Union of India and Another v. Abhiram Verma
M. R. SHAH, J.
1. Feeling aggrieved and dissatisfied with the impugned judgment
and order dated 9.2.2018 passed by the Learned Armed Forces Tribunal,
Regional Bench, Srinagar at Jammu (hereinafter referred to as the
‘Tribunal’) in T.A. No. 25/2017(SWP No. 454 of 2008), by which the
learned Tribunal has disposed of the said transfer application by setting
aside para 2 of letter dated 31.01.2007 to the extent it denied terminal/
pensionary benefits to the respondent herein – orig inal applicant
UNION OF INDIA AND ANOTHER v. ABHIRAM VERMA
(hereinafter referred to as the ‘respondent’) and directed the appellants
– original respondents to process his claim for terminal/pens ionary
benefits taking his qualifying service as 15 years as regards “late entrant”
in terms of Regulation 15 of the Pension Regulations and to release the
same together with arrears, the department – Union of India and another
have preferred the present statutory appeal.
2. The facts leading to the present appeal in nutshell are as under:
That the respondent herein commissioned in the Indian Army
(Armed Medical Corps) as a Short Service Commission Off icer on
27.03.1992 for a period of five years at the age of 33 years and 10
months. He voluntarily applied for Permanent Commission on 7.8.1997.
He was granted Permanent Commission at the age of 39 years and 2
months on 28.01.1998. Respondent became a Graded Speciali st on
1.6.1994 and thereafter he became a Classified Specialist on 1.6.1999.
By letter/application dated 15.04.2000, the respondent applied for
resignation on the ground of lack of promotional prospects. At this stage,
it is required to be noted that his actual date of superannua tion at 56
years of age was 31.05.2014. The application for resignation came to be
rejected by the DG, Medical Services (Army) vide communication dated
4.9.2000. That thereafter the respondent filed a statutory complaint on
24.03.2001 against the rejection of his resignation, the same was rejected
by the Under Secretary, Government of India on 14.03.2002 . That
thereafter the respondent filed a writ petition before the High Court of
Jammu & Kashmir being SWP No. 1573/2001 against the rejection of
his complaint by the Under Secretary, Government of India. T he said
writ petition came to be allowed by the High Court vide order dated
11.10.2006 quashing the order of the Under Secretary which rejected
the respondent’s resignation and directed the Army to consider the case
of resignation afresh. That thereafter the respondent’s resignation came
to be accepted vide order/communication dated 31.01.2007, however, it
was stated that he was not entitled to any terminal benefi ts except for
encashment of leave (the denial of the terminal benefits was the subject
matter before the Armed Forces Tribunal). The name of the respondent
was struck off from the Army Medical Corps vide movement order
dated 22.04.2007, with effect from 23.04.2007.
2.1 That thereafter the respondent preferred the writ petition before
the High Court of Jammu & Kashmir being SWP No. 454/2008 for
grant of gratuity and pension, which subsequently came to be transferred
61
to the Armed Forces Tribunal as TA No. 25/2017. That by the impugned
judgment and order dated 9.2.2018, the learned Tribunal has disposed of
the said transfer application directing the appellants to process the
respondent’s claim for terminal/pensionary benefits taking q ualifying
service as 15 years as a “late entrant” under Regulation 15 of the Pension
Regulations. That leave to appeal has also been dismissed by the learned
Tribunal vide order dated 25.03.2019.
2.2 Feeling aggrieved and dissatisfied with the impugned judgment
and order passed by the learned Tribunal directing the appellants to process
the respondent’s claim for terminal/pensionary benefits taking qualifying
service as 15 years as a “late entrant” under Regulation 15 of the Pension
Regulation, the Union of India and another have preferred the pre sent
appeal.
3. Ms. Madhavi Divan, learned Additional Solicitor General of
India has appeared on behalf of the appellants and Shri Vikas S ingh,
learned Senior Advocate has appeared on behalf of the respondent.
3.1 Ms. Madhavi Divan, learned ASG has vehemently submitted
that in the facts and circumstances of the case, the learned Tribunal has
materially erred in directing the appellants to consider the respondent’s
claim for terminal/pensionary benefits taking qualifying servi ce as 15
years as a “late entrant” under Regulation 15 of the Pension Regulations.
3.2 It is vehemently submitted that as such the learned Tribunal
has wrongly observed that the respondent submitted the reque st for
“voluntary retirement”. It is submitted that as such it was not a case of
“voluntary retirement”, but it was a case of “resign ation” by the
respondent on the ground of lack of promotional prospects.
