G.S. Dhara Singh v. E.K. Thomas & Ors.
VENKATAR:AMIAH, J. The question involved in this petition is
whether a member of a trade union is entitled to ask for an account
and to claim refund of the sums received by the trade union from the
management for and on his behalf on his ceasing to be a member of the
said trade union. · ·
Respondents ·1 and/2, E.K. Thomas and K.K .. S,urendran respec
tively, were employees of a certain management which was the
member of the Cochin Railway Forwarding Agents Association whose
President is impleaded as Respondent No. 4 in this petition: The
management concerned was doing the business of a clearing agent in
the Cochin Harbour Terminus Railways Goods Shed. The respondents
1 and 2 were working as head load workers. Some of the employees
working under the management concerned were members of a trade
union called Cochin Port Thozhilali Union (hereafter referred to as
'the trade union') whose General Secretary is impleaded as Respon
dent No. 3 in this petition. The petitioner', G.S. Dhara Singh was the
President of the trade union. The terms and conditions of service
including the rates of wages and other allied matters relating to the
head load workers were decided and settled through mutual 'negotia
tions between the trade union and Respondent No. 4. Under an agree
ment entered into in October, 1973 an amount equivalent to 10 paise
out of every rupee earned by the workers was deducted by the man
agement towards the gratuity fund and transferred to the trade union
for and on behalf of the workers. Under another agreement a sum
equivalent to 10 paise per rupee in the wages of the workers was paid
by the management to the trade union towards accident benefit fund of
which the workers were the beneficiaries. The amounts so collected
were entrusted to the petitioner, who was also the treasurer and custo
dian of the funds of the trade union. It is alleged that the Petitioner
deposited the amounts so received by him in his personal r.ame in his
bank account. No account of the amoµnts so received by him was
A rendered a.nd the members of the trade union found that it was not
possible to keep control over the funds so received by the petitioner..
The petitioner who was the President of the trade union did not call
any general body meeting and thus the members of the trade union .
could not ventila.te their grievance regarding the mismanagement of
the funds received by the petitioner by democratic means. In view of
B the above difficulty faced by them 85 workers inCIUding Respondents 1
& 2 and three others, namely, K.T. Raghavan, A.N. Joseph and K.J.
Anthappan, resigned from the trade union on 13.1.1976 and formed a
separate union of their own, which was registered under the Trade
Unions Act. Thereafter Respondent Nos. 1 & 2, K.T. Raghavan,
A.N. Joseph and K.J. Anthappan instituted five suits being Original
Ci: Suits Nos. 49 to 52 and 54 of 1977 on the file of the Munsiff, Cochin
against the petitioner and Respondent No. 3 praying for a decree
directing the petitioner and Respondent No. 3 to render an account of
the amounts collected on their behalf from December, 1969 towards
the accident benefit fund and from October, 1973 towards the gratuity ·
at the rate of 10 paise per rupee \mder each head and to pay the
Ji) amounts due to them. Each of the plaintms in the said suits estimated
the amount payable lei him at Rs. 3000. They also claimed f>1ture
interest at 6 per cent per annum on the amounts found to be due to
them till the date of payment.
The petitioner, who was the President and Treasurer of the trade
E union took up various pleas denying his liability to render account and
to refund the amount. One of the pleas raised by the petitioner was
that since the plaintiffs had resigned and ceased to be the members of
the trade union they had no right to claim the reftind of the sums due
to them from out of the funds of the trade union and that if they
rejoined the trade union they would be entitled for payment of
F gratuity and accident benefit when occasjon arose for payment of the
same. He also pleaded that the suits were not maintainable in civil
courts in view of the provisions of the Paym~nt of Gratuity Act, 1972
and the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923. 'On the basis of the pleas
raised by the parties, the Trial Court framed two issues, in each of the
suits namely, (i) whether the plaintiff could ask the petitioner and
er Respondent No. 3 to render art account of the amounts received by
them and (ii) whether he was entitled to claim the refund of any
amount. All the five suits were tried together and they were disposed
of by a common Judgment dated 31.S,1979 by the learned Munsiff. By
his judgment the Munsiff passed a preliminary decree against the
petitioner and Respondent No. 3 directing them to render an account
H of the amounts received by them towards the accident benefit fund
r
G.S. DHARA '· E.K. THOMAS [VENKATARAMIAH, J.] 263
from December 1969 to 16.11.1975 and towards gratuity from
October, 1973 to 16.11.1975. The learned Munsiff further directed
that each of the plaintiffs was entitled to get proportionate share of the
amount due to him from out of the total amount received by the
petitioner and Respondent No. 3. He further directed the plaintiffs to
apply for a final decree for ascertaining the actual amount due to them
B 111 accordance with the preliminary decree passed by him along with
lu tu re interest at 6 per cent per annum from the date of suit tjll date of
realization. Aggrieved by the judgment and decree passed by the
learned Munsiff the petitioner filed two appeals in A.S. 122 of 1979
and A.S. 124 of 1979 on the file of the Additional Sub-Judge, Cochin
against the decrees passed by the Munsiff in favour of Respondent
Nos. 1 and 2 respectively. After hearing the parties the learned Sub- C
Judge found that the petitioner and Respondent No. 3 had received
from the management amounts on behalf of the workmen concerned
towards gratuity and accident benefit fund but the plaintiffs were not
entitled to the decree at the hands of the Civil Court since the suits
were not maintainable in view of the provisions of the Payment of
Gratuity Act, 1972 and the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923 which D
provided for separate remedies. He accordingly set aside the decrees
passed in favour of Respondent Nos. !_and 2 in the suits filed by them.
