M/S Sheth M L Vaduwala Eye Hospital v. Oriental Insurance Company Limited and Others
DR. DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.
1. Leave granted.
2. These appeals arise from a judgment of the National Consumer
Disputes Redressal Commission1 dated 26 February 2014.
3. The appellant is a charitable hospital registered u nder the
Bombay Public Trust Act 1961. Between 21 and 23 June 2000, the
appellant conducted an eye camp where cataract surg eries were
performed on 112 patients. The patients complained of negligence in the
performance of the surgeries by the use of non-sterilized ap pliances,
contaminated medicines and lenses of an inferior quality resulting in eye
infections and loss of vision. The State Government appointed a
Committee to enquire into the causes which led, inter alia, to several
patients having lost their eye-sight.
4. Meanwhile, twenty-four complaints were filed by a consumer
organization, Jagrut Nagrik Trust. The consumer complai nts were
instituted against the hospital and the insurance company. The insurance
policies were obtained by the doctors from the insurer to cover claims of
professional negligence. The doctors were not parties to the proceedings
before the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum, Vadodar a2,
though affidavits were filed by them.
5. The District Forum by its order dated 19 February 2010 awarded
an amount of Rs 1,70,000 as compensation to each of the twenty-four
complainants together with a refund of registration f ees (Rs 250),
1 “NCDRC“
2 “District Forum“”
119
compensation for mental agony (Rs 3000), costs (Rs 1500) and interest
at the rate of 9% per annum. In arriving at its conclusion, the District
Forum relied on the report of the Enquiry Committee appointed by the
State Government, which had found that there was negligence. An extract
of the findings of the Enquiry Committee as recorded by the D istrict
Forum are below:
The expert committee constituted by the Government of Gujarat
has further concluded that there was total lack of aseptic
precaution on the doctors and the OT staff. The operation theatre
assistants were not qualified. There was lack of proper sterilization
of instruments etc. used in operations. In the machines, OT tables
instruments etc. […] bacteria was found and the damage to the
eyes of the patients was because of this bacteria […] was also
found on Phacomachine. There was no proper fumigation and
even after fumigation bacteria was found in OT and the operation
table in O.T. The O.T staff was unqualified and it was not
supervised by doctors. There were serious lapses in Autoclave.
The patients ought to have been examined on the next day of
operation. The Committee has held responsible the doctors and
the staff for the damage to the eyes of the patient.”
6. The District Forum further rejected the argument of the insurer
that no liability could accrue to it as the doctors (who had t aken the
insurance policy) had not been made parties to the proceedings and in
any case, were not negligent. The Forum held that according to the
report of the Expert Committee, negligence of the doctors and the staff
of the appellant hospital had been established. Thus, the District Forum
held that the liability of both the hospital and the insurer would be joint
and several, but the award would be enforced only against the insurer.
The award was not challenged by the hospital.
7. The insurer filed appeals against the order of the District Forum
before the State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Gujarat3.
By its judgment dated 30 November 2012, the State Commission dismissed
the appeals. For convenience of reference, the findings whic h were
arrived at by the State Commission are extracted below:
“In connection with the aforesaid undoubted facts, it is clear that
the cataract operation camp which was organized by the defendant
3 “State Commission”
M/S SHETH M L VADUWALA EYE HOSPITAL v. ORIENTAL INSURANCE
COMPANY LTD. [DR. DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.]
no.3 Hospital, in it the staff which was appointed for the help of
Doctors, that staff being untrained staff, could not properly sterilize
the equipments used for the purpose of operation. Moreover, the
medicines which were used, were also adulterated and the patients
were examined with the Non Standard Lens. Moreover, as
Sidonomus (sic) lnfection was found in the operation theatre, the
patients whose eyes were infected after the operation, the pupil
of that eye were removed, otherwise there was fear of infection
in another eye also. In these circumstances, the pupils of eyes of
all the aforesaid patients were removed. The incident be ing
occurred in such a huge proportion, the State Government took its
note and framed inquiry committee. In it the expert doctors inquired
regarding the incident, confirmed the fact of all negligence in their
report. The Doctors who performed the surgery were questioned
and cross examination of many doctors is also made by the
prosecution. Therefore, it is proved that as the staff hel ping the
Doctors for performing the cataract operation was untrained, the
care which should have been taken was not taken, the aforesaid
applicants had to lose their eyes and in that manner the defendant
no.3 Charitable Hospital, after accepting the charge of Rs.250/-
towards treatment from every patient, the care which should have
been taken was not taken and the loss of eye is caused on account
of negligence of the Hospital and the circumstances had arrived
that some patients had to lose their lives. As the principle of [res
ipsa loquitur] can be applied to such case “Circumstances speak
for themselves”. On its basis, the Consumer Forum has come to
the conclusion that the behavior of negligence is proved towards
the patients. The Consumer Commission herein is convinced with
that.”