3.3 It is submitted that even it was not the case on behalf of the
respondent before the learned Tribunal that he submitted the application
for “voluntary retirement”. Reliance is placed upon some of the averments
in the petition before the High Court/learned Tribunal in which he has
categorically stated that he tendered the “resignatio n” for want of
promotional avenues.
3.4 It is submitted that since it was the case of “ voluntary
resignation from service”, the respondent shall not be entitl ed to the
benefit as “late entrant” under Regulation 15 of the Pension Regulations.
UNION OF INDIA AND ANOTHER v. ABHIRAM VERMA
[M. R. SHAH, J.]
3.5 It is submitted that even otherwise at the relevant time the
respondent did not complete the qualifying service for the purp ose of
“voluntary retirement”. It is submitted that thus the date on which the
respondent submitted the application for resignation on 15.04.2000, he
was not even eligible for premature retirement. It is s ubmitted that
therefore it was a case of “voluntary resignation” and not “v oluntary
retirement”.
3.6 It is submitted that admittedly when the respondent tendered
his resignation on 15.04.2000, he had only rendered service for 15 years
and 27 days. It is submitted that had the respondent not voluntarily resigned
and retired at the age of superannuation, (i.e, 56 years for a Lt. Col.) on
31.05.2014, he would have rendered 22 years 2 months and 2 days of
service. It is submitted that therefore when the respondent tendered the
resignation, he did not complete the minimum qualifying service as per
Regulation 25(a), i.e., 20 years. It is submitted tha t therefore the
respondent took the shelter of Regulation 15 as a “late entrant ”. It is
submitted that the minimum qualifying service for being eligible for retiring
pension is 20 years under Regulation 25(a). It is submitted that it is only
in the case of compulsory retirement on attaining t he age of
superannuation where it is impossible for the officer to c omplete 20
years due to the prescribed age limit that a concession of 5 years is
granted to such “late entrants” that can earn a retiring person even after
completion of minimum 15 years of service.
3.7 It is submitted that therefore as it was a case of “v oluntary
resignation” and not a case of “voluntary retirement/retire ment”. The
respondent cannot be said to be “late entrant” and therefore shall not be
entitled to the benefit under Regulation 15 of the Pension Regulations.
3.8 It is further submitted that in the present case the learned
Armed Forces Tribunal has erred in treating the present case of “voluntary
resignation” as one of “voluntary retirement”. It is submitted that there
is a vast difference between the “voluntary resignation” and “voluntary
retirement”. Reliance is placed on the decision of this Court in the case
of BSES Yamuna Power Limited v. Ghanshyam Chand Sharma .
Reported in (2020) 3 SCC 346 (paragraphs 13 & 14).
3.9 It is further submitted by Ms. Madhavi Divan, learned ASG
appearing on behalf of the appellants that assuming for the time b eing
that the respondent applied for “voluntary retirement”, in that case also,
63
as on 15.04.2000 even he did not complete the qualifying service for the
purpose of premature retirement.
3.10 Now so far as the case on behalf of the respondent, so stated
in the counter affidavit on the reliance placed upon Regulation 19(h) and
19(j) of the Pension Regulations of the Army, 2008 to contend that the
period of service in a central autonomous body as well as period of ante-
date of commission granted to an officer in respect of posse ssion of a
Post-Graduate Qualification shall also count toward s reckonable
pensionable service is concerned, it is submitted that the said Regulations,
2008 shall not be applicable as the respondent has resigned in the year
2000 and even his name was struck off from the Army Medical Corps in
the year 2007 and therefore Pension Regulations 1961 shall be applicable.
It is submitted that, as such, such a plea was not taken before filing of
the counter affidavit before this Court and rightly not taken as the Pension
Regulations 2008 shall not be applicable.
3.11 It is further submitted that even otherwise considerin g the
applicable rules, namely, Premature Retirement/Resignation from Service
of AMC Officers dated 26.03.1998, if a person has resigned on the
ground of lack of career/promotional prospects the same canno t be a
reason for acceptance of premature retirement/resig nation and the
officers who are permitted to resign are not entitled to terminal benefits,
however, they are eligible to avail encashment of accumula ted annual
leave. It is submitted that therefore also not only the re spondent was
ineligible to take the benefit of Pension Regulation 15, but also was
ineligible for any terminal benefits as per the aforesaid Regulations/Rules.
