling the
claim, and even there the appellant raised a frivolous objection as
to the jurisdiction of the Commissioner and prevailed on the
respondent to file a memorandum of agreement setting the claim
for a sum which was so grossly inadequate that it was rejected by
the Commissioner. In these facts and circumstances, we have no
doubt that the Commissioner was fully justified in making an order
for the payment of interest and the penalty.”
18. The Court held that though Section 19 empowered the
Commissioner to decide claims or objections under the Act, the obligation
to pay compensation to an injured employee was not suspended until the
Commissioner settled the amount payable in the case of a dispute
between the employer and the employee. Section 4A deals with when
the obligation for the payment of compensation as require d under the
1923 Act arises. For the purposes of Section 4A of the 1923 Act, the
obligation to pay compensation arises on the date of the accident. Where
an employer disputes the quantum of compensation payable, it is enjoined
to make a provisional payment to the Commissioner or the em ployee
pending the settlement of the claim. This is in order to ensure that an
employer does not escape its obligation to make good the payme nt of
compensation or unduly delay its payment on frivolous grounds.
19. In Neelakandan , the accident had taken place prior to the
coming into force of an amendment to the 1923 Act whereunder the
491
deemed income had been increased from Rs. 1000 to Rs. 2000. The
question before the Court was whether the benefit of the am endment
would extend to accidents which took place prior to its coming into force
and where the final adjudication of the amount payable was pending. A
two judge Bench of this Court held that though the accident in question
took place in 1981, the benefit of the amendment would apply to accidents
that took place prior to the coming into force of the amendment in the
following terms:
“It is not disputed that Section 4 of the Act was amended in 1995
by Amendment Act 30 whereunder the deemed income has been
increased from Rs. 1000 to Rs. 2000. Learned counsel for the
Insurance Company has vehemently contended that sinc e the
accident took place in the year 1981, the law operating on that
date is applicable and as such the workmen are not entitled to the
benefit of the amendment. We do not agree with the lea rned
counsel. We are finally determining the right of workmen
today. The Act is a special legislation for the benef it of the
labour. Keeping in view the scheme of the Act we are o f
the view that the only interpretation which can be given to
the amendment is that is any benefit is conferred o n the
workmen and the said benefit is available on the date whe n
the case is finally adjudicated, the said benefit sh ould be
extended to the workmen . We, therefore, hold that the
compensation to be paid to the heirs of the workmen has to be
calculated on the basis of the actual wages – Rs 1800 – drawn by
them…”
(Emphasis supplied)
20. The Court noted that the 1923 Act is a social welfare legislation
for the benefit of employees. Consequently, taking into account the scheme
of the Act, the court must adopt an interpretation which extends a benefit
to the employee on the date of the final adjudication of the claim. Where
a case is pending final adjudication and an amendmen t is enacted
increasing the amount of compensation payable, the enhanced amount
would be applicable in the determination of the quantum of compensation
payable. Conspicuous in its absence in the submission advanced by the
learned amicus curiae is how a subsequent Bench of this Court dealt
with the position of law laid down in Neelakandan .
21. In Valsala , the question before a three judge Bench of this
Court was whether an amendment to Section 4 and 4A of the 1923 Act
K SIVARAMAN & ORS v. P SATHISHKUMAR & ANR
[DR. DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.]
enhancing the amount of compensation and the rate of interest would be
applicable to cases where the accident took place prior to the coming
into force of the amendment. This Court noted that various High Courts
in the country had taken the uniform position that the relevant date for
determining the rights and liabilities of the parties i s the date of the
accident. Relying on the judgment of this Court in Pratap Narain Singh ,
the Court overruled the judgment in Neelakandan and held thatthe benefit
of an amendment whereunder the compensation payable was increased,
would not apply to accidents that took place prior to its comi ng into
force. The Court held:
“4. A two-judge Bench of this Court in New India Assurance Co
Ltd. v. V.K. Neelakandan however, took the view tha t the
Workmen’s Compensation Act being a special legislation for the
benefit of the workmen, the benefit as available on the dat e of
adjudication should be extended to the workmen and not the
compensation which was payable on the date of the accident .
