Calcutta State Transport Corporation & Ors. v. Ashit Chakraborty & Ors.
RAJESH BINDAL, J.
Leave granted.
1. The order dated 5.3.2021 passed in F.M.A. No. 692 of 2019 by
the Division Bench of the High Court at Calcutta has been challenge d
before this Court wherein order dated 17.8.2018 passed by the Single
Bench in Writ Petition bearing W.P. No. 6808 (W) of 2018 was upheld.
2. It is a case in which the respondent no.1 was appointed as a
Conductor with the appellant Corporation. At that time there wa s no
pension scheme in force, only Contributory Provident Fund Scheme was
applicable. In 1991, in exercise of powers conferred under Section 45 of
the Road Transport Corporation Act, 1950, the Corporation, with th e
previous sanction of the State Government, framed The Calcutta State
Transport Corporation Employees’ Service (Death cum R etirement
Benefits) Regulations, 1990 (for short, “the 1990 Regulations” ). The
aforesaid Regulations came into force with retrospective effect from
1.4.1984. The 1990 Regulations mandated that in order to get the benefit
of the said scheme, existing employees of the Corporation will have to
submit written option within six months from the date of publication of
the 1990 Regulations expressing their willingness to switch over to the
said pension scheme instead of maintaining their status as C.P.F. holder.
The 1990 Regulations also provided that it shall be optional to the existing
205
employees, however, it shall be binding upon the new entrants on and
after the date of Notification of the 1990 Regulations.
3. The respondent no.1 opted for pension scheme. On 21.7.2017,
he opted for voluntary retirement, which was accepted by the Corporation
and he retired on 31.7.2017. On his retirement the respondent no. 1 was
paid an amount of ` 13,28,495/- towards CPF contribution, ` 7,44,265/-
towards gratuity, ` 2,58,012/- towards VRS Compensation and a sum of
` 2,409/- towards leave salary. As no pension was paid to the respondent
no.1, he made a representation on 8.5.2018. As his cla im was not
considered, he filed writ petition, which was allowed by the Single Judge
vide order dated 17.8.2018. The operative part of the order reads as
under:
“I direct the petitioner to refund the employer’s shar e of the
provident fund as well as the amount of gratuity paid in excess of
the pensionable amount to the Corporation with interest @ 6%
per annum within a period of two weeks. Upon receipt of suc h
payment, the respondents shall release the pension in favour of
the petitioner within two weeks for the month of August 2018 and
shall go on paying the monthly pension as per the usual practice
with the Corporation.
So far as the arrear pension is concerned, i.e. from August, 2018
to July 2018, the respondents are directed to liquidate the same in
three equal monthly instalments, the first of which shall be paid by
September 15, 2018. The arrear of pension shall carry an interest
@ 6% per annum to be evenly distributed in three instalments. In
case the pension amount is sent to the bank account of the petitioner,
the respondent authorities shall the petitioner a copy of the break-
up calculation for each monthly instalment.”
The order was challenged by the Corporation in appeal. Th e
Division Bench of the High Court upheld the order passed by the Single
Bench.
4. Learned counsel for the appellant submitted that no doubt the
respondent no.1 submitted his option in 1991 for the pension scheme in
terms of the 1990 Regulations. However, thereafter repeated conduct
of the respondent no.1 shows that he in fact was not interested in that.
There were regular deductions from his salary towards provident fund.
The statements were being sent to him. However, he never objected to
CALCUTTA STATE TRANSPORT CORPORATION
v. ASHIT CHAKRABORTY [RAJESH BINDAL, J.]
it. He raised the issue only after his retirement. In such circumstances,
he should not be allowed to avail the benefit of the pension scheme.
5. On the other hand, learned counsel for the respondent no. 1
submitted that the requirement under the 1990 Regulations was to submit
an option within the prescribed time. The respondent no.1 had submitted
his option for availing the pension scheme. Thereafter, it was the duty of
the employer, namely, the appellant to have properly calculated his salary
and the deductions required to be made therefrom under different heads.
In case any error was committed by the Corporation, he should not b e
made to suffer on that account. Whatever amount was p aid to the
respondent no.1 on his retirement, he accepted the same consi dering
that the same may be due on his retirement. He did not know t hat the
Corporation will not pay pension to him and some other amount ha s
been paid in excess. It was the fault of the Corporation only. I t is only
after the retirement of respondent no.1 that he came to know t hat the
pension was not being paid to him. As the representation made by him
was not considered, he had to approach the High Court. There is no
error in the orders passed by the Single Judge and Division Bench of the
High Court. Equities have been balanced. The amount, which was not
due to the respondent no.1, has been directed to be refunded to th e
appellant Corporation along with interest and same interest is required
to be paid to him on release of arrears of pension. In fact , when the
respondent no.1 approached the High Court and the writ petition w as
allowed, it was immediately after his retirement. H owever, the
Corporation has wasted about five years’ time in avoidable litigation and
deprived the respondent no.1 of his rightful claim.