3.12 It is further submitted by Ms. Madhavi Divan, learned ASG
that even the observations made by the learned Tribunal that the authority
took seven years to decide on the application submitted by the respondent
is factually incorrect. It is submitted that the respondent t endered the
resignation on 15.04.2000 and the same came to be rejected by the DG,
Medical Services (Army) on 4.9.2000 and even the respondent filed a
statutory complaint against the rejection of the resignation on 24.03.2001.
It is submitted that therefore, as such, there was no delay at all on the
part of the authority in deciding the application for resignation.
3.13. Making the above submissions and relying upon the aforesaid
decision, it is prayed to allow the present appeal.
UNION OF INDIA AND ANOTHER v. ABHIRAM VERMA
[M. R. SHAH, J.]
4. The present appeal is opposed by Shri Vikas Singh, le arned
Senior Counsel appearing on behalf of the respondent.
4.1 It is vehemently submitted that in the facts and circumstances
of the case, as rightly observed by the learned Tribunal, the respondent
shall be entitled to the benefit as “late entrant” under Regulation 15 as
well as the benefit of Regulation 19(h) of Pension Regulations, 2008. It
is submitted that, as such, Regulation 19 of the Pension Regulat ions,
2008 is pari materia to Pension Regulations, 1961.
4.2 It is submitted that in accordance with Pension Regulations,
2008, respondent’s pre-commission service as Research Scholar w ith
Gandhi Medical College, Bhopal (a Government College) and as a Medical
Officer with BHEL, totalling to 6 years 4 months and 6 days should also
be counted towards his total qualifying pensionable service. It is submitted
that thus the respondent’s total qualifying pensionable service comes to
22 years 11 months and 2 days (15 years 27 days of Army Service + 6
years 4 months and 6 days of pre-commission service + 1 and half years
of ante-date seniority).
4.3 It is further submitted that even otherwise the learned Tribunal
treated the respondent’s case as a “late entrant” in t he peculiar facts
and circumstances as mentioned in para 4 of the impugned judgment
which read as under:
i)As admitted by the appellants, respondent was granted PC at a
late age of 39 years 2 months, in the organizational interest, to meet the
acute shortage of medical-specialist in the Army prevailing at that point
of time, thereby relaxing the maximum age limit 32 years;
ii) Over a period of time, the medical specialists became surplus
in Army thereby causing acute stagnation in the promotion s/career
progression and lack of opportunity to do in-house specialist courses,
which prompted the respondent to seek pre-mature release f rom the
Army so as to establish his career elsewhere at that you ng age;
iii) the respondent was 42 years of age when he had applied for
the pre-mature severance on 15.04.2000, which was initially rejected by
the Appellants on the false ground that there was shortage of medical
specialists in the Army; and
iv) the appellants inordinately delayed in accepting respondent’s
request which happened only with the kind indulgence of the J&K High
65
Court and accordingly by the time respondent was released from t he
Army, he had already crossed the age of 49 years of age which was too
late to establish his practice or start a new career.
4.4 It is further submitted by Shri Vikas Singh, learned Senior
Counsel that, as such, Pension Regulations, 2008 shall be applicable. It
is submitted that as held by this Court in the cases of D.S. Nakara v.
Union of India (1983) 1 SCC 305 and K.J.S Buttar v. Union of
India, (2011) 11 SCC 429 for the purpose of granting benefit under the
new Pension Rules, the date of retirement is irrelevant, though the revised
scheme would be operative from the date mentioned in the new Pension
Rules but would bring its umbrella even to the pensioners who r etired
after the specified date w.e.f. and their pension w ould be payable
accordingly with effect from the said specific date.
4.5 Relying upon the decision of this Court in the case of Union
of India v. Lt. Col. P.S. Bhargava, (1997) 2 SCC 28 (Paras 7, 18 to
20), it is submitted that as held by this Court in the conte xt of Army,
there is no difference between “resignation” and “voluntary retirement”
because in either case prior permission of the government would be
required for an Army Personnel to leave the service. It is submitted that
this Court also held that the policy letter issued by the Army Headquarter,
thereby denying pension and other terminal benefits to the persons who
resigned to the service cannot be given effect to being c ontrary to the
Pension Regulations which does not have such stipulation.