Aggrieved by the common Judgment dated 21.8.1980 of the learned
Additional Sub-Judge Respondent Nos. 1 and 2 filed Second Appeal
No. 527 of 1981-F and Second Appeal No, 535 of 1981-G respectively
on the file of the High Court of Kerala. The two second· appeals were E
heard together and the High Court by its common Judgment dated
22.10.1987 set aside the judgment and decrees passed by the First
Appellate Court and restored the judgment and decrees passed by the
Trial Court. This Special _Leave Petition is filed by the.petitioner
again.st the said common judgment of the High Court under Article
136 of the Constitution of India. f
At the hearing of the Special Leave Petition the learned counsel
for the petitioner stated and we think rightly that the ground on which
the First Appellate Court had set aside the decrees passed by the Trial
·Court, namely, that the suits were barred.under the provisions of the
Payment of Gratuity Act, 1972 and the Workmen's Compensation G
Act, 1923 was unsustainable: But he, however, contended that since
the amounts had been realised by the petitioner and Respondent No. 3
from the management under settlements which had been entered into
through the trade union Respondents 1 and 2 could not claim the
amount after resigning from the membership of the trade union as the
said amounts formed part of the general fund-of the trade union '" H
264 SUPREME COURT REPORTS I 1988] Supp. 2 S.C.K
A which a member who had resigned had no right. The learned counsel
further urged that since the amounts were made available to the trade
union by the employer for the benefit of the members of the trade
union on the happening of certain contingencies and since the resigna
tion from membership of the trade union was not one such contingency
a member of a trade union who had resigned from the membership of
B the trade union could not claim the amount. He further urged that only
on the dissolution of the trade union its funds could be distributed as
per the rules of the trade union and where the rules did not provide for
the same then the fund was liable to be distributed as per rule 11(1) of
the Central Trade Union Regulations, 1938.
C We do not find that the petitioner is right in his contentions.
Admittedly, the amounts were received by the trade union from the
employer concerned towards the gratuity and accident benefit to
which the workers were entitled. There was no scheme drawn up by
the trade union regarding the payment of the gratuity amount and the
accident benefit fund received on behalf of the Workmen to the work-
D men concerned. There was no agreement between the trade union and
its members that the amount received towards gratuity and accident
benefit should form part of funds of the trade union. Any amount
received for and on behalf of the members is liable to be refunded to
the workmen concerned. In the instant case the amount which had
been received on behalf of Respondent Nos. 1 and 2 by the petitioner
E and Respondent No. 3 had, therefore, to be refunded to them on their
resignation from the membership of the trade union. We do not find
any tenable defence which the trade union could put forward in the
circumstances of the case.
On the question that the workmen concerned were entitled to
F the amounts received on their behalf there is a concurrent finding of all
the three courts in favour of the plaintiffs. The decision in Balmer
Lawrie Workers' Union, Bombay and Anr. v. Balmer Lawrie and Co.
Ltd. and Ors., [1985] 2 S.C.R. 492 is ofno assistance to the petitioner.
In that case this Court was concerned with the validity of clause 17 of
the Settlement, referred to therein, which read as follows:
"Arrears will be paid within two months from !!:e
date of signing of the settlement. Further, the Company
shall collect from each workman an amount equivalel)t to
15% of the gross arrears payable to eacli employee under
this settlement as contribution to the Union Fund and this
Amount shall be paid to the Union within 3 days of the
G.S. DHARA v. E.K. THOMAS [VENKATARAMIAH, J.] 265
payment of arrears by Payee's Ale Cheque."
(emphasis added)
The appellant in the above case which was a non-recognised
union had challenged the validity of clause 17, referred to above, on
the ground that it permitted a compulsory exaction not permitted by
the Payment of Wages Act from the arrears payable to the workmen.
This Court rejected the said contention since under clause 17 the
amount of 15% of the gross arrears received by the Union was to be
treated as contribution to the Union Fund and that the said clause was
a valid one.
In the case before us the petitioner and Rdpondent No. 3 liave C
not shown that there was any such settlement between the manage
ment and the trade union or a scheme prepared by the trade union
which was binding on the workmen under which the amounts received
towards the gratuity and the accident benefit fund on behalf of the
workmen would bec~me a part of the Union fund. '
We do not, therefore, find any ground to'interfere with the jtidg-..
ment of the High Court. This Special Leave Petition, therefore, fails
and it is dismissed.
N:V.K. Petition dismissed.