Pani Ram v. Union of India and Ors.
B. R. GAVAI, J.
1. The appeal challenges the judgment and order dated 10 th
October 2018 passed by the Armed Forces Tribunal, Regional Bench,
Lucknow (hereinafter referred to as “AFT”), vide which the O.A. No.
149 of 2018 filed by the appellant for grant of disability pension came to
1027
be dismissed. The appellant also challenges the order dated 31st October
2018 passed in M.A. No. 1839 of 2018 in O.A. No. 149 of 2018, vide
which though, the application for leave to appeal was allowed, but the
AFT framed a different question of law.
2. The facts in brief giving rise to the present appeal are as under:
After serving for about 25 years in Infantry of the Regular Army,
the appellant got re-enrolled in the Territorial Army as a full-time soldier
on 1st August 2007. While serving in Territorial Army, on 5th April 2009,
the appellant was granted 10 days’ part of annual leave from 15th April
2009 to 24th April 2009, to proceed to his home, which was at a distance
of few kilometers from the Unit where he was posted. After availing the
said leave, when the appellant was coming back on his scooter to rejoin
his duty, on 24th April 2009, he met with a serious accident. Initially, the
appellant was admitted to the District Hospital, Pithoragarh from where
he was shifted to the 161 Military Hospital at Pithoragarh. On 25th April
2009, the appellant was evacuated by helicopter to the Base Hospital at
Lucknow, where his right leg was amputated up to the knee. Thereafter,
he was shifted to the Artificial Limb Centre (hereinafter referred to as
‘ALC’) at Pune. On 14 th September 2009, he was discharged from
ALC and was granted 28 days’ sick leave with the instruction to report
back to the ALC. After the expiry of sick leave, he was r e-admitted to
ALC on 11th October 2009. On 21 st October 2009, the Medical Board
was held at ALC which assessed the appellant’s disabilit y to be 80%.
However, it could not give any opinion about the attributability aspect of
the injury. On 07th November 2009, the appellant was discharged from
ALC with instruction to report back to his Unit.
3. As per Regulation No. 520 of the Regulations for the Army,
1987, a Court of Inquiry (hereinafter referred to as “CoI”), wa s held
from 13th November 2009 onwards to investigate into the circumstances
under which the appellant had sustained injury. The CoI found that the
injury sustained by the appellant was attributable to military service and
it was not due to his own negligence. The said finding of CoI was duly
approved by the Station Commander - Respondent No. 3, on 11th January
2010. On 25 th October 2010, a re-categorization Medical Board was
held at ALC, which maintained appellant’s disability at 80% and declared
it as attributable to military service. Subsequently, on the basis of the
opinion of the Invaliding Medical Board (hereinafter referre d to as
PANI RAM v. UNION OF INDIA AND ORS.
[B. R. GAVAI, J.]
‘IMB’), on 1st January 2012, the appellant was invalided out of service
with 80% disability which was attributable to military service.
4. The appellant, therefore, approached AFT for grant of disability
pension as is applicable to the personnel of Regular Army, in accordance
with Regulation No. 292 of the Pension Regulations for the Army, 1961.
The claim of the appellant was resisted by the respondents on the ground
that the appellant, after discharging from mechanized infantry as a
pensioner, was re-enrolled in 130 Infantry Battalion (Territorial Army),
Ecological Task Force, Kumaon, on 1st August 2007 as an Ex-Serviceman
(ESM). The claim of the appellant has been denied by the respondents
on the ground that the appellant was not entitled to any pensi onary
benefits in view of the letter of the Government of India, Mini stry of
Defence, dated 31 st March 2008.
5. The AFT though held, that the injury sustained by the appellant
which resulted into 80% disability was found by the competent authority
to be aggravated and attributable to the military servic e, rejected the
claim of the appellant on the ground that a separate scheme and service
conditions have been created for the Members of Ecological Task Force
(hereinafter referred to as ‘ETF’), which was accepted by the appellant
and as such, he was not entitled to disability pension.
6. The appellant thereafter filed M.A. No. 1839 of 2018 in O.A.
No. 149 of 2018 for grant of leave to appeal against the judgm ent and
order dated 10 th October 2018, wherein the appellant had framed the
following question of law of general public importance:
“Whether the terms and conditions of service of a member of the
Territorial Army (TA) during the period of his embodiment with
the T.A. will be governed by the statutory rules which provide for
grant of ‘disability pension’ or by the departmental orders which
deny the grant of the disability pension to the members of a
particular unit of the T.A. to which such individual belongs.”
7. The AFT vide order dated 31st October 2018 though, allowed
the application for grant of leave to appeal, framed a different question
of law, as under:
“Whether the members of Ecological Task Force of Territor ial
Army are entitled to pensionary benefits at par with the members
of regular Army in spite of the aforementioned MOD letter dated
31.03.2008 whereby pensionary benefits have been denied.”