4.6 It is submitted that even otherwise the respondent had submitted
his application on 15.04.2000 on a printed form prescr ibed by the
appellants which has both options of “resignation” and “pr emature
retirement” printed on it. It is submitted that as such t he respondent’s
real intention was to seek premature retirement but he w as told that
since he had less than 10 years of service at that point of time, as per
para 7 & 13 of the Army HQ Policy dated 26.03.1998, the prematur e
release before 10 years of service has to be termed as “resignation” and
not as “premature retirement”. It is submitted therefore his application
was treated as one of “resignation” and not as “premature r etirement”
due to the aforesaid technical reason, even though the responden t has
no intention to resign and thereby losing his service benefits, if any.
4.7 Making the above submissions and relying upon the aforesaid
decisions, it is prayed to dismiss the present appeal.
UNION OF INDIA AND ANOTHER v. ABHIRAM VERMA
[M. R. SHAH, J.]
5. We have heard the learned Senior Counsel for the respective
parties at length.
The short question posed for the consideration of this Court is ,
whether in the facts and circumstances of the case, the re spondent is
entitled to the benefit of Regulation 15 of Pension Regulations, 1961 as
a “late entrant” and therefore entitled to the pensionary benefits?
The incidental question which is posed for the consideration of
this Court is, whether the resignation tendered by the respondent on
15.04.2000 can be said to be a “resignation” or “voluntary retirement”.
5.1 While considering the aforesaid issues, even at the cost o f
repetition, few dates and events are required to be considere d, which
are as under:
i)the respondent applied for resignation (now according to the
respondent it was a request for voluntary retirement) on the ground
of lack of promotional aspects on 15.04.2000;
ii) the application for resignation came to be rejected by the DG,
Medical Services (Army) on 4.9.2000;
iii) the respondent filed a statutory complaint against the rejection
of his resignation on 24.03.2001;
iv) the respondent’s statutory complaint came to be reje cted by
the Under Secretary, Government of India on 14.03.2002;
v) the High Court of Jammu & Kashmir by judgment and order
dated 11.10.2006 quashed the order of the Under Secretary who
rejected the respondent’s resignation and consequently directed
the department to consider the case of the resignation afre sh;
vi) respondent’s resignation came to be accepted in pursuance of
the High Court’s order vide communication/letter dated 31.01.2007,
however, it was stated that the respondent is not entitled to any
terminal benefits except for encashment of leave;
vii) the name of the respondent came to be struck off from the
Army Medical Corps vide Movement Order w.e.f. 23.4.2007;
viii) as per paras 7 & 13 of the Army HQ Policy dated 26.3.1998,
the qualifying service for the purpose of premature retir ement
was 10 years of service, otherwise his application has to be termed
as “resignation”;
67
ix) admittedly the respondent did not complete the ten year s of
service on 15.04.2000 when he tendered his resignation and
therefore as such was not eligible to apply for “vo luntary
retirement”;
x) when the respondent tendered application for resignation on
15.04.2000, the respondent rendered service for 15 years and 27
days only; and
xi) the minimum period of qualifying service actually rendered for
earning retiring pension shall be 20 years as per Regulation 25(a),
however, if an officer is a “late entrant” who, as such, has rendered
service at least for 15 years and who has retired on reaching the
prescribed age limit for compulsory retirement with at le ast 15
years commissioned service (actual) as per regulation 15.
6. To bring the case within Regulation 15 and get the benefit as a
“late entrant”, it is the case on behalf of the respondent that his application
tendered on 15.04.2000 was not an application for “resignation”, but it
was a request for “voluntary retirement”. The submission on behalf of
the respondent that what was tendered on 15.04.2000 w as not an
application for “resignation” but it was an application for “voluntary
retirement” has no substance and cannot be accepted for the following
reasons:
i) that the qualifying service for the purpose of “ voluntary
retirement” is minimum 10 years’ service. On 15.04.2000, the
respondent did not complete 10 years of service and therefore
was not eligible for applying for “voluntary retirement” a nd
therefore on 15.04.2000 otherwise also he could not have applied
for “voluntary retirement”;
ii) in the application dated 15.04.2000, the cause shown was lack
of promotional aspects. Even the High Court of Jammu & Kashmir
in its judgment and order dated 11.10.2006 which was filed by the
respondent specifically noted the submission on behalf of the
respondent that the “petitioner having joined the Commission at a
later stage has no chance of promotion to the first selection, i.e.,
to the rank of Colonel in the Army Medical Corps. Petitione r
moved an application dated 15th April, 2000 before the respondents’
seeking “resignation” from the army on the ground of non-
availability of promotional prospects and ineligibility to acquire
UNION OF INDIA AND ANOTHER v. ABHIRAM VERMA
[M. R. SHAH, J.]
technical skill”. Even the High Court in its judgment and o rder
dated 11.10.2006 treated and considered the application submitted
by the respondent dated 15.04.2000 as application f or
“resignation” and proceeded on that footing. Even the subsequent
petition filed before the High Court being SWP 454/2008, the
respondent never contended that it was an applicati on for
“voluntary retirement”. If we see the averments in the writ petition
all throughout the word used by the respondent is “resignation”.
