M/S Oswal Plastic Industries v. Manager, Legal Deptt. N.A.I.C.O. Ltd
M. R. SHAH, J.
1. Feeling aggrieved and dissatisfied with the impugned judgment
and order dated 20.02.2019, passed by the National Consumer Disputes
Redressal Commission, New Delhi (hereinafter referr ed to as the
NCDRC) in First Appeal No. 207/2015, by which the NCDRC has set
aside the order passed by the State Consumer Disputes Redressal
Commission, Punjab (hereinafter referred to as the State Commission)
and has modified the same to the extent that the insuranc e company
shall be liable to pay only Rs. 12,60,000/- instead of Rs. 29,17,500/-, the
original complainant has preferred the present appeal.
2. That the appellant herein obtained Standard Fire and Special
Perils Policy with effect from 02.07.2009. The sum insured was Rs.
2.50 crores. According to the appellant, the policy was on reinstatement
value. The policy was enhanced to Rs. 4.50 crores. That during the
987
validity period of policy i.e., on 17.10.2009 fire broke out in the factory
premises resulting into loss of material, stock, and machinery of the value
of Rs. 76,64,000/-. The surveyor appointed by the insurance company
observed/assessed as such the loss on reinstatement value b asis at Rs.
29,17,500/- and on depreciated value at Rs. 12,60,000/-. The insurance
company despite the reports of the surveyor and investigator repudiated
the claim. The appellant herein – original complainant filed the complaint
before the State Commission, inter-alia, seeking a claim of Rs. 76,64,000/
- together with interest. It was the case on behalf of th e complainant
that the complainant had purchased the machinery to replace the damaged
machinery at the cost of Rs. 1,34,07,836/-. The State Commission vide
order dated 10.11.2014 relying upon the surveyor report and the loss
assessed by the surveyor on the basis of the reinstatement value awarded
a sum of Rs. 29,17,500/- together with 9% interest from the date of
repudiation letter dated 28.10.2010. The State Commission also awarded
Rs. 1 lakh as compensation and Rs. 11,000/- as litigation expenses. At
this stage, it is required to be noted that though the original com plaint
was for Rs. 76,64,000/-, however, in view of surveyor report and on
reinstatement value determined at Rs. 29,17,500/-, the State Commission
awarded Rs. 29,17,500/- being reinstatement value. The order pass ed
by the State Commission was the subject matter of ap peal by the
insurance company before the NCDRC. By the impugned judgment
and order, the NCDRC has allowed the said appeal and has modifie d
the order passed by the State Commission awarding Rs. 12,60,000/-
along with interest @ 7% from Rs. 29,17,500/- by observing th at the
complainant shall be entitled to the depreciated va lue and not the
reinstatement value. The NCDRC also set aside the a ward of
compensation of Rs. 1 lakh.
2.1 Feeling aggrieved and dissatisfied with the impugned judgment
and order passed by the NCDRC awarding Rs. 12,60,000/- only instead
of Rs. 29,17,500/- i.e., awarding depreciated value and not the
reinstatement value, the original complainant has preferred the present
appeal.
3. Shri Jay Savla, learned Senior Advocate appearing on behalf of
the appellant herein – original complainant has vehemently su bmitted
that the impugned judgment and order passed by the NCDRC awarding
depreciated value and not the reinstatement value is just contra ry to
Clause 9 of Section 2 of the insurance policy.
3.1 It is submitted that as such the surveyor assessed the loss on
reinstatement basis at Rs. 29,17,500/-. It is submitted that therefore, as
such the repudiation was rightly held to be improper.
M/S OSWAL PLASTIC INDUSTRIES V. MANAGER, LEGAL
DEPTT N.A.I.C.O. LTD. [M. R. SHAH, J.]
3.2 It is submitted that as such the complainant had purchased the
new machinery in view of five machines being gutted in fire and therefore,
the State Commission was absolutely justified in awarding Rs. 29,17,500/
- being reinstatement value on the basis of the surveyor report.
3.3 Relying upon Clause 9 of Section 2 of the policy , it is
vehemently submitted that the complainant shall be en titled to the
reinstatement value. It is submitted that the NCDRC has wrongly reduced
the claim to Rs. 12,60,000/- by mis-interpreting Clause 9 of Section 2 of
the policy. It is submitted that as such the said clause 9 shall not have
any relevance. It is submitted that it only gives option to the insurance
company to reinstate or replace the damaged/destroyed prop erty. It is
submitted that as the company has not reinstated the property, the clause
itself was not applicable.
3.4 It is submitted that as observed and held by this Court in the
case of Canara Bank Vs. United India Insurance Company Limited
and Ors.; 2020 (3) SCC 455 , provisions of the policy must be read
and interpreted in such a manner so as to give effect to the rea sonable
expectations of all the parties. It is submitted that it is further held that
coverage provisions should be interpreted broadly and if there is any
ambiguity, the same should be resolved in favour of the insured.
3.5 Making the above submissions and relying upon the above
decision, it is prayed to allow the present appeal by quashing and setting
aside the impugned judgment and order passed by the NCDRC and to
restore the order passed by the State Commission.
4. Present appeal is vehemently opposed by the learned counsel
appearing on behalf of the insurance company.
