Om Prakash Ahuja v. Reliance General Insurance Co. Ltd. Etc.
RAJESH BINDAL, J.
1. Common order dated 26.11.2018 passed by the Nati onal
Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (for short, “the N ational
Commission”) in Revision Petition Nos. 923 of 2011 and 1417 of 2014 is
under challenge before this Court. We deem it appropriate to notice the
facts separately, before we deal with the arguments.
REVISION PETITION NO. 923/201 1
2. This petition was filed by the respondent Insurance Company
before the National Commission challenging order dated 23.12.2010
passed by Haryana State Consumer Disputes Redressal Comm ission
(for short “the State Commission”) in Appeal No. 1792/09. It was an
appeal against an order dated 11.9.2009 passed by the District Consumer
Disputes Redressal Forum, Karnal (for short “the District Forum”), in a
complaint filed by Om Prakash Ahuja, the appellant. The grievance raised
by the appellant in the complaint was that the expenses incurred by him
on treatment of his wife for ovarian cancer were not reimbursed by the
respondent, Reliance General Insurance Ltd. (hereinafter referred to as
“the insurance company”). It was pleaded that the health insurance policy
was taken by the appellant for the family, which was valid from 7.7.2007
to 6.7.2008. The coverage was for
2 lakhs against any health problem
and
4 lakhs in case of critical illness. The policy was further renewed
up to 6.7.2009. The deceased wife of the appellant was diagnosed to be
suffering from ovarian cancer. She was treated in various hospitals from
19.1.2008 to 23.8.2008. Claim of
91,496 was lodged for treatment from
19.1.2008 to 11.3.2008 and
4,14,464 for the period from 13.3.2008 to
19.9.2008. The claim was repudiated by the insurance company vi de
letters dated 1.10.2008 and 8.12.2008, respectively on the ground that
the appellant’s wife was suffering from rheumatic heart disease and the
same was not disclosed in the proposal form. The complaint was filed
before the District Forum. Vide order dated 11.09.2009 the District Forum
directed the insurance company to reimburse the expenses incurred by
the appellant on treatment of his wife along with interest @ 8% p.a.
87
Further, refusal to renew insurance policy was found to be arb itrary.
Direction was issued for renewal of the health insurance p olicy upon
payment of premium.
3. The appeal filed by the insurance company against the orde r
passed by District Forum was dismissed by the State Commission vide
order dated 23.12.2010.
4. While entertaining the revision petition filed by the Insurance
Company against the order passed by the State Commission, the National
Commission vide interim order dated 13.5.2011 directed that the renewal
of insurance policy shall be subject to its final decision. Vide order dated
26.11.2018,the National Commission upheld the directions of the State
Commission to the extent of reimbursement of expenses incurred on the
treatment of the deceased wife of the appellant, however, the direction
for renewal of the health insurance policy was set aside.
REVISION PETITION NO. 1417/2014
5. This revision petition was filed by the Insurance Com pany
before the National Commission against the order passed by the State
Commission in Appeal No. 689/2013 decided on 2.12.2013, whereby the
State Commission upheld the order dated 1.8.2013 passed by the District
Forum in a complaint filed by the appellant. It was pleaded in the complaint
that the appellant had initially purchased a health insurance poli cy for
the family which was valid from 7.7.2007 to 6.7.2008 and it was
subsequently renewed up to 6.7.2009.The said policy was renewed in
October 2011 for the period from 7.7.2009 to 6.7.2010 on payment of
premium of
6105 and for the period from 7.7.2010 to 6.7.2011 on
payment of
30,560 and for the period from 7.7.2011 to 6.7.2012 on
payment of
30,560. As the complainant had spent a sum of
3,23,486.50
during the period from 11.11.2009 to 11.6.2010,
2,31,307.34during the
period from 2.8.2010 to 6.6.2011,
1,18,511.50 for the period 27.6.2011 1
to 30.9.2011 and
74,332.80 during the period from 27.9.2011 to
28.10.2011 on treatment of his wife, claim was lodged with the insurance
company. The claims having not been accepted, a complaint was filed.
The stand taken by the insurance company before the District Fo rum
was that the renewal of the policy was in terms of the or der passed by
the District Forum in the earlier complaint filed by the appellant as
confirmed by the State Commission. However, the same was the subject
matter of challenge before the National Commission. Hence, no claim
OM PRAKASH AHUJA v. RELIANCE GENERAL INSURANCE
CO. LTD. ETC. [RAJESH BINDAL, J.]
was admissible on that basis. However, finally the District Forum directed
for reimbursement of
7,47,638.19 along with interest @ 9% p.a. Besides
this, a sum of
20,000 was awarded for harassment and
5,000 towards
litigation expenses.