Therefore, only as an afterthought and to get the benefit of “late
entrant” under Regulation 15, now it is the case on behalf of the
respondent that what was meant by him at that time was praying
for “voluntary retirement” and it was not an applicati on for
“resignation”;
iii) even as per the applicable rules for premature retir ement/
resignation of AMC Officers dated 26.3.1998, a request of an
officer to seek premature retirement/resignation on the ground of
lack of career prospects shall not be accepted and even if the
officers are permitted to resign, they are not entitled to terminal/
pensionary benefits; and
iv) even from para 6 of the written submissions dated 15.09.2021
filed on behalf of the respondent, it can be seen that the respondent
has accepted that on 15.04.2000 he was not eligible for “voluntary
retirement” and therefore he used the word “resignation” to get
out of the technical reason. Therefore, it can be said that he ha s
admitted that on 15.04.2000 he did not fulfil the criter ia for
“voluntary retirement” as on that day he had not completed 10
years of service.
Therefore, from the aforesaid facts, the only conclusion would be
that on 15.04.2000 the respondent tendered “resignation” for lack of
promotional avenues/aspects and it was not a case o f “voluntary
retirement”.
7. Even, there is a distinction between the “resignation” and
“voluntary retirement”. A person can resign at any time during his service,
however, an officer cannot ask for premature/voluntary retirement unless
he fulfils the eligibility criteria.
8. This Court had an occasion to consider the distinction between
“resignation” and “voluntary retirement” in the case of Senior Divisional
69
Manager, LIC v. Shree Lal Meena, reported in (2019) 4 SCC 479,
which has been subsequently followed by this Court in the case of BSES
Yamuna Power Ltd. (supra). In paragraph 22, it is observed and held
as under:
“22. The principles in the context of the controversy before us
are well enunciated in the judgment of this Court in RBI v. Cecil
Dennis Solomon [RBI v. Cecil Dennis Solomon , (2004) 9 SCC
461: 2004 SCC (L&S) 737]. On a similar factual matrix, the
employees had resigned sometime in 1988. The RBI Pension
Regulations came in operation in 1990. The employees who had
resigned earlier sought applicability of these Pension Regulations
to themselves. The provisions, once again, had a similar clause of
forfeiture of service, on resignation or dismissal or termination.
The relevant observations are as under: (SCC pp. 467-68, paras
10)
“10. In service jurisprudence, the expressions “super-
annuation”, “voluntary retirement”, “compulsory retirement”
and “resignation” convey different connotations. Voluntary
retirement and resignation involve voluntary acts on the part
of the employee to leave service. Though both involve voluntary
acts, they operate differently. One of the basic distinctions is
that in case of resignation it can be tendered at any time, but in
the case of voluntary retirement, it can only be sought for after
rendering prescribed period of qualifying service. Oth er
fundamental distinction is that in case of the former, normally
retiral benefits are denied but in case of the latter, the same is
not denied. In case of the former, permission or notice is not
mandated, while in case of the latter, permission of the employer
concerned is a requisite condition. Though resignation is a
bilateral concept, and becomes effective on acceptance by
the competent authority, yet the general rule can be displaced
by express provisions to the contrary….”
8.1 The law laid down by this Court in the case of Shree Lal
Meena (supra) has been reiterated by this Court in the subsequent
decision in the case of BSES Yamuna Power Ltd. (supra) and in the
subsequent decision, this Court also considered the observations made
in paragraph 26 in Shree Lal Meena (supra) that while pension schemes
do form beneficial legislation in a delegated form, a beneficial construction
UNION OF INDIA AND ANOTHER v. ABHIRAM VERMA
[M. R. SHAH, J.]
cannot run contrary to the express terms of the provisions. It is further
observed that the issue cannot be dealt with on a charity principle. When
the legislature, in its wisdom, brings forth certain beneficial provisions in
the form of Pension Regulations from a particular date and on particular
terms and conditions, aspects which are excluded cannot be included in
it by implication. Therefore, having tendered the “resign ation”, the
respondent has to suffer the consequences and now cannot be permitted
to take ‘U’ turn and say that what the respondent wanted was “premature
retirement” and not “resignation”.
