Master Ayush v. the Branch Manager, Reliance General Insurance Co. Ltd. & Anr.
HEMANT GUPTA, J.
1. The present appeal has been preferred by a 5 years’ old victim
of road accident which occurred on 21.9.2010, challenging the order of
the High Court dated 7.9.2020 awarding a compensation of Rs.13,46,805/
-, as against Rs. 18,24,000/- awarded by the learned Motor Acc ident
Claims Tribunal1.
2. The grievance is with respect to the inadequate amount of
compensation on account of the injuries suffered by the appellant. The
appellant is a paraplegic patient. The appellant has examined Dr. Amithish
Narayana as PW-2 and Dr. S. Adanthya as PW-3. Dr. Adanthya is a
medical specialist from National Institute of Menta l Health &
Neurosciences, Bangalore. The discharge summary issued by the hospital
is Exh. P/10. As per the discharge certificate, the appellant is not able to
move both his legs and had complete sensory loss in the leg s, urinary
incontinence, bowel constipation and bed sore. The appellant was aged
1 For short, the ‘Tribunal’
835
about 5 years as on the date of the accident, hence has lost his childhood
and is dependent on others for his routine work. PW-2 Dr. Amithish
Narayana has issued disability certificate Exh.P/12. He is the Head of
the Department at the Kasturba Medical College Hospital, Mangalore.
The said certificate reads as thus:
“KMC Hospital 30.04.2013
Tuesday
To Whomsoever It May Concern
This is to certify that Master Ayush V/8yrs S/o Vedava
(Resident of BC Road) is a known case of Traumatic Paraplegia
following T 10-11 spinal cord lesion due to RTA. He is not able to
walk due to poor motor and sensory recovery in LL muscles.
He shows significant sinking astasia attitude and collapses
on standing. As per the Disability certificate, he has 100%
permanent physical impairment and will not be able to walk.
Since following therapy, partial recovery has taken place in
both motor and sensory aspects up to pelvic girdle level. Further
recovery is impossible. Therefore he is been advised to use
Advanced Reciprocating Gait Orthosis (ARGO) with bilateral
elbow crutches.
After the use of Advanced Reciprocating Gait Orthosis
(ARGO) with bilateral elbow crutches he can perform independent
ambulation.
This is a great achievement for his future life as this device
gives him controlled mobility capacity.
With best wishes and blessings for his good progress.
Sd/-
Dr. Amitesh Narayan
Professor & HOD
Department of Physiotherapy
K.M.C. Hospital
Ambedkar Circle, Mangalore-575001
Email: amitesh.mpth@yahoo.com
Mob: 9448039380"
MASTER AYUSH v. THE BRANCH MANAGER, RELIANCE GENERAL
INSURANCE CO. LTD. & ANR. [HEMANT GUPTA, J.]
3. The High Court and the Tribunal assessed the compensat ion
under different heads as produced below:
4. Learned counsel for the appellant argued that the me dical
expenses itself were to the tune of Rs.5,73,700/- as per Ex. P11, whereas
the High Court has only awarded a sum of Rs.1,61,805/-. The High
Court had maintained awarding a sum of Rs 5,00,000/- for future medical
expenses, i.e., towards purchase of device to be used by the appellant,
but as per the statement of PW2- Dr. Amitesh Narayana, t he device
bears weight only up to 25 kilograms and has to be replaced ev ery 5
years. The conveyance charges were awarded by the Tr ibunal as
Rs.20,000/- which was enhanced to Rs.70,000/- by the High Court.
However, it was contended that the enhancement is still less than the
taxi expenses incurred by the appellant. The Tribunal rejected the claim
of taxi expenses produced as EX P-13 amounting to Rs. 1,51,500/- on
the ground that the taxi driver had not been produced and also that why
the appellant was taken by a taxi when other modes of trans port were
available. Still further, the appellant has been given Rs .70,000/- as
attendant charges and Rs.2,25,000/- towards disability which are wholly
inadequate.
