V. Sukumaran v. State of Kerala & Anr.
SANJAY KISHAN KAUL, J.
1. Pension is succour for post-retirement period. It is not a bounty
payable at will, but a social welfare measure as a p ost-retirement
entitlement to maintain the dignity of the employee. The appellant has
been claiming his entitlement for the last almost 1 3 years but
unsuccessfully, despite having worked with Government departments in
various capacities for about 32 years.
The Facts :
2. The controversy emanates from the appellant having worke d
in these different capacities with two different departments from time to
time, albeit continuously. The appellant joined resp ondent No. 2,
Department of Fisheries of the State Government of Kerala as a Casual
Labour Roll (for short ‘CLR’) worker on 7.7.1976 in a then pilot project
on Pearl Culture, at Vizhinjam, Thiruvananthapuram. He worked upto
29.11.1983 rendering 7 years, 4 months and 23 days of service as a
CLR worker whereupon the District Officer, Kerala Publ ic Service
Commission (for short ‘KPSC’) advised him to join th e Revenue
Department, Kannur District as Lower Division Clerk (for short ‘LDC’)
on his participation in a direct recruitment process. He accordingly
reported for duty on 30.11.1983. On having rendered a few years of
service, the appellant sought an inter-departmental transfer f rom the
Revenue Department back to the Fisheries Department and returned to
Thiruvananthapuram and joined on 18.9.1987 on probation of two years
with the service being subsequently regularised on 18.9 .1989. The
appellant earned his promotion as Upper Division Clerk (Higher Grade)
(for short ‘UDC’) from which post he retired on attaining the age of
superannuation on 31.12.2008. The total service rendered by the appellant
was about 25 years, but excluding the service as CLR.
Developments :
3. In order to ameliorate the financial remuneration for CLR and
Seasonal Labour Roll (for short ‘SLR’) posts, the State Gov ernment
passed a slew of Government Orders (for short ‘G.O.’) fro m time to
time and that is what gave hope and cause of action to the appellant as
he sought the benefits under the same.
4. Some CLR workers were aggrieved by their non-regularisation
of service, despite a G.O. dated 4.11.1989, which had provided for their
995
absorption as SLR workers if they had rendered 240 days a year of
service in the Fisheries Department prior to 16.9.1985. On these persons
approaching the High Court, the State Government was asked to address
the issue and on such examination G.O. dated 20.8.1993 was issued
creating 29 SLR posts in the Fisheries Department for absorption of the
existing CLR workers. A G.O. was also issued on 31.3.2001 subsequently
noting that these 29 SLR posts were created for such of the CLR workers
who had completed 500 days of work before 1.4.1987, and simultaneously
27 employees in the Fisheries Department, who had worked for the past
20 years and had also completed 8 years as SLR workers were ordered
to be permanently absorbed with consequent pensionary and provident
fund benefits. Subsequently, the service and wage conditions of the SLR
workers of the Fisheries Department were brought at par with those in
the Agriculture and Animal Husbandry Department with effec t from
31.3.2001 in pursuance of the G.O. dated 13.7.2006. It was, however,
also stipulated that no new appointments would be made in the Fisheries
Department in the CLR/SLR/HR categories.
5. Another significant development was the issuance of G.O. dated
21.8.2006 to the effect that the Pension (Gratuity) Rules of the SLR
Workers/Permanent Labourers of Fisheries Department (here inafter
referred to as the ‘Pension Rules’) were framed to grant pe nsion to
these workers and bringing them at par with those worki ng in the
Agriculture and Animal Husbandry Department. The Pension Rules were
brought with retrospective effect from 31.3.2001. These Pension Rules
were to apply to all those SLR workers/Permanent La bourers of
Departmental Hatcheries/Farms in the Fisheries Department, who were
still in service as well as who had not completed 60 years of age as on
that date. Significantly, Rule 4(f)(iii) of the Pensio n Rules, inter alia ,
defined that 200 days or more work in a calendar year during the period
of service spent as casual labourer in the departmental f arms prior to
permanency would be treated as one year qualifying for pension . The
legal significance was that service rendered as a casual l abourer of a
certain number of days was equated with one year of permanent service
for purposes of pension qualification.