6. The appeal filed by the insurance company before the Sta te
Commission was dismissed vide order dated 2.12.2013.
7. The National Commission, vide impugned order allowed the
Revision Petition No. 1417/2014 holding that once renewal of the policy
beyond 6.7.2009 was not proper, no claim was admissible.
ARGUMENTS
8. Learned counsel for the appellant submitted that it is a case in
which the appellant had got the health insurance policy for the family.
Once expenses had been incurred on the treatment of his wife, the same
were required to be reimbursed by the insurance company. There is no
dispute raised as expenses were actually incurred. The wi fe of the
appellant unfortunately expired. Though the direction was issued by the
District Forum, as upheld up to the National Commission, the expenses
incurred during the period 7.7.2007 to 6.7.2009 were directed to be paid
to the appellant considering the fact that the concealment of rheumatic
heart disease had no relation with ovarian cancer. Reliance was placed
on order passed by this Court in Sulbha Prakash Motegaonkar v. LIC1.
However, for the period subsequent to 6.7.2009, the claim was not
accepted by the insurance company. On a complaint filed by the appellant,
a direction was issued by the District Forum to the insurance company
to reimburse the expenses incurred on the treatment. The order was
upheld by the State Commission. However, the National Commis sion
has erroneously set aside that order holding that the rene wal of policy
was not proper. No doubt, the health insurance policy was renewed on a
direction issued by the District Forum, as upheld by the State Commission.
However, non-renewal of a policy by the insurance company has certainly
deprived the appellant from taking the policy from any other company.
At this stage, it would be unreasonable to deprive the ap pellant of the
fruits of the policy in the form of claim, despite the fact that more than
the normal premium was charged by the insurance company at the time
of renewal as extra risk was covered.
1 2015 SCC Online SC 1880.
89
9. On the other hand, learned counsel for the insurance company
submitted that no benefit could accrue to the appellant in t erms of an
order passed by the Commission, which was ultimately set aside. Initially
the appellant had got the policy from 7.7.2007 to 6.7.2008, which was
renewed upto 6.7.2009. There was some issue with reference to t he
claim for expenses incurred by the appellant for treatment of his wife as
the disease from which she was suffering at the time of purchasing the
policy, was not disclosed. Still in a complaint filed by t he appellant,
direction was issued for reimbursement of the expenses incurred by the
appellant. As the direction was upheld up to the National Commission,
the insurance company has not challenged the same. Even though there
may be dispute regarding the quantum of expenses incurred.
10. There is no error in the order passed by the Na tional
Commission whereby it has held that renewal of policy from 7.7.2009
onwards is not proper. In fact, the last policy of the appellant expired on
6.7.2009 and thereafter there was no renewal of the po licy as the
insurance company had refused to renew the same. It was in ter ms of
the order passed by the District Forum on 11.9.2009 as upheld by the
State Commission by order dated 23.12.2010 and the interim order passed
by the National Commission on 13.5.2011 that the insurance policy from
7.7.2009 to 6.7.2012 was renewed in October 2011. Interim order passed
by the National Commission specifically stated that the renewal will be
subject to the final decision and finally the National Commission held
that the direction issued by the State Commission for renewa l of the
policy was not proper.
11. Issuance of insurance policy is a contract. The in surance
company cannot be compelled to sell any policy. In fact, the refusal to
renew the policy was in terms of the guidelines issued dow n by the
Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority dated Mar ch 31,
2009.The appellant cannot compel the insurance company to violate those
guidelines. In terms of the aforesaid guidelines, renewal of an insurance
policy can be refused on the ground of fraud, moral hazard or
misrepresentation. It is a case in which at the time of p urchasing the
first policy, the appellant had concealed the factum of illness being
suffered by his wife as a result of which the claim for tr eatment was
made. Though that amount is not being disputed by the appellant, however,
the claim made for the period during which the policy was renewed in
terms of interim order passed by the National Commission will not be
OM PRAKASH AHUJA v. RELIANCE GENERAL INSURANCE
CO. LTD. ETC. [RAJESH BINDAL, J.]
admissible to the appellant. He further submitted that reliance on the
order passed by this Court in Sulbha Prakash Motegaonkar’s case
(supra)is totally misplaced. In the aforesaid order, the e arlier binding
precedents of this Court in Satwant Kaur Sandhu v. New India
Assurance Company Limited 2, Reliance Life Insurance Company
Limited and Another v. Rekhaben Nareshbhai Rathod 3 and Oriental
Insurance Company Limited v. Mahendra Construction 4, were not
considered.
DISCUSSION
12. Heard learned counsel for the parties and perused the relevant
referred records.