4.1 It is submitted that in the facts and circumstances of the case
and on true interpretation of Clause 9 of Section 2 of the ins urance
policy, the NCDRC has not committed any error in aw arding the
depreciated value and not awarding the reinstatement value as claimed
by the complainant.
4.2 It is submitted that as rightly observed by the NCDRC tha t
the goods insured were to be replaced on “as is bas is” i.e., if the
machinery is an old machinery, it is to be replaced by an old machinery
and therefore, as the actual reinstatement has not been don e by the
complainant or by the insurance company and the money is to be paid to
the insured on reinstatement basis, one has to find out the value of the
machinery on replacement basis i.e., the value of the old machiner y,
which can be calculated only through deducting the value of the
depreciation from the current value of the machinery.
989
4.3 Making the above submissions, it is prayed to dismiss the
present appeal.
5. The short question which is posed for consideration of this
Court is whether in the facts and circumstances of the case and on true
interpretation of relevant clause of insurance policy, in case of damage
of the plant and machinery due to fire, the complainant shall be entitled
to the reinstatement value or the depreciated value?
5.1 While dealing with the aforesaid issue, relevant clause 9 of
Section 2 of the policy is required to be considered, which reads as
under: -
“9. If the Company at its option, reinstate or replace the property
damaged or destroyed, or any part thereof, instead of paying the
amount of the loss or damage, or join with any other Company or
Insurer(s) in so doing the Company shall not be bound to reinstate
exactly or completely but only as circumstances permit and in
reasonably sufficient manner, and in no case shall the Company
be bound to expend more in reinstatement than it would have cost
to reinstate such property as it was at the time of the occurrence
of such loss or damage nor more than the sum insured by the
Company thereon. If the Company so elect to reinstate or replace
any property the insured shall at his own expense furnish the
Company with such plans, specifications, measurements, quantities
and such other particulars as the Company may require, and no
acts done or caused to be done, by the Company with a view to
reinstatement or replacement shall be deemed an election by the
Company to reinstate or replace.
If in any case the Company shall be unable to reinstate or repair
the property hereby insured, because of any municipal or ot her
regulations in force affecting the alignment of street s or the
construction of buildings or otherwise, the Company shall, in every
such case, only be liable to pay such sum as would be requisite to
reinstate or repair such property if the same could lawful ly be
reinstated to its former condition.”
5.2 On true interpretation and on fair reading of above clause,
firstly the option is given to the insurance company to reinstate or replace
property damaged or destroyed instead of paying the amount of loss or
damage. If the insurance company exercises the option of reinstatement
or replaces the property damaged, the company shall not be bound to
reinstate completely or partly but only as circumstances per mit and in
reasonably sufficient manner, and in no case shall the company be bound
to expend more in reinstatement than it would have cost to reinstate
M/S OSWAL PLASTIC INDUSTRIES V. MANAGER, LEGAL
DEPTT N.A.I.C.O. LTD. [M. R. SHAH, J.]
such property as it was at the time of the occurrence of suc h loss or
damage not more than the sum insured by the company thereon. However,
in any case the company is unable to reinstate or repair the property
insured, because of any municipal or other regulations in force affecting
the alignment of streets or the construction of bui ldings or
OTHERWISE, in that case, the company shall be liable to pay such
sum as would be requisite to reinstate or repair such prop erty if the
same could lawfully be reinstated to its former condition. Present is the
case dealing with second eventuality, namely, the company was unable
to reinstate or repair the property. The surveyor in its report determined
the loss on the basis of reinstatement value at Rs. 29,17,500/- and on the
basis of depreciated value at Rs. 12,60,000/-. Though, the complainant
claimed Rs. 76,64,000/- being the value of the new machinery, however,
as rightly observed by the State Commission as well as the NCDRC, the
complainant shall not be entitled to the said amount. However , at the
same time considering second part of Clause 9 reproduced hereinabove,
in case company is unable to reinstate or repair the property insured, the
insurance company shall be liable to pay such sum as would be requisite
to reinstate or repair such property if the same could lawfully be reinstated
to its former condition. For the aforesaid purpose, the report of surveyor
wound be relevant evidence to consider the sum required to reinstate or
repair. Therefore, as per second part of Clause 9 of Section 2 of the
policy, the complainant shall be entitled to the reinstatement value and
not the depreciated value. The NCDRC has mis-interpreted and mis-read
the Clause 9. The NCDRC has seriously erred in observing and holding
that the insurance company shall be liable to pay the depreciated value
only and not the reinstatement value. The State Com mission was
absolutely justified in awarding the reinstatement value. The impugned
judgment and order passed by the NCDRC awarding the depreciated
value and not the reinstatement value is unsustainable for the reasons
stated hereinabove.
6. In view of the above and for the reasons stated above, the
present appeal succeeds. The impugned judgment and order passed by
the NCDRC is hereby quashed and set aside. The order passed by t he
State Commission is hereby restored. The complainant shall be entitled
to Rs. 29,17,500/- being the reinstatement value with interest @ 7%
from the date of order of the State Commission i.e., 10.11.2014 till the
actual payment. The present appeal is accordingly allowed. No costs.
Ankit Gyan Appeal allowed.
(Assisted by : Abhishek Pratap Singh, LCRA)