Narsingh Ispat Ltd v. Oriental Insurance Company Ltd. & Anr.
ABHAY S. OKA, J.
1. This is an appeal under Section 23 of the Consumer Protection
Act, 1986. The appellant has challenged the judgment and order da ted
18th October 2016 of the National Consumer Disputes Red ressal
Commission (for short, ‘the Commission’). By the said Judgmen t, the
Commission dismissed the Consumer Complaint No.165 of 2012 filed
by the appellant.
2. The appellant had taken Standard Fire and Special Perils Policy
from the respondent-insurance company for the period from 28 th June
2009 to 27 th June 2010. The policy was in respect of Engineering
Workshop and Plant at Village Khunti District Saraikela, Jharkhand. The
total sum assured was Rs.26,00,00,000/- under different headings. The
appellant paid a premium of Rs.2,20,462/-. According to the appellant,
the policy covered the loss caused to the property of the app ellant on
account of fire, lightning, explosion, riots, strike etc.
NARSINGH ISPAT LTD. v.ORIENTAL INSURANCE
COMPANY LTD. & ANR.
3. The appellant lodged a claim on the basis of the said polic y,
based on the incident of 23rd March 2010. As per the claim made by the
appellant, after midnight of 22 nd March 2010, about 50-60 anti- social
people with arms and ammunition entered the factory premis es of the
appellant at Village Khunti, District Saraikela in Jharkhand. According
to the appellant’s case, the mob demanded money and jobs for l ocal
people. According to the case of the appellant, substantial damage was
caused to its factory, machinery and other equipment. According to the
appellant, the object of the incident was to terrorise the management of
the appellant and workers in the factory by forcing them to pay a ransom
to the miscreants. A First Information Report was also registered at the
instance of the appellant based on the said incident. The appellant lodged
a regular claim with the respondent company on the basis of the policy.
According to the appellant’s case, a surveyor appoi nted by the
respondent-insurance company carried out the survey and assessed the
loss at Rs.89,43,422/-. However, by addressing a letter on 21st December
2010, the appellant claimed that the respondent-insurance company was
liable to make an interim payment of Rs.1.5 crores.
4. By the letter dated 23 rd December 2010, the respondent-
insurance company repudiated the appellant’s claim by placing reliance
on the Exclusion Clause in the policy regarding loss or damage caused
by the acts of terrorism. Therefore, the appellant filed t he complaint
mentioned above before the Commission complaining about deficiency
in the service offered by the respondent-insurance company. In the
complaint, a prayer was made for the grant of moneta ry relief of
Rs.1,51,35,780/- on account of the loss suffered by the appellant. A
separate amount of Rs.25,00,000/- was claimed on account of agony
and harassment caused to the appellant due to illegal repudiation of the
policy by the respondent-insurance company. The appellant cl aimed
interest at the rate of 18% p.a on the amounts mentioned abo ve and
cost amount of Rs.10,00,000/-.
5. By the impugned judgment and order, the Commission held that
because of the “Terrorism Damage Exclusion Warranty” (for short, ‘the
Exclusion Clause’), the respondent company was justified in repudiating
the claim of the appellant based on the policy of insurance. It was held
that the damage caused to the factory and equipment of the appe llant
was due to an act of terrorism.
155
6. For the sake of convenience, we are reproducing the s aid
Exclusion Clause, which reads thus:
“Terrorism Damage Exclusion Warranty :
Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary within this insurance
it is agreed that this insurance excludes loss, damage cos t or
expense of whatsoever nature directly or indirectly caused by ,
resulting from or in connection with any act of terrorism regardless
of any other cause or event contributing concurrently or in any
other sequence to the loss.
For the purpose of this endorsement an act of terror ism
means an act, including but not limited to the use of force
or violence and/or the threat thereof, of any perso n or
group(s) of persons whether acting alone or on behalf of or
in connection with any organization(s) or government( s),
committed for political, religious, ideological or similar
purpose including the intention to influence any government
and/or to put the public, or any section of the public in fear.
The warranty also excludes loss, damage, cost or expens es of
whatsoever nature directly or indirectly caused by, resulting from
or in connection with any action taken in controlling, preventing,
suppressing or in any way relating to action taken in respe ct of
any act of terrorism.”