The Cause of the Appellant:
6. In view of the aforesaid developments, the appellant made a
representation dated 27.11.2006 to the Assistant Director of the Fisheries
Department for passing orders to treat his period of CLR service of
V. SUKUMARAN v. STATE OF KERALA AND ANR.
[SANJAY KISHAN KAUL, J.]
more than 7 years as qualifying service for pension. In effect what the
appellant claimed was that he should be treated at par wi th the other
CLR service workers having worked in the Department for the requisite
period of time. A plea of parity was, thus, raised.
7. The appellant, in this representation also made a request to be
provided with service details of other such workers, and obtained requisite
information which showed that the appellant’s name featured at the 2 nd
place out of 6 persons in order of starting of the casual ser vice on the
aforementioned pilot project. Thus, he was very sen ior. This
representation received favourable consideration by respondent No. 2,
Department of Fisheries with a recommendation being made by the
Director. In the meantime, another G.O. dated 19.1.2007 was also issued
clarifying that the casual service period of farm laboure rs would be
counted for calculating qualifying service for pension and requiring all
pension claims to be settled accordingly with prosp ective effect.
However, the State Government/respondent No. 1 finally did not accept
the recommendation of the Fisheries Department and re jected the
representation of the appellant vide letter dated 16.5.2007 as according
to the State Government the benefit could not be extended to the appellant
since he was appointed by the KPSC and had not been absorbed in the
Fisheries Department from the CLR service. If one may say, the other
CLR employees who went through the process of regularisation, thus,
gained the benefit which was sought to be denied to the appellant who
came through a regular employment process through the KPSC.
8. The aforesaid, thus, gave rise to the cause for the appellant to
file writ petition, being WP(C) No. 22931/2007, against the respondents
pertaining to the quantum of pensionary benefits he was to receive at
the time of retirement with the prayer that his service as a CLR worker
from 7.7.1976 to 29.11.1983 be counted as 8 years of 1 qualifying service
for pension. The claim was predicated on the following grounds:
a. 29 SLR posts were created to regularise those CLR workers
who had completed 500 days of work, and had the appellant
continued in service of the Fisheries Department, he would
have found a place in one of those 29 posts having worked for
1678 days.
1 Sir, appellant has calculated qualifying service to be 8 years calculating on the basis
of the 200 days a year criteria per Rule 4(f)(iii) of the Pension Rules.
997
b. The G.O. dated 21.8.2006 provided for 200 or more days of
work in a calendar year during the period of service as CLR
worker prior to the permanency, calculated as equivalent t o
one year regular service qualifying for pension and, thus, the
appellant was entitled to 8 years of qualifying service of pension
on account of his service as CLR worker.
c. The details sought and disclosed vis-a-vis the other casua l
workers vide letter dated 4.12.2006 showed that the appellant
was second senior most person and the first person had got
his CLR service regularised as SLR worker with pension being
granted to him accordingly.
d. The rejection by the State Government of the recommendation
of the Fisheries Department was wrongful.
e. The appellant would be entitled to his maximum pensionable
service only if the CLR service was regularised as qualifying
service on parity with his co-workers and had he continued to
work in the Fisheries Department, he would have undoubtedly
been regularised.
9. Appellant also placed reliance on Rule 13, Part III of the Kerala
Service Rules (for short ‘Service Rules’), which come t o his aid, and
read as under:
“13. Work establishment employees absorbed in regul ar
establishment will be allowed to count 50 per cent of the wo rk
establishment service for purposes of pension.
xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx”
The Respondent’s Stand :
10. The writ petition was sought to be resisted on the ground that
the benefit of G.O. dated 21.8.2006 was available only to those CLR
workers who were regularised as SLR workers and none of the G .O.s
would govern the appellant. The benefit of Rule 4(f)(iii) of the Pension
Rules was pleaded to be not extendable to the appellant and a ll these
would have applied had he continued to work as a CLR worker for the
Fisheries Department. The appellant was, however, appointe d by the
KPSC and not absorbed in the department from the CLR servi ce and
for this the rules of pension were entirely different as under Part II of
the Service Rules.