8. A revision was filed before the NCDRC by the insurer. T he
NCDRC by its impugned order dated 26 February 2014, set aside t he
orders of the consumer fora holding the insurer liable. It, however, clarified
that this would not affect the directions fastening liability on the hospital.
In arriving at this conclusion, the NCDRC noted that the liab ility has
been fastened on the hospital on the basis of six professional indemnity
policies obtained by the doctors, though their business addresses were
shown to be Vaduwala Eye Hospital. The NCDRC held that this fa ct
could not by itself fasten the liability on the insurer, particularly in the
absence of any specific allegation of negligence against any of the doctors.
121
9. Assailing the judgment of the NCDRC, the hospital is in appeal.
During the pendency of the proceedings, an interim order wa s passed
by this Court on 20 February 2015. The order reads as follows:
“On condition of depositing the amount of Rs.42,00,000/- (Rupees
Forty Two Lakhs) by the petitioner before the District Consumer
Forum, Vadodara within four weeks, the proceedings for execution
of the order dated 19.2.2010 passed in Consumer Complain t
Nos.307/2000 to 309/2000, 311/2000 to 326/2000, 356/2000 and
358/2000 to 360/2000 passed by the District Consumer Forum,
Vadodara shall remain stayed. On such deposit, the claimant s
would be entitled to withdraw the same.”
10. In pursuance of the above order, the appellant has deposited
an amount of Rs 42 lakhs before the District Forum and the amount has
been withdrawn by the claimants.
11. Mr Manoj Swarup, learned senior counsel has appeared on
behalf of the appellant while Ms Amrreeta Swaarup, learned counsel
appears on behalf of the first respondent.
12. Mr Manoj Swarup, learned senior counsel has made an earnest
effort to challenge the order of the NCDRC while submitt ing that the
hospital was entitled to lay a claim against the insurer as a beneficiary of
the insurance policies and, consequently, the NCDRC was not justified
in reversing the findings of the District Forum and the State Commission
in revision. Learned senior counsel has principally reli ed upon the
observation of the NCDRC that there was no finding of negligence on
the part of the doctors and has assailed it on the ground that the doctors
had participated in the proceedings by filing affidavits in which event, it
was open to the District Forum to fasten joint and several liability on the
hospital as well as the insurer.
13. On the other hand, it has been submitted on behalf of the first
respondent that there was no privity of contract between the insurer and
the hospital and the professional indemnity policies were obtained by the
doctors. There was no insurance cover in respect of the hospital or the
staff. Hence, it has been submitted that the NCDRC was justified in
entertaining the revision and directing that the insurer would not be liable
to indemnify the hospital.
14. From the record, it emerges that the insurance policies were
obtained by the doctors. These were professional indemnity insurance
M/S SHETH M L VADUWALA EYE HOSPITAL v. ORIENTAL INSURANCE
COMPANY LTD. [DR. DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.]
policies which would cover a claim for professional negligence which
was made against the doctors. Admittedly, the finding of negligence, as
it appears from the order of the State Commission, is specifically against
the hospital. The finding is that the hospital and its staff were negligent
in the conduct of the cataract surgeries. The specific finding is that the
equipment which was used were not properly sterilized, the staff was
not properly trained and the medicines which were administered were
not of the requisite quality and were contaminated. In this backdrop, the
issue is whether the hospital could have claimed to be indemnified by the
insurer. The hospital was not the beneficiary of the insurance policies
which were obtained by the doctors to cover the discharge of their own
professional obligations. There was a manifest error on the part of the
District Forum as well as the State Commission. The NCD RC had a
valid basis to exercise its revisional jurisdiction.
15. In this backdrop, and for the above reasons, no fault can be
found with the ultimate findings of the NCDRC. While it is true that the
NCDRC has interfered in the exercise of its revisional juri sdiction, it
was justified in doing so since a joint and several liability could not have
been fastened on the insurer under insurance policies which wer e not
obtained by the hospital. The submission of the hospital that it was the
beneficiary of those insurance policies does not evidently have any basis.
16. In the circumstances, we see no reason to entertain the appeals.
However, all that needs to be clarified is that the dismissal of the appeals
shall not come in the way of the appellant working out its equities or
rights in law by adopting suitable proceedings against any other persons,
who according to them may also be negligent in the discharge of their
duties, on which this Court makes no observation or finding of fact
whatsoever. Since the amount was deposited in pursuance of the interim
order and has been permitted to be withdrawn by the pati ents, it also
needs to be clarified that this aspect shall stand confirmed while disposing
of the appeals. If any amount has not been disbursed to the orig inal
claimants, this shall be done expeditiously.
17. The appeals are disposed of in the above terms.
18. Pending applications, if any, stand disposed of.
Devika Gujral Appeals dismissed.