1029
8. The said order dated 31st October 2018, passed by AFT is also
a subject matter of challenge in the present appeal.
9. We have heard Mr. Lalit Kumar, learned Counsel appearing on
behalf of the appellant and Shri Vikramjit Banerjee, learned Additional
Solicitor General, appearing on behalf of the respondent-Union of India.
10. It is the specific case of respondent-Union of I ndia that
separate terms and conditions were provided by it vide communication
dated 31st March 2008, which provides that the members of ETF would
not be entitled for disability pension. Vide the said communication, the
Government of India has communicated to the Chief of Army Staff, the
sanction of the President of India for raising two additional companies
for 130 Infantry Battalion (Territorial Army) Ecological under Rule 33
of Territorial Army Act, Rules 1948.
11. The respondents rely on Clause (iv) of Sub-Para (d) of Para 1
of the said communication dated 31st March 2008 :
“(iv) Pension entitlement of Territorial Army personnel ea rned
for the earlier regular Army Service, will remain untouched and
will be ignored in fixing their pay and allowances.”
12. The respondents also rely on a document titled “Certificate”
dated 30th August 2007, signed by the appellant wherein under condition
(f), it is stated thus :
“(f) That, I will not be getting any enhance pension for havi ng
been enrolled in this force.”
13. It will be relevant to refer to sub-section (1) of Sec tion 9 of
the Territorial Army Act, 1948 :
“Sec. 9. Application of the Army Act, 1950.
(1) Every officer, when doing duty as such officer, and every
enrolled person when called out or embodied or attached to the
Regular Army], shall, subject to such adaptations and modifications
as may be made therein by the Central Government by notification
in the Official Gazette, be subject to the provisions of the Ar my
Act, 1950, and the rules or regulations made thereunder in the
same manner and to the same extent as if such officer or enrolled
person held the same rank in the Regular Army as he holds for
the time being in the Territorial Army ..”
PANI RAM v. UNION OF INDIA AND ORS.
[B. R. GAVAI, J.]
14. It could thus be seen that every such officer or enrolled person
in Territorial Army when holds the rank, shall be subject to the provisions
of Army Act, 1950 and the rules or regulations made t hereunder,
equivalent to the same rank in the Regular Army.
15. Chapter 5 of the Pension Regulations for the Army, 1961 deals
with Territorial Army. The Regulation No. 292 of the Pension Regulations
for the Army, 1961 read thus:
“292. The grant of pensionary awards to the members of the
Territorial Army shall be governed by the same general regulations
as are applicable to the corresponding personnel of the Army
except where they are inconsistent with the provisi ons of
regulations in this Chapter”
16. It could thus be seen that the grant of pensionary awar ds to
the members of the Territorial Army shall be governed b y the same
rules and regulations as are applicable to the corresponding persons of
the Army except where they are inconsistent with the pro visions of
regulations in the said chapter.
17. Chapter 3 of the Pension Regulations for the Army, 1961,
deals with Disability Pensionary Awards, in which Regulation No. 173
reads thus:
“173. Primary Conditions for the grant of Disability Pension
Unless otherwise specifically provided a disability pension
consisting of service element and disability element may be granted
to an individual who is invalided out of service on account of a
disability which is attributable to or aggravated by military service
in non-battle casualty and is assessed at 20 per cent or over.”
18. The perusal thereof will reveal that an individual who is invalided
out of service on account of disability, which is attributable or aggravated
by Military Service in non-battle casualty and is assessed 20% or more,
would be entitled to disability pension. The respondents are not in a
position to point out any rules or regulations, which can be s aid to be
inconsistent with Regulation No. 292 or 173, neither has any othe r
regulation been pointed out, which deals with the terms and conditions
of service of ETF.
19. The communication of the Union of India dated 31 st March
2008, vide which the President of India has granted sanction, itself reveals
1031
that the sanction is for raising two additional companies for 130 Infantry
Battalion (Territorial Army) Ecological.
20. It is thus clear that the ETF is established as an additional
company for 130 Infantry Battalion of Territorial Army. It is not in dispute
that the other officers or enrolled persons working in the Territorial Army
are entitled to disability pension under Regulation No. 173 read w ith
Regulation No. 292 of Pension Regulations for the Army, 1961. When
the appellant is enrolled as a member of ETF which is a company for
130 Infantry Battalion (Territorial Army), we see no re ason as to why
the appellant was denied the disability pension. Specifically so, when the
Medical Board and COI have found that the injury sustained by the
appellant was attributable to the Military Service and it was not due to
his own negligence.