V. SUKUMARAN v. STATE OF KERALA AND ANR.
[SANJAY KISHAN KAUL, J.]
11. We may note the stand of the appellant in respect of the
aforesaid was that insofar as 29 SLR posts were concerned, only 27
workers in the Fisheries Department were absorbed and, thus, he would
have been easily absorbed against the two remaining posts, more so on
account of his seniority.
The View of the High Court:
12. The learned Single Judge dismissed the writ petition by t he
order dated 16.1.2009 primarily on the ground that the appointment of
the appellant to the Revenue Department was in pursuance of his selection
by the KPSC and, thus, he could not compare himself with the CLR
workers, who had obtained regularisation as SLR workers an d were
governed by various G.O.s. The appellant had not been absorbed in the
Fisheries Department from the category of CLR workers. There was
no G.O. or provision under the relevant rules for counting the period of
service as CLR worker of persons like the appellant wh o secured
appointment through the KPSC as an LDC. No declaration had be en
made under Rule 11 of the Service Rules in Part III and in the absence
of such declaration the appellant could not take the benefit of the G.O.s.
The relevant portion of the Rule reads as under:
“11. Notwithstanding the provisions of Rule 10, the Government
may
(1) declare that any specified kind of service rendered shall qualify
for pension; and
(2) in individual cases, and subject to such conditions as they may
think fit to impose in each case, allow service rendered by an employee
to count for pension.
xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx”
13. The appellant being naturally aggrieved preferred an appeal,
being W.A. No. 892/2009, which endeavour was also unsuccessful a s
the said appeal was dismissed by the impugned order dated 3.6.2009.
Once again, the basis was the same as the reasoning of the learned
Single Judge that CLR service was not provided as qualifying service
for the purposes of grant of pension in cases like the ap pellant, who
joined the Revenue Department in pursuance of a recruitment process
of the KPSC and was only transferred to the Fisheries Depar tment by
an inter-departmental transfer at his own request.
999
Arguments :
14. The arguments before us have been in the same compass as
what has been specified aforesaid. The appellant pleads that he must be
entitled for service rendered by him of 1678 days as CLR worker of and
that the true intention of the G.O. dated 20.8.1993 should be given effect
to, being a decision taken in the interest of the workers. The grounds set
out hereinabove for the claim of the appellant in para 8 were, once
again, repeated before us.
15. Learned counsel for the appellant also sought to emphasise
that pension is a right vested in a Government servant and is not a bounty
payable at the will and pleasure of the Government as also that pension
is a social welfare measure and a post retirement entitlement; something
with which we began our order. ( D.S. Nakara and Ors. v. Union of
India 2 U.P. Raghavendra Acharya & Ors. v. State of Karnataka &
Ors .3; Deokinandan Prasad v. The State of Bihar & Ors. 4).
16. On the other hand, it was contended on behalf o f the
respondents, once again, that the appellant could not be treated a t par
with those CLR workers, who were absorbed as SLR workers v ide
G.O. dated 20.8.1993 as the concept of regularisation of long and
continuous service giving benefit to casual employees could not be equated
with a casual employee getting a permanent job through KP SC. The
appellant had been enjoying the benefits as a direct recruit to a higher
post since 1983, which were not available to his other original co-workers
till 2001 when they were regularised by the G.O. dated 31.3.2001. Had
the inter-departmental transfer to the Fisheries Departm ent not have
taken place, the appellant in any case would not have been in a position
to lay a claim.
Conclusion :
17. We have given our thoughtful consideration to the controversy
before us, albeit in a limited contour. Leave was granted in this matter
on 23.4.2010 but the matter has seen its fate of hearing only aft er a
decade despite hearing being expedited when leave was granted!
18. We are unable to accept the rationale and reasoning of the
learned Single Judge and the Division Bench of the High Cour t in the
given facts and circumstances of the case.