(emphasis added)
7. Shri Santosh Kumar, the learned counsel appearing for the
appellant, submitted that the police had registered a Fir st Information
Report against unknown persons. After completing the investigation, the
police filed a closure report recording that the accused could not be
traced. He submitted that though the respondent-insurance company
relied upon the Investigation Report in the letter of repudiation, neither a
copy thereof was supplied to the appellant nor was it produced b efore
the Commission. He pointed out that after this Court issued a specific
direction, a copy of the Investigation Report was filed on record by the
respondent, which records that it was not conclusively proved that Maoist
activists or any such activists made the attack. He submi tted that on a
conjoint reading of the First Information Report, closure Report filed by
the police and Investigation Report submitted by the Investigator appointed
NARSINGH ISPAT LTD. v.ORIENTAL INSURANCE
COMPANY LTD. & ANR. [ABHAY S. OKA, J.]
by the respondent-insurance company, it is apparent that it w as not a
case of a terrorist act within the meaning of the Exclusion Clause. The
learned counsel tried to rely upon the concept of ‘terrorism’ under various
enactments such as the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act, 1967 and
the National Investigation Agency Act, 2006. He submitted that the burden
was on the insurance company to prove that the Exclusion Clause was
attracted in the facts of the case. He submitted that if there was any
ambiguity about whether the Exclusion Clause was at tracted, the
insurance contract will have to be construed in fav our of the
appellant-insurer. In support of this proposition, he relied upon a decision
of this Court in the case of National Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Ishar Das
Madan Lal1.
8. The learned counsel appearing for the appellant submitted that
even according to the report of the surveyor appointed by the respondent
company, the damage caused to the machinery and equipment has been
quantified at approximately Rs.89,00,000/-. He submitted that by setting
aside the impugned judgment and order, the respondent company may
be directed to pay a sum of Rs.89,00,000/- to the appellant along wi th
interest, and the Commission may be directed to consider th e case of
the appellant for grant of additional amount based on the evide nce on
record.
9. Shri Santosh Paul, the learned senior counsel appearing for the
respondent-insurance company, invited our attention to the allegations
made in the First Information Report regarding the incident of 23rd March
2010. He submitted that the fact that 120 people entered the factory
premises of the appellant along with weapons and carried out large scale
destruction shows that it was an act of terrorism to terrorise the workers
of the appellant and its management. He submitted that the police have
applied Sections 147, 148, 149, 323, 307, 379, 427, 435 and 447 of the
Indian Penal Code read with Section 17 of the Crimi nal Law
(Amendment) Act, 1908 (for short, ‘the Amendment Act of 1908’). He
submitted that it was a case of unlawful association as defined in Section
15 of the Amendment Act of 1908. He submitted that under Section 17
thereof, the unlawful association is made an offence. He submitted that
the very fact that the provisions of the Amendment Act of 1908 have
been applied shows that the loss caused to the appellant was due to a
terrorist act. He submitted that the burden was on the appellant to show
1 (2007) 4 SCC 105
157
that liability arises under the said policy. He submitted that the appellant
failed to discharge the burden. He would, therefore, submit t hat no
interference is called for with the finding of the Commission.
10. We have given a careful consideration to the submissions of
the rival parties. In its letter dated 23 rd March 2010 addressed to the
respondent, the version of the appellant of the incident which occurred
around 12:30 a.m. on 23 rd March 2010 has been stated. The relevant
part of the letter reads thus:
“With reference to the above and continuation to verbal information
given to you over telephone, our submissions are as follows :
Please note that in last midnight 12.30 A.M. around 50- 60 antisocial
peoples with arm ammunitions entered into factory premi ses
through back side door of the factory premises.
Some of them marched towards DG Room and got fired one DG
and tried to destroy it.
Some of them moved towards control room of blast furnace and
damaged control system of Blast Furnace available in control room
and beaten the men working there.
They have also damaged Security room, office room a nd
computers available there.
They have taken away around 15 Nos. of mobile phone, walky
talky sets and cash found in drawer of factory office premises ,
materials particularly relating to PIG Irons.
Company people informed immediately to the nearest police station
over telephone.
Since blast furnace need continuous working and once it is cooled
and to get it reheated it would have been cost to the Company for
Rs.30-45 lakhs so that Co-operative Housing Society Limite d
people took immediate steps for damaged control in main blas t
furnace.
You are requested to kindly look into the matter very seriously
and appoint Surveyors who can visit the site at the earliest possible
manner.”
In the subsequent letter dated 15th April 2010, the appellant stated
that the purpose of the anti-social persons was to create terror so that
NARSINGH ISPAT LTD. v.ORIENTAL INSURANCE
COMPANY LTD. & ANR. [ABHAY S. OKA, J.]
the appellant would be forced to pay a ransom. We h ave already
reproduced the Exclusion Clause, which defines the act of te rrorism.
Given the definition, the actions can be termed as acts of t errorism
provided the same are committed for political, religious, ideological or
similar purposes. The words “similar purposes” will have to be construed
ejusdem generis .