6. Heard learned counsel for the parties and perused the pa per
book.
7. The undisputed facts are that the respondent no. 1 was
appointed in the Corporation as conductor on 6.7.1981. The 1990
Regulations were framed providing for pension scheme for the employees,
which was effective from 1.4.1984. In terms thereof, the existing
employees were to give an option to avail benefit unde r the 1990
Regulations. Prior to this Contributory Pension Scheme was in force. It
is not in dispute that the respondent no.1 had submitted his option within
time. He sought voluntary retirement on 21.7.2017, w.e.f. 31.07.2017.
Certain retiral benefits were paid to him, however, no pension was paid
to him for which he had exercised the option. He filed a representation
207
on 8.5.2018. No action was taken thereon. Hence, he filed writ petition
before the High Court.
8. Initially the stand taken before the Single Judge was that the
respondent no.1 had not submitted his option within the stipulated time.
However, on perusal of the various documents produced before the Court,
it was found that the respondent no.1 had submitted his option way back
in the year 1991 immediately after the 1990 Regulations were notified.
The claim of the respondent no.1 was sought to be defeated on the
ground that even after exercising the option, contribution wa s being
deducted from his salary in terms of the membership in the CPF scheme
to which he never objected. Further, the plea was sought t o be raised
that there are large number of similarly situated employee s who will
raise this claim.
9. However, the aforesaid arguments were not found to be
meritorious, hence rejected by the High Court. It was found th at the
Corporation was at fault in not acting upon the option exercised by the
respondent no.1. Finally, direction was given to the respondent no.1 to
refund the employer share of provident fund as well as the amo unt of
gratuity paid in excess to the Corporation along with interest @ 6% per
annum within two weeks. On receipt of the amount, the Corpora tion
was directed to release the pension within two weeks from August 2018
onwards. As far as arrears of pension from August 2017 to July 2018
was concerned, direction was given to liquidate the same in three equal
monthly instalments from September 15, 2018 onwards. The arrears
were also to carry interest @ 6% per annum. The amount was to be
transferred in the bank account of respondent no.1. Despite the legally
sustainable and equitable order passed by the learned Single Judge, the
Corporation filed intra-court appeal. Vide order dated 25.6.2019, the
Division Bench stayed the operation of the order passed by the learned
Single Judge. On consideration of the application filed by the respondent
no.1 for vacation of the interim stay, the appeal itself was heard and
decided finally vide impugned judgment. The only argument raised before
the Division Bench was regarding waiver. However, the same was not
accepted. This principle could be applied in case there was conscious
abandonment of existing legal right.
10. We do not find any merit in the same argument raised by the
counsel for the appellant as was rejected by the High Court, namely, the
waiver of the right to receive pension by the respondent no.1. T here
CALCUTTA STATE TRANSPORT CORPORATION
v. ASHIT CHAKRABORTY [RAJESH BINDAL, J.]
was no conscious abandonment of right to receive pension by the
respondent no.1 to deprive him of his pension. Reference can be made
to judgment of this Court in Kalpraj Dharamshi and Another v. Kotak
Investment Advisors Limited and Another1. Relevant para 119 thereof
is extracted below:-
“119. For considering, as to whether a party has waived its rights
or not, it will be relevant to consider the conduct of a party. For
establishing waiver, it will have to be established, that a party
expressly or by its conduct acted in a manner, which is inconsistent
with the continuance of its rights. However, the mere acts of
indulgence will not amount to waiver. A party claiming waiver
would also not be entitled to claim the benefit of waiver, unless it
has altered its position in reliance on the same.”
11. It is not in dispute that the respondent no.1 had exercised his
right to receive pension under the 1990 Regulations in the yea r 1991.
Thereafter, it was the duty of the Corporation to have given effect to the
same. Merely because there were some wrong deductions from his
salary and he was treated as member of the CPF Scheme, c annot be
permitted to be raised as a ground to defeat his rightful claim. The pension
was to start after retirement of the respondent. When the same was not
released to him, immediately representation was made by him . As no
response was received from the appellant, the writ petiti on was filed.
The argument that there are number of similarly situated employees
who will also stake their claims, will not deter this Court in granting the
relief to the respondent, which is legitimately due to him. Rat her this
argument shows that the Corporation was at fault in implementing the
1990 Regulations in the cases of number of employees though these
were notified on 4.1.1991 and were given retrospective effect from
1.4.1984. Technical objections are sought to be raised, which are not
tenable. For any fault on the part of the Corporation, the employees
cannot be made to suffer.
12. We do not find any error in the orders passed by the Hi gh
Court. The appeal is accordingly dismissed.
Divya Pandey Appeal dismissed.
(Assisted by : Roopanshi Virang, LCRA)
1 (2021) 10 SCC 401