Sarnam Singh v. Shriram General Insurance Co. Ltd. & Ors
RAJESH BINDAL, J.
1. Aggrieved against the order passed by the Delhi High Court in
MAC.APP.461/2016 dated August 25, 2017, the appellant has filed the
present appeal before this court.
2. The appellant met with an accident on 24.11.2013 with Tempo
bearing registration number UP 79T 1948. As a result of w hich he
suffered injuries. He remained hospitalised from 24.11.2013 to 05.01.2014,
for a period of around one month and ten days. Thereafter he remained
SARNAM SINGH v. SHRIRAM GENERAL INSURANCE CO.
LTD. & ORS.
under follow-up treatment for about a year. He suffered 85% disability
in relation to his right lower limb as the same had to be amputated. The
Motor Accident Claims Tribunal, South District, Saket New Delhi, (for
short ‘the Tribunal’) vide its award dated 18.4.201 6, awarded a
compensation of
34,29,800/-. As the vehicle was insured, the liability
was put on the insurance company. The Tribunal while assess ing the
compensation had awarded a sum of
1,50,000/- on account of pain
andsuffering,
95,000/- on account of diet, conveyance and attendant
charges. In addition, a sum of
1,00,000/- was awarded on account of
loss of amenities. The appellant was working as gunman with M/s Bharat
Hotels Ltd. and was having a designation of Senior Assistan t. At the
time of accident, he was drawing a salary of
20,774/- per month
including a conveyance allowance of
800/-. He was permanently
employed with the company since 20.06.1992. At the time of his initial
engagement,he was drawing a salary of
1,572/- per month which was
increased to
20,774/- with the passage of time from 1992 to 2013. As
a result of the accident and amputation of his right lower limb, his services
were terminated w.e.f. 31.5.2015 on account of inability to discharge his
duties for which he was employed. The Tribunal had taken the net salary
at
19,947/- per month after reducing the transport allowance from the
gross salary. On the date of accident his age was 50 years and 5 months
old. While assessing the compensation the Tribunal applied a multiplier
of 13. While taking his functional disability at 100% with refer ence to
the job on which the appellant was employed, compensa tion of
30,84,800/- was awarded.
3. Against the order of the Tribunal, the insurance company filed
appeal before the High Court. The High Court vide impugned or der
dated 25.8.2017, while not finding any fault with reference to any of the
findings recorded by the Tribunal, namely the income of the appellant,
his age, multiplier appliedor the disability suffer ed, reduced the
compensation taking his loss of earning capacity at 80%,despite the fact
that the appellant had suffered amputation of his right lower limb. The
amount of compensation was reduced by
4,92,205/- and finally the
amount determined was
28,43,000/- (rounded off). The compensation
awarded under other heads was not disturbed.
4. It is the aforesaid order which has been impugned b y the
appellant before this Court.
5. Learned Counsel for the appellant has raised a limited argument
that the order of the High Courtreducing the loss of earning capacity to
1185
80% is erroneous as the appellant had suffered amputation of his right
lower limb. He was working as gunman. As a result of the accident on
account of his inability to discharge duty as gunman his services we re
terminated w.e.f. 31.05.2015. Hence, in the case of the appellant the
functional disability could not be taken as 80%. It should be t aken as
100%.
6. On the other hand, Learned Counsel for the respo ndent
Insurance company submitted that there was error in calculation of the
compensation by the Tribunal keeping in view the disability certificate
produced by the appellant. The same has been corrected by the High
Court. The appellant had not preferred appeal seeking enhancement of
compensation. There is no error in the order passed by the High Court.
The appeal, therefore,deserves to be dismissed.
7. Heard Learned Counsel for the parties and perused the paper
book.
8. The issue required to be considered in the present appeal falls
in a very narrow campus. It is with the reference to the functional
disability of the appellant for the purpose of assessment of compensation.
The fact remains that he suffered injuries in a road accident on account
of which his right lower limb was amputated. This resulted in permanent
disability.There is a certificate produced by the appellant from Madan
Mohan Malviya Hospital, (Government of NCT Delhi) showing his
permanent physical disability at 85% with further note that the condition
is not likely to improve and no further reassessment is recomm ended.
The certificate was issued by a board of doctors on 28.03.2014. As per
the photograph of the appellant appearing in the disability certificate, his
right leg has been amputated above the knee. The income of the appellant,
his age and other factors are not in dispute.
9. As to how compensation, in case where permanent disability of
an injured affects his functional disability, is to be ass essed has been
considered by this Court, repeatedly. Reference can be mad e to the
judgment of this Court in Mohan Soni vs. Ram Avtar Tomar And
Others 1. In the aforesaid case the injured was working as a cart puller.
Asa result of the accident, his left leg was amputated. His permanent
disability was assessed at 60%. The Tribunal assessed the compensation
taking the loss of earning at 50% on the theory that he can still do some
1(2012) 2 SCC 267
SARNAM SINGH v. SHRIRAM GENERAL INSURANCE CO.
LTD. & ORS. [RAJESH BINDAL, J.]
other work while sitting. The High Court did not disturb the finding
regarding loss of income on account of disability. This Court found that
the Tribunal was in error in taking the loss of earning at 50% as the
injured was 55 years of age and it may be difficult for him to find a job at
that stage. In fact, any physical disability resulting from an accident has
to be judged with reference to the nature of the work being per formed
by the person who suffered disability. The same injury suffered by two
different persons may affect them in different ways. L oss of leg by a
farmer or a rickshaw puller may be end of the road as far as his earning
capacity is concerned. Whereas, in case of the persons engaged in some
kind of desk work in office, loss of leg may have lesser effect. This
Court enhanced the loss of earning capacity from 50% to 90%.
10. Applying the same principle to the case in hand, we find that
the appellant herein was working as a gunman with Bh arat Hotel
Limited.On account of amputation of his right leg above the knee , he
was terminated from service w.e.f. 31.05.2015. It is not a mat ter of
dispute that a person with his right leg amputated cannot p erform the
duty of a gunman. This is his functional disability. He was 50 years & 5
months old at the time of accident. Considering the aforesai d facts, in
our view, the Tribunal was right in assessing the loss of earning capacity
of the appellant at 100% and assessing the compensation accord ingly.
The High Court was in error in reducing the loss of earning capacity to
80%, relying upon the judgment of High Court, despite there being a
judgment of this Court available on the issue.
11. To put the records straight, we may add that there is another
error in order passed by the High Court in calculat ing the
compensation.The compensation awarded by the Tribunal was taken on
33,34,800/-. Reducing a sum of
4,92,205/- therefrom, the
compensation was assessed at
28,43,000/- (rounded off). However, ,
total compensation awarded by the Tribunal was
34,29,800/- and not
33,34,800/-
12. For the reason mentioned above, the appeal filed by the
appellant is allowed. The impugned order passed by the High Court is
set aside and the award passed by the Tribunal is restored. T here shall
be no order as to costs.
Nidhi Jain Appeal allowed.
(Assisted by : Tamana, LCRA)