2 (1983) 1 SCC 305
3 (2006) 9 SCC 630
4 1971(2) SCC 330
V. SUKUMARAN v. STATE OF KERALA AND ANR.
[SANJAY KISHAN KAUL, J.]
19. We begin by, once again, emphasising that the pensionary
provisions must be given a liberal construction as a so cial welfare
measure. This does not imply that something can be given contra ry to
rules, but the very basis for grant of such pension must be kept in mind,
i.e., to facilitate a retired Government employee to live with dignity in his
winter of life and, thus, such benefit should not be unreasonably denied
to an employee, more so on technicalities.
20. While looking into the facts and circumstances of the cas e,
there is no dispute about the time period spent by the appellant as a CLR
worker and his being at serial No. 2 for grant of pensionary benefits in
the list of details of CLR workers had he continued as one. The appellant
was able to advance his career by going through a process of di rect
recruitment by the KPSC successfully. It is not a c ase of some
unreasonable or improper benefit being extended to the appe llant but
that he competed against others and was successfully recr uited.
21. It is also not in dispute that he was transferred to the Fisheries
Department albeit at his own request and demitted office from there
after earning promotion. To say that the appellant would be denied the
benefit of the period spent as CLR worker for his pensionary benefit
would be to treat his case as inferior one to the case of other CLR
workers, who never went through a system of recruit ment for
regularisation but were regularised in the Fisheries Department to provide
better working conditions and monetary benefits to the employees. Can
it really be said that a regularly recruited person like the appellant should
not get the benefit which the other people who were CLR workers
would get, having spent more than 7 years in that capacity? The answer,
in our view, is in the negative, as it would amount to whittling away long
years of service as a CLR worker of 1678 days (7 years 4 months a nd
23 days).
22. Had the respondents not issued the G.O.s, no doubt the appellant
would have no claim. The claim of the appellant arises from the G.O.s,
which are beneficial efforts for the CLR workers to improve the conditions
of working along with monetary benefits. The appellant did work for the
aforesaid long period of time as a CLR worker and should, th us, be
entitled to the same on parity vis-à-vis other CLR workers. The appellant
was at serial No.2 in the aforementioned list and would have be en so
absorbed when 29 posts were created. In fact, only 27 posts out of
these were filled in. It is thus not even a case where no post existed or
1001
that it would affect anybody else, or that the Government wo uld be
compelled to create a post for the appellant. In fact, in terms of the G.O.
dated 21.8.2006 an equalisation has been given of 200 days of work as
a CLR worker to one year’s regular service for the purposes of pension.
While one would commend such effort by the State Government, it would
be very unreasonable to deny this to the appellant in view of the aforesaid
facts.
23. What also weighs with us is that the appellant is being deprived
of the maximum pensionable service which would be permissible to him
if his period of CLR service is recognised as qualifying se rvice and
there is no reason to deny the same to him when other CLR wor kers
have got this benefit at the time of their absorption and sub sequent
regularisation as SLR workers and who would have, by virtue of joining
at a later point of time, rendered less service. We also feel that Rule 13
of the Service Rules would possibly come to the aid of the rationale we
seek to adopt as on absorption in the establishment, such per sons are
given the benefit of counting 50 per cent of their earlie r work service
prior to absorption for the purposes of pension.
24. We are, thus, of the view that for all the aforesaid reasons, the
appellant is entitled to succeed in the present appeal and the impugned
orders are liable to be set aside. We also find that the rejection of the
recommendation of the Fisheries Department, respondent No. 2, by
respondent No. 1 was consequently improper and unsustainable. The
benefit of the service rendered as a CLR worker would, thus, be liable
to be counted for determining the pensionary benefits of the appellant at
par with other CLR workers and the pension be accordingly calculated.
The arrears of pension be remitted to the appellant within a maxim um
period of eight (8) weeks from today with admissible interest as applicable
to outstanding pension amounts.
25. The appeal is accordingly allowed with costs throughout.
Kalpana K. Tripathy Appeal allowed.
V. SUKUMARAN v. STATE OF KERALA AND ANR.
[SANJAY KISHAN KAUL, J.]