The two-judge Bench in Neelakandan case however, did not take
notice of the judgment in Pratap Narain Singh Deo case as it
presumably was not brought to the notice of their Lordships. Be
that as it may, in view of the categorial law laid down by t he
larger Bench in Pratap Singh Deo case the view expresse d by
the two-judge Bench in Neelakandan case is not correct.”
22. In the course of the judgment in Valsala , the three judge Bench
also affirmed the full judge Bench judgment of the Kerala High Court in
Alavi ” to the extent it is in accord with the judgment of the larger bench”
in Pratap Narain Singh . The Court held:
“5. Our attention has also been drawn to a judgment of the Full
Bench of the Kerala High Court in United India Insurance Co.
Ltd v. Alavi wherein the Full Bench precisely considered the same
question and examined both the above-noted jugdments. It took
the view that the injured workman becomes entitled t o get
compensation the moment he suffers personal injuries of the types
contemplated by the provisions of the Workmen’s Compensation
Act and it is the amount of compensation payable on the date of
the accident and not the amount of compensation payable on
account of the amendment made in 1995 , which is relevant.
The decision of the Full Bench of the Kerala High Court, to the
extent it is on accord with the judgment of the larger Bench of
493
this Court in Pratap Narain Singh Deo v Srinivas Sabata lays
down the correct law and we approve it.”
23. In Alavi , a full judge Bench of the Kerala High Court was
required to adjudicate whether Sections 4 and 4A of the 1923 Act a s
amended in 1995 enhancing the amount of compensation and rate of
interest would be applicable to claims in respect of death and permanent
disablement resulting from accidents which occurred prior to 15
September 1995 i.e. the date on which the amended provisions came
into force. In all the appeals before the Court, the accide nt as well as
settling of the claims by the Commissioner took place prior to the coming
into force of the amending provisions enhancing the quantum of
compensation payable. The Court relied on the decision of this Court in
Pratap Narain Singh and held that the Amending act enhancing
compensation would apply only to accidents that took place after the
coming into force of the amendment. The Court held:
“17. Right to claim compensation as well as the obligation to pay
the same are created by the statute itself. It is well-settled rule of
interpretation that if the law is procedural, there is, no do ubt, a
presumption that it applies to pending proceedings. If the law is
substantive in nature, the normal presumption against retrospectivity
still holds good, subject to the principle that the Court must look to
the question whether the rights of the parties at t he
commencements of the proceedings were intended to be modified
either expressly or by necessary implication: Neeli v. Narayana
Pilla [(1992) 2 K.L.J. 937, 950]. If the amended provisions are
given effect to in the matter of awarding enhanced compensation
even with regard to the accident which occurred prior t o 15
September 1995, and the claim was decided prior to the same
date, the law applicable is the unamended provisions of the
Workmen’s Compensation Act, 1923. But if the claim could not
be settled prior to 15 September 1995 going by the Division Bench
decision in Asokan case (vide supra) , those claimants would get
the benefit of the Amendment Act. In other words, the benef it
would depend on when the case is decided either prior to 15
September 1995 or subsequent. This was never the intention of
the Legislature…”
24. The question before the Bench in Valsala was clearly whether
an amendment to Section 4 and 4A of the 1923 Act enhancing the amount
K SIVARAMAN & ORS v. P SATHISHKUMAR & ANR
[DR. DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.]
of compensation and the rate of interest would be applicable to cases
where the accident took place prior to the coming into force of the
amendment.The Bench held that the benefit of an Ame nding act
enhancing the quantum of compensation would not apply to accidents
that took place prior to the coming into force of the amendment.Though
the learned amicus curiae sought to rely on the two judge Bench
judgment of this Court in Mubasir Ahmed , it is sufficient at this stage
to note that the subsequent judgment of this Court in Oriental Insurance
Company v Siby George 8 noted that the judgment in Mubasir Ahmed
is contrary to the judgments of this Court in Pratap Narain Singh and
Valsala and hence not a binding precedent.