9. Now so far as the reliance placed by the respond ent on
Regulation 19(h) and 19(j) of the Pension Regulations of the Army, 2008
to contend that a period of service in a central autonomous body as well
as period of ante-date of commission granted to an officer in respect of
possession of a Post-Graduate Qualification shall also be count ed for
the purpose of pensionable service, the same cannot be accepted, firstly
on the ground that the same was not raised before the High Court/AFT.
Even otherwise also, the Pension Regulations of the Army, 2008 shall
not be applicable to the case of the respondent as the respondent would
be governed by the Pension Regulations, 1961, which have no pari
materia provisions like Regulation 19(h) and 19(j) of the Pensi on
Regulations of the Army, 2008. The same has no retr ospective
applicability. As such, the respondent had resigned on 15.04.2000 and
even his resignation was accepted on 31.01.2007, much prior to the
coming into force of the Pension Regulations of the Army, 2008.
10. Now so far as the reliance placed upon the decisions o f this
Court in the cases of D.S. Nakara (supra) and K.J.S. Buttar (supra)
is concerned, the same shall not be applicable to the facts of the case on
hand. Similarly, the decision of this Court in the case of Lt. Col. P.S.
Bhargava (supra) shall not be applicable to the facts of the case on
hand and/or the same shall not be of any assistance to t he respondent.
In the case before this Court, it was found that the officer completed the
requisite qualifying service which was for the purpose of p ensionable
benefits. However, the same was sought to be denied on the ground that
he voluntarily resigned. In the present case, as observed hereinabove,
the minimum qualifying service for the purpose of pensionable benefits
is 20 years as per Regulation 25(a) and if his case is consi dered as a
“late entrant”, then 15 years as per Regulation 15.
71
11. In light of the above findings, it is required to be considered
whether the respondent can be said to be a “late entrant” and is entitled
to the benefit of Regulation 15 as a “late entrant” and the pensionable
benefits or not? Regulation 15 reads as under:
“Regulation 15 – Late Entrants
15. For purposes of the regulations in this Chapter, a “late entrant”
is an officer who is retired on reaching the prescribed age l imit
for compulsory retirement with at least 15 years commis sioned
service (actual) qualifying for pension but whose total qualifying
service is less than twenty years (actual).”
As per Regulation 15, a “late entrant” is an officer who is retired
on reaching the prescribed age limit for compulsory retirement with at
least 15 years commissioned service (actual). As the respondent did not
retire on reaching the prescribed age limit for compulsor y retirement,
the respondent cannot be said to be a “late entrant”. The p urpose and
object seems to be to give 5 years relaxation/grace for qualifying service
for earning a retiring pension. As per Regulation 25(a), the m inimum
period of qualifying service actually rendered and required for earning a
retiring pension shall be 20 years. However, if an officer is not able to
complete the minimum period of qualifying service, i.e., 20 yea rs and
before completing 20 years of service he is attainin g the age of
superannuation and is retired on reaching the prescribed ag e limit of
compulsory retirement, but has completed 15 years of qualifying service,
he is considered as a “late entrant” and is entitled to pensionary benefits
by getting 5 years grace period. Therefore, to that extent the same can
be said to be a relaxation/grace of 5 years for getting the b enefit of
pensionable benefits provided the case falls within Regulation 15 and an
officer is a “late entrant”. As observed hereinabove, the respondent
cannot be said to be a “late entrant” and therefore not entit led to the
benefit of Regulation 15 and therefore not entitled to the pensi onary
benefits.
12. In view of the above and for the reasons stated above, t he
present appeal succeeds. The impugned judgment and order passed by
the learned Armed Forces Tribunal dated 9.2.2018 in T.A. No. 25/2017
quashing and setting aside para 2 of letter dated 31.01.2007 to the extent
it denied terminal/pensionary benefits to the respondent and directing
the appellants to process the respondent’s claim for terminal/pensionary
UNION OF INDIA AND ANOTHER v. ABHIRAM VERMA
[M. R. SHAH, J.]
benefits taking his qualifying service as 15 years as regards “late entrant”
in terms of Regulation 15 of the Pension Regulations is hereby quashed
and set aside and it is held that the respondent is not en titled to the
terminal/pensionary benefits as a “late entrant” in terms of Regulation
15 of the Pension Regulations. The present appeal is allowed accordingly,
however, in the facts and circumstances of the case, there shall be no
order as to costs.
Ankit Gyan Appeal allowed.