5. PW-1- Krishna Sapalya is the father of the appellant who was
working as Secretary, Gram Panchayat. The learned T ribunal has
observed that the father has not placed any material to show his
occupation or income. We do not agree with such finding of the Tribunal
837
as once he has stated that he is a Secretary of Gram Panchayat , he has
disclosed his occupation. As a Secretary of Gram Panchay at, he is a
government servant.
6. It was also argued that in a judgment reported as Kajal v.
Jagdish Chand and Others 2, the injured was a 12 years old girl who
had suffered an injury to the extent that her IQ got less t han 20% as
compared to a child of her age and the medical board had assessed her
social age to be only of a 9-months’ old child. This Court had recognized
that Schedule II of the Act could be used as a guide for the multiplier to
be applied in each case. This Court in the aforesaid case held as under:
“6. It is impossible to equate human suffering and pers onal
deprivation with money. However, this is what the Act enjoins
upon the courts to do. The court has to make a judicious attempt
to award damages, so as to compensate the claimant for the loss
suffered by the victim. On the one hand, the compensation should
not be assessed very conservatively, but on the other hand, the
compensation should also not be assessed in so liberal a fashion
so as to make it a bounty to the claimant. The court while assessing
the compensation should have regard to the degree of deprivation
and the loss caused by such deprivation. Such compensation is
what is termed as just compensation. The compensati on or
damages assessed for personal injuries should be substanti al to
compensate the injured for the deprivation suffered by the injured
throughout his/her life. They should not be just token damages.
xxx xxx xxx
12. The assessment of damages in personal injury cases rai ses
great difficulties. It is not easy to convert the physical and mental
loss into monetary terms. There has to be a measure of calculated
guesswork and conjecture. An assessment, as best as can, in the
circumstances, should be made.
xxx xxx xxx
27. One factor which must be kept in mind while assessing the
compensation in a case like the present one is that the claim can
be awarded only once. The claimant cannot come back to cour t
for enhancement of award at a later stage praying that something
2 (2020) 4 SCC 413
MASTER AYUSH v. THE BRANCH MANAGER, RELIANCE GENERAL
INSURANCE CO. LTD. & ANR. [HEMANT GUPTA, J.]
extra has been spent. Therefore, the courts or the Tri bunals
assessing the compensation in a case of 100% disability, especially
where there is mental disability also, should take a liberal view of
the matter when awarding the compensation. While awarding this
amount, we are not only taking the physical disability but also the
mental disability and various other factors. This child will remain
bedridden for life. Her mental age will be that of a nine-month-old
child. Effectively, while her body grows, she will remain a small
baby. We are dealing with a girl who will physically become a
woman but will mentally remain a 9-month-old child. This girl will
miss out playing with her friends. She cannot communicate; she
cannot enjoy the pleasures of life; she cannot even be amused by
watching cartoons or films; she will miss out the fun of childhood,
the excitement of youth; the pleasures of a marital life; she cannot
have children who she can love, let alone grandchildren. She will
have no pleasure. Her’s is a vegetable existence. Theref ore, we
feel in the peculiar facts and circumstances of the ca se even
after taking a very conservative view of the matter an amount
payable for the pain and suffering of this child should be at least
Rs 15,00,000.”
7. The High Court had assessed, in the aforesaid case, the notional
income of the victim as Rs.15,000/- p.a. which was not found t o be
justified by this Court. It was observed that the girl would be entitled to
minimum wages payable to a skilled workman. The appellant was from
the State of Haryana. The minimum wages in that State on the date of
accident were Rs.4846/- per month. In the present appeal, the minimum
wages for 2010-11 in the State of Karnataka for employments not covered
under any of the scheduled employments can be ascertained from the
following extract of notification for minimum wages published in the
Gazette on 19.02.2007:
“24.Employment not covered in any of the Scheduled Employments
Notification No. KAE 79 LMW 2005 dated 17.03.2006
Published in Gazette dated 19.02.2007
Cost of Living Allowance to be paid over and above 2703 points
Cost of Living Index: 3944-2703=1241 points
Minimum wages and VDA from 01-04-2010 to 31-03-2011
839
S C H E D U L E
VDA: All Categories of employees: 3 paise per point pe r day
over and above 2703 points.”