25. The 1923 Act is a social beneficial legislation and its provisions
and amendments thereto must be interpreted in a manner so as to not
deprive the employees of the benefit of the legislation. The object of
enacting the Act was to ameliorate the hardship of economically poor
employees who were exposed to risks in work, or occupational hazards
by providing a cheaper and quicker machinery for compensating them
with pecuniary benefits. The amendments to the 1923 Act have b een
enacted to further this salient purpose by either s treamlining the
compensation process or enhancing the amount of compensation payable
to the employee.
26. Prior to Act 45 of 2009, by virtue of the deeming provision in
Explanation II to Section 4, the monthly wages of an empl oyee were
capped at Rs. 4000 even where an employee was able to prove the
payment of a monthly wage in excess of Rs. 4,000. The legislature, in its
wisdom and keeping in mind the purpose of the 1923 Act as a soci al
welfare legislation did not enhance the quantum in the deeming provision,
but deleted it altogether. The amendment is in furtherance of the salient
purpose which underlies the 1923Act of providing to all employees
compensation for accidents which occur in the course of and arising out
of employment. The objective of the amendment is to remove a deeming
cap on the monthly income of an employee and extend to them
compensation on the basis of the actual monthly wages drawn by them.
However, there is nothing to indicate that the Legislature intended for
the benefit to extend to accidents that took place prior to the coming into
force of the amendment.
8 (2012) 12 SCC 540
495
27. The learned amicus curiae relied on the judgment of this
Court in Commissioner of Income Tax v Vatika Township Private
Limited 9 to contend that amendments that confer a benefit u pon
individuals must be given retrospective application. In that case, the
question before a Constitution Bench of this Court concerned whether
the proviso to Section 113 which was inserted by the Finance Act 2002
applied retrospectively. The scheme for block assessment was introduced
in Chapter XIV-B to the Finance Act (w.e.f 1 July 1995) to cu rb tax
evasion and expedite as well as simplify the assessments in such search
cases. By virtue of the proviso, a date was specified with reference to
which the rate of surcharge is payable upon block assessment s. This
Court noted that the chapter for block assessment was a self-contained
code and that the effect of the proviso was to impose an additional
burden on the assessee. Consequently, it was held that the proviso did
not operate retrospectively. In the course of the judgmen t, this Court
held:
“30. We would also like to point out, for the sake of completeness,
that where a benefit is conferred by a legislation, the rule against
a retrospective construction is different. If a legislation confers a
benefit on some persons but without inflicting a corresponding
detriment on some other person or on the public generally, and
where to confer such benefit appears to have been the legislators’
object, then the presumption would be that such a legislation, giving
it a purposive construction, would warrant it to be given a
retrospective effect. This exactly is the justifica tion to treat
procedural provisions as retrospective. In Govt. of India v. Indian
Tobacco Assn. [(2005) 7 SCC 396], the doctrine of fairness was
held to be relevant factor to construe a statute conferring a benefit,
in the context of it to be given a retrospective operatio n. The
same doctrine of fairness, to hold that a statute was retrospective
in nature, was applied in Vijay v. State of Maharashtra [(2006) 6
SCC 289]. It was held that where a law is enacted for the benefit
of community as a whole, even in the absence of a provision the
statute may be held to be retrospective in nature. However, w e
are (sic not) confronted with any such situation here.”
28. This Court held, in line with settled precedent of this Court,
that where (i) a legislation confers a benefit on some persons, (ii) without
9 (2015) 1 SCC 1
K SIVARAMAN & ORS v. P SATHISHKUMAR & ANR
[DR. DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.]
inflicting a corresponding detriment on some other persons or the public
generally and (iii) where the conferral of such benefit appears to be the
intention of the legislature, the presumption of prospective application
may stand displaced. Though amendments enhancing the compensation
payable under the 1923 Act confer a benefit upon em ployees, a
corresponding burden is imposed on employers to pay a higher rate of
compensation. It is presumably for this reason that the three judge Bench
of this Court in Valsala and the Kerala High Court in Alavi held that the
benefit of an amendment enhancing the rate of compensation does not
have retrospective application to accidents that took place prior to the
coming into force of the amendment. Further, as we have already noted,
there is nothing in Act 45 of 2009, either express or implied, to denote an
intention of the legislature to confer the benefit of the ame ndment to
accidents that took place prior to its coming into force.
