Sangrur Sales Corporation v. United India Insurance Company Limited & Anr.
DR. DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.
1. Delay condoned.
2. Leave granted.
3. This appeal arises from a judgment and order of the National
Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission 1 dated 7 March 2018.
4. The appellant obtained a “Standard Fire and Special Peril s
Insurance Policy” from the first respondent to cover his sho p situated
at Gausala Road, Sangrur. The shop was insured in t he value of
Rs 18,00,000 and the policy was valid from 21 June 2011 to 20 June
2012. On 29 March 2012, the showroom in which the appellant carried
on the business of sanitaryware collapsed as a result of t he work of
excavation which was being carried on in an adjacent plot. A Fir st
Information Report was lodged on 30 March 2012 at the Police Station,
Sangrur and intimation of the loss was given to the insurer. A surveyor
1 NCDRC
47
was appointed. The claim was repudiated by the insurer on 1 1 May
2012. This led to the institution of the consumer complaint bef ore the
District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum 2, Sangrur. The District
Forum allowed the claim in the amount of Rs 18,00,000, together with
interest at nine per cent per annum from the date of the institution of
the complaint. The order of the District Forum was upheld by the State
Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission 3, Punjab on 5 May 2016.
However, in a revision filed by the insurer, the NCDRC re versed the
order awarding the claim.
5. Notice was issued in the present proceedings on 22 April 2019.
The office report indicates that the insurer has been se rved. There is
no appearance on its behalf.
6. The dispute between the parties turns on a construction of
clause VIII (e) of the policy of insurance. Before ad verting to the
exclusions, it is necessary to extract the relevant part o f the insurance
policy, which reads as follows:
“In consideration of the insured named in the Schedule here to
having paid to the United India Insurance Company Limit ed
(hereinafter called the Company) the full premium mentioned in
the said schedule, the company agrees, (subject to the conditions
and exclusions contained herein or endorsed or othe rwise
expressed hereon) that if after payment of the prem ium the
Property insured described in the said Schedule or any par t of
the such property to be destroyed or damaged by any of the perils
specified hereunder during the period of insurance named in the
said schedule or of any subsequent period in respect of which
the Insured shall have paid and the Company shall have accepted
the premium required for the renewal of the policy, the Company
shall pay to the Insured the value of the Property at the time of
the happening of its destruction or the amount of such damage
or at its option reinstate or replace such property or any part
thereof.”
7. Clause VIII is in the following terms:
“VIII. Subsidence and Landslide including Rock slide: L oss,
destruction or damage directly caused by subsidence of part of
2 District Forum
3 SCDRC
SANGRUR SALES CORPORATION v. UNITED INDIA INSURANCE
CO. LTD. [DR. DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.]
the site on which the property stands or land slide/roc k slide
excluding:
a) the normal cracking, settlement or bedding down of new
structures
b) the settlement or movement of made up ground
c) coastal or river erosion
d) defective design or workmanship or use of defective
materials
e) demolition, construction, structural alterations or repair
of any property or groundworks or excavations.”
8. Clause VIII brings within the purview of the insured per ils a
loss, destruction or damage directly caused by subsidence of a part of
the site on which the property stands or a land slide/rock slide, but
excludes, what is stipulated in sub-clauses (a) to (e) thereafter. The
exclusion in sub-clause (a) refers to the normal cracking, settlement or
bedding down of new structures. The exclusion in clause (d) refers to
defective design or workmanship or use of defective materials . The
crucial exclusion is the one in sub-clause (e) which ha s weighed with
the NCDRC. Clause (e) relates to the demolition, con struction or
structural alterations or repair of any property or gr oundworks or
excavations.
9. In the present case, the appellant was not engaged in any work
of demolition, construction or structural alterations nor was it engaged
in any repair of its property. The excavation which was the cause of
the loss, was being carried on in a neighbouring plot and not b y the
appellant in his own property. In the absence of a specific qualification
indicating that the exclusion will apply to an excavation being c arried
on by a third party, the reasonable construction of sub-cla use (e) of
Clause VIII is that it should apply only to a situa tion where the
excavation is being carried on by the insured himself in his own property.
Significantly, the words “of any property” qualify the words preceding
them namely, “demolition, construction, structural alterations or repair”
and not the words that follow.
10. It is well-settled that in the event that the two constr uctions
are possible or in the event of an ambiguity, that construction which is
beneficial to the insured should be accepted consistent with the purpose
for which the policy was taken, namely to cover the risk on the
49
happening of a certain event. [See in this context, the decision of this
Court in United India Insurance Co Ltd v Pushpalaya Printers 4.
11. The NCDRC, in reversing the concurrent views of the
District Forum and the SCDRC, held thus:
“On bare reading of the above, it is clear that as per the above
noted condition, the loss caused to the insured property due to
demolition, construction, structural alterations or repair of any
property or ground works or excavations is excluded from the
risk covered. On perusal of para 3(b) of the copy of com plaint
placed on record, it is evident that as per the stand tak en by the
complainant on 29.03.2012 the insured showroom had fallen
accidentally as a result of subsidence and land sliding due to
digging work being carried out by the neighbour in adjacent plot.
It is also alleged in the said paragraph that a daily di ary report
no.54 dated 30.03.2012 regarding the incident was duly lodged
with the P.S. Sangrur. From the aforesaid admission on the part
of the complainant, it is evident that loss was caused to t he
insured because of collapse of the insured building as a result of
excavation work being carried out in the adjacent plot r esulting
in subsidence and land sliding. Thus, in my view, in view of the
above noted specific exclusion clause, the petitioner/ insurance
company was justified in repudiating the insurance claim.”
12. The error of the NCDRC lies in reading the exclusion in
regard to excavations as being applicable in a situation suc h as the
present where the cause which resulted in the damage was a work of
a third party which was carrying on an excavation in in dependent
premises. It is not in dispute that no part of the excavation was
attributable to any act or omission on the part of the appellant. Hence,
to read the exclusion, as being attracted in the present case , would not
be to a reasonable construction of the policy of insurance.
13. For the above reasons, we allow the appeal and set aside
the impugned judgment and order of the NCDRC dated 7 March 2018.
In consequence, we restore the order of the District For um dated 5
May 2016, as affirmed by the SCDRC. In the circumstances, th ere
shall be no order as to costs.
Divya Pandey Appeal allowed.
4 (2004) 3 SCC 694
SANGRUR SALES CORPORATION v. UNITED INDIA INSURANCE
CO. LTD. [DR. DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.]