13. As per the facts available, in the complaint No. 50 filed by the
appellant before the District Forum, the wife of the appellant was detected
suffering from Cancer of Ovary. She was treated in various hospitals
from 19.01.2008 onwards. She remained hospitalised from 19.01.2008
to 23.08.2008. A claim of
91,416 was submitted for the expenses
incurred for treatment from 19.01.2008 to 11.03.2008. A further claim
of
4,14,464.76 was submitted for treatment from 13.03. 2008 to
19.09.2008. The aforesaid claims were repudiated by the insu rance
company vide letters dated 01.10.2008 and 08.12.2008, respectively.
Challenging the rejection of the claim, a complaint was filed before the
District Forum.
14. The District Forum vide order dated 11.09.2009 accepted the
complaint. The communications of the insurance company repudiating
the claims were set aside, while holding that there was no relation of the
disease suffered by the wife of the appellant with the disease for which
treatment was taken. The action of insurance company in refusing further
renewal of the policy was also held to be bad. Accordingly, the direction
was issued to renew the policies from the date these expired on payment
of renewal charges.
15. The aforesaid order was challenged by the insurance company
before the State Commission. However, the said appeal was dismissed.
The State Commission observed that even at the time of the first renewal
of the policy from 07.07.2008 to 06.07.2009, the insurance company
2 (2009) 8 SCC 316.
3 (2019) 6 SCC 175.
4 (2019) 18 SCC 209.
91
was well aware of the treatment which the wife of the appel lant was
undergoing, for which the claim had already been submitted. The order
dated 23.12.2010 passed by the State Commission was challenged by
the insurance company before the National Commission.
16. Vide interim order dated 13.05.2011, the National Commission
directed that the renewal of policy in terms of the direction issued by the
District Forum, as upheld by the State Commission, shall be subject to
final decision in the Revision Petition No.923 of 2011. The challenge by
the insurance company before the National Commission was only to the
direction issued by the lower authorities for renewal of the policy from
07.07.2009 onwards, otherwise the amount spent by the appellant f or
treatment as claimed in the complaint was not disputed and was duly
paid.
17. In terms of the interim order passed by the Nat ional
Commission, the insurance policy was renewed for the period from
07.07.2009 to 06.07.2010 on payment of a premium of
6,105. Policy
was further renewed for the period from 07.07.2010 to 06.07.2011 and
from 07.07.2011 to 06.07.2012, on payment of annual premium of
30,560.
The fact remains that the sum insured remained the same from the very
beginning i.e., two lakhs and four lakhs in case of critical i llness. The
policy from 07.07.2009 onwards was renewed in October 2011.
18. A complaint bearing number 249 of 2012 was filed by the
appellant seeking reimbursement of the amount spent by the appellant
on the treatment of his wife of
3,23,486.50 for the period from 11.11.2009
to 11.06.2010,
2,31,307.34 for the period from 02.08.2010 to 06.06.2011,
1,18,511.50 for the period from 27.06.2011 to 30.09.2011 and
74,332.80
for the period from 27.09.2011 to 28.10.2011. The claim was submitted
by the Appellant on 14.10.2011 which was repudiated vide letter dated
31.01.2012, after which the complaint was filed. The reason ass igned
was that the renewal of insurance policies for the period in question was
sub judice before the National Commission.
19. The District Forum accepted the complaint vide order dated
01.08.2013 and directed reimbursement of expenses incurred by t he
appellant. The State Commission in an appeal filed by the insurance
company upheld the order passed by the District Forum.
20. The aforesaid order was also challenged by the insuran ce
company before the National Commission by filing Revisi on Petition
OM PRAKASH AHUJA v. RELIANCE GENERAL INSURANCE
CO. LTD. ETC. [RAJESH BINDAL, J.]
No. 1417 of 2014. The National Commission decided both the Revision
petitions vide a common order.
21. There is a letter dated 10.03.2008 on record from the appellant
to respondent no.2 namely Paramount Health Services Private Limited,
who is the agent of the insurance company. The letter clearly suggests
that the claim had been lodged and allotted number 2771734. It was
thereafter that the policy for the next year was renewed on 07.07.2008.
22. There was no clear answer given by learned Counsel for the
respondent insurance company regarding the submission of the cl aim
made by the appellant with its agent on 10.03.2008 which was even
allotted a claim number 2771734. All what was sought to be explained
was that it was in process and may not be in the notice of the department
renewing the policy from 07.07.2008 till 06.07.2009.
23. The National Commission in Revision Petition 923 of 2011 set
aside the direction issued by the lower authorities for renewa l of the
policies beyond 06.07.2009, as it was noticed that there was concealment
of facts by the appellant at the time of purchase of the pol icy with
reference to the disease already suffered by his wife i. e., rheumatic
heart disease. Once the policies for the period from 07.07.2009 onwards
are not renewed, the claim for reimbursement of expenses incurred on
treatment was also rejected while setting aside the orders passed by the
lower authorities.