29. We also briefly note the position of law regarding the date
relevant for the determination of compensation payable under the
Railways Act 1989 10 . Chapter XIII of the 1989 Act titled ‘Liability of
Railway Administration for Death and Injury to Passenge rs due to
accidents’ stipulates an obligation on the railway administration to pay
compensation to such extent “as may be prescribed” on the account of
untoward accidents. In Rathi Menon v Union of India 11 , the question
before a two judge Bench of this Court was whether the benefit of an
amendment enhancing the rate of compensation can be extende d to
accidents that took place prior to the coming into force of the amendment.
The Court assessed the scheme of the 1989 Act and held that t he date
relevant for the determination of compensation payable shall be the date
of adjudication. Consequently, the benefit of an amendment enhancing
compensation would be extended to accidents that took place p rior to
the coming into force of the amendment. In the course of the judgment,
this Court differentiated between the scheme of the 1923 Act and the
1989 Act and addressed the contention raised on the b asis of the
judgments of this Court in Pratap Narain Singh and Valsala in the
following terms:
“…The scheme of the provision under the W.C. Act is materially
different from the scheme indicated in Chapter XIII of the Railways
Act. In the former, compensation payable is fixed in the Act itself
10 1989 Act
11 (2001) 3 SCC 714
497
through the schedule incorporated thereto. Section 4 of the W.C.
Act shows that such compensation is to be linked with the monthly
wages of the workman concerned. It also provides that the liability
to pay compensation on the employer would arise not when the
Commissioner passes the order but on the date of sustaining the
injury itself. A provision is made in Section 4A of W.C. Act that
where any employer is in default of paying the compensation due
within one month the Commissioner shall direct the employer to
pay not only interest but in appropriate cases a penalty ranging up
to 50% of the amount payable. The said scheme cannot be equated
with the scheme in Chapter XIII of the Railways Act, as the
principles involved have differences…”
Having distinguished the scheme of the 1923 Act and the 1989
Act, the Court held that the judgments in Pratap Narain Singh and
Valsala have no bearing on claims under the 1989 Act.
30. Recently, a two judge Bench of this Court in Union of India
v Rina Devi 12 ,considered an apparent conflict between the judgments
in Rathi Menon and Kalandi Charan Sahoo v General Manager,
South-East Central Railway, Bilaspur 13 (“ Kalandi ”) regarding the
date relevant for the determination of compensation under the 1989 Act.It
was contended that the judgment in Rathi Menon was premised on the
basis that there was no provision forthe payment of interest under the
1989 Act and that there would be injustice if compensation is p aid at
money value prevalent at the time of the accident. It was on this basis
that the judgment in Pratap Narain Singh was distinguished. This Court
noted that in Thazhathe Purayil Sarabi v Union of India 14
(“ Thazhathe ”), it was held that under the 1989 Act, a claimant is also
entitled to the payment of interest which accrues from the date of the
incident. The decision in Thazhathe was subsequently followed by this
Court in Kalandi and Mohamadi v Union of India .15 Consequently,
this Court held that since interest is now payable under the 1989 Act, the
basis of the judgment in Rathi Menon has changed. The Court held:
“15.3…We are of the view that law in the present context should
be taken to be that the liability will accrue on the dat e of the
12 (2019) 3 SCC 572
13 (2019) 12 SCC 387
14 (2009) 7 SCC 372
15 (2019) 12 SCC 389
K SIVARAMAN & ORS v. P SATHISHKUMAR & ANR
[DR. DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.]