21. In case of conflict between what is stated in i nternal
communication between the two organs of the State and the St atutory
Rules and Regulations, it is needless to state that the Stat utory Rules
and Regulations would prevail. In that view of the matter, we find that
AFT was not justified in rejecting the claim of the appellant.
22. The respondents have heavily relied on the document dated
30th August 2007, titled “Certificate”. No doubt that the said document
is signed by the appellant, wherein he had agreed to the condition that he
will not be getting any enhanced pension for having been enrolled in this
force. Firstly, we find that the said document deals with enhanced pension
and not disability pension. As already discussed hereinabove, a conjoint
reading of Section 9 of the Territorial Army Act, 1948 and Regulation
Nos. 292 and 173 of the Pension Regulations for the Army, 1961, would
show that a member of the Territorial Army would be entitled to disability
pension. In any case, in this respect, even accepting th at the appellant
has signed such a document, it will be relevant to refer to the following
observations of this Court in the case of Central Inland Water Transport
Corporation Limited and Another v. Brojo Nath Gangu ly and
Another1:
“89. ……We have a Constitution for our country. Our judges are
bound by their oath to “uphold the Constitution and the laws”.
The Constitution was enacted to secure to all the citizens of this
country social and economic justice. Article 14 of the Constitution
1 (1986) 3 SCC 156
PANI RAM v. UNION OF INDIA AND ORS.
[B. R. GAVAI, J.]
guarantees to all persons equality before the law and the equal
protection of the laws. The principle deducible from the ab ove
discussions on this part of the case is in consonance with right
and reason, intended to secure social and economic justice and
conforms to the mandate of the great equality clause in Articl e
14. This principle is that the courts will not enforce and will, when
called upon to do so, strike down an unfair and unreasonable
contract, or an unfair and unreasonable clause in a cont ract,
entered into between parties who are not equal in bargaini ng
power. It is difficult to give an exhaustive list of all bargains of this
type. No court can visualize the different situations which ca n
arise in the affairs of men. One can only attempt to give s ome
illustrations. For instance, the above principle will apply w here
the inequality of bargaining power is the result of the great disparity
in the economic strength of the contracting parties. It will ap ply
where the inequality is the result of circumstances, whether of
the creation of the parties or not. It will apply to situations in
which the weaker party is in a position in which he can obt ain
goods or services or means of livelihood only upon the terms
imposed by the stronger party or go without them. It will also
apply where a man has no choice, or rather no meaningful choice,
but to give his assent to a contract or to sign on the dotted line in
a prescribed or standard form or to accept a set of rules as part of
the contract, however unfair, unreasonable and unconscionable a
clause in that contract or form or rules may be. This pri nciple,
however, will not apply where the bargaining power of the
contracting parties is equal or almost equal. This principl e may
not apply where both parties are businessmen and the contract is
a commercial transaction. In today’s complex world of gia nt
corporations with their vast infrastructural organizations and with
the State through its instrumentalities and agencies entering into
almost every branch of industry and commerce, there can be
myriad situations which result in unfair and unreasonable bargains
between parties possessing wholly disproportionate and unequal
bargaining power. These cases can neither be enumerated nor
fully illustrated. The court must judge each case on its own facts
and circumstances.”
23. As held by this Court, a Right to Equality guaranteed under
Article 14 of the Constitution of India would also apply to a man wh o
1033
has no choice or rather no meaningful choice, but to give his assent to a
contract or to sign on the dotted line in a prescribed or standard form or
to accept a set of rules as part of the contract, h owever unfair,
unreasonable and unconscionable a clause in that contract or for m or
rules may be. We find that the said observations rightly appl y to the
facts of the present case. Can it be said that the mighty Union of Indi a
and an ordinary soldier, who having fought for the country and retired
from Regular Army, seeking re-employment in the Territorial Army, have
an equal bargaining power. We are therefore of the considere d view
that the reliance placed on the said document would also b e of no
assistance to the case of the respondents.
24. The present appeal is therefore allowed and the judgment and
order dated 10th October, 2018 passed by AFT in O.A. No. 149 of 2018
is quashed and set aside. The question of law framed by AFT in its order
dated 31st October 2018, already stands answered in view of our finding
given in para (21).
25. The respondents herein are directed to grant disability pension
to the appellant in accordance with the rules and regulations as are
applicable to the Members of the Territorial Army with effect from 1st
January 2012. The respondents are directed to clear arrears from 1 st
January 2012 within a period of three months from the date of this
judgment with interest at the rate of 9% per annum.
26. The appeal is allowed in the above terms. All p ending
applications shall stand disposed of. No order as to costs.
PANI RAM v. UNION OF INDIA AND ORS.
[B. R. GAVAI, J.]
Divya Pandey Appeal allowed.