8. Hence, as per the above extract, the minimum wages payable
to a skilled workman in 2010-11 is to the tune of Rs. 3708.70. In t his
view, the minimum wages as on the date of accident is rounded off to
Rs.3700/-. The compensation, therefore, is to be assessed on the b asis
of the said minimum wages on the assumption that the appellant would
have been able to earn after attaining majority.
9. In addition to the skilled minimum wages, the appellant would
be also entitled to 40% for future prospects in view of the judgment of
this Court in National Insurance Company Limited v. Pranay Sethi
& Ors 3.
10. Thus, the compensation works out to be Rs.3700/- plus 40%,
which amounts to Rs.5180/- per month. The multiplier of 18 would be
applicable in view of the age of the appellant. The loss of future earnings
due to the Permanent Disability for life thus works out to be
Rs.11,18,880/-, i.e., (3700+1480=5180) x 12 x 18.
11. As per the medical certificate produced by the appellant, with
Advanced Reciprocating Gait Orthosis (ARGO) with bilater al elbow
crutches, the appellant can perform independent ambulation. Therefore,
the condition of the appellant is not entirely comparable to Kajal who
was confined to bed with mental age of 9 months’ old child. The appellant
herein is not able to move his both legs and had complete sensory loss in
the legs, urinary incontinence and bowel constipation and bed sore.
3 (2017) 16 SCC 680
MASTER AYUSH v. THE BRANCH MANAGER, RELIANCE GENERAL
INSURANCE CO. LTD. & ANR. [HEMANT GUPTA, J.]
12. The determination of damages in personal injury cases is not
easy. The mental and physical loss cannot be computed in terms of
money but there is no other way to compensate the victim exc ept by
payment of just compensation. Therefore, we find that in vie w of the
physical condition, the appellant is entitled to one attendant for the rest
of his life though he may be able to walk with the help of ass istant
device. The device also requires to be replaced every 5 years. Therefore,
it is reasonable to award cost of 2 devices i.e., Rs.10 lakhs. The appellant
has not only lost his childhood but also adult life. Therefore, l oss of
marriage prospects would also be required to be awarded. The learned
Tribunal has rejected the claim of taxi expenses for the reason that the
taxi driver has not been produced. It is impossible t o produce the
numerous taxi drivers. Still further, the Tribunal should have realized the
condition of the child who had complete sensory loss i n the legs.
Therefore, if the parents of the child have taken him in a taxi, probably
that was the only option available to them. Accordingly, we award a sum
of Rs.2 lakhs as conveyance charges.
13. No compensation is warranted to be payable under the heading
“food and nourishment or towards loss of childhood” as it stands
subsumed in the compensation assessed under the other different heads.
In view of the judgment in Kajal and other principles of determination of
compensation, the amount payable would be as under:
841
14. Hence, the compensation comes out to be Rs. 49,93,000/-
along with interest already awarded by the Tribunal and affirmed by the
High Court i.e. 7.5% p.a. from the date of filing of the claim application
till realization.
15. Since the appellant is a minor, in view of the judgment of this
Court in General Manager, Kerala State Road Transport Corporation,
Trivandrum v. Susamma Thomas and Others 4, the amount of
Rs.10,00,000/- would be disbursed to the father of the appellant as his
guardian. If however, an amount more than Rs.10,00,000/- has already
been disbursed, the said amount shall not be adjusted. The rest of the
amount would be invested in one or more Fixed Deposits Receipts so as
to attract the maximum rate of interest. The interest amount shall be
payable to the guardian of the appellant every month. It shall be open to
the guardian, during the minority of the appellant, to seek orde rs for
withdrawal of the amount on the basis of medical opinion, if any major
medical expenses are required to be incurred.
16. The appeals thus stand allowed accordingly with costs
throughout.
Bibhuti Bhushan Bose Appeals allowed.
4 (1994) 2 SCC 176
MASTER AYUSH v. THE BRANCH MANAGER, RELIANCE GENERAL
INSURANCE CO. LTD. & ANR. [HEMANT GUPTA, J.]