11. In the present case, the repudiation of the policy made by the
respondent is based on the Preliminary Survey Report, Investiga tion
Report and the Final Survey Report. The Survey Reports cannot throw
any light on the question whether there was an act of terrori sm. The
Survey Reports do not record any factual findings regarding the incidents
which caused the loss. Reliance was placed on the Investigation Report
in the letter of repudiation. A copy of the said Report, placed on record
along with I.A. No.38075 of 2022, records a conclusion drawn by the
Investigator appointed by the respondent that it is not conclusively proved
that the persons involved in the incident belonged to Maoist or similar
groups. The FIR and Closure Report do not refer to acts of terrorism as
defined under Exclusion Clause. The Final Report (Closure Report) shows
that the police had registered a First Information Report a gainst 105
miscreants who could not be traced.
12. In paragraph 8 in the case of Ishar Das Madan Lal 1, this
Court held thus:
“8. However, there may be an express clause excluding the
applicability of insurance cover. Wherever such an exclusionary
clause is contained in a policy, it would be for the insurer to
show that the case falls within the purview thereof. In a
case of ambiguity, it is trite, the contract of insuran ce shall
be construed in favour of the insured . [See United India
Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Pushpalaya Printers (2004) 3 SCC 694,
Peacock Plywood (P) Ltd. v. Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd.
(2006) 12 SCC 673 and United India Insurance Co. Ltd. v.
Kiran Combers & Spinners (2007) 1 SCC 368]”
(emphasis added)
13. The respondent has not discharged the burden of bringing the
case within the four corners of the Exclusion Clause. When the policy
itself defines the acts of terrorism in the Exclusion Clause, the terms of
the policy being a concluded contract will govern the rights and liabilities
159
of the parties. Therefore, the parties cannot rely upon the definitions of
‘terrorism’ in various penal statutes since the Exclusion Clause contains
an exhaustive definition of acts of terrorism.
14. Thus, the Commission committed an error by applying the
Exclusion Clause. Moreover, the policy specifically covers the damage
to the insured’s property caused by violent means. We are reproducing
the relevant clause in that behalf :
“V. Riot Strike and Malicious Damage
Loss of or visible physical damage or destruction b y
external violent means directly caused to the property
insured but excluding those caused by
a) total or partical ( sic) cessation of work or the retardation
or interruption or ( sic) cessation or any process or
operations or omissions of any kind.
b) Permanent or temporary dispossession resulting from
confiscation, commandeering, requisition or destruction
by order of the Government or any lawfully constituted
Authority.
c) Permanent or temporary dispossession of any building
or plant or unit of ( sic) machinery resulting from the
unlawful occupation by any person of such building or
plant or unit or machinery or prevention of access to the
same.
d) Burglary, housebreaking, theft, larceny or any such
attempt or any omission of any kind of any person
(whether or not such act is committed in the course of a
disturbance of public peace) in any malicious act.
If the Company alleges that the loss/damage is not caused by any
malicious act, the burden of proving the contrary shall be upon the
insured.”
(emphasis added)
The policy covers explicitly a liability arising out of the damage to
the property of the insured due to riots or the use of violent means.
Hence, the decision to repudiate the policy cannot be sustained. Under
the insurance policy, there are different limits prescri bed for various
NARSINGH ISPAT LTD. v.ORIENTAL INSURANCE
COMPANY LTD. & ANR. [ABHAY S. OKA, J.]
acts covered by the policy. In the impugned Judgment, it is noted that the
parties had filed affidavits-in-lieu of evidence before the Commission.
An adjudication will have to be made on the quantum of the amou nt
payable to the appellant after appreciating the evidence on record,
including the valuation reports. However, the valuer appointed by the
respondent-company has valued the loss caused to the app ellant at
approximately Rs.89,00,000/-. We, therefore, propose t o direct the
respondent to deposit the said amount with the Commission with liberty
to the appellant to make an application for withdrawal.
15. As there was no warrant for applying the Exclusion Clause,
the impugned judgment and order will have to be set aside, and by
restoring the complaint filed by the appellant, the same will have to be
ordered to be heard by the Commission afresh.
16. Accordingly, the impugned judgment and order is hereby set
aside. Consumer Complaint No.165 of 2012 filed by the appellant before
the Commission is restored to the file. After allowing pa rties to lead
further evidence, the Commission shall decide the complaint filed by the
appellant in accordance with law and in the light of what is held in this
judgment. The Commission is requested to pass an appropriate final
order on the remanded complaint within four months from today. W e
make it clear that we have not expressed a definitive opi nion on the
quantum of the amount payable to the appellant under the polic y of
insurance, and the said issue is left open for the decision of the
Commission in accordance with law.
17. As observed earlier, the respondent shall deposit the sum of
Rs.89,00,000/- in the Registry of the Commission within one month from
today and the same shall be deposited in the interest-bearing account on
auto renewal basis. At the same time, the appellant will be at liberty to
file an application for withdrawal of the amount before the Commission
pending complaint. If such an application is filed by the appellant , the
Commission may examine on its own merits and decide the sam e in
accordance with law.
18. Accordingly, the appeal is allowed in the above terms with no
order as to costs.
Bibhuti Bhushan Bose Appeal allowed.