24. A certificate dated June 30, 2009, issued by Rajiv Gandhi Cancer
Institute and Research Centre, New Delhi has been placed o n record
giving the details of the treatment given to the wife of the appellant, who
was a registered patient with the hospital since 13.03.2008 and prior to
that she had undergone surgery on 31.01.2008 at AIIMS. The certificate
further mentions that rheumatic heart disease and carcinoma ovary are
not related to each other.
25. The main thrust of the argument of learned Counsel for the
insurance company is that in terms of the guidelines issu ed by the
Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority on 3 1.03.2009
regarding renewal of health insurance policies, the renewal of policy to
the appellant could be refused. The relevant clause is extrac ted below
from the IRDA letter dated 31st March, 2009.
“A health insurance policy shall be ordinarily rene wable
except on grounds such as fraud, moral hazard, or
93
misrepresentation and upon renewal being sought by the
insured, shall not be rejected on arbitrary grounds .
Specifically, renewal shall not be denied on the ground that
the insured had made a claim (or claims) in the previous or
earlier years.”
26. The ground on which renewal of insurance policy to the
appellant is sought to be refused is that while taking the initial policy, the
appellant had failed to disclose that his wife (now deceased) was suffering
from rheumatic heart disease. Though she expired of cancer. The f act
remains that the first policy was taken by the appellan t for the period
from07.07.2007 to 06.07.2008, which was renewed for another year.
The claims even for the period, wherein valid policy was available with
the appellant, were repudiated. Renewal of policy beyond 07.07.2009
onwards was refused relying upon the guidelines issued by the Insurance
Regulatory and Development Authority vide communication dated March
31, 2009. The claim of the appellant was repudiated on that very ground
namely non-disclosure of the disease by which the wife of the appellant
(now deceased) suffered at the time of purchase of initi al policy. The
repudiation of claim by the insurance company was subject ma tter of
consideration before the Fora at different levels under the Consumer
Protection Act, 1986. The rejection of the claim on the ground that there
was concealment of certain material facts by the appellant at the time of
purchase of policy, was not found to be tenable and the insurance company
was directed to reimburse the expenses incurred for the p eriod from
07.07.2007 to 06.07.2009.The aforesaid amount was paid by the insurance
company. The order passed by the National Commissio n was not
challenged any further by the Insurance Company.From this, it is
established that even the Insurance Company accepted the fact that
non-mentioning of the disease from which the deceased wife of the
appellant suffered at the time of purchasing the policy was not material,
as the death was caused from a different disease all together. Both had
no relation with each other. Now, the insurance company cannot be
permitted to raise same plea to deny renewal of insurance policy to the
appellant for the period from 07.07.2009 onwards. Even though direction
was given by the District Forum vide order dated 11.09.2009 to renew
the policy further but it was not renewed, till such time interim order was
passed by the National Commission on 13.05.2011.
27. Further the impugned order was passed by the Nation al
Commission on 26.11.2018, whereby direction for renewal of policies
OM PRAKASH AHUJA v. RELIANCE GENERAL INSURANCE
CO. LTD. ETC. [RAJESH BINDAL, J.]
was set aside. The amount of premium charged by the insurance company
for renewal of policies has not been refunded. Meaning thereb y the
premium for renewal of the policies for the period in dispute stands paid.
28. The judgments of this Court relied upon by the insurance
company in the case of Satwant Kaur Sandhu vs. New India
Assurance Company Limited 5; Reliance Life Insurance Company
Limited vs. Rekhaben Nareshbhai Rathod 6 and Oriental Insurance
Company Limited vs. Mahendra Construction 7 will not come to its
rescue for the reason that in the aforesaid cases, the issue under
consideration was whether the repudiation of the claim by the insurance
company on the ground of concealment of fact at the time of purchase
of policy was valid or not. It was with reference to the p eriod during
which the policy was valid. Examining the facts of the above-mentioned
cases, this Court opined that the repudiation of cl aim was legally
sustainable. In the case in hand repudiation of claim was s et aside &
order was accepted by the Insurance Company.
29. For the reasons mentioned above, the appeals are allowed.
The impugned order passed by the National Commission is set aside.
The orders passed by the District Forum and State Forum rega rding
direction to the Insurance Company to renew the policies are restored.
Further, once there is a valid insurance policy available in favour of the
appellant, the claim made by him for reimbursement of the expenses
incurred is justifiable and deserves to be paid to him. Ordered accordingly.
There shall be no order as to costs.
Nidhi Jain Appeals allowed.
(Assisted by : Tamana, LCRA)
5 (2009) 8 SCC 316.
6 (2019) 6 SCC 175.
7 (2019) 18 SCC 209.