National Insurance Company Ltd. v. Nipha Exports Pvt. Ltd.
H.K. SEMA, J. The challenge in this appeal is to the order dated 8th
September, 2004 passed by the National Consumer Disputes Redressal
Commission (hereinafter the Commission) in Original Petition No. 42of1996. c
By the aforesaid order, the Commission directed the appellant, National
Insurance Company Ltd., to pay interest @ 6% on Rs. 70,38,038/-from I 0th
December 1990 till 8th June, 1994 within a period of eight weeks by way of
damages.
A limited notice was issued by this Court on 13.01.2005 on payment of D
interest @ 6% as damages by reason of delay in payment.
The sole question to be determined in this appeal is, as to whether there
was any delay in making the payment ofRs.70,38,038/-and if so, the insurance
company, the appellant is liable to pay interest @ 6% for delay in payment
E as ordered by the Commission.
Few background facts may be noted:,
In 1990, five transit insurance were obtained by the respondent herein
for covering their consignment to Sudan for their principals i.e. M/s Sudan
F Gezire Rehabilitation Project, Khartoum, Sudan. The policies were issued
subject to the terms and conditions. It was discovered that on arrival of the
consignment there was some damage on account of rust. The investigations
were carried out in respect of the transit of the consignment at the destination
port to find out as to at which stage the damage to the consignment could
have had occurred. A dispute was also raised between the parties as to who G
would be entitled to receive the claim amount as the shipment was on C.l.F.
basis. Ultimately, the matter was resolved and the legalized documents of
!; consignments were furnished to the appellant on 21.5.1993. Thereafter, various
correspondences between the parties to accept the offer of the claim amount
as offered by M/s American President Lines. It is alleged that till the letter
.,
722 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2006J SUPP. 6 S.C.R.
A dated 25.6.1993 written by the appellant there was no acceptance of the offer
by the complainant-respondent herein and the matter was withheld at the
instance of the complainant. There was also a dispute between the parties
because in the policy, the machinery items were subject to institute replacement
clause, which provided for the indemnity to be made only when the loss or
damage suffered by the goods to the extent of actual cost of repairs,
B replacement and conditions effected and incurred. The complainant was also
claiming that they had incurred out of pocket expenses and, therefore, the
appellant was asking them to provide and furnish the necessary bills in
support of total expenses incurred by them, which they failed to do and
therefore, the matter was again referred to Mis Webster & Co. for making the
C investigation into the possible cost involved from Mis Nipha and their local
suppliers, respondent herein.
Ultimately, Mis Webster by its letter dated 8.4.1994 settled the claim on
the basis of consignment as done by the Surveyors.
D In the facts and circumstances, as recited above, it cannot be said that
prior to the letter dated 8.4.1994 the claim had been finally settled and the
payment was withheld by the appellant. After the settlement of the amount
US $279158.AO equivalent to Rs. 70,38,0381-was paid to the respondent on
8.6.1994. The respondent received the aforesaid amount and gave a clean
discharge to the appellant without any qualification, signifying receipt of the
E amount in full and final settlement of the claim.
Mr.Mahendra Anand, learned senior counsel, appearing on behalf of
the respondent, referred to a letter dated 17.3.1991 and submitted that by the
aforesaid letter right, title and interest was vested with M/s Nipha Exports
F Private Ltd. by Sudan Gezire Rehabilitation Project. In the letter aforesaid, it
is stated that they have no objection to settle the claim in favour of Mis
Nipha Exports Private Ltd., and advised to address the correspondence direct
to them in future. It is his contention that there is no explanation whatsoever
by the appellant for withholding the payment from 17.3.1991 to 8.4.1994, the
date on which the matter was settled. In view of the circumstances, as recited
G above, we are unable to accept this contention. From the letter dated 17.3.1991,
it is clear that it was not the settlement of the claim but it was a no objection
certificate that the claim may 1:-e settled in favour of the respondent and
advise that all future correspondence be addressed to them directly. Therefore,
it cannot be said that the final settlement was arrived at by the aforesaid letter.
NATIONAL INSURANCE COMPANY LTD. v. NIPHA EXPORTS PVT. LTD. [SEMA, J.] 723
The next question to be considered is as to whether after giving a clean A
discharge certificate by accepting the amount signing the voucher, the
complainant-respondent can raise the complaint?
As already noticed, the payment was made to the respondent on 8.6.1994
and the respondent gave a clean discharge to the appellant without any
qualification, signifying receipt of the amount in full and final settlement of B
the claim. Thereafter, after a lapse of two months the respondent addressed
a letter dated 6.8.1994 to the appellant which is extracted:
"Re:Marine Loss No. 101500/43/90-91/86-90
Ex.M.V. Eagle Nov/Fresia.
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your letter dated the 9th June, 1994 enclosing a Cheque
for Rs. 70,38,038/-in discharge of your liability under the policies,
which, however, did not include interest."
In the letter, thus read there is no complaint that the discharge voucher
or receipt had been obtained from the complainant respondent herein
fraudulently or by exercise of undue influence or by misrepresentation or the
like or coercive bargaining. In the case of United India Insurance v. Ajmer
Singh Cotton & General Mills, [1999] 6 SCC 400, it was pointed out by this E
Court that mere execution of discharge voucher would not always deprive the
consumer from preferring claim with respect to the deficiency in service or
consequential benefits arising out of the amount paid in default of the service
rendered. It was further pointed out that despite execution of the discharge
voucher, the consumer may be in a position to satisfy the Tribunal or the F
Commission under the Act that such discharge voucher or receipt had been ,-
obtained from him under circumstances which can be termed as fraudulent or
)
exercise of undue influence or by misrepresentation or the like, and if such
a case is proved, the authority before whom the complaint is made would be
justi tied in granting appropriate relief.
This Court in Polymat India P.Ltd. v. National Insurance Co.Ltd.,
(2004) JO Scale 99 also considered the facts of a similar case as in the case
in hand. In that case the reason for delay had been explained. The fire took
place on 13th January, 1993 in which the insured goods were reportedly
gutted by fire. The insurance company appointed the Surveyor and Surveyor H
A sent his report dated 5th November, 1993 which was received by the appellant
on 9th November, 1993. As there were some discrepancies in the survey
report, the insurance company vides letter dated 14th December, 1993 sought
for clarification from the Surveyor, which was replied to on 22.4.1994 by the
Surveyor. The insurance company after that took the decision and informed
the claimant by a letter dated I. 7 .1994 for approval of the claim under both
B the policies. It is, in these circumstances, this Court held that there was no
delay in payment and the levy of interest@ 18% by the Commission was set
aside by this Court.
In the present case, the claim of the complainant was finally settled by
C a letter dated 8.4.1994 and the payment was made on 8.6.1994, which was
accepted by the respondent without any qualifications. It cannot, therefore,
be said that the payment was made belatedly. The important date to be
decided in such circumstances is the date on which the quantum of
compensation and to whom it should be paid is finally decided and not from
the dates on which the correspondences ensued between the parties.
In the facts and circumstances, aforestated, we are of the view, that the
claim was finally settled by a letter dated 8.4.1994 and the payment was made
on 8.6.1994, and therefore, there was no delay in making the payment which
would warrant the award of interest on delayed payment. The view taken by
the Commission was, therefore, erroneous. The Order dated 8th September,
E 2004 of the Commission is set aside. The appeal is allowed. No costs.
K.K.T. Appeal allowed.