accident and the amount applicable as on that date will be the
amount recoverable but the claimant will get interest from the
date of accident till the payment at such rate as may be considered
just and fair from time to time. In this context, rate of interest
applicable in motor accident claim cases can be hel d to be
reasonable and fair. Once concept of interest has been
introduced, principles of Workmen Compensation Act can
certainly be applied and judgment of 4- Judge Bench in
Pratap Narain Singh Deo (supra) will fully apply. Wherever it
is found that the revised amount of applicable compensation as on
the date of award of the Tribunal is less than the prescribed amount
of compensation as on the date of accident with interest, higher
of the two amounts ought to be awarded on the principle of
beneficial legislation…
15.4 Accordingly, we conclude that compensation will be payable
as applicable on the date of the accident with interest as may be
considered reasonable from time to time on the same pattern as
in accident claim cases. If the amount so calculated is less than
the amount prescribed as on the date of the award of the Tribunal,
the claimant will be entitled to higher of the two amounts… The
4-Judge Bench judgment in Pratap Narain Singh Deo
(supra) holds the field on the subject and squarely ap plies
to the present situation .”
(Emphasis supplied)
This Court held that compensation under the 1989 Act would be
calculated with reference to the date of the accident along with interest
payable. However, if the amount calculated is less than t he amount
prescribed as on the date of the award of the Tribunal under the 1989
Act, the claimant will be entitled to higher of the two amounts.
31. The judgment in Rathi Menon and Rina Devi were both
rendered by a Bench of two judges of this Court. In Rina Devi , this
Court resolved the apparent conflict between Rathi Menon and Kalandi
by taking into account the judgment in Rathi Menon as well as the
change in the position of law following the judgment. The position of law
under the 1989 Act has thus been brought closer to the judgment of this
Court in Pratap Narain Singh which held that the date relevant for the
determination of compensation would be the date of the accident. The
499
judgment in Rina Devi was recently followed by this Court in Union of
India v Radha Yadav 16 .
32. It is pertinent to note that no similar position of law for the
determination of the higher amount of compensation payable was adopted
under the 1923 Act by this Court in Pratap Narain Singh and Valsala .
This Court, being a Bench of two judges, is bound by the categor ical
position of law laid down in Pratap Narain Singh and Valsala , both
being judgments rendered by larger Benches of this Court.
Consequently,we hold that the relevant date for the determinati on of
compensation payable is the date of the accident and the benefit of Act
45 of 2009 does not apply to accidents that took place prior to its coming
into force.
33. In the present case, the accident occurred on 31 January 2008
i.e. prior to the coming into force of Act 45 of 2009. Consequently, the
High Court erred in extending the benefit of Act 45 of 2009 which deleted
Explanation II to Section 4 to the present case. The High Cou rt was
required to determine the compensation payable on the date of the accident
on which date, the deemed cap of Rs 4000 as monthly wa ges was
applicable.
34. Though the accident took place in 2008, the appeal is being
decided over 12 years later. We take note of the fact that following the
order of remand by the High Court, the employer deposed as PW2 and
stated that the deceased had worked in his establishment for about three
years. The employer duly proved Exhibit P5 in the course of his evidence
which was the monthly pay certificate indicating that the deceased was
drawing a monthly wage of Rs. 32,000, including expenses towards food.
Significantly, no appeal was filed by the respondents against the judgment
of the High Court enhancing the compensation. In this view of the matter,
we are not inclined to interfere with the award of compensation ordered
by the High Court in exercise of the inherent jurisdiction of this Court to
do complete justice under Article 142 of the Constitution. Having clarified
the law as noted above, the appeal shall stand dismissed.
35. Before concluding the judgment, it would be necessary to
note that in the office report dated 14 October 2019 and 18 November
2019, it has been stated that service is complete on the respondents.
16 (2019) 3 SCC 410
K SIVARAMAN & ORS v. P SATHISHKUMAR & ANR
[DR. DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.]
36. The total compensation payable to the appellant shall sta nd
quantified at Rs 8,86,120 on which interest shall be payable at 12% per
annum from the date of the accident. The liability for the p ayment of
compensation shall be joint and several. The compensation sha ll be
payable to the first and the second appellants jointly and severally by the
respondents. The compensation shall be paid over within a period of two
months from the receipt of a certified copy of the order. There shall be
no order as to costs.
Devika Gujral